Customer reviews for Dell - B1160 Mono Laser Printer

Dell - B1160 Mono Laser Printer

Dell - B1160 Mono Laser Printer
2.667 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 6 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
2.7
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
3 out of 650%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - B1160 Mono Laser Printer
Review 1 for Dell - B1160 Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cecilia21
(Breckenridge, CO 80424, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

DO not buy this printer

PostedNovember 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was offered this printer for a very low price when I bought a new computer a few months ago. The printer was not set up when I received the computer, and to be able to do it, I had to BUY the wire, which was not very cheap either. The printer is not wireless either. It has to be connected to the computer with a USB to print.
It prints fast, but the quality is terrible. It makes "clouds" on the paper and the prints are absolutely illegible.
I gave up to this printer. I've been using Dell products for a long time and am shopping again for a new printer; seeing that they are still selling this printer makes me wonder if I should shop for a different brand name.
Cecilia W.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - B1160 Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RandBlue
(IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Pleased

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like this printer! No problems so far with it.
Pros:lightning fast
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - B1160 Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mohammadreza
Title:

B1160w wireless printer

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product works great, but there is a problem with wireless 1160W settings that can not easily be solved, if you like to have a shared wireless printer, get ready to be in trouble specially with windows 8 .WPS almost does not work and IP address settings are troublesome. In lieu of spending more than an hour discussing with tech support having a Laser printer with this price and average to high quality was a good experience.
Pros:wireless
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsFebruary 13, 2013
Hello mohammadreza,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell - B1160 Mono Laser. I am sorry to hear you had issues setting up your shared printer in Windows 8. I too had the same issues at home with my other printer. Not so sure if this is the printer's fault or the OS. But, I am glad Technical support was able to assist.

Thank you again for sharing!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - B1160 Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gsteph719
Title:

Awesome printer! Great Price!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was JUST the printer I've been looking for!
I dont do a lot of printing so a standard inkjet printer always dried up before I could use the cartridges! This little printer does such a BIG job! Great print quality and the wireless feature is so awesome! I must admit I had to call Dell Support to get it running but the tech was very knowledgeable and we had the printer going in hardly no time! He had to go into my router (i signed him on to my computer) and make some changes but it works fine! Small and compact, hardly takes up any room and with only a power cord to attach.
Pros:home use coupons general use
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - B1160 Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sStone
(Utah)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

I've given up on Dell and this Printer.

PostedDecember 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spent 4 hours trying to get the wireless to work. Manual has 20 pages for just wireless configuration. I've got 2 other wireless printers that work great and configure fine. Trying to return it now with limited success. Website sends you everywhere but where you want to go. I've had to log in 5 different times when moving between pages. Seems like the web developers are working back in 2001. I've given up on Dell. I've baught over 10 systems from these guys, 2 laptops this christmas. Don't even think about trying to track your package unless you have every crazy number they assign to a purchase-
Orderid, customerid,Purchaseid, customer number. You would think you could login to your account and see your purchases. NOPE. Does not work that way. Just nuts.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 27, 2012
Hello sStone,

I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues setting up the wireless. There are two versions of this printer, the B1160 (225-3109) and the B1160w (225-3111). The B1160w is the version that includes the wireless functionality. The regular B1160 is not wireless capable. The manual covers both versions with a note that the wireless is only for the B1160w. If you purchased the wireless version and are having difficulties setting it up, please feel free to reach out to us, One great way is through the Dell Printer Forum (
http://dell.to/qNzKUc). They may be able to assist.

If you your order did not automatically link to your My Account you can add it. Click on the "My Account" link in the upper right hand corner> Log-in> Click "Find Missing Orders"> Enter the information needed. This will link your customer number to your My Account for easy tracking.

Again, I am sorry you are experiencing issue setting up your printer. I hope this can help.

-SaraT
+9points
18of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - B1160 Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:COmom3
(Denver)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Eats paper like crazy!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried a test print during setup and I couldn't even get the test print to run because it kept eating all of my paper. If it didn't eat the paper, it would feed in all crooked, bent, balled up. I couldn't get a decent print out of it. Back it goes...quickly!
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 7, 2012
Hello COmom3,

Sorry to hear that your experience with the B1160 Printer has not been a positive one.

You might want to check to make sure that there is not anything obstructing the paper feed, as this could cause the paper not to proceed through the printer correctly. I would also advise that you reach out to our Social Media Outreach Team for tech support so that they can look into this matter on your behalf. We work directly with them and we recommend their services because of their success in resolving customer issues.

• Social Media Outreach Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we can turn this around for you and restore your faith in our products. Have a great day – Gina.
+20points
32of 44voted this as helpful.