Customer reviews for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer

Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer

Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
3.55 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
6
1 Star
6
3.5
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
28 out of 4070%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Review 1 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:foxygreatgramma
(Ladysmith, WI 54848, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I love it

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
As a writer, I use my printer a lot and need reliability, speed and quality. Overall, this is more product than I need. Probably overkill as I don't use all the features. But what I do use I'm more than happy with.And, it's compatible with Windows 8. The 150-sheet paper tray is great so I don't have to keep feeding it on large print jobs. I can't comment on toner refill as I'm still on the original cartridges. It's looking as if its going to be satisfactory, though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lula
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Not worth the money

PostedMarch 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This printer was purchased for a small-home business. It is 5 months old. It has many disadvantages: It takes some time to "wake-up", will not print on card stock, (even trying to feed it manually) always stays on the darkest setting for copying(it has to be reset every time)sometimes it continues to run, staying on. The laser print itself was descent. I cannot recommend this printer because it does not do the job that I expected it to do as I was told by a Dell rep.
Pros:descent print
Cons:too many to list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Atlanta2014
(Atlanta, GA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Sleep mode problems

PostedMarch 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This printer prints, scans and copies well but it goes into sleep mode after an hour or so and will not wake up without turning it off then back on. I have worked with Tech support but no solution so far. I have a pc downstairs so I have to walk upstairs and turn if off and on before I print. Oh well things could be worse I suppose.
Pros:good color
Cons:loses connection with pc
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vincent1871
(Saginaw, MI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Perfect For Home Use

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect for home use. Very fast printing. I like being able to check anything on the printer including settings via the web once wi-fi is configured. Easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RoryHouston
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great print quality and affordable price

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had this printer since November 2013 and use it a great deal. The quality and crispness of black print is amazing. I compared it to my old LaserJet printer and couldn't believe how much better text looks! The color quality is also excellent. For the price, it's a great printer. If money were no object, I might go for a printer with full automatic duplexing features, but even manual duplexing is simple with this model.
Pros:great black text, affordable, vibrant color images
Cons:a little slow, no airprint for ios devices
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PamAtWork
(Wynne, AR 72396, USA)
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Jury is still out on this product.

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My old Dell printer just quit out of the blue in my office and needed a replacement fast as my boys like their weekly paychecks. Dell salesperson helped me choose this printer even though it's features was more than I needed. I got this in Aug of 2013. In Jan. 2, 2014 it stopped working and after many hours on phone support they issued a replacement. (A refurbished even though I had bought new). On Feb. 9, 2014 another call to support as this one's fax board went out. They issued anther refurbished. I did inquire as to why if I bought new could I not have new replacements. Was told because 21 days had pasted between each incident only refurbished were allowed as replacements. We will see how long this one lasts.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CVirginia
(Alachua, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

The Best

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been a graphics designer and webmaster for more than 10 years. This is by-far the best printer I've ever purchased. Easy setup right from the box would have taken approx. 30 minutes, but because I wanted to know every small detail it took me a little longer. Copies are sharp and clear even on standard paper. Dimensions are less than my old V515 ink jet printer, just a little taller, but no problem. I have yet to see how long the toner will last, concerned about the cost of replacing. Wireless setup was a snap, along with fax. I print from a laptop, desktop, tablet and cell phone with no problem.
Pros:easy setup
Cons:none so far
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:youngje1
(Columbus, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

All in One Does Everything Pretty Well

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first All-In-One printer and it's true what they say. It does nothing best of class, but it does all things quite well.
As it comes from the factory, this printer uses too much toner, but there is a "toner saving" setting that has helped extend toner cartridge life.
In total, we are very satisfied with the performance of this printer and believe it will serve us well for years to come.
Pros:easy to set up, good documentation available, intuitive menu system, compact size, toner available from inexpensive source, quiet operation
Cons:uses too much toner, difficult to figure out how to scan to network, scan quality could be better, difficult to set up for second pc on network
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SteveMA
(Massachusetts, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not what I would have thought

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this printer would be better than it is. As a printer, it's ok, but I would have thought it would have an automatic duplexer, rather than manual. Also, scanning is a bit cumbersome.
Pros:quality of printing
Cons:manual duplex, cumbersome scanning, cumbersome set up
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Snakeoil
(Norfolk, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Printer

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The printer came with no operations manual and I am operating on a case by case basis. I get many paper jams and cannot scan directly from the control panel on the machine. I have to in through the printer app and scan that way. I really wish it came with a manual.
By the way, please put the service tag where you can see and read the darn thing.
Cons:paper jams, unable to scan directly
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Briceman
(Columbus, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Versatile machine - It really does it all.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I replaced another brand of laser printer with this one and am very pleased. The other one had a fixed font size and could not print readable bar codes. This one can print a bar code and has very good graphics.
I was able to connect it to my wireless network on the first try and print from all of my devices. I also got rid of my old scanner.
I printed an envelope today and it looks great on the first try, my old one used to take several tries.
This is a high quality machine which performs flawlessly. I am very impressed.
Pros:i am impressed with its features & functions
Cons:i don't have any.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Michael812
(New Braunfels, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good but not great

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had the printer for two months and run a network in my home and have a combination of wireed and wireless devices attached. I have also mixed platforms/formats from tablets to laptops to servers and workstations.
The printer in and of itself is a good unit. I would prefer it had a pull out paper feed tray for cleaner looks and a larger paper capacity. The printer cannot be configured to handle jobs from wired and wireless networks as far as I can tell - that is the one of the biggest thorns in my side - fix it! Then there is the software. I have many computers that I work from. What has been the most frustrating is that I cannot for the life of me scan from more than one machine. I am not talking simultaneously but generally from more than one machine, even with the software installed. Then there is the user hostile (in certain areas) software. I will just leave it there. It is a good printer, not great. It could be configured to be used in a small office if it was done right. It was not. I think when this one dies, I will be looking at other manufacturers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BarbaraInFlorida
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not worth the grief

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this printer and received it and it has been nothing but a nightmare – one problem after another. I would NOT recommend purchasing. Right now I called the 877# and am still on hold 57 minutes later. I did talk to two different people who are both referring me someplace else. The problem this time is that yesterday I printed out some legal size sheets from the computer – no problem here. But today I am trying to COPY a regular-size sheet and the printer will not do it because of the PAPER MISMATCH. Apparently there is no easy way to clear the memory of the printer, like I do with my old non-Dell printer. You just turn that one on and off and it clears it’s little memory. The Dell printer is apparently soooooo much smarter. My son purchased me a Dell PC a couple of years back and it has been a dream. But one month into this purchase, I want to send this printer back. Too many problems which means long times with customer support. It’s not worth it. Still on hold - 64 minutes. I am using this computer/printer for business purchases so time is money. Okay, 69 minutes. Am hanging up. No copies today
Pros:nice customer service reps, reps have solved several problems
Cons:inadequate troubleshooting manuels, cannot easily find online help, if 877# was paid no one mentioned it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:martie10mb
(Jamestown, PA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Beautiful print quality

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great printer. It was easy to set up and the features it has are top quality. The actual print quality is the best I've ever seen. The controls are easy to read. I basically plugged it in the wall and my computer and I was ready to go. I would highly recommend this printer. I will hold off on judgment of the cost of ink once I see how many prints I get out of the cartridges.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ink123
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Perfect Home/Student Printer

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great quality, easy installation. In addition, it is user-friendly and being wireless, it is very practical and convenient.
Pros:wireless, quality pictures, all-in-one
Cons:none
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lorenvw
(Pella, IA 50219, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great amchine for the price.

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
It seemed easy to set up. I have not used it much yet but like what I see so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Schafer
(Lafayette, Indiana)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Easy to Set Up

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this printer on sale for home use. I have been looking at laser printers for awhile, but this is the first one that was Color, Wireless and an "All in One" printer that had a great price. The printer was extremely easy to set up. I have it connected to my main computer with a USB cable, and I have 2 laptops and another desktop computer connected to it wirelessly.
I have 3 teenagers who live at home, and a teacher for a spouse, so the printer will get used a lot. So far I have only had it up and running for a week, so it's too early to tell about toner cartridge use or reliability. I am looking forward to using the scanner, I have lots of old photographs that I need to scan.
Pros:easy to set up, scanner resolution is good
Cons:scanner software is not "intuitive", don't need the fax
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:alyena
(Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I'm very happy with this printer

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been using this printer since 11/21/13 and I love it.
First it was extremely easy to set up. I was delighted to see it detected my wireless network when I powered it on and all I had to do was enter my password to connect to my network.
Second the print quality is great. I've spent the past couple evenings printing out Christmas cards and can honestly say they look every bit as good as the ones I've printed in the past with an ink jet printer.
Pros:easy set up, great print quality
Cons:none so far.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Conquistador
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Might be a good product, if...

PostedDecember 7, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Regarding the actual print function of this product, it seems to do just fine. But, this is more than just a printer, it's a fax machine, scanner, etc. I'm trying to set up the "scan to email" function, but I'm not having any luck. I'm getting an error code, which when I search for it in the user manual, doesn't exist. The user manual gives a basic overview, but nothing detailed; it's the equivalent of telling someone how to bake a pie by saying, "mix the ingredients, then bake the pie."
After hours of searching through the user manual, I did find instructions which told me to open a web browser and, "Type in the IP address of the printer in the address bar and click Go. The printer's Web page appears." But, it doesn't say where I can find my printer's IP address.
It shouldn't be this complicated, and I shouldn't have wasted an entire morning trying to figure this out. I find most electronic devices to be either user friendly, or able to figure out with a little trial and error. Not this printer! I can't even figure out how to add email addresses to the address book. And, if you're like me, you're probably thinking, "Well that guy is stupid, I'll be able to figure it out!" Nope! Wrong!
I tried calling customer support, which just ended up being more frustrating than helpful. Someone from India kept referring to it as "email to scan" (keep in mind, I want to "scan to email"), and became frustrated when I asked him to repeat things. We didn't get very far due to the communication difficulties.
I'm 35 years old, and I believe this is the first review I have ever typed. That's how frustrating this is; that's how annoyed I am.
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 16, 2013
Hi Conquistador,

Thanks for taking some time to post your experiences with your C1765nfw color laser printer! I apologize that you have had a frustrating time getting some of the features to work. I posted a link to the online manual below and I have some suggestions that might help. Instructions for finding your IP address are on page 55. Then you can go into the printer's web menu and setup your E-mail Contacts on page 265. I always recommend reading/posting on the Dell Community Forums for more detailed advice from experts (PudgyOne is a Printer RockStar!).

C1765nfw Manual -
http://dell.to/1bM1684
Dell Community Forums -
http://dell.to/15oywn3
@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/Tgt5D8

Hope this helps!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xenacick
(Phoenix, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Prefect for Experienced Home Office Computer Users

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I always have preferred laser printers over ink-jet, but typically the cost is prohibitive for a multifunction model which also offers the convenience of wireless printing and color. This printer is all those things, and has a decent price tag that won't break the bank (especially for the home office).
The one caveat I want to warn prospective purchasers with is the interface on the machine, the software for your computer, and on the exclusive printer website aren't user friendly, if you aren't a pro, and a bit clunky. If you are one of those people who are computer illiterate, you may want to move along to a printer a little higher up the ladder as far as new models are concerned (just because I am making the assumption they have improved these functions). Luckily I am fairly good with computer systems, but given all the advanced features this printer has, I expected it to have a much more user friendly interface.
Lastly, even with my experience with dedicated multifunction printers, laser included, which are connected to a network so multiple users are able to directly print I found the scanning feature has a sharp learning curve. It isn't that difficult to connect the printer to your network. What is difficult is to get it to 'remember' specific settings per computer. I think every time I have scanned thus far I have had to spend at least 5 minutes setting up the printer to recognize my laptop on the network of available devices, and I haven't ever been able to get the scan function to work directly from the printer. I always have to set up the scan, go back to my computer, open the Paper-Port software, installed with the drivers and such, (which is needed as part of the printer's scan function) supported printer interface for scanning, and tell the printer the parameters of the scan. However, the software, and therefore the printer, has bugs which result in getting errors that end up in the scanned paper getting stuck in the auto document feeder, or no scan occurring period with various error messages. The manual says there is a way to switch the printers automatic use of the Paper-Port software to other programs, such as the most commonly used Adobe PDF, and I can't get it to work with anything else. I have followed the directions AND played with the settings in the options on the printer and in the software to no avail.
So in the end most aspects of the printer overall are great for the price, and the quality of the actual prints is wonderful, as expected. Just beware of that learning curve if you want to be able to do a lot of the other features with the printer from your computer not directly on the printer.
Pros:good quality prints, economically priced, drum is supposed to last the lifetime of printer
Cons:poor user interface design, learning curve for amature computer users
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2