Customer reviews for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer

Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
3.737 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
3.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
14 out of 1974%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Review 1 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Disgruntled2
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Catastrophic Failure After 2 1/2 Years of Light Usage

PostedOctober 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
My printer quit working about 2 1/2 years after I purchased it. I only used it sporadically. I contacted Dell support and they stated the problem was due to a board failure and it would be more cost efficient for me to buy a new printer than to pay to have it repaired. I now have an oversized $300 paper weight. Do yourself a favor and go with a different brand!
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 23, 2013
Hello Disgruntled2,

I am sorry to hear that you have encountered issues with your printer. Depending on what the issues are, sometimes the out of warranty cost of parts and labor can cost more than replacing the printer itself. I am sorry for the frustration.

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mekngnir
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nothing but trouble

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this printer for two years now. We bought this for printing shipping labels and other documents needed for our business. A busy month might equal 500 pages of printing. The print quality is absolutely wonderful and loved that from the get go. However, this printer has been nothing but trouble ever since the warranty expired. First, a shipping label wrapped itself around one of the rollers in the drum--a $100 problem (two times a month apart), then six months later, the fuser started jamming. The fuser costs as much as the whole printer!
Pros:shipping labels, envelopes, booklets, photos, books, posters, brochures, etc.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 7, 2013
Hello Mekngnir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell - 2150cn. Sounds like it is perfect for your needs until moving parts start wearing out. This is to be expected with any device under heavy usage. We offer extended service contracts for just such occaisions. I hope you will take advantage of this offering for future purchases.

Thanks again for sharing,
-11points
7of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jazmine188
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell 2150cn Color Laser Printer

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was recommended by a Dell representative after specifying exact needs.
Generic Needs
- be able to handle card stock varying between 80lb - 110lb
- duplexing
- high resolution
CONS:
- Can not handle heavy card stock
- Consistently Jams
- Duplexor - IMPOSSIBLE TO FIGURE OUT even after several attempts with customer service
- customer service: I want to be polite - lets just say - don't bother calling
- manual - needs lots of work. Waste of time trying to use
PRO:
- nice color and resolution
Pros:adhesive labels, various business documents, invitations/cards
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 24, 2012
Hey jazmine188,

I am sorry to hear that the Dell 2150cn Color Laser Printer has not been what you expected. Unfortunately, it appears that you are out of the time window to return your system.

You have posted this question under the Dell 2150cn, which does not have duplex capabilities. The Dell 2150cdn does have duplex capabilities.

As you mentioned, this printer does not support paper weights between 80-110lbs (approx. 218-308gsm). It supports paper weights of 106-216gsm (plain paper) and 95-216gsm (coated paper).

Again, I apologize that you have not had an exceptional experience with this product. Another technical support or customer service option for our customers is to contact our Social Media Support Teams at:
• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

I hope that we can find a solution for you. Thank you for choosing Dell.
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jim46
(Monroe, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Color Printer

PostedAugust 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The color is good and it does print fast, but it took me hours to figure out how to print labels using the tray. If you read the instructions it says not to use SSF, but when you press print it displays SSF. It also crinkles envelopes and I ended up using labels on my envelopes, which I do not feel are very professional. I do feel the printer is not user friendly like my old Dell printer which I wish I had back.
Pros:accounting reports
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 30, 2012
Jim46,

Sorry to hear that the experience with the Dell 2150cn printer has not be up to the mark! We value your feedback without which we will not be able to improve. Our engineering teams read customer reviews on a daily basis to make necessary improvement to our products. Do remember that we are listening, please contact any of Dell's Support Teams at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jcatty
(Texas)
Title:

Piece of Junk

PostedAugust 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this printer to replace a larger and loud Brother and in the hopes that it would be like all the other Dell printers I had bought in the past. I was terribly disappointed. Although it was easy to set up, everything went downhill from there. It was very slow warming up and printing the first page, and was louder than the larger Brother. The most vexing thing about the printer was it's frequent message to add paper to "SSF" even though I was printing a multiple page document that had previously printed from the paper tray. Everytime this happened it took 5 minutes to close the program and reboot the computer simply to get a document printed. After a very frustrating two months I finally junked it (hence the review title) and purchased an HP Color Laser 451dn.
Pros:law office
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 27, 2012
Hey jcatty,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not have an exceptional experience with the Dell 2150cn Color Laser Printer. As a consumer, I understand your frustration.

It is likely that the Add Paper to SSF error message was occurring due to incorrect settings. SSF stands for Single Sheet Feeder, so it will only print one page at a time. To fix this, all you need to do is change the settings from SSF to Default, which should be the 250-page feeder, and you will be able to print multiple pages.

Again, I apologize for your less-than-perfect experience with this printer. I am confident that our support teams can identify any issues you had with this system. We are here to help:
• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you for choosing Dell. I hope that we can win back your confidence in our brand.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TomVA
Title:

Good Printer, but Noisy

PostedMay 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the 2150cn to add to my home office when I moved my existing 2130cn to my regular office. I have been very happy with the 2130 and the 2150 seems to provide the same great performance. No complaints on print quality or speed. Works great for me.
The one detraction is that these printers are noisy, and my impression is that the 2150 is even noiser. This is particular evident when turning it on or when it comes out of standby to get ready to print. The actual printing makes less noise.
Pros:home office
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:webappl
(Tucson, Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Rear output

PostedApril 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We are replacing a 3010cn color printer that is getting streaks in the printouts. Even though we’ve only printed 9225 pages with it, to replace the drum and cartridges would cost more than buying this 2150cn printer. The 2150cn printer was easy to install and connect through the network. And the print quality has been great so far. The only two complaints we have are the side door for the cartridges and the rear discharge for the printed paper. The old 3010cn had the service door on the front and the printed paper discharged toward the front, making it convenient to have in close quarters. The new 2150cn requires you to have open access to the right side to replace toner cartridges, or you have to move the printer out to service it. And since the paper discharges to the back, you have to reach over the top to the back to get to the printouts. The 3010cn had a much better design.
Pros:home use, photo prints
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EventFest
Title:

2150cn Color Laser Printer

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
great printer, only wish the single feed had a tray to help "feed" the single sheets
Pros:office operations
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tms217
(Clayton, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Printer!

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been buying electronics from Dell for years and I just bought the 2150CN to replace the outdated 1320c. While this unit is a little larger than my old piece, the performance I get out of this printer is superb. It is a very fast, easy to setup quality printer
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jman958
(Janesville, Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Printer for a good price

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We bought this laser printer for a small church, it was easy to set up and is very easy to use. We have saved quite a bit in ink from our old ink jet printer, would definitely purchase a dell laser printer in the future, only thing we miss is a scanner.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mjyee
Title:

Wireless nightmare

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Really a nice all around printer. Good color and the duplexing works good. I bought it specifically for the wireless option.
I would save your money and don't buy the wireless adapter, even tech support could not get to work after 45 minutes.
Pros:presentations for work
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AStieber
Title:

Excellent rinter

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent printer. Easy to set up on a mixed wired/wireless home network. I can even print from my iPhone. The color is good, the printing speed excellent I don't know how often I'll actually have to change the toner, plus the printer is heavy and bulky, which is why I gave it only 4 stars.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dbilo
Title:

This printer is fast!!

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
For a light usage color laser printer the printer is extremely fast. I was surprised at how quickly it warms up from start up and even faster when waking up. It prints pages very fast as well and the quality is excellent. Color photographs were amazingly sharp on plain copy paper!
Pros:light duty home use
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LilRunt
Title:

Great Printer

PostedMay 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this printer to replace an ink guzzling inkjet and I love it - bought it on sale and it is well worth the price. Have had it for six months with no problems at all - no jams, prints great in color or just black. Highly recommended.
Pros:home use.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IanDimick
(Kuna, ID)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Absolutely Great!!!

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I originally bought this printer as I was tired of burning through cheap low yield catridges on cheap printers. I was also looking for a printer that could print easily on 110 lb cardstock for some paper modeling projects. This printer is amazing. I have used this steadily for about 4 months now and have had no problems whatsoever!! It prints beautifully on cardstock as well as normal paper and comes equipped with high yield toner cartridges. I use it daily and have still not come close to emptying the original toner that came with it. The quality of the prints is amazing and I would definitely order this printer again if mine ever wears out! All in all this is an amzing printer.
If there is a con, it is that this thing is failry sizeable and somewhat heavy, but thats kinda to be expected from a very nice office printer.
Pros:cardstock (heavy), home use, large quantity printing, project use
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:davegammaleonis
Title:

Nice printer!

PostedApril 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm an IT support tech at work, the company has quite a few HP printers so I was leaning in that direction but did some research before spending the money and people were giving this printer some very good ratings. Well-deserved, as it turns out. Print quality is excellent, it's not excessively noisy and reasonably fast. Toner change is very easily accomplished. So far I'm very impressed.
Pros:print support for my music.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Belacat31
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Outstanding Images

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently purchased this printer, the first laser I have owned. The images are very high quality, clear, sharp and vivid colors. From now on I am only buying laser. I would recommend this printer.
Pros:printing
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ArchitectBarb
(St. Louis, Missouri)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great printer!

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this printer and it arrived in 3 days. Had it up and running on a home network in 45 minutes--getting it out of the box took 30 of those 45 minutes. The software installed the printer on the network in 15 minutes and it was up and running. One tip: If you have a wireless network and the router is close to the printer, you can connect the printer via cable to the router and it will then be a wireless printer WITHOUT the $149.99 wireless accessory--I had ordered the accessory (which wasn't scheduled to arrive til January anyway) and then cancelled. Thanks, Dell--this printer is great!
+74points
80of 86voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - 2150cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Phacial
(Colorado)
Title:

Quality Printer

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This printer replaced a very old monochrome HP printer. The Color is superb and it prints quickly. It is a great addition to the Home Office. I printed a picture of a Hot air balloon that passed near my home and it was sharp with accurate colors. The picture was printed on plane paper yet looked superb. Very nice printer!
Pros:home office school
+11points
17of 23voted this as helpful.