Customer reviews for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer

Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer

Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
3.622 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
6
1 Star
7
3.6
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
32 out of 4571%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Review 1 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MPurdy
(Eureka, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

5/5 - Best buy for price for SOHO.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this around black Friday in 2013. I wanted a Laser printer because every Ink Jet I've had in the past did not last very long. The ink dried out after only a month or two of sitting. I don't print often but when I do I want something to be ready. This printer does the job. I've printed anything from full color maps with extremely high detail to basic black and white documents.
This printer has out shined any other printer I have had in the past. Definitely does exactly what it says it does.
I'll list the pro's and con's but even with its con's this printer Wins even against some of the high end HP printers and Copy/Printer(color) setups at work.
Pros:wifi - easy setup, web interface / intuitive / easy to use, ink does not dry out :), full color with no visible issues., quiet very very quiet until it prints., scan to usb (in pdf), lots and lots of features too many to count.
Cons:paper tray sticks out too far, power consumption. my lights dim when it starts., scan to email is spotty to get setup
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WirelessRookie
(IL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Embarassingly poor quality for Dell--replaced 5 times!

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this printer for my home office in December of 2013. It was replaced under warranty due to a malfunctioning censor (kept giving paper jam error) within one month. It was replaced again for the same error. It had to be replaced again and again, sometimes for suddenly not being recognized on the network, sometimes for the censor error. I have never had such a problem with any printer! I am afraid when the warranty runs out this December that I will have to pay to replace it. I will not replace it with a Dell printer, that is for certain.
Cons:incredibly unreliable, bulky compared to other multifunction printers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gito
(San Diego, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

i love it

PostedJune 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
great printer so far. don't know how long the starter toners will last. so far so good.
Pros:dont have to deal with dried up ink any more
Cons:a bit tall
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TexasBandMom
(Dallas, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Love this printer

PostedMay 31, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was offered a package deal to buy this printer when I purchased my new Dell laptop. I was not in love with my old ink jet printer so I said 'yes'. This printer is easy to learn; prints, copies, scans and faxes (I don't do fax), but I do use everything else. The best feature is that laser ink does not run or smear if it gets wet.
Pros:excellent print quality
Cons:toner (ink) is more expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pongo9641
(Memphis, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great printer for the money

PostedMay 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I read all the reviews before I made this purchase. As far as setup, I could not have been easier. wifi was a snap just had to enter my network password and I was connected. The print quality is pretty nice, very clean, crisp and color is spot on. As far as the printer taking thicker paper, all you have to do is setup up your fuser height in setup for the type of paper you are using.
Printed exel document from my cell phone and it printed fairly quickly.
Not sure why some people are having problems. this was the easiest printer I have ever setup.
I always wanted a color laser. for the money this is an awesome printer. and you can get third party ink a whole lot cheaper than the dell brand. I can get all four cartridges off of amazon for the same price as just the Dell black cartridge.
Pros:quiet fairly quick printing., great printer for the money
Cons:none so far
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:foxygreatgramma
(Ladysmith, WI 54848, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I love it

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
As a writer, I use my printer a lot and need reliability, speed and quality. Overall, this is more product than I need. Probably overkill as I don't use all the features. But what I do use I'm more than happy with.And, it's compatible with Windows 8. The 150-sheet paper tray is great so I don't have to keep feeding it on large print jobs. I can't comment on toner refill as I'm still on the original cartridges. It's looking as if its going to be satisfactory, though.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lula
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Not worth the money

PostedMarch 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This printer was purchased for a small-home business. It is 5 months old. It has many disadvantages: It takes some time to "wake-up", will not print on card stock, (even trying to feed it manually) always stays on the darkest setting for copying(it has to be reset every time)sometimes it continues to run, staying on. The laser print itself was descent. I cannot recommend this printer because it does not do the job that I expected it to do as I was told by a Dell rep.
Pros:descent print
Cons:too many to list
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Atlanta2014
(Atlanta, GA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Sleep mode problems

PostedMarch 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This printer prints, scans and copies well but it goes into sleep mode after an hour or so and will not wake up without turning it off then back on. I have worked with Tech support but no solution so far. I have a pc downstairs so I have to walk upstairs and turn if off and on before I print. Oh well things could be worse I suppose.
Pros:good color
Cons:loses connection with pc
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vincent1871
(Saginaw, MI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Perfect For Home Use

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect for home use. Very fast printing. I like being able to check anything on the printer including settings via the web once wi-fi is configured. Easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RoryHouston
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great print quality and affordable price

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had this printer since November 2013 and use it a great deal. The quality and crispness of black print is amazing. I compared it to my old LaserJet printer and couldn't believe how much better text looks! The color quality is also excellent. For the price, it's a great printer. If money were no object, I might go for a printer with full automatic duplexing features, but even manual duplexing is simple with this model.
Pros:great black text, affordable, vibrant color images
Cons:a little slow, no airprint for ios devices
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PamAtWork
(Wynne, AR 72396, USA)
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Jury is still out on this product.

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My old Dell printer just quit out of the blue in my office and needed a replacement fast as my boys like their weekly paychecks. Dell salesperson helped me choose this printer even though it's features was more than I needed. I got this in Aug of 2013. In Jan. 2, 2014 it stopped working and after many hours on phone support they issued a replacement. (A refurbished even though I had bought new). On Feb. 9, 2014 another call to support as this one's fax board went out. They issued anther refurbished. I did inquire as to why if I bought new could I not have new replacements. Was told because 21 days had pasted between each incident only refurbished were allowed as replacements. We will see how long this one lasts.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CVirginia
(Alachua, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

The Best

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been a graphics designer and webmaster for more than 10 years. This is by-far the best printer I've ever purchased. Easy setup right from the box would have taken approx. 30 minutes, but because I wanted to know every small detail it took me a little longer. Copies are sharp and clear even on standard paper. Dimensions are less than my old V515 ink jet printer, just a little taller, but no problem. I have yet to see how long the toner will last, concerned about the cost of replacing. Wireless setup was a snap, along with fax. I print from a laptop, desktop, tablet and cell phone with no problem.
Pros:easy setup
Cons:none so far
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:youngje1
(Columbus, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

All in One Does Everything Pretty Well

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first All-In-One printer and it's true what they say. It does nothing best of class, but it does all things quite well.
As it comes from the factory, this printer uses too much toner, but there is a "toner saving" setting that has helped extend toner cartridge life.
In total, we are very satisfied with the performance of this printer and believe it will serve us well for years to come.
Pros:easy to set up, good documentation available, intuitive menu system, compact size, toner available from inexpensive source, quiet operation
Cons:uses too much toner, difficult to figure out how to scan to network, scan quality could be better, difficult to set up for second pc on network
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SteveMA
(Massachusetts, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not what I would have thought

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this printer would be better than it is. As a printer, it's ok, but I would have thought it would have an automatic duplexer, rather than manual. Also, scanning is a bit cumbersome.
Pros:quality of printing
Cons:manual duplex, cumbersome scanning, cumbersome set up
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Snakeoil
(Norfolk, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Printer

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The printer came with no operations manual and I am operating on a case by case basis. I get many paper jams and cannot scan directly from the control panel on the machine. I have to in through the printer app and scan that way. I really wish it came with a manual.
By the way, please put the service tag where you can see and read the darn thing.
Cons:paper jams, unable to scan directly
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Briceman
(Columbus, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Versatile machine - It really does it all.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I replaced another brand of laser printer with this one and am very pleased. The other one had a fixed font size and could not print readable bar codes. This one can print a bar code and has very good graphics.
I was able to connect it to my wireless network on the first try and print from all of my devices. I also got rid of my old scanner.
I printed an envelope today and it looks great on the first try, my old one used to take several tries.
This is a high quality machine which performs flawlessly. I am very impressed.
Pros:i am impressed with its features & functions
Cons:i don't have any.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Michael812
(New Braunfels, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good but not great

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had the printer for two months and run a network in my home and have a combination of wireed and wireless devices attached. I have also mixed platforms/formats from tablets to laptops to servers and workstations.
The printer in and of itself is a good unit. I would prefer it had a pull out paper feed tray for cleaner looks and a larger paper capacity. The printer cannot be configured to handle jobs from wired and wireless networks as far as I can tell - that is the one of the biggest thorns in my side - fix it! Then there is the software. I have many computers that I work from. What has been the most frustrating is that I cannot for the life of me scan from more than one machine. I am not talking simultaneously but generally from more than one machine, even with the software installed. Then there is the user hostile (in certain areas) software. I will just leave it there. It is a good printer, not great. It could be configured to be used in a small office if it was done right. It was not. I think when this one dies, I will be looking at other manufacturers.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BarbaraInFlorida
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not worth the grief

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this printer and received it and it has been nothing but a nightmare – one problem after another. I would NOT recommend purchasing. Right now I called the 877# and am still on hold 57 minutes later. I did talk to two different people who are both referring me someplace else. The problem this time is that yesterday I printed out some legal size sheets from the computer – no problem here. But today I am trying to COPY a regular-size sheet and the printer will not do it because of the PAPER MISMATCH. Apparently there is no easy way to clear the memory of the printer, like I do with my old non-Dell printer. You just turn that one on and off and it clears it’s little memory. The Dell printer is apparently soooooo much smarter. My son purchased me a Dell PC a couple of years back and it has been a dream. But one month into this purchase, I want to send this printer back. Too many problems which means long times with customer support. It’s not worth it. Still on hold - 64 minutes. I am using this computer/printer for business purchases so time is money. Okay, 69 minutes. Am hanging up. No copies today
Pros:nice customer service reps, reps have solved several problems
Cons:inadequate troubleshooting manuels, cannot easily find online help, if 877# was paid no one mentioned it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:martie10mb
(Jamestown, PA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Beautiful print quality

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great printer. It was easy to set up and the features it has are top quality. The actual print quality is the best I've ever seen. The controls are easy to read. I basically plugged it in the wall and my computer and I was ready to go. I would highly recommend this printer. I will hold off on judgment of the cost of ink once I see how many prints I get out of the cartridges.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell C1765nfw Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ink123
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Perfect Home/Student Printer

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great quality, easy installation. In addition, it is user-friendly and being wireless, it is very practical and convenient.
Pros:wireless, quality pictures, all-in-one
Cons:none
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3