Customer reviews for Dell 2355dn Multifunction Monochrome Laser Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell 2355dn Multifunction Monochrome Laser Printer

Dell 2355dn Multifunction Monochrome Laser Printer
2.857 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
2.9
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
3 out of 743%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 2355dn Multifunction Monochrome Laser Printer
Review 1 for Dell 2355dn Multifunction Monochrome Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:2355dn
(Canton, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Do Not Buy For Office

PostedMay 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had it with this all-in-one. If you copy you have to hit the button to copy at least 3 times before it will copy; if you add paper or change what you're printing such as envelopes, checks, etc... you have to hit another button to approve the change on EVERYTHING ! Whenever you print or heaven forbid your toner get low - a window constantly pops up on your screen. It's the most time consuming - frustrating piece of equipment I have ever worked with in my 30 years of being in an office. Whoever designed this 2355dn did not have efficiency in mind. Very frustrated & stuck with it!
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 2, 2013
Hello 2355dn,

Sorry to hear you are not happy with the design for the 2355dn's programming. The more complex the printer system today, to more options you have to approve to continue. If you feel you are having issues with the printer malfunctioning, please contact our support teams, maybe they can help! Another option is to update the drivers to improve connectivity. Drivers:
http://dell.to/10uou0V

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-

http://dell.to/nKRY0q

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Thank you for sharing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 2355dn Multifunction Monochrome Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:feetdontfailme
(Los Angeles, CA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not a Great Machine

PostedNovember 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does print well, albeit quite slowly. The big problem I have with it is the touch screen. It really is a piece of garbage, icons too small for almost anyone to use without concentrating like you were playing a game of 'Operation'. The speed dial programming forces you to use these tiny buttons to fax and to try to use the scroll bar without accidentally hitting a number that you didn't intend to(and this forces you to start over). The actual physical buttons are basically useless for day-to-day operations, as you can't use them to get to a speed dial or something else. The shortcuts are particularly useless, as you can only put in a very small and peculiar subsection of the available functions as a shortcut, and woe be it to you if you accidentally hit the wrong function for a shortcut using the tiny touch screen. On the plus side, it does fax and print and copy without problem, although if you want to do any of this from the machine be prepared to try to touch tiny little icons on multiple screens. I would not recommend this product to any business, as it will have you and your users grumbling when they have to do anything but print to it.
Pros:faxing, copying, scanning, printing
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 21, 2012
Hi feetdontfailme ,

Sorry about the issue with this printer. We value your feedback to make our products even better in the future . I hope we will be able to serve you better next time .

If you need any assistance , you can reach our Dell support team in Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ or Twitter @DellCares - http://bitly.com/P5W1OT



I hope this helps. Thank you for choosing Dell !
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 2355dn Multifunction Monochrome Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FrustratedBarb
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

STAY AWAY

PostedAugust 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
WE HATE THIS PRINTER. Two of us share it. Every single time something is put into the MP tray a message pops up asking if we want to use something beside the default. We always hit "no", but it takes several tries before the screen accepts our answer and then will print. But it doesn't matter what you feed - the default option is irrelevant. It only exists to have a pop-up screen that makes you want to punch the printer. We use the feeder a dozen or more times a day, switching between paper and envelopes, so cursing at the printer is common. Dell won't make the simple software update that would allow us to turn it off. Prior to this we had a Dell printer for years, but never again.
Pros:general office use
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 2355dn Multifunction Monochrome Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cc000
(OR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Sighs good and bad

PostedJune 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Software/User Interface: 4 Star!!!
Hardware: 3 Star
So its a great printer, i love it and i wish they would just build it right. printers have been around for many years and they should have perfected and institutionalized some of these perfections.
it doesnt print our envelopes well. it creases the envelope and then the text on the edges becomes jagged cus the paper has moved from creasing...
the ADF scanning sucks! im still playing around with it to see if i can force it to be better but. so far the scan quality is horrible on less than 300dpi, it scans too fast and causes blurring, also one scan it stretched an 8.5x11" to almost 17" long page that was faxed to clients. unacceptable.
if this printer would print envelopes like it should and actually had a decently built ADF this would be a great printer (fiatting that tech is built to break "planned obsolescence", so dont expect it to last)
i love the dell software, 1000x times nicer than HP--ugk
also i updated the firmware to the current version as well as all the software.
Pros:office, mailing, billing
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 2355dn Multifunction Monochrome Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MDMiller
(Shady Spring, WV)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell 2355dn Multifunction Laser Printer

PostedMay 31, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
While I have only owned my Dell 2355dn printer for about a month, my experience with its initial set-up and operation has been good. Set-up was a relatively easy process. The instructions for installing the memory and wireless network card were a little short on detail. Once set-up was completed, I have experienced no problems. The print quality and speed are excellent. The 2355dn represents a good choice for a small office or home-based office that require the benefits of a multifunction monochrome laser printer with a moderately high monthly output rating.
Pros:home office & personal use
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 2355dn Multifunction Monochrome Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RonRo
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good performance, but creates large scan files

PostedApril 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall, the performance of the print and scan functions have been solid. I don't use the FAX capability, so I can't report anything positive or negative for that feature.
The print quality is excellent. The unit is fast, relatively quiet, and produces clean duplex printouts.
The scan quality is good. I've used the unit with and without the feeder to scan documents. With the feeder, there is sometimes a bit of motion blur on the scan (especially fine-print text), but without using the feeder, the scans are very good.
I use the scanner mainly to create PDF docs for archival, and I noticed that, regardless of the settings used (300 vs. 600 dpi, color vs. greyscale), the PDF files are very large - much larger than they were when I created files with my Epson scanner. I wonder if the unit is using lossless compression, or just creating the raw images...
Overall, I've been quite happy with its performance. Network setup was quick and easy. Using it over the network is simple. For the price, it's a solid unit.
I gave it four stars only because I think the scan capability could be improved. As a printer, it's definitely a 5-star unit.
Pros:printing, scanning to nas folder
+10points
19of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 2355dn Multifunction Monochrome Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VKJensen
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell 2355dn

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this printer a couple of weeks ago and I am very happy with it so far. It was easy to set up. My only problem was when you scanned something in it does not have the ability to save it as a .pdf file. Fortunately I have a program that lets me scan in documents and save them as a .pdf file. I would recommend this product for any small office. It is very quiet and reminds you more of a copier than a printer.
Pros:small office
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.