Customer reviews for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer

Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
4.1 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
4.1
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 19
17 out of 2085%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Review 1 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rich999
(Douglassville, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Software and Auto Power Sleep Feature Discraceful

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had printer 2155cdn for 10 months. the software has not been updated since 11/12/2012. While I am just one person, I have submitted many software suggestions. The most offensive is the auto sleep/deep sleep feature. There is no way to disable this and unless you manually wake up the printer it will not properly cake up and print from IE, Acrobat and a few other programs. When is does print from IE is prints fine but changes on-screen print to about 3 fonts smaller requiring you to close browser. When it works it is good, when you encounter one of these nagging software issues, it take time to get it to run again. sometimes requiring a power off and/or computer restart. The auto feed is difficult to use as well and wrinkles most paper and envelopes.
Pros:some features are good, it's big!
Cons:sleep features need alot of help, desperatly needs software improvememts, auto paper feed is a joke, no ringer sound option for incoming faxes, i could go on and on with the cons....
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CourtierFraz
(Quebec, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great MFP

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got it in the mail about 2 months ago. I have used this printer and the 2155cdn for printing over 20k pages to date, largely in colour. Replacement toners make this the most economical printer out there for the 2k-5k sheets/year range.
Setup as a network printer was easy in Windows Vista, Windows 7 and Ubuntu. It was even easy in a virtual box.
Excellent precision. (When printing rich black magenta is aligned about .05 mm to the right of the others)
Nice colour - it isn't professional photo quality, but it is pretty close, and comes out well on all kinds of paper.
Great photocopier - B&W and colour.
Web interface is good, but not perfect. I doesn't keep track of how many colour vs b&w impressions.
The fax works well, but the speaker is TERRIBLE.
Paper jams are very rare, both in the print feed and scanner document feed. It does tend to jam on small envelopes (3x4 inches). I don't think it is even supposed to be able to do them that small, though.
Email setup is a real hassle. This printer does not seem to support SSL. If you are comfortable dealing with things like SFP records or have an email server that allows for non-SSL, you may be fine.
I have yet to find a way of scanning from the computer when the printer is set up as a network printer. I admit I haven't tried very hard - I always scan from the scanner, either to USB or to a network location.
Having said all that, I can't complain. This is the best printer overall I have ever used out of over a dozen from 5 different companies.
Pros:print cost per page colour (replacement toners), print cost per page b&w (i use replacement toners), easy setup, print quality, speed, dependable
Cons:network scanning, email setup
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:epp2011
(Massachusetts, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Love It Except for Toner Usage

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this printer and would recommend it to anyone with a small business - - except for one thing. I have had it for about six weeks, and it is going through toner cartridges like there is no tomorrow! We have already gone through the first black cartridge, and I am about to replace the cyan and magenta, and these toner cartridges are extremely pricey for their size. Can I expect to go through them this quickly, or are the ones that come with the new printer of a lower yield?
For what it is worth, Dell does have the best pricing for toners, but this is a huge cost for a small business, and had I known the cartridges would be so expensive, I honestly would have looked at other brands. I ordered the high yield (6,000 page) black cartridge - any chance that Dell will come out with higher yield color cartridges?
Pros:amazing print quality!
Cons:goes through toner cartridges like crazy!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scott32092
Title:

Great while it lasted

PostedAugust 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Died after 18 months, 6 months out of warranty. Master Control Board went bad, and the tech support guy said it was a pretty common problem with this printer. It was going to cost me $340 to have a service tech replace it (they won't let you replace the MCB by yourself).
If you get this printer, factor the extended warranty into the price because you're going to need it.
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewAugust 20, 2012
Hey Scott32092,

I am sorry to hear that your printer died while out of warranty! That's very unfortunate.

Thank you for sharing this experience. We appreciate your feedback as it provides as an excellent reference for other customers.

Thanks for choosing Dell
+12points
29of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jimpson
(Maine)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very nice printer

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
A little expensive but it works great
networking and setup is simple
we print quite a bit in both color and b/w
10 months later and still using original color
toner cartridges and only 1/2 way through the second black (printer ships with 1/2 life black toner)
Pros:personal / business
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HotInAlabama
(Alabama)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Printer Issues at the beginning but they replaced

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The scanner was not functional with brand new unit so had to have replaced but they did quickly. New unit is squeaky but works.
Pros:all day
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bradbb
(Chicago, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Dell 3333dn

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great product from home office with extensive printing and scanning
Pros:home office
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:YWEHBE
(Harvard University)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Simplify You Life!

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Presentations are Essentials in College Success. Dell 2155cn made it Easy!
User Friendly along with Sharp,Vivid, great resolution & true-to-life color for all your documents and presentations.
Multifunction & Professional Results...
A Must Have.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jvmayernich
(Peoria, Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Far exceeds our expectations

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have a small office and were spending far too much for ink with our inkjet printer. We bought 2155cn color laser printer and are astonished at the speed, ease of use, quality of the output and, most importantly, cost per page.
I would wholeheartedly recommend this printer to any smaller sized business that needs a functional printer solution thats economical and looks fantastic.
Pros:appraisal firm
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Woods4
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

2155cn laser printer

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love it.
Pros: Easy set up, speed, quality of print.
Cons: should have got the print on both side model.
Pros:club work
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:asomerford
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

MFC 2155cn

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a laser printer for my research printouts. When the printer arrived, we called a computer tech to install it. The setup was relatively quick and we were printing in less than an hour. This printer is quiet, quick and produces sharp printouts. We couldn't be happier.
Pros:home business
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DrLove
Title:

Great buy for the money spent on it

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: It is a very fast copier and the copies are very similar to the originals. It also does an awesome job when it comes to scanning images. It produces amazing color printouts. I love all the amazing features it offers especially when it is networked. One feature that is using for me is the ability to scan documents as a pdf file for email.
Cons: It is a noisy when it is being used but this is common with most HP copiers. If you want to network this printer, you might need help. You may ask someone who had networked a printer before or call up the Dell Techs. I am used to network printers so it was easy to do it. Please note that it will ask for numerical address instead of textual as in some windows programs. Networking a printer will make it easier to email a scanned image directly from the printer. If you are unable to network your printer, you may scan the document to your computer and then attach it to your email.
Pros:printing documents
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wwalbright
(Hagerstown, MD)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent printer for the price

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent for my home office.
Pros:
Price
Speed
Capacity
Image Quality
Windows 7 machines installed effortlessly
Con:
Older XP machines (net books) were a bit of a pain to get up and running, but generally went smoothly once I copied the installation disk to a thumb drive.
Pros:home office/network
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kingbeacon
Title:

Just right

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
We purchased this two months ago. I has exceeded our expectations. It has never missed a beat. The color is always perfect and the setup was quick and smooth. Scanning has been the best. I decided to sell our Huge all in one printer for this smaller size.
Cons
The only thing I regret is that I did not add the extra memory. We are printing large color documents and sending 100 pages and it slows down the printing but one minute.
This is a perfect printer for a small to medium office.
Pros:business
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SAS60
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

2155cn not a scanner

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
When in a network the scanner and scanner tools does not ever find the scanner. I gave it an IP address and it still did not find it. The scanner is unusable on a network. It may be ok for single user. I have re installed several times. A frustrating machine as well as very slow!!!
Do not reccommend this product!
Pros:small business
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:notechguy
(Utah)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Easy Set-Up

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just set this printer up on our network. I thought it was relatively simple. We all have win7 64 machines. Nice color output. Makes good copies and scans well. I haven't used all the bells and whistles yet, but will soon. Great deal if it lasts.
Pros:small office
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AMMRRN
(CHARLOTTE, NC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

NANNA'S GOT THEIR BACKS WITH DELL 2155CN

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Three months ago< I looked in my closet to find 4 ink jet printers (Not Dell by the way) that were barly warn yet not useable. I bought repolacement ink that half the time didn't print well or dried up before I got half the use, or I made a mess trying to save money by buying the recycled ink replacements only to not work!! The 2155nc is my first laser printer that scans copies,faxes and then some. I have 2 kids in college and 14 grand children of which 10 are school age & my home is were they come when able to use the 2155cn. It's so user friendly I could jump for joy if I wasn't disabled! The quality of print and the speed and clarity perfect!! WOW! I'm on a fixed income and the 2155cn is worth every cent! Dell has made my life easier. Thanks Dell! A. McIntyre P.S NANNA'S GOT THEIR BACK WITH DELL! (SMILE)
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mike3417
(Tyler, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

2155cn review

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had a dell 3100cn for years with no problems, however I needed a multi-function printer as my hp scanner went out. Delivery was quick and installation and setup was easy. The network install was no problem on windows xp, but the computer using ubuntu had some issues. This may be due to the operator since I am not as linux savy as I am with windows.
Pros:home use
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JRINC
Title:

2155CN PRINTER

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
THE ORDER PROCESS WAS GOOD
DELIVERY WAS ON TIME
UNPACKING WAS GOOD
SOFTWARE INSTALL ON A NETWORK WAS A NIGHTMARE
CALLED TO SERVICE SEVERAL TIMES TO GET THE PASSWORD AND DETAILS FOR SETUP THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN INCLUDED IN THE MANUAL. ON-LINE MANUAL WAS THE ONLY SOURCE AND PROVIDED VERY LITTLE DETAIL. A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE INSTALLING. AND AFTERWARD THE PRINTER CHANGED IT'S IP ADDRESS AND I HAD TO MODIFY ALL THE CLIENT SYSTEMS SO THAT THEY COULD USE THE PRINTER.
PRINT OUTPUT VISUAL QUALITY IS GOOD
Pros:business output
-5points
19of 43voted this as helpful.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Ratings-only reviews for Dell - 2155cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product