Customer reviews for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer

Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer

Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
3.651 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
6
1 Star
6
3.7
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
31 out of 4372%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Review 1 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gito
(San Diego, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

i love it

PostedJune 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
great printer so far. don't know how long the starter toners will last. so far so good.
Pros:dont have to deal with dried up ink any more
Cons:a bit tall
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TexasBandMom
(Dallas, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Love this printer

PostedMay 31, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was offered a package deal to buy this printer when I purchased my new Dell laptop. I was not in love with my old ink jet printer so I said 'yes'. This printer is easy to learn; prints, copies, scans and faxes (I don't do fax), but I do use everything else. The best feature is that laser ink does not run or smear if it gets wet.
Pros:excellent print quality
Cons:toner (ink) is more expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pongo9641
(Memphis, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great printer for the money

PostedMay 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I read all the reviews before I made this purchase. As far as setup, I could not have been easier. wifi was a snap just had to enter my network password and I was connected. The print quality is pretty nice, very clean, crisp and color is spot on. As far as the printer taking thicker paper, all you have to do is setup up your fuser height in setup for the type of paper you are using.
Printed exel document from my cell phone and it printed fairly quickly.
Not sure why some people are having problems. this was the easiest printer I have ever setup.
I always wanted a color laser. for the money this is an awesome printer. and you can get third party ink a whole lot cheaper than the dell brand. I can get all four cartridges off of amazon for the same price as just the Dell black cartridge.
Pros:quiet fairly quick printing., great printer for the money
Cons:none so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:foxygreatgramma
(Ladysmith, WI 54848, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I love it

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
As a writer, I use my printer a lot and need reliability, speed and quality. Overall, this is more product than I need. Probably overkill as I don't use all the features. But what I do use I'm more than happy with.And, it's compatible with Windows 8. The 150-sheet paper tray is great so I don't have to keep feeding it on large print jobs. I can't comment on toner refill as I'm still on the original cartridges. It's looking as if its going to be satisfactory, though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vincent1871
(Saginaw, MI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Perfect For Home Use

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect for home use. Very fast printing. I like being able to check anything on the printer including settings via the web once wi-fi is configured. Easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RoryHouston
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great print quality and affordable price

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had this printer since November 2013 and use it a great deal. The quality and crispness of black print is amazing. I compared it to my old LaserJet printer and couldn't believe how much better text looks! The color quality is also excellent. For the price, it's a great printer. If money were no object, I might go for a printer with full automatic duplexing features, but even manual duplexing is simple with this model.
Pros:great black text, affordable, vibrant color images
Cons:a little slow, no airprint for ios devices
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CVirginia
(Alachua, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

The Best

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been a graphics designer and webmaster for more than 10 years. This is by-far the best printer I've ever purchased. Easy setup right from the box would have taken approx. 30 minutes, but because I wanted to know every small detail it took me a little longer. Copies are sharp and clear even on standard paper. Dimensions are less than my old V515 ink jet printer, just a little taller, but no problem. I have yet to see how long the toner will last, concerned about the cost of replacing. Wireless setup was a snap, along with fax. I print from a laptop, desktop, tablet and cell phone with no problem.
Pros:easy setup
Cons:none so far
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:youngje1
(Columbus, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

All in One Does Everything Pretty Well

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first All-In-One printer and it's true what they say. It does nothing best of class, but it does all things quite well.
As it comes from the factory, this printer uses too much toner, but there is a "toner saving" setting that has helped extend toner cartridge life.
In total, we are very satisfied with the performance of this printer and believe it will serve us well for years to come.
Pros:easy to set up, good documentation available, intuitive menu system, compact size, toner available from inexpensive source, quiet operation
Cons:uses too much toner, difficult to figure out how to scan to network, scan quality could be better, difficult to set up for second pc on network
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Briceman
(Columbus, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Versatile machine - It really does it all.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I replaced another brand of laser printer with this one and am very pleased. The other one had a fixed font size and could not print readable bar codes. This one can print a bar code and has very good graphics.
I was able to connect it to my wireless network on the first try and print from all of my devices. I also got rid of my old scanner.
I printed an envelope today and it looks great on the first try, my old one used to take several tries.
This is a high quality machine which performs flawlessly. I am very impressed.
Pros:i am impressed with its features & functions
Cons:i don't have any.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:martie10mb
(Jamestown, PA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Beautiful print quality

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great printer. It was easy to set up and the features it has are top quality. The actual print quality is the best I've ever seen. The controls are easy to read. I basically plugged it in the wall and my computer and I was ready to go. I would highly recommend this printer. I will hold off on judgment of the cost of ink once I see how many prints I get out of the cartridges.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ink123
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Perfect Home/Student Printer

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great quality, easy installation. In addition, it is user-friendly and being wireless, it is very practical and convenient.
Pros:wireless, quality pictures, all-in-one
Cons:none
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Schafer
(Lafayette, Indiana)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Easy to Set Up

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this printer on sale for home use. I have been looking at laser printers for awhile, but this is the first one that was Color, Wireless and an "All in One" printer that had a great price. The printer was extremely easy to set up. I have it connected to my main computer with a USB cable, and I have 2 laptops and another desktop computer connected to it wirelessly.
I have 3 teenagers who live at home, and a teacher for a spouse, so the printer will get used a lot. So far I have only had it up and running for a week, so it's too early to tell about toner cartridge use or reliability. I am looking forward to using the scanner, I have lots of old photographs that I need to scan.
Pros:easy to set up, scanner resolution is good
Cons:scanner software is not "intuitive", don't need the fax
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:alyena
(Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I'm very happy with this printer

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been using this printer since 11/21/13 and I love it.
First it was extremely easy to set up. I was delighted to see it detected my wireless network when I powered it on and all I had to do was enter my password to connect to my network.
Second the print quality is great. I've spent the past couple evenings printing out Christmas cards and can honestly say they look every bit as good as the ones I've printed in the past with an ink jet printer.
Pros:easy set up, great print quality
Cons:none so far.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bill1964
(Ontario, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome Tech support

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Had some startup issues but I got connected with a girl named Grace from the Philipines that made all my problems go away. She was very thorough and super nice. She made sure all the funtionality was there for my ipad, laptop and desktop.
Way better than what I have come to expect calling into Dell for tech support. Everything works!Product is great!
I am happy.
-13points
5of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Donwashere
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Hotness

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Quick review:
Fast beautiful prints goodlooking pictures...
Seems to be the best printer for me...
I would buy another one...
Pros:color looks great, pictures look good, buy this printer, wireless
Cons:not free, a bit noisy
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hawg
(Alberta, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Value MFP, With Very Few Shortcomings

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just got the 1765cnw this morning, so far very impressed. This printer is replacing my Dell 3100cn color printer and I chose another Dell printer over others considered because of the bullet proof reliability of my last printer, and because of the claimed lifetime service on the fuser drum.
Initial setup was very simple and straightforward following the included Quick Setup chart. I did have some issues setting up wireless printing, I tried WPS auto set up, and manual setup several times with no success. I also powered the unit on and off several times throughout the process to ensure the memory was clear.
Then like magic, on power up, the printer connected wirelessly to the network on it's own.
Printer arrives with toner cartridges installed, so very fast from out of box to productive.
Printing - Decent first page out speed is better than specified. Excellent color photo print quality for a laser printer.
Copying - Good first page out speed, color copies "wash out" a bit, but overall good quality
Fax - Not used - No Comment
Scan - Works well with included software, good quality scans up to 600dpi. Won't let me add Photo Shop to linked programs for direct scanning into Photo Shop (or I haven't figured out the trick yet)
ADF - Document feeder is slow, but functions smoothly and works well.
Mobile Print App for Dell (Apple) - Works good, not overly intuitive, and a bit clunky because different document types are handled different ways, viewing the help videos is recommended. Slow printing.
Printer must be connected wirelessly to the network.
Dell Mobile Print (Android) - Have not been successful getting this app to recognize the printer, which is too bad because the Android app appears much more intuitive than the Apple app.
Air Print - Does Not Support Air Print - I am fortunate that a recent router upgrade allows me to configure any printer, connected to the network via usb, as Air Print capable. Air Print is much faster and more intuitive than the Dell apps.
A superb MFP for the price point. Definitely would recommend this printer for Home, Home Office, or Small Office use.
Pros:tons of functionality at a low price, great print quality, mobile printing supported, quiet very quiet, lifetime fuser drum, wireless connectivity, super easy setup
Cons:toner cost much higher than previous dell printer, does not support air print, adf a bit slow, mobile print app for android not working?, mobile print app for apple is non-intuitive slow
+10points
16of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SlowTransient
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

So far, so good....

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The C1756nfw replaced a previous pair of Dell printers - a B&W Dell 1600 laser and a Dell MPF Colour Inkjet, the V515w. I had the inkjet for it's color output (plus fax and scan) and the laser for low-cost daily printing of most documents.
The problem I really wanted to solve was the high cost of colour ink. But if replaced the inkjet with a colour laser then I would have to find another scan/fax option.
When I found the C1765nfw I realized I had found the best fit - lower cost for my colour printing, a better scan/fax hardware package than the V515w and a machine that could cheaply churn out daily B&W pages like my old laser did.
So far, I like it a lot. Print quality is ridiculously better than the old inkjet, and if cost/per page stays where it is supposed to for both colour and B&W then I'll be a very happy customer.
Pros:education, business, household
+10points
18of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PamAtWork
(Wynne, AR 72396, USA)
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Jury is still out on this product.

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My old Dell printer just quit out of the blue in my office and needed a replacement fast as my boys like their weekly paychecks. Dell salesperson helped me choose this printer even though it's features was more than I needed. I got this in Aug of 2013. In Jan. 2, 2014 it stopped working and after many hours on phone support they issued a replacement. (A refurbished even though I had bought new). On Feb. 9, 2014 another call to support as this one's fax board went out. They issued anther refurbished. I did inquire as to why if I bought new could I not have new replacements. Was told because 21 days had pasted between each incident only refurbished were allowed as replacements. We will see how long this one lasts.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Michael812
(New Braunfels, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good but not great

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had the printer for two months and run a network in my home and have a combination of wireed and wireless devices attached. I have also mixed platforms/formats from tablets to laptops to servers and workstations.
The printer in and of itself is a good unit. I would prefer it had a pull out paper feed tray for cleaner looks and a larger paper capacity. The printer cannot be configured to handle jobs from wired and wireless networks as far as I can tell - that is the one of the biggest thorns in my side - fix it! Then there is the software. I have many computers that I work from. What has been the most frustrating is that I cannot for the life of me scan from more than one machine. I am not talking simultaneously but generally from more than one machine, even with the software installed. Then there is the user hostile (in certain areas) software. I will just leave it there. It is a good printer, not great. It could be configured to be used in a small office if it was done right. It was not. I think when this one dies, I will be looking at other manufacturers.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lorenvw
(Pella, IA 50219, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great amchine for the price.

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
It seemed easy to set up. I have not used it much yet but like what I see so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3