Customer reviews for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H

Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H

Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
3.818 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
3.8
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 19
14 out of 2264%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Review 1 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:francealot
(texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Title:

Good monitor

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very good monitor. I wish I'd bought a 24" though because I prefer the 16x10 aspect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Enrie
(San Diego, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

non dell computer users beware

PostedApril 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
According to Dell Tech support, they will not honor the warranty unless you have the monitor connected to a dell computer.
Other then that when you do connect to a dell computer and they do honor the warranty everything goes smoothly
Other then that, got 4- u2713h, all of them produced slight color variations, even with color calibration, proper angle setup, use of DVI-D, HDMI, DP, mDP.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JP55
(Charlotte, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Absolutely beautiful

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered two of these monitors. They are simply stunning to look at and use. The trick is to make sure you connect them properly so that you can take advantage of the high resolution. Dual DVI cables or DP cables are needed.
Perfect colors, easy on the eyes....wish I had purchased sooner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ronald53
(Montana, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

U2713H - A great monitor for the price!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor does everything you need and more. The quality of the screen and flexibility offered by the numerous connection choices make this a monitor a clear choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LMSCPH
(Copenhagen, Denmark)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not a Macbook pro/apple friendly monitor

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I very was happy to receive my U2713H monitor from dell, but very disappointed when i connected it. I have used monitors from dell before and have been very happy with it - price vs performance = good.
This monitor works (displays screen content), but it looks hideous. I tried upgrading to Maverick as suggested on different forums. But it still looks awful. It is pixelated in the suggested resolution (2560x1440), which was one of the reasons I bought the monitor. It looks a little better in 1080P but still not a acceptable look.
You can bypass this problem by forcing your graphic card to output RGB - but that is not recommended.
This might be an apple software/hardware issue - but then you should have mentioned it in the product description.
Bottom line, I was disappointed with the monitor and the performance.
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lladnar
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Best. Monitor. Ever.
Clear, bright, huge.
Cheaper than the competition & includes 3 year warranty.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BuzzNetwork
(Markham, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great colors and very legible text

PostedJune 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I take many photos and raw images, I was looking for a larger screen with correct color accuracy to enhance my photography experience. I was also looking for higher resolution for sharper text on a large screen. I reviewed all options and found Dell provided best value. The monitor shipped very fast and it was on my desk in 36 hours. I had to change the monitor settings to take advantage of the high resolution. Please keep in mind that you need a high speed video card to take full advantage of this monitor. I have an AMD Radeon 7770 that supports the Dell monitor features. The monitor is not setup for high performance out of the box as some PCs and video cards can not support its features. You must read the user guide to setup the monitor and video card correctly for best performance. I already had a Dell monitor so I opted to use the existing DVI cable. This was a mistake, the image was poor at high resolution. However, the monitor ships with a higher quality DVI cable to enable high image quality at maximum resolution (2560x1440). I installed the provided DVI cable and suddenly all colors, images and text came to life. I then installed the provided USB 3.0 cable and started using the SD card reader which helped to reduce clutter on my desk. What a fantastic monitor, thank you Dell.
Pros:great colors, legible text, good value
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ramin
(Montreal, QC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Best image I have ever seen on a monitor

PostedApril 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I haven't never seen professional Eizo or Nec monitors by my eyes, but comparing to anything else I have ever seen, this had the best image quality I have ever seen on any display (of any type: computer monitors, Tv's, projectors, etc.)
Pros:
i) large viewable area with appropriate high resolution.
ii) Colors this monitor produces are stunning.
iii) Having wide gamut for when one wants to works with wide gamut or HDR images is a significant bonus.
iv) 10bit color can make a difference (depending on the picture being worked on).
v) Contrast ratio is adequately good even comparing to my CRT monitor. Brightness is certainly enough to show a vivid image.
vi) sRGB mode for default usage is more than great.
Perhaps as a result of all the above factors, the images on this monitor look vivid and alive, having a good impression of depth in them.
vii) having a USB 3.0 and audio hub on the monitor is really good.
Cons:
x) Too bright by default, almost blinding. I lower the brightness all the way down to zero and I find that's optimal for me.
i) Raising and lowering windows from the taskbar does not look smooth at all. Maybe my gpu (Quadro 2000) is just not powerful enough to handle this high res display
or, perhaps, this is a result of what some people call 'over-drive' issue with this monitor. The windows movement can look jerky.
ii) My logitech MX Air mouse also gets a jerky move with this monitor; sometimes disappearing for a short moment or jumping around. I was convinced to change my mouse if I wanted to keep this monitor.
iii) I wished there were more USB 3.0 ports on the side of the monitor instead of a card reader; even an e-sata port could be great.
iv) The enclosure is made of polycarbonate. I prefer a metal case.
v) There were some weird color effects when watching videos (which seemed also depending on which video player software being used.): like color tint changing in the middle of the playing the video sometimes only inside the video player windows, sometimes the whole display. I finally realized by disabling the Smart Video Enhance in the monitor OSD menu, these weirdos don't happen anymore.
At the end, I returned the monitor because it convinced me I certainly wanted even bigger: U3014!
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sheedoe
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dell U2713H vs NEC PA241W-BK

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used the NEC MultiSync PA241W-BK for a couple of years and now decided to upgrade to a slightly bigger monitor with Adobe RGB color gamut and LED backlighting. Here's what I found:
Pros:
- Less aggressive AG coating. The NEC had very matte looking screen where images looked grainy and text weren't that sharp. Dell's AG is much smoother and images look great.
- LED backlighting. Gives slightly higher contrast and better image quality.
- Price. Cheaper than comparable sized NEC (PA271W-BK)
Cons:
-Backlight bleeding. I have read that it happens on the U2713HM model and was hoping it would not be present in this model. However, the backlight bleeding is there and is quite noticeable throughout the screen, especially in the corners. The NEC handled this much better.
- USB 3.0 buggy. I'm using Windows 8 in a custom built PC, and connecting this monitor to the USB 3.0 port on my computer causes it to crash. I've once got it working after assigning windows default driver for my USB 3.0 port, but it would still cause my system to crash if I turn the monitor off while the computer is on. It works good when connected to USB 2.0 port, but you loose the speed.
- Touch adjustment button is often irresponsive. The main 'Menu' touch screen button often fails to bring up the menu. Most of the times it works in the first touch or two, but at times I have even had to press it up to 10 times to bring up the menu. Wish it had a more responsive, solid button.
- Dell Utility manager doesn't detect the monitor. Not sure why the latest Utility manager doesn't detect it. Maybe its because I'm using windows 8. I'm not sure. I will keep checking for an update to the software.
Overall, this monitor is average for the price. It has some issues that needs to be worked out. Just a quick note: I have Rev A01 of this model. Also, shop around! I've purchased this from a retailer for 25% less than the MSRP.
+26points
28of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JuiceMonkey
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Don't buy an Adobe RGB wide gamut monitor

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
From Ken Rockwell's site...
Adobe RGB is irrelevant for real photography. sRGB gives better (more consistent) results and the same, or brighter, colors.
Using Adobe RGB is one of the leading causes of colors not matching between monitor and print.
sRGB is the world's default color space. Use it and everything looks great everywhere, all the time.
Adobe RGB should never be used unless you really know what you're doing and do all your printing yourself. If you really know what you're doing and working in publishing, go right ahead and use it. If you have to ask, don't even try it.
If you're one of the few a full-time career professional photographers left standing and shoot for print, by all means shoot Adobe RGB, but if you're a very serious amateur, beware.
Adobe RGB theoretically can represent a wider range (gamut) of colors, however:
1.) Adobe RGB requires special software and painstaking workflow not to screw it up. Make one mistake anyplace and you get dull colors, or worse. You cannot use Adobe RGB on the internet or for email or conventional photo lab printing. If you do, the colors are duller.
2.) I've made Lightjet, Fuji Supergloss and inkjet prints of 100% saturated ramps in both color spaces. I saw the same color range in print with each colorspace. I saw no real gain of any wider gamut in practice, even with these special tests. I didn't see any of these printers have the ability display any of the extra gamut potentially represented by Adobe RGB.
___________
I bought the 2709 years ago(wide gamut). Even with a spyder 4 pro calibrator this monitor cannot achieve accuarte colors on the net. I held my iphone, ipad, cinema display and HP laptop beside my 2709 and viewed the same websites - all of them look the same except for... you guessed it... the wide gamut display. Dell makes amazing monitors no doubt, but, do yourself a favor and get the regular srgb version - it's $100 cheaper and much easier to use.
-205points
23of 251voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Erokite
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice LED Monitor with High Resolution and USB 3.0

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use 2 of U2713H monitor hooked with my mac Mini server and Dell Latitude E6510 same time. With the multiple port on the back of the monitor, not like Apple Cinema, I can just forget swapping cable any more. The display is with high contract and crispy color. The monitor came with a gyroscope that can automatically rotating the function menu at Portrait and Landscape mode. The landscape mode is very helpful for me to read tons of legal documents on screen without printing and scrolling. I would say, this is the best monitor for any serious office worker.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:threedee
(Finland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good overall, but some issues

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
After short use the display seems good overall, but the color management and Uniformity Compensation (UC) were disappointments.
UC can't be used with the sRGB, Adobe RGB or calibrated (CAL1/CAL2) modes. UC will only work with the Standard and Custom Color modes. Unfortunately the Dell calibration software will only calibrate and profile the CAL1 and CAL2 modes. The end result is that the UC can't be used with any profiled/calibrated mode, where it would be useful.
The calibration report that came with the display states that the maximum uniformity error is 1% (1% for 2 measurement position, 23 are 0% error). I measured max 7% errors with i1Display Pro and iProfiler, so the display is not as good as the report says.
I think Dell dropped the ball with UC. It's useless feature as it is now. Fortunately display uniformity is not that important. I am happy with my unit without UC. Still, saying the display has UC is in my opinion misleading as it can't be used with any color accurate (i.e. profiled) mode.
The Dell color calibration software won't allow users to take any measurements to verify how good the profile is. Users are expected to trust that the color error margins used by the software are always small enough. Given the overly optimistic calibration report I would like to do my own QA measurements.
Hopefully x-rite will support GB-LED displays in iProfiler in the future. This would correct many issues. (iProfiler can be used now, but color errors are possible because of different color spectrums of GB-LED and RGB LED displays).
Pros:3d animation, video and photo editing, office applications
+25points
27of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:U2713H
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

USB 3.0 memory card reader not ready for primetime

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved the monitor image quality. Unfortunately dell has not worked out all of the bugs with usb 3.0. The first monitor I received would not detect the memory card reader. The second monitor I received the memory card reader is detected but I can sit there and watch the screen as the memory card reader appears and then disappears in windows explorer windows 7 64 bit. A usb key plugged into the monitor appears to work fine. Its obvious they don't have the bugs worked out of the drivers yet. I was on the support line and was told I would be transferred to a department to authorize the return of the monitors. I was transferred to a recording that said the department is closed. Please call back tomorrow. This was after dealing with support for more than an hour.
0points
14of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PaperweightOwner
(Las Vegas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

2nd review

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
My first review was apparently overly technical in its explanation of the shortcomings of this product. Apparently it also never made it through their review process, because it has been a week and it has yet to materialize here on the website. I can only say that I have initiated return via online form, got nowhere, and have no started calling over and over and going in circles to get returned. The lady in returns offered me $50 to keep it, then when I said no she offered $100 to keep it. I told her I wouldnt keep it if she offered me $800. Calibration nightmare, dell software calibration utility doesnt even come on the disc you have to obtain separate, excessive yellow hue in all presets, overpriced for 1440 vertical, and exclusive colorimeter make it a huge disappointment.
Pros:strictly photo editing, image processing, graphic art, image editing
+16points
36of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hornist
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great product!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This monitor brings what you are seeing to a whole new level. Very good resolution, and absolutely worth buying, especially for the price!
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NinetyDegreeAngle
(Brooklyn, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Absolutely horrible backlight

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to have my first wide gamut monitor at home ( had worked with professional models at the office ). Unfortunately, despite the high praise so far - the build quality must be hit or miss...
Absolutely horrible backlight bleeding - viewable on all corners in not only a dark, but faintly dim room.
I have owned four 'Samsung 193p's and two 'Samsung 244T's and this is far far worse. I setup an eight year old 193P next to the dell and the difference was obvious. The Samsungs are nice monitors, but no where near the 2713's price. For a $999 msrp monitor this is unacceptable. Returning mine immediately.
Pros:photo editing, cad
+23points
33of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BKHokie
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Impressed Skeptic

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
After owning almost all of the monitors in the Dell lineup from 21" up to 30", I must say that this is my favorite. The anti-glare issue (while not a huge factor in my experience) is gone. The colors are perfect, response time is great, and text is amazing.
Pros:cad, Gaming, text - spreadsheets, graphic arts
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jbro
(CT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Finally a pro monitor from Dell!

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been waiting a long time for this monitor.
I am using a new personally-built workstation (I run a side business for PC/networking) with DisplayPort for the 10-bits per color necessary for the AdobeRGB color space. Dual SSD's in RAID0, 32GB memory, etc. Photoshop is like lightning!
I purchased a U2410 about a year ago, but found what most other demanding users did: the anti-reflective coating was terrible, and the uniformity was not good. Its "calibration" was only at the center of the screen. I promptly returned it and gave up hope for an affordable pro quality monitor.
But the U2713H is different. Yes, it is expensive; but not for what you get. I was looking at the NEC PA series in comparison, and on both price and performance, this monitor beats them. The LED backlight makes it thin and energy efficient (unlike U2410/NEC PA CCFL's).
I typically use 24" 16:10 monitors, but the U2413 has not yet been released in the US. I'm sure it will be a very popular monitor indeed once it is released here (if it is anything like the U2713H, and at what will undoubtedly be a great price point).
maybe it is a good thing that the 24" is not yet released, because it made me move up to 27". I thought that it would be too big, but the 27" 16:9 ratio may just be perfect for me. It is only about 1/2" taller than the U2412M but is about 5" wider. This is great for getting the maximum Photoshop work area while still providing plenty of room for the tool palettes.
This monitor covers a reported 99% of AbobeRGB color space, and out of the box it was near perfect. Uniformity is the best I've seen for both brightness and Delta E. And the 14-bit LUT calibration will guarantee that it stays great.
No dead or bright pixels, no noticeable light bleed. The anti-reflective coating is worlds better than the U2410.
My favorite feature is the ability for the monitor to switch display modes based on the application which has focus (requires Dell Display Manager). The flashes as it changes are hard to get used to, but a small price to pay for accurate colors everywhere. Gone are the days of putting up with crazy colors everywhere else in order to get what you need in Photoshop.
Highly recommended!
Pros:photoshop image editing, general use
+45points
50of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Daneel571
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great monitor

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
After having an issue with my credit card company declining the charge from Dell I was finally able to get the order confirmed with an estimated ship date three weeks after the purchase date. The next day the monitor was sitting on my door step. The image produced looks as good or slightly better than my 2009 27in iMac. There is no noticeable ghosting when playing games. The backlighting is very even. The OCD is second to none. It has a DP 1.2 out port. Up to four monitors can be daisy chained. A DP 1.1a monitor can be used but it must be at the end of the chain. I was very worried about the anti glare coating. I purchased a cheaper 27in HP monitor but was extremely unhappy with the image the monitor produced and returned it. The anti glare is much less aggressive on this monitor.
Pros:software development, photos, Gaming
+40points
45of 50voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for Dell 27 Monitor - U2713H
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product