Customer reviews for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM

Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM

Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
3.957 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
4
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
34 out of 4674%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Review 1 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MaxxOmega
(Toronto)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Nice Monitor

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a very nice monitor with great color and detail. Some of the bad reviews here are just stupid. I own 5 Dell Monitors inluding 2 30 Inch Models. They are all excellent monitors. Buy it, or buy the U2713H which has more features.
Pros:skin colors (heh heh) look great
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SY201
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great monitor for as long as it is working

PostedOctober 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use this with my Apple Macbook Pro 15" Retina (2012), connected via DisplayPort. I use this monitor on the highest resolution and it looks great for its price.
As I type, I'm on hold with Dell Customer Service because of a flickering issue on the 2nd of these monitors I've owned. The first one I bought began flickering after about 9-10 months of use. Dell was very proactive in replacing it with a refurbished unit. Now, 5 months later, the replacement unit is exhibiting the same issues and I suspect I'll have to have it replaced as well.
In summary, this is a great monitor for the price, but apparently not very reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hobbled
(Vancouver, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Image. Build quality. . . good but not great

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
There's no doubting the image quality on this monitor--at least to my eyes. It's impressively sharp, big and accurate--although color is somewhat subjective. The colors look good to me when I compare them to printed images.
I see also that Dell has greatly improved the functions of the button controls on this model compared to the buttons on the last one I purchased over eight years ago. The functions of these new buttons just make a lot more intuitive sense, and it's much faster to get to the brightness and contrast menus, which are the functions I adjust most often. They used to be buried under about six levels on the old one.
However, compared to my old WFP2007 ultrasharp monitor, this new one suffers in finish and construction materials. The old monitor, even though it had only a 20-inch screen, weighs more. That's because a lot of the shell and the stand on the old monitor were made of metal. It was just a more nicely finished, better-looking piece of hardware. So I was a little disappointed to take this new one out of the box and see that it looks and feels much cheaper than a monitor I paid half as much for eight years ago.
Still, it comes down to image quality, and the picture on this new monitor surpasses the old. Time will tell if it holds up as well.
Pros:image quality button functions
Cons:materials and finish not what they used to be
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Derilyct
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Average monitor with HORIBBLE burn-in issue

PostedAugust 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this monitor for about 3 months now and since day one have had to deal with the burn-in. If I purchased this personally I would have returned it but since I got it through my job I felt the need to just deal with it. After this amount of time however I'm starting to wish I'd requested something different and sent this thing back. Picture is sharp for static images but the monitor suffers from refresh issues and the burn-in is the ABSOLUTE WORST I have ever seen. I've had the previous model at work and it was wonderful. Is there anything I can do to make this less of an issue?
Pros:average on most fronts
Cons:horrible burn-in
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheDuk
(Somewhere in Zion)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Monitor(s)

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
As of four days ago, I will have had my U2713HM's for a year and they've seen a lot of use in the last 52 weeks, mostly gaming with photo editing, word processing and the other daily uses a home computer sees.
I replaced a U3011 and an aging but still viable 2405FPW with these monitors. The difference was night and day, even vs the (non LED) 3011. One very noticeable thing about the 2713HM vs the U3011 (besides the obvious things like brighter, crisper, etc.) is the level of heat produced by the monitors. Again, two different level of tech, I know. But it's much nicer to sit here typing this review and not feel noticeable warmth rolling off of my desk due to the monitor.
So, to sum things up. I love these monitors and don't regret the purchase for a moment.
Pros:4x usb 3.0 on each monitor
Cons:price is still a bit high
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MrEno
(Quebec, QC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Awesome monitor!

PostedApril 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Want a 27" monitor with great specifications? Get the Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM. You will get a very nice screen.
I looked around for couple of weeks to be sure I was making a good purchase and it is just great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ElectronicGadgetGuru
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Superb Monitor !

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This really is an awesome monitor ! It is very sharp color accurate and plenty bright. One thing I can not stand is a screen that will not get bright enough. With this monitor all I did was turn the brightness down to 73 and have not changed anything else. It came set at 75 and I can not even imagine what 100 would be like and I like bright displays. I am coming from a LG L226WTQ 22" monitor and the immense size of this thing has taken some getting used to but I really like the extra screen real estate. Text is crisp and sharp even when zoomed in 200%. The only issue I have seen with web browsing is that websites do not put high enough resolution images sometimes so when they are enlarged they look somewhat blurry. I really wish web designers would catch up to the times because I see this issue even on my phones and tablets albeit not as noticeable on a smaller screen. Also, I tested my monitor as soon as I got it and it has no light bleed and not a single dead pixel and it is a revision A00 made in December 2013. Seeing that 4k connections are not quite up to par yet and have to use two 1080p screens stitched together and video cards have some catching up to do I opted for this 2560x1440 screen that will not cost me near as much to push ! I was considering two 24" models but opted for this 27" instead since it has a higher pixel density than all but the 4k 24" that is over $1000. Plus I learned it had the screen management software to section off the screen when multitasking and figured I would enjoy videos and games more on this one than the two 24" ones. Now I am considering getting another one of these but I would have to build a bigger desk first. I would not let the bad reviews scare you off this is a great product and if you did have an issue there is always the 3 year warranty. Hope this helps someone ! Thanks
Pros:sharp and crisp text, awesome color reproduction, great build quality, multitude of features
Cons:multitasking screen management could be better
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Aleksandar2
(Toronto, ON)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Still selling rev A00 in February 2014?

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately:
1) I received two A00 revision monitors made in December 2013 - before I bought monitors, I chatted with Dell customer support and I was told that I will be receiving A03 revision - I even received email copy of chat where the customer support person is telling me that I will receive A03 rev.
2) Both monitors have bad, yellow backbleeding; such a huge disappointment for expensive monitors.
3) VESA mounting holes are using non-standard length of screws, so if you want to mount this monitor, you have to pay a visit to your hardware store to buy screws to mount the monitor - I have no time to play with this.
Cons:still selling a00 revision, yellow backbleeding, expensive for the given quality
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mudcat57
(Salt Lake City, UT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Fantastic Monitor

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great product, images very bright, easy setup. Great value, but a bit expensive.
Pros:bright clear images, easy setup
Cons:connectors hard to see due to orientation downward
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MuchSatisfied
(Waterloo, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Wish I had it earlier

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
U2713HM is such a wonderful monitor! Colors are punchy and popping. I'm no professional photographer, so I can't comment much in professional terms and calibers. However, I'm an avid screen reader and use computers a lot for various purposes: web, editing, photos, movies, games... This monitor rocks! PPI is probably the highest among desktop monitors, excluding those new 4K monitors which have much higher prices to match. Effectively, 50cm away from the monitor, there is some, but not much, difference between this screen and my ipad retina. Windows 7 support for resolution 2560x1440 is right on: making fonts not too small, yet very smooth: I'm using 150% scale. Windows is not yet perfect for high resolution displays. Time to time, some applications will be rendered in very small fonts when 2560x1440 is way better than 4k since those small fonts are still readable. To me, the best of U2713HM is its lighter screen coating. As a result, colors are more vibrant and overall screen clarity is way better than previous generation dell displays. Screen uniformity is not perfect though. My first set had warmer color on 1/3 of left side screen, which was confirmed by my wife. But Dell has great tech support and customer service is first rate. Replacement was sent to me very quickly and the second one is awesome! Throughout the process, I felt well supported from the Dell team. Will definitely buy from Dell again: the best deal plus wonderful service!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JoelMC
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Exceptional monitor

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm very happy with this monitor. The height-adjustable stand is essential for ergonomics, and the large, high-res display enhances productivity quite a bit. The color is wonderfully rich.
Do keep in mind that you'll need to connect the monitor by dual link DVI in order to access its full, native resolution.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jimbo11111
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Love it!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Wow. The sharpness and clarity are awesome. As are the colors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MonitorMonitor
(Montreal, QC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Truly an excellent monitor

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was a little hesitant making the purchase at first after reading some negative feedback that I saw around the net. I'm glad that I went ahead with the purchase. My monitor arrived in perfect working order and without any issues whatsoever. All pixels are perfect with no backlight bleed issues at all. The picture quality rivals my new 27" iMac. I'm very pleased. Thank you, Dell!
Pros:excellent color, awesome resolution, usb 3 hub, easy setup
Cons:i didn't buy it earlier
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Zinchuk
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent monitor

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This replaced a Dell U2007 20 inch monitor. It's a tremendous upgrade, and is side-by-side with my U2410 ultrasharp.
It was blindingly bright out of the box. I adjusted it down about 3/4 on brightness when calibrating with the ColorMunki.
Colour representation once calibrated seems to perfectly match the output of my Epson 9900 printer.
Primary usage is with Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop.
My first reaction to it, after using it for a day, is when can I afford a second?
The only problem I've had is the USB hub seems to drop and then re-acquire WD USB3 drives. But this could be a problem with the new ASUS motherboard, so I have not yet figured that out. I would actually like to see six or eight ports, not just four.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dan1964
(Sainte-Geneviève, Montreal, QC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very disapointed

PostedDecember 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to return 3 of the monitors and eventually get my money back.
The problem was major yellow light bleed mainly at the bottom left, it was very apparent in almost any games and very annoying at night.
For the price I was very surprised at the quality of that monitor.
The monitor would have been great without that problem. Not sure I can trust Dell again.
Pros:quick exchanges
Cons:heavy yellow light bleed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MILI22
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Decent monitor awful quality

PostedDecember 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been a fan of the ultrasharp monitors for many years but this one has been just a big disappointment. Picture quality is good except for whites having stripes at certain viewing angles. This seem to be way it is supposed to be since it has been the same on all my 5 monitors. Yes, five. I've gone through five monitors since they keep failing. The first one took a while fail and only had an issue with the USB port only working intermittently the rest have had broken pixels, either at delivery or after a few weeks of use. Dell customer support was great in the beginning but I'm starting to question it as the refurbished units they send out seem to lack all quality control. If I could I would have returned this monitor and gotten a different ultrasharp model a long time ago but unfortunately my first one lasted a little bit too long for me to be able to return it.
Cons:quality, stripes on whites
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 18, 2013
Hi MILI22,

Thanks for taking the time to describe your experiences with your UltraSharp U2713HM monitor. I am personally a fan of these screens and am quite surprised about the repeated issues you seem to be having with yours. I know that you have been working with Dell Support but I was wondering if you could reach out to ChrisM, our monitor expert on the Dell Community Forums. I feel that he could be the best contact here to assist you and get to the bottom of the situation that you have been describing.

ChrisM on Dell Community Forums
http://dell.to/1auYzv4

Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheGentQC
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great monitor

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first monitor with a 2560X1440 native resolution @ 60hz. I would like to say that the monitor itself has great colors (configured from dell before it's shipped out), easy configuration buttons and 4 different inputs. Also has USB 3.0 ports that can be very usefull with all the devices we have now a days.
3 years warrantie, 0 dead pixel warranty + pre configured colors. What more can you ask?
Oh, and the stand is just awesome.
Cons:i had one bright pixel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PeterXXX
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great monitor

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been using this monitor for a few months and I find it to be superb. I have used many high quality monitors before, and I am an enthusiast photographer as well. The monitor is used for work, photos, etc. It is very accurate, sharp, the black level is much better than on a higher end NEC I still own. There are faint diagonal lines when viewed from short distance but you have to suffer from really bad OCD (worse than mine) to even pay attention. The RGB calibration is already great, and you can get a profile online if you do not have a calibrator. The profile makes very subtle changes, which is an indication of accurate hardware calibration.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jan24
(Readmond, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

The WORST Dell monitor I have ever owned

PostedOctober 30, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Intended to replace older 24" Dell IPS screen 2408WFP and complement U2412M in dual monitor configuration.
The problems:
- 2713HM does NOT support resolution higher than 1080 via HDMI (years older 2408WFP is running 1200 over HDMI without any issues and my computer supports up to 2560 x 1600 @60Hz via HDMI). DELL NEVER MENTIONES THIS ON THEIR WEBSITE!!! You just need to order it to figure it out.
- the blacks show as grey compared to U2412M with the same contrast/brightness setting
- 2713HM does not have automatic input select as my other monitor U2412M, thus annoying to switch inputs for use with multiple computers
I really wish I can say how great it is - but never saw it in full resolution - tried hard, but did not make it. Sorry.
Cons:hdmi does only 1080, no auto input select
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 8, 2013
Hello Jan24,

Thank you for sharing your experiences and opinions with the Dell UltraSharp U2713HM, I hope you updated the drivers to see if that could help with your results. If you could reach out to our Dellcares team, they may be able to get your resolution up to where you expect it. As for the settings, Identical settings on two different monitors, even in the same model, can have different results to the screen contrast and brightness. You will have to set your own settings to acheive the desired results.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://dell.to/14T7mnW)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/1cXzZdN)

Thanks for sharing,
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Snowrider727
(Calgary)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Where are the DisplayPort cables?

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this monitor for my wife's HP 8540W laptop and docking station. The Dell website highlights "WQHD resolution and accurate colors out of the box: Superb clarity with 2560 x 1440 resolution", but no-where does it mention the fact that this requires a Displayport connection - not a HDMI, DVI or RGB... which are all the cables that came in the box with the monitor! Both the PC and monitor are 'smart' enough to recognize the cable you are using - but if you don't go out and purchase a Displayport cable you'll find yourself frustrated trying to figure out 'how do you get this thing to work at resolution featured on the Dell website?" - there is no hint or clue otherwise provided.
And please note: this means a Displayport from your PC or laptop to the monitor - you can't use an adaptor, say, for DVI to Displayport to 'convert' the signal - this only 'dumbs it down' to a lower resolution.
Using the Displayport cable - voila - it works beautifully.
Pros:beautiful
Cons:required displayport cable not included
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 3