Customer reviews for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer

Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer

Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
2.4 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
2.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
5 out of 1533%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Review 1 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Betty55
(Murrieta, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Unhappy with scan options

PostedJune 11, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to purchase a new All in one since my 966 was not compatible with my upgrade of windows 7. The 966 was very easy to use and had the scanning problem on the printer disc. This new one does not. I receive this other disc with no explanation with other useless programs that I do not want going into my programs taking up space on my hard drive. What a waste of time for me. I spent all morning working on this only to then discover this is what happened. This should not be....why this complicated mess!!!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ErnieC
(Albuquerque, NM, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Sweet and Sour

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased my MFC 1355cnw about 3 years ago. I had some issues in setting it up the printer but found help in the User Guide and The software Utilities. I even learned how to change paper size using the Dell Utilites that I loaded onto my computer. Network installation was not a problem, but it was a little frustrating, finally the IP address assigned popped right in place.
Faxing was not an issue, but receiving FAX's is still a problem and that is because I have the telephone voice mail on the line. Black and white printing was excellent. Scanning to a Thumb Drive was no problem, in fact, it has proven to be very handy. I have not used the E-mail function, and have no desire to do so, but one of these days I might try it, if I still have a Dell MFC Printer. I have had one paper jam and it was my fault. Printing envelopes is difficult, so I use another printer. My color printing was marginal from the start. Small prints came through OK, but medium and large color prints in a reports were blotchey in areas where a single color took an area of the picture or graph. My original thoughts about the color was that the 1355cnw was relatively an inexpensive printer, so I should not expected any more. By years end, I could not use the printer for reports, but was saddled using the printer for Draft copies only for proof reading, and another color printer, non-Dell, for Reports to my customers. Forgetting that I had an extended warranty, I did nothing. At this time, the FUSER just did not allow anything to print with clarity. On and off,hit and miss I have tried to find a Fuser this past year, just living with the problem due to other priorities.
Now I have some time to focus on the issue of the FUSER. When Dell says low maintenance, and the Fuser and drum will last the life of the printer, what does that mean? Does it mean 2 months, a year, 2 years, what? For me it was almost right away. Then I tried to purchase a FUSER. Well, you cannot, and you cannot trade this 1355 in for its replacement, the C1765nfw, for example. The sales people tell me there is no difference between models, just the model number changed. I guess, I have to trash this Printer and find another. My other printers, I can service, but I guess, with Dell, no servicing, just buy a new printer. No trade in, even for a left over in stock Dell 1355cnw.
A accept the responsibility for not contacting Dell earlier, but did not have time to do so, and I thought I could change the FUSER myself, but it is not designed that way. Well, it's a hard lesson to learned.
Dell consumables (toners) are too expensive, making this printer the most expensive printer in the office.
Pros:good scanning and fax'ing
Cons:toner too expensive, cannot replace fuser and drum
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:verysad01
(Germantown, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Waste of Money!!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This printer is gigantic and cumbersome. It constantly provides phantom error messages such as "open rear cover and remove paper" when there is no paper to be removed. Then it wont clear and you can't print. Totally unreliable. It is trult the worst printer I have ever owned and I am very sorry I bought it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Marlene33
(Halfway, OR 97834, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Very good item to have

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My only problem is I did not receive any information, nor can get any from the printer on how to scan to my documents. Please advise as I have many items of VFW doings and coping t do and need to keep copy in my documents. Thank you. I do love the printer, it is faster than my last one and this is great.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:blind
(La Grange, NC 28551, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

worst printer for the money

PostedDecember 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
biggest regret buying this printer!!!cannot get it to scan!! i was told it would print photos,prints half the photo!!cannot change the setting for a 5x7 picture even if is shown as a choice!! i have wasted alot of photo paper and ink trying to print pics!! i think a cheaper printer would do a better job!!!this is my third printer from dell and i am not at all satisfied with this one!!!! money wasted!!!!
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer reviewsDecember 3, 2013
Hello Blind,

Thank you for trying the Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer. I am sorry to hear it did not live up to your expectations and I hope they get you running soon. This being a laser printer will not deliver the same photo reporduction as an inkjet. But, it is cheaper to maintain with ink costs.

Thank you for sharing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Greg21
(Greenville, SC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Waste of Money

PostedOctober 31, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This printer is horrible and I am going to throw it in the trash. Do not waste your money. I purchased this color laser printer to print presentation quality material for my business. It scans, prints, and copies at a snails pace. I own a laser Brother printer and it can run circles around this Dell Laser printer. This printer is a piece of junk!
Pros:print quality is good when it actually prints
Cons:cannot handle large print files. freezes up., scan quality is terrible, scan speed is very slo, copy speed is very slow
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 4, 2013
Hello Greg21,

I am sorry to hear that this printers speed has not lived up to your expectations. If you haven't already, you may want to reach out to our DellCares team on the Community Forums (
http://dell.to/14oBJ5B). They may have some suggestions to increase the speed of the printer or troubleshoot any concerns.

-SaraT
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:stinsonmarri
(Georgia, USA)
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Setup

PostedOctober 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just bought this computer and so far it worst then the HP. Office Panel cannot a for us who are disable. Have to put it down on lower table and it still hurts my neck. The printer is excellent but the feature or poor or terrible. It is not working on my Dell xps studio (which I love). I up graded it to Windows 8 (Which I love). The Setup is awful!!!!
Pros:printer is quiet when printing., the pringer it self works excellent, wifi works.
Cons:it heavy and quite ugly., office panel do not adjust for the disable, setup is awful., the scanner and the fax is not working., i wonder is this digital or analog ?, i have a gateway router from att n/a with it!, guide book is confusing!, tools say fail on everything!
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 14, 2013
Hello stinsonmarri,

I am sorry to hear that you are not happy with your new printer. If you are having any trouble setting up the printer or getting any of the features to run, please feel free to reach out to our DellCares team. They would be happy to try and assist.

• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/14oBJ5B
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/1beHgBz
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/147YZ7w

-SaraT
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:saltstang
(Delaware, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Title:

Good printer, misleading toner capacity

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
We bought our printer in May and have been using it roughly once a week for household printing needs over the last five months. The printer itself works well, prints quickly, and the print quality is very good. The scanner also works quickly and the paper feeder makes scanning a number of pages very easy.
The main issue with this printer is the toner capacity. The description says the printer ships with a standard capacity black toner cartridge, which has a yield of 700 pages. We have printed fewer than 200 total pages, and the toner needed to be replaced. We have been printing text documents, so we expected to get at least close to the claimed yield of 700 pages. Either the cartridge that ships with the printer is not actually a normal cartridge, or the yield of 700 pages is not determined by normal, real-world use.
This is easily a four-star printer if the black toner came anywhere close to the claimed page yield.
Pros:speed, quality
Cons:toner capacity
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 7, 2013
Hey Saltstang,

Thank you for your review of the Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer. I am sorry to hear it does not meet your expectations. The yeild numbers on the cartridges can be greatly different depending on what you are printing and the darkness levels. One thing I can suggest to increase your toner life, is to set your printer to greyscale only when printing in black and white. This is done under printing preferences. You can also adjust the darkness levels to acheive the saturation you like without using as much ink.

That should make your printer more of a 5 star you were expecting. If you require assistance in these settings, reach out to our Dellcares team.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://dell.to/14T7mnW)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/1cXzZdN)

Thanks for sharing!
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shebear
(Columbus, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

No Manual

PostedJuly 2, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been trying to figure out how to print labels from my brand new C1765nf/C1765nfw but it didn't come with a manual and the manual I find on line doesn't show me how to do it.
Cons:no manual or good instructions
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 5, 2013
Hello Shebear,

Thank you for your purchase of the Dell C1765nf. Dell has reduced the ammount of paper products and other materials shipped with systems, in an attempt to be a more Green company. The manuals can be found online through our support site.

Copy the link to your favorite browser:
http://dell.to/12qoml4

If you find yourself in need of further assistance, reach out to our Dellcares team:

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)

Hope that helps!
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Janice60
(Northern NH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not happy with Paper feed

PostedMarch 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the 2nd dell laser printer I have bought in a year. The 1st one was this models predecessor and I made the unfortunate mistake of almost immediately printing on an ink jet photo paper which caused the toner to spread everywhere within the machine and leave "shadows" on most of the copies as well as patches of toner that would not "set" and would brush off the paper. Tck and this printer had real issues with the paper feeding system. I would have to reload normal weight paper several times before it would recognize it and print on it. Using cover stock and light card stock was almost impossible. I thought this might have been caused by my costly mistake and so I ate the cost of the first printer and ordered a 2nd one. I was very disappointed to find out that I am having the identical paper feeding issues. At this point I am debating whether I should return the printer since it is not printing on the media types that it claimed to work with. If this printer handled paper types better, I would love it.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 22, 2013
Hello Janice60,

Thanks for taking the time to review your Dell C1765cnf. The system should be able to handle the paper types listed below.

Plain paper (Normal, Thick)
Cover (106-163g/m2)
Coated paper (106-163g/m2)
Label
Envelope
Recycle Paper
Hagaki (190gsm)

It sounds like you are having issues within these specs. Reach out to our Dellcares team. They may be able to help out. Make sure to share about the previous printing system.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

I hope that helps!

+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Elizabeth12345
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

USB Cable Not Included

PostedMarch 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just received this printer today, and as I am setting it up, I noticed there is no USB Cable included. When I was reviewing the printer online before I purchased it, it clearly listed a USB Cable in the section 'Contents in the Box', but to my dismay there is no USB Cable. I now have to run out and purchase one before I can set it up.
Cons:usb cable not included
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 25, 2013
Hello Elizabeth12345,

I am sorry you felt you were mis-led. I checked the website and found the following information:

Contents in the Box
Dell C1765nf Color Printer
Software and Documentation CD (Printer Driver & Dell Toner Management Software)
Dell C1765nf Ship-With Black Cartridge ( 700 page yield8)
Dell C1765nf Ship-With Color Cartridges ( 700 page yield8)
Power Cord
Placemat
Important Information booklet
Quick Reference Guide
Hardware Recycle Program label and instructions
Retail Warranty Techsheet
Safety Precaution Techsheet

Mistakes on the site, can happen from time to time. If you can provide a link, to where you saw the USB to be included, I can make sure the website is corrected.

Thank you for the review,
-2points
14of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Terri101
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Read the Specs

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this printer. Thought it would ship with the advertised 700 page cartridges. Not, I ran out of ink with less than 100 print text pages. Called Dell and was told all printers ship with a starter cartridge. When I found the specs the manager lied and told me the 700 page cartridge is the starter cartridge. Ok, then why would I pay $49.00/$55. for a starter cartridge (per PUJA, #127150). Really Dell, please don't insult me. Either do what's advertised or take it down because it was not in the box. I plan to return the printer because I can't afford to pay for cartridges that run out in 100 pages!!!
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewMarch 29, 2013
Hello Terri101,

I am sorry to hear you had issues with the standard yield ink cartrdges, shipped with your printer. All of our toner cartridges are covered by a lifetime warranty against defects. I see you have already received the new cartridges from Dell. If you have any other issues, please do not hesitate to contact us:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you for choosing Dell.
+3points
11of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChaosTheory
(Sheboygan WI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

My first laser-- not bad.

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
First let me say that I'm a long-time Dell consumer for things like monitors and printers (not so much PCs anymore) and I've had mixed experiences. For every 2405FPW monitor that's still going strong 7+ years later, I've had my share of Dell equipment disasters.
I ordered this C1765nf via Buy.com and amazingly it was delivered less than 12 hours later somehow. Setup was a breeze, both by finding needed drivers from Dell's site and by networking via ethernet.
Print quality is very good monochrome and "good enough" for color. You don't really expect much from 600 resolution, but it was better than I expected if that makes sense. Copying and scanning was also above average. I really could care less how fast stuff prints, and for a home office I would sacrifice speed for quality any day-- but if speed is your bag, I'd defer to other reviews to see if it's fast enough or not.
I admit this is my first personally-owned laser printer, having finally upgraded from ink. I did so because I was tired of having my printer sit for months between uses, only to find that my ink had dried when I needed it. Between drying ink and ink-hogging printers (looking at you, HP) I estimated the cost per page had become unacceptable.
My only complaint with this printer was that it didn't come with the USB cable as the specs I read claimed. Normally you don't expect "free" USB cables anymore, but when you're actually told it's part of the box contents it kind of bugs you when it's not in there. I ended up ethernet networking anyway, so no further expense was warranted.
Bottom line is that for $220 there really is no excuse to stay with ink anymore unless you need photo-quality prints on a regular basis. The price has come down, and the quality has come up to make them a legitimate contender for personal use. So far, thumbs up for this Dell model.
+15points
22of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gary1955
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A Little Unhappy

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was surprised to discover that there isn't a paper cartridge for this printer. The photos show the paper door closed in all views. In order to use standard 8 1/2" x 11" paper, the paper tray is loaded and the door must remain open at all times. If I had known that, I probably would have chosen a different model. This just seems to be a poorly designed feature.
Also had a difficult time installing the drivers. Apparently there was a conflict with my old Dell 1320c color laser printer, and the new drivers for this printer would not install. After over an hour on the phone with customer support, they were able to get the drivers installed and the printer operational.
I consider myself to be very technical oriented and the installation process for this new printer was very challenging. The written instructions that came with the printer were inadequate and I had to refer to the online information in order to complete the installation.
After finally getting the printer operational, it seems to print, copy and scan well. It's too early to determine if the current performance will continue. I will update in the future as necessary.
+34points
35of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell C1765nf Multifunction Color Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RatuKamina
Title:

Great color Laser LED AIO Printer

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just got this printer today after my brother mfc 9120cn got crushed during shipment. This is a much lighter printer at around 40lbs or less. It is also better at printing color graphics and decent 4x6 photo printer too from my iMac using kodak photo paper. I haven't tried faxing yet but will in a few days. I printed a text document on legal size paper and it came out sharp crisp and clear. Unit has a very decent display on top. Those concerned about paper curling from heat need not to worry this LED printer spits out straight and cool paper. Best part is I saw black toner cartridge (aftermarket brand) for $23 at amazon for this model. I got a great deal on this printer from dell at 249 bucks and so far I am very satisfied.
Pros:documents envelopes and occasional graphics/photo
+14points
33of 52voted this as helpful.