Customer reviews for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L

Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L

Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
3.683 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
3.7
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
25 out of 4161%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Review 1 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dadmark
(Washington, USA)
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L

PostedMarch 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L is amazing if you use it in a dark room. But the reflection from the glass surface is awful if you watch in any other circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Photo123
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Worst glare I have ever seen.

PostedMarch 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This has to be the worst display I have ever used. The finish on this unit is SUPER glossy and reflects like a mirror. Sure it looks super snazzy sitting on my desk, but when you use it, it is full of reflections and glare. This display only comes with a VGA cable. (How very 1990's) I purchased it as a bundle to use for photo editing. The glare and reflections make it useless for that. Contacted Dell Support to see if I could upgrade it for a different display and they basically said too bad so sad. So instead of returning the monitor and spending more for a better one, I will just return the whole rig. Perhaps HP will meet my needs.
Pros:wide
Cons:glare, reflections, super glossy., only vga cable, only limited tilt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnC76
(TN)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Decent for its price...

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
The size of these are perfect for my workspace. Resolution is great. They seem to be of good quality. Viewing angle is good, too.
Like others stated, the glare can be a bit much in some lighting situations.
Maybe if they can get some glass like good quality picture frame shops use called "museum glass" which does not reflect and is so clear at most viewing angles you can't even tell there is glass over the picture, it would solve the issue. I'd be willing to pay the extra to get rid of the glare!
Once calibrated they look a lot better, but not perfect.
The only problem I have is I can't get these two screens to calibrate perfectly and match with a Spyder 3 Elite color calibration kit.
I have one on a Win 7 Pro Studio XPS and another on a XPS 8500 Win 8.1 Pro machine.
At this price point, I still like them enough that I would buy another.
When I update my Spyder 3 Elite to a Spyder 4 Elite color calibrator and these calibrate perfectly, I will come back and recommend these good for photography editing, etc.
Pros:great size quality and decent resolution., good value at this price.
Cons:have 2 can't get calibration to match, a bit much glare in some lighting situations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LiamOB
(Ottawa, ON)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Gloss, crisp, but condensation on inside of glass!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This arrived in the mail yesterday, but when I opened it, the inside of the package was damp and cold. Upon setting it up and turning it on, I noticed that I can barely see my cursor in one corner of the screen because there's condensation on the *inside* of the glass!
Pros:cript, clean look, easy to set up
Cons:glare, condensation on glass!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jsou
(Mountain View, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Not a good 2nd monitor for Alienware laptop

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's beautiful, has great clarity and color (though highly reflective screen)and was a great price (Black Friday deal). However, I cannot get it to work with my son's MX-11 Alienware laptop. It does not matter which type of connection I am using, the monitor will not recognize the laptop and all I get is a message on it that states there is no connection. I am still trying to get it to work and will update the review once it's operable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NerdDoc
(Ada, OK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

glossy

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great monitor and an even better price. I have several of them now. The only downside is they are horrid with glare. I have had to get a sticky glare film on one that is near a window. Other than that I love them. They set up very easy, and have multiple options for hooking them up. I would like the ability to mount them in portrait orientation. It would be a very simple change in the base design, but most monitors do not do this.
Pros:size, price, picture, set up
Cons:glare, landscape only
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Craig1475963
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Horrible Pink anyone?

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have a horrible pink tint on two of these monitors, and no amount of tuning will make it go away.
Pros:ips
Cons:pink tint
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MichaelP8
(Vancouver, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Quality

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent quality and elegant look! I own 4 monitors from the same series: two of 27", one of 24" and one of 23". Completely satisfied!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sean565
(Fayetteville, AR)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Incredible Monitor - Very Glossy - Great at Night

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these monitors several months ago and was surprised how glossy the screens are. You have to strategically position the screens to reduce the glare in normal lighting conditions. With no light or low light (especially at night) these screens are incredible. The picture is bright and resolution shows every detail.
Tried to send them back one day after the 30 day return and Dell wouldn't work with me. So make sure you are ok with the edge to edge glass / glossy screens and you'll be good.
Pros:incredible picture in low light
Cons:glossy reflective screen in normal lighting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Carled
(Yorktown, VA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Easy to connect and set up.

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The picture clarity is amazing. The set up is easy and it is a true plug and play. Best buy I have made and glad I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KruznSpeed
(Strasburg, Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

back to the future

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Getting a desktop, I feel like ,I'm in a time machine. But wow , 27 inch screen. And speed beyond my dreams. Love it.
Pros:i can see the screen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Robbin13
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Quality Monitor

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Exactly as I had wanted and I love the color/visual output.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellDough
(Toronto)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Could have been 5 Stars

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this monitor 2 weeks ago and I don't really know what the big deal is with some people complaining about the monitor being glossy or having some reflection issues. I am happy with this purchase. The only issue I had noticed right away with this monitor is the lack of USB. Overall, I haven't really seen what it can do because I bought this monitor with a brand new Alienware Desktop PC and 2 way Bose speakers. It's been a little disappointing though that this monitor came in first. I just received the 2 way Bose speakers this week and hoping that I can finally received the Alienware desktop next week. So far, I am playing my PS4 with this monitor hooked up with the powerful 2 way (equivalent to 20 speakers) Bose speakers and all I can say is " GREATNESS " Colors are so vibrant especially with Sony's nextgen console!!
Pros:exactly adverstised as...good value for your money
Cons:lack of usb anywhere
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Myles999
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Unacceptable glare

PostedOctober 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The glare is terrible with this monitor. Wish I had read the other reviews before purchasing this item.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 18, 2013
Hello Myles999,

Sorry to hear you are not pleased with the finish on your S2740l. This display has a polished finish to the surface to allow the clearest possible image without dithering of colors or sharpeness of edges. A matte finish screen just does not provide the clarity the S2740l provides. You can try to adjust to brightness to compensate but, if your environment is just way to bright, a multimedia monitor may not be for you.

Thanks for sharing!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SanLouisKid
(St. Louis, MO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Too Much Glare

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
On the negative side, it simply has too much glare in a lighted room. On the plus side (for Dell), I ordered the 27 inch Ultrasharp to replace it and that is a great, great monitor! Of course, it costs a few hundred dollars more. We use monitors all day, most days, so the glare was unacceptable on this one.
This monitor has great colors and it's a good value for the price, but it really only works (for us) in a darkened room.
Pros:good price
Cons:too much glare
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 23, 2013
Hi SanLouisKid,

Thanks for taking the time to post your impressions about the S2740L monitor. I am glad that you are pleased with most of its qualities but it is unfortunate that the monitor's glare does not work for you. I recommend posting your request for more reduced glare on IdeaStorm, where our engineers try to implement suggestions into our future products! Also, if you require any service assistance on the monitors, please reach out to our @DellCares team on Twitter.

IdeaStorm -
http://dell.to/18S6jGF
@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ

Hope this helps!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:David51
(Sydney NSW, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

High-gloss screen

PostedJune 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this from the website. I did not see and still do not see any mention on the site that the screen is high-gloss. My existing Dell monitors have matte screens. The reflections from this monitor are very distracting.
Otherwise it is great.
Cons:high-gloss screen
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MysteryMan
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

BEAUTIFUL!

PostedMay 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell S27's overall quality exceeds that of any other monitor that I've seen, except MAYBE the Apple Thunderbolt Display, which can't be hooked up to a video game system, etc, etc, and costs around three times more.
Some reviewers of the Dell S27 have said that its glass covered screen is too glossy, but not to me it isn't... It's BEAUTIFUL!
Thanks Dell! :)
Pros:has a beautiful picture, a great build, and lots of ports
Cons:none so far
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlanWT
(Vancouver, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic Monitor

PostedApril 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have used it with my laptop and now plan to use it with a newly to be acquired XPF 8500. It is amazing and looks great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EndoDom
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome looks and display

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The edge-to-edge glass is a plus for me. It looks very good, even from the back. The ony minus for me is the USB ports are on the back, not on the edge, hence less accessible. I don't mind the stand not moving up/down.
Pros:looks, colors
Cons:hard to reach usb ports, no up/down adjustment
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell 27 Monitor - S2740L
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Yuval73
(Wisconsin, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This monitor have the worse glare ever

PostedMarch 22, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This monitor have very clear picture, nice colors and it could be a great monitor if not for the terrible glare that ruin everything.
I have the monitor in a lighted room, but all lights are build in the ceiling and no light is direct on the screen, yet the glare is so bad it's like looking in the mirror.
i wouldn't recommend this screen unless you are in a pretty dark room or you want a pretty expensive mirror.
I would return it if i could but since i paid some of it with Amex points i'm pretty much stuck with it.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewMarch 25, 2013
Hello Yuval73,

Sorry to hear you do are not happy with the glossy finish. Manufacturers have found the older matte finish to the screen dithers colors, and mutes contrast. The unfortunate side effect is reflections. You can counter someof it by turning up the brightness using the OSD. Regardless of the points, I would check with AMEX customer service for other options. I have had luck with them in the past.

I hope one of those helps!
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
1 2 3