Customer reviews for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw

Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw

Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
3.352 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
8
1 Star
12
3.4
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
34 out of 5463%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Review 1 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JBow
(Fortuna, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Complete Garbage

PostedMarch 3, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS WORTHLESS ITEM. This is a completely substandard product. Very few of the functions work as indicated. This printer is extremely temperamental, it constantly displays errors and they are extremely to rectify. It is the most un-user-friendly printer I have ever experienced. I also am so very disappointed Dell (even though I am passed the 30 day return policy) will NOT even work with on making this right. I am now stuck with this product which does NOT serve my needs. So extremely disappointing. Especially considering the amount of business I do with Dell, no longer now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CMoPT
(West Hempstead, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I really WANTED to love this printer - but I can't...

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this machine had all the features I wanted, I spent hours of my life that will never get back with tech support trying to troubleshoot why it continuously falls off the wireless network. Ideally, a wireless printer should be "set it and forget it" and compatible with all routers. Each time they got it up and running wirelessly but then a few days would pass and it was off line again, needing to be reinstalled or reconfigured.
Second, when it finally did print, the paper pickup mechanism couldn't pick up a sheet of paper. It kept giving me paper jam messages. Again, a call to tech support who asked me to clean the rubber pick up roller with alcohol. That worked great and I thought we were out of the woods until it happened again the next day. A brand new printer out of the box really should not have needed so much attention. Clearly, the roller could not have been dirty if it was just cleaned yesterday with alcohol and has only been out of the box for 4 weeks.
Dell did offer to replace the printer with a brand new machine but I doubt that the new one would be any different so I am returning this one and going with a different brand. Very disappointing. It would have been a great machine if i didn't need the wireless feature.
Pros:good features, clear printing when it works
Cons:cant stay on wireless network, pricey
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LJ78923
(Texas, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Disappointing

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
The toner is way too expensive. I am not able get it to print on photo paper or any paper thicker than the thinnest cardstock. As someone else pointed out, after you print an envelope, the copy feature doesn't work properly. Also, it's almost impossible to cancel a printing job. The Red X Cancel button doesn't work automatically. I think I figured out how to cancel a print job - you have to go through a series of steps after hitting the cancel button but at which point when you are through the job has already printed. The biggest con is that I am too busy to get on the phone and try to resolve these issues even if there are solutions!
Pros:easy set up, looks nice
Cons:toner too expensive, won't print on photo stock, curls cardstock
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Marco2014
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Dell C1765nfw

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Scan option will not work unless is wired to the computer.
The WiFi works alright but it the printer is in deep sleep other devices will no wake it up.
The printing quality is OK and it can hold a large amount of paper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:steve4567
(Alabama, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great features. Terrible reliability

PostedDecember 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this printer over a year and I have had to replace it twice. The printer suddenly stops working and will not connect via Wi Fi or with cable. Replacement printers did not work much better. This has had light use, so printed volumes have not been the issue.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GM1967
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

very fine printer

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
works very well - have two computers hooked up to it. easy to use and understand. been using it for 6 months now - no problems at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BuffaloSand
(Buffalo, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great Printing

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this product about one ago. It was very easy to set up. The printouts are clear and crisp. I have not, however, set up wireless and fax, so that is still up in the air. Al-in-all, though this is a very economical product. One review that I read said that the machine is kind of noisy, but I don't find that at all.
Pros:fast printouts, great color
Cons:heavy to lift
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:officeperson
(El Paso, IL 61738, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

office person

PostedNovember 11, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not a very good product for office use. Had to return machine for a replacement within 8 months
Cons:slow, toner expensive, uses a lot of toner, jams, internal issues
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:spudsnet1
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

nice printer but does not look nice in your office

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
paper tray must be open at all times and extend onto your desk. ruins the look of the printer and gets dust on the paper reducing the life of the printer. only printer I have ever seen like this ever. works great, but really poor design.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MPurdy
(Eureka, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

5/5 - Best buy for price for SOHO.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this around black Friday in 2013. I wanted a Laser printer because every Ink Jet I've had in the past did not last very long. The ink dried out after only a month or two of sitting. I don't print often but when I do I want something to be ready. This printer does the job. I've printed anything from full color maps with extremely high detail to basic black and white documents.
This printer has out shined any other printer I have had in the past. Definitely does exactly what it says it does.
I'll list the pro's and con's but even with its con's this printer Wins even against some of the high end HP printers and Copy/Printer(color) setups at work.
Pros:wifi - easy setup, web interface / intuitive / easy to use, ink does not dry out :), full color with no visible issues., quiet very very quiet until it prints., scan to usb (in pdf), lots and lots of features too many to count.
Cons:paper tray sticks out too far, power consumption. my lights dim when it starts., scan to email is spotty to get setup
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WirelessRookie
(IL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Embarassingly poor quality for Dell--replaced 5 times!

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this printer for my home office in December of 2013. It was replaced under warranty due to a malfunctioning censor (kept giving paper jam error) within one month. It was replaced again for the same error. It had to be replaced again and again, sometimes for suddenly not being recognized on the network, sometimes for the censor error. I have never had such a problem with any printer! I am afraid when the warranty runs out this December that I will have to pay to replace it. I will not replace it with a Dell printer, that is for certain.
Cons:incredibly unreliable, bulky compared to other multifunction printers
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gito
(San Diego, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

i love it

PostedJune 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
great printer so far. don't know how long the starter toners will last. so far so good.
Pros:dont have to deal with dried up ink any more
Cons:a bit tall
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TexasBandMom
(Dallas, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Love this printer

PostedMay 31, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was offered a package deal to buy this printer when I purchased my new Dell laptop. I was not in love with my old ink jet printer so I said 'yes'. This printer is easy to learn; prints, copies, scans and faxes (I don't do fax), but I do use everything else. The best feature is that laser ink does not run or smear if it gets wet.
Pros:excellent print quality
Cons:toner (ink) is more expensive
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pongo9641
(Memphis, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great printer for the money

PostedMay 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I read all the reviews before I made this purchase. As far as setup, I could not have been easier. wifi was a snap just had to enter my network password and I was connected. The print quality is pretty nice, very clean, crisp and color is spot on. As far as the printer taking thicker paper, all you have to do is setup up your fuser height in setup for the type of paper you are using.
Printed exel document from my cell phone and it printed fairly quickly.
Not sure why some people are having problems. this was the easiest printer I have ever setup.
I always wanted a color laser. for the money this is an awesome printer. and you can get third party ink a whole lot cheaper than the dell brand. I can get all four cartridges off of amazon for the same price as just the Dell black cartridge.
Pros:quiet fairly quick printing., great printer for the money
Cons:none so far
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:foxygreatgramma
(Ladysmith, WI 54848, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I love it

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
As a writer, I use my printer a lot and need reliability, speed and quality. Overall, this is more product than I need. Probably overkill as I don't use all the features. But what I do use I'm more than happy with.And, it's compatible with Windows 8. The 150-sheet paper tray is great so I don't have to keep feeding it on large print jobs. I can't comment on toner refill as I'm still on the original cartridges. It's looking as if its going to be satisfactory, though.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lula
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Not worth the money

PostedMarch 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This printer was purchased for a small-home business. It is 5 months old. It has many disadvantages: It takes some time to "wake-up", will not print on card stock, (even trying to feed it manually) always stays on the darkest setting for copying(it has to be reset every time)sometimes it continues to run, staying on. The laser print itself was descent. I cannot recommend this printer because it does not do the job that I expected it to do as I was told by a Dell rep.
Pros:descent print
Cons:too many to list
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Atlanta2014
(Atlanta, GA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Sleep mode problems

PostedMarch 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This printer prints, scans and copies well but it goes into sleep mode after an hour or so and will not wake up without turning it off then back on. I have worked with Tech support but no solution so far. I have a pc downstairs so I have to walk upstairs and turn if off and on before I print. Oh well things could be worse I suppose.
Pros:good color
Cons:loses connection with pc
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vincent1871
(Saginaw, MI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Perfect For Home Use

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect for home use. Very fast printing. I like being able to check anything on the printer including settings via the web once wi-fi is configured. Easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RoryHouston
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great print quality and affordable price

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had this printer since November 2013 and use it a great deal. The quality and crispness of black print is amazing. I compared it to my old LaserJet printer and couldn't believe how much better text looks! The color quality is also excellent. For the price, it's a great printer. If money were no object, I might go for a printer with full automatic duplexing features, but even manual duplexing is simple with this model.
Pros:great black text, affordable, vibrant color images
Cons:a little slow, no airprint for ios devices
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell Color Multifunction Printer - C1765nfw
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PamAtWork
(Wynne, AR 72396, USA)
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Jury is still out on this product.

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My old Dell printer just quit out of the blue in my office and needed a replacement fast as my boys like their weekly paychecks. Dell salesperson helped me choose this printer even though it's features was more than I needed. I got this in Aug of 2013. In Jan. 2, 2014 it stopped working and after many hours on phone support they issued a replacement. (A refurbished even though I had bought new). On Feb. 9, 2014 another call to support as this one's fax board went out. They issued anther refurbished. I did inquire as to why if I bought new could I not have new replacements. Was told because 21 days had pasted between each incident only refurbished were allowed as replacements. We will see how long this one lasts.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3