Customer reviews for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer

Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer

Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
4 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
17 out of 2471%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Review 1 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mary2014
(houston, tx)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

unable to install printer manager software

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
downloaded and tried to install, but got an error message that if the printer was connected by usb, it was not recognized. connecting to a dell laptop. tried suggestions to restart, start over - to no avail. unable to get help on it.
Pros:small decent print quality
Cons:phillipine support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:preed4962
(Rochester, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great printer, one small flaw

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
In general, I love this printer. Super quiet, prints fast, and has great quality.
The one issue it has the I do not like is that it doesn't have AC Recovery. If the power goes out, this printer doesn't come back on unless you press the power button again. Ordinarily I wouldn't care, but I use this a cloud base printer through Chrome, and like to be able to print things at home while I am away. My power doesnt go out often, but when it does, its a hassle to have to remember to go back downstairs and turn this back on again.
Thanks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WILLIAM474
(Amery, WI 54001, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Out of the Box and Printing in less then 10 Minutes

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Wow for the price and how fast it prints you can't beat this printer. I have had it for over 10 days now and just love this machine. I had to print a service manual that had 17 pages and it printed it in less then 17 seconds, my old ink jet printer would still be printing it out:) For my needs it well pass my expectations. Thanks you Dell for a great printer.
Pros:fast
Cons:none for my needs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Howzat
(Stockton, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Might be an OK printer, I'll never know

PostedAugust 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The printer won't connect to WIFI. I've read the manual, followed the instructions and no luck. Support is unable to help. I'm returning it ASAP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KathyStL
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Title:

Faulty Printer

PostedJuly 28, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don’t know how this printer received so many good reviews. It’s been a problem since I received it. I receive intermittent error pages with the message “INTERNAL ERROR – Including Corrupted Data error” when I’m trying to print. I’ve done my own research and tried to fix the problem by re-installing the driver but the error kept coming back. I finally broke down and called Dell Support two different times and each time they tell me it’s fixed but each time the same intermittent error re-occurs.
In addition there is no way to print back to back. When printing a Word doc I can select the option to Manually Print on Both Sides but I can definitely count on that being the time when I will receive the “INTERNAL ERROR – Including Corrupted Data error”. If it’s not a Word doc then there is no option to print manually on both sides.
I had a Dell A920 that worked for years but this B1160w is a problem!
Pros:small and compact
Cons:can't rely on it to print; wasting a lot of my tim
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Marvi78
(Washington, DC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Compact easy to install

PostedMay 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is best small modern mono printer.
Printing is clear and fast. This is a great addition to my Dell 660S desktop
Pros:size is perfect for small area
Cons:none
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rene727
(Port Charlotte, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Little work horse

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought for printing Documents, lables and coupons.
Works Great! FAST!
Easy to install and set up wireless.
Cons:instuctions could be a littel more clear make it
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Owner123
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good Product

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent Value; used it now for a year with no problems.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bekaworth
(Morganton, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great printer

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this for my husband for Christmas. Excellent printer and great value. Had a little difficulty getting it set up but called Dell and they had it up and running in no time.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ManelaG
(Tallahassee, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Useless Printer If You Own A Mac Computer.

PostedNovember 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been having trouble with this printer ever since I bought it a couple months ago, and I've had enough. My older Macbook Pro had trouble connecting wirelessly to the printer, a dell technician helped me with this problem but then it went back to not connecting wirelessly, and I decided to just use it by plugging the USB cable to it. That was the only way I could print.
I'm a college student, and I need to print many documents every day. My older Macbook Pro broke, and so I bought the new Macbook Pro with version 10.9 (newest market version), and the printer drive could not be installed. So I called Dell support for help, and all they told me was that the printer was not compatible with my computer, and that I should choose what computer to have more wisely before I make a purchase. So basically, I have a new printer that is completely useless because I can't even make it work by just plugging in the USB cable.
The driver should be updated frequently to be compatible with the newest computer softwares in the market!!! I'm very unhappy about this situation, and will not purchase a dell product again nor will I recommend doing so to friends and family.
Pros:it's great when it works!, small, affordable
Cons:not compatible with mac version 10.9, driver is not updated often, driver not compatible with newest softwares, wireless connection is horrible, problems connecting to computer
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 7, 2013
Hey ManelaG,

I am sorry to hear about the issues you are having with your Dell printer.

Please, use the information below to contact us. The team member below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Printers, Peripherals Forum:
http://dell.to/17aWSTp
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cactus3012
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

not user friendly

PostedAugust 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been trying to set the printer so that I can print wirelessly. There are about 4 or more ways to set up wireless printing, and each with conditions and requirements that a non-computer-expert like me don't understand.
So far, I have to use the printer like it is not a wireless machine. It's frustrating to think that I paid extra money for this printer for a function that I can't get it to work.
Btw, the item came with a set up CD. Unfortunately, my computer doesn't have a CD player (ultrabook type). No instruction as to what I should do.
I need help, or consolation.
Pros:good quality print, light compact good design
Cons:difficulties setting wireless printing
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 12, 2013
Hello cactus3012,

I am sorry to hear that you have had a hard time getting everything set up for this printer. If your system does not have an optical driver, go to this page:
http://dell.to/1cHmihV and select the "Drivers & Downloads" tab. From here you can download some of the applications, documentation, drivers, firmware, etc. that comes on the provided disc.There are a variety of ways to set up the wireless feature, depending on how your home network is set up.

One of the easiest ways to connect it using the WPS button. On the printer's control panel, there is a WPS button that has 2 arrows in a circle on it. If your router has a WPS button also, press this button on the printer for 2-4 seconds until the LED status lights blink quickly. This signals that the printer has started to connect to the wireless network. The LEDs will blink for up to 2 minutes until you press the WPS button on your router. Once you press the button on your router, the LEDs will blink fast and then the printer should connect.

If your home set up is different, or if you need additional assistance, please feel free to reach out to our DellCares team. The would be happy to try to assist.

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/1beHgBz
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/147YZ7w
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/14oBJ5B

-SaraT
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MikeCalgary
(Calgary, AB, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Tons of features for a small price!

PostedApril 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Been using this printer at home for 2 days now, needless to say for the price, I was VERY impressed. Print quality is excellent, installation of print manager, drivers and setting up the printer is a breeze. Couldn't beleive I get this much for that price! The wireless functionality is really handy. have 2 Laptops and 1 desktop connected to that printer, and I was able to locate the Printer in a more convenient place since there's no cable required to print anymore. You can also manage it remotely via a very well built web interface!
This is truely a 5 Stars for me! Kuddos Dell for making such a great product so affordable!
Michael.
Pros:features, cost, wireless
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mh9816
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

dell b1160w printer

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
great printer and easy to set up! I would recommend to a friend
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pelcorp
Title:

Great printer

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Highly satisfied with my new printer.
Great printing quality, compact, low price, easy setup.
I have everything I want with that little laser printer.
So far nothing negative to say.
Good job Dell.
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AMax101
Title:

Great, and compact

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great printer, especially for a compact place like a dorm room. I wish that it printed in color, however, it is very easy to set up and very fast printing. The refill cartridges are easy to install and take a relatively long time to run out. Overall very satisfied with my purchase.
Pros:home
+5points
12of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DeeDi
(Beach Park, IL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Printer was easy to install and is exactly what I wanted in a wireless printer.
Pros:desktop, laptop
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Maddening
(Texas, United States)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Don' Waste Your Money!

PostedDecember 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst printer I have ever owned. Before this printer Dell was the only brand I would buy, now I am trashing this one and going with a different brand. I constantly have to re-install the driver. Communication between the computer and printer is non-existent whether using as wireless or wired.
Not worth the trouble or the money.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 17, 2012
Maddening,

Very sorry to hear about your issues with your Dell printer system. If there is anything we can do for you, Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
+5points
18of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:clairesun
(austin)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

cannot link the printer to my dell inspiron

PostedOctober 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's weird~!I cannot link this printer through wifi to my new dell inspiron 5520. I tried other laptops. It seems that the wireless driver "Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 2230" doesn't fit the printer's driver because when I used a USB wireless network adapter to plug in the inspiron 5520, the printer worked! I don't know how to figure out that. So now I just use the USB connector to link the printer to my laptop.
+7points
14of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Muskie1
(Cincinnati, Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great Laser for the price

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have two high schoolers who print a lot of papers and documents for school. we were constantly running out of toner for our color inkjet printer. I wanted to find an inexpensive but good quality b&w printer they could primarily use for their school work, when they don't need color. This printer hit the mark on price; size; speed to print and capacity of cartridge (1500 pages!) no more running to the store at 10pm to buy toner for a project that has to be printed and turned in the next morning, because our other printer ran out. Great value for our needs, great service and quick delivery from Dell.
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - B1160w Wireless Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PuterDude
Title:

Works Great on Linux and Win7

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell Unified Driver installs fine on LMDE, but you still have to manually configure the network connection in your printer configuration to be ipp://169.XXX.XX.XX, or whatever your is. The Dell installer also requires you to have sane installed, even though it's not a scanner. You MUST install sane, or it will not work for wireless.
Very nice, extremely small form factor. Quality printing at a very low cost.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2