Customer reviews for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer

Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
3.5 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
3.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
16 out of 2467%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Review 1 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bill12345
(Penfield, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dell 2335dn scanner only works correctly when first turned on

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I own a Dell 2335dn printer/scanner that is almost 2 years old. This printer gets light use (since it is used in a home). This scanning problem is the first issue with this printer.
What happens now is that, if the printer has cooled off, you turn it on, then perform either a B&W and/or a color scan right away, everything is fine. But after say 1 1/2 hrs of the being powered on: (a) B&W scans have about a 1/4" vertical line (e.g., in a scan of a 8 1/2" x 11" document) where nothing appears in the scan, and (b) color scans have completely unacceptable color (i.e., scans are pink, include a yellow vertical line, and a sort of Moire patter appears in the scan). Note that this problem occurs whether you do or do not use the sheet feeder.
This scanning problem does correct itself after it has cooled down, then is powered on again. So, as long as I'm not doing big scan jobs, I still have a functioning scanner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NoDisplayName
(NE)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

23335dn document feeder start jamming within 6 mos

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the predecessor to this printer which had the same problem. I had to have the eariler model replaced under extended warranty at least twice. The last replacement for that one was this model. When I bought a new one, i bought the same model thinking it would have the same scanning software but it doesn't so I had to buy a new scanner because it didn't have the right software and it jams just like the earlier model. The new one has lasted only about a year and after over six months of dealing with the daily jamming of originals, I finally caved and had it replaced under warranty. And as usual what a hassle. Dell knows that this printer has cheap parts in the document feeder but you still have prove that there is a problem and then they say they are going to ship it next day. Well, no, it arrived two busienss days later but they still emailed me a reminder email the day I asked for the replacement! Then there were no instructions for contacting the shipper. And of course,since they didnt' arrive the day they were supposed to and didn't ship the right paperwork, I could just send it back with the same delivery guy. So now I have to be at my office for an entire day because the return is Ground not next day so I can't even schedule a pick up time. And now they won't send out new CDs for software or even a new power cord. So if there is a firmware update, you are on your own. It took me three hours to install and reinstall all the software last time so I don't expect it will improve. At this point, my plans to buy any more deal products this year are on hold because the customer service is so poor. The printer itself has a ton of problems with sleep mode in that it is really slow to wake up when you need to copy or scan. It spends most of its time reinializing itself. Some of these things may be fixable but without good customer support or a manual I have no idea what my original settings were. The one I have just replaced refused to let me change the default scanning size so it always said A4 and not letter sized. I think there are alot of other better printers with wireless options that are made better than this one now. I should not have to pay extra an extended warranty plan to cover poorly made products.
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 11, 2013
Hey NoDisplayName,

I apologize that you have not had an exceptional experience with the Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer. I understand that you are frustrated with this printer and our support team, but we are eager to improve on this experience.

Here is the manual for this printer (bit.ly/ZCtXmR). You can find the documentation for nearly any Dell product here: dell.to/PVgRkP

The manual has information on how to prevent paper jams in the document feeder and how to change the scanning size.

Also, to update firmware, all you need to do is go to the Dell Drivers and Downloads page (bit.ly/UbvHTE), and you can download updates.

If you are not happy with our phone service, you can definitely reach out to one of our Online Support Teams.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

I am confident that we can help you and improve on this experience.

Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for choosing Dell.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheJeff
Title:

Just OK.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The "warming up" screen pops up whenever you touch this thing. Print quality is good but the entire print is on about a 2 degree slant. Very easily seen on an copy of a copy. About 6 months old and already having paper feeding problems from the top when faxing. Overall just an ok machine. I hoped for better.
Pros:small office, daily multifunction use
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 18, 2012
Hi TheJeff,


Sorry to hear about the issue with your printer. I understand that its an unfortunate for you to experience the issue in 6 months. I would suggest you to check with our Dell support team for the further assistance on this . They will be able to keep a follow up and see what is the best they can do to fix this issue. You can reach via- Facebook-
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ or Twitter@DellCares - http://bitly.com/P5W1OT .

I hope this will help .Thank you for your reviews .
Take care !


-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shumsky
Title:

Worst printer ever

PostedOctober 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 1st printer i purchased was great, lasted for 3 years, started to jamb. I replaced its with this printer and I didn't make it through 1 toner before it broke (under warranty)I was sent a new one and.... you guessed it, more problems.
Now as the one year warranty ran out (3 days later) stopped working al together
The cost was about $3.50 per print.
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 10, 2012
Hey Shumsky,

I apologize that you did not have a very good experience with the Dell 2335dn Laser Printer. I definitely understand your frustration. It is very unfortunate that your printer quit working just as your warranty ran out.

It is always recommended that customers extend their hardware warranty, especially for users who intend to print in high volumes.

I hope that we can impress you with our products and services in the future. Thank you for sharing your feedback, and thank you for choosing Dell.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:triedcobra
Title:

expensive

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
it does everything it claims but i went from a old hp to the dell and my toner costs are huge.I was at 150.00 a year on refillable toner and now am at almost 2000. with the dell, i only switched because the staff where complaining.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 24, 2012
Hello triedcobra,

Thank you for sending in your feedback. If you have not already done this, I recommend checking to see if your printer has the Toner Saving Mode enabled. You can set this by going to Setup > Machine Setup > Toner Save > On. This may help with toner costs.

I am glad everything else on the printer seems to be suiting you and your staff's needs. Thank you again for the review.

-SaraT
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:countrydoc
Title:

Fine printer during it's short life, R.I.P.

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this printer in 2010 based on being a long time Dell customer and Consumer Reports review. Did not buy extra warranty as a bit pricey.
Although a bit bulky, a fine machine. Did all I needed for a small home office. However, the fuser broke down and repair meant a $ 200 part plus labor, taxes. New one sells for $ 460. I think a printer should last for more than two years. So I dusted off my old Brother HL 1240 from the basement and guess what, works just fine.
Pros:home office & children's schoolwork
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 17, 2012
Hey countrydoc,

I am sorry to hear that your Dell 2335 Multifunction Laser Printer did not last you as long as expected. Unfortunately, the print fuser is prone to malfunctioning in all laser printers as it uses high temperatures to apply the ink to the paper. It is important to keep your printing drum clean from dirt and debris.

I agree that a printer should last more than two years, but life is never a guarantee, that is why we offer Limited Hardware Warranty. Here is more information:
http://dell.to/HTZkB3

I hope that you give Dell Products and Services another try in the future. Thank you for choosing Dell!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hallreview
(Houston, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent and Durable

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought five of these units for a small law office. They are fast and durable under heavy printing conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:poppacas
Title:

Happy, but wish I would have earlier.

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROS:
I like the scan which goes to my pc in the file and folder that I named for a default. I use it every week to scan and send in time sheets and route logs. The copy function is great for the hard copies that I send to the company and keep for my self. One great all around printer. I bought a dell laser mono printer,which was fine until I needed the extra functions. Very happy with the printer.
CONS: I wish I would have bought this printer before I bought the last laser.
REVIEW: Don't buy what you need to get by, buy what you will need to get through.
Pros:home office, student
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RCR1
(NY, USA)
Title:

Nice printer with some quirks

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent, fast printer. The controls are a little bit of a pain to use, and you have to go through the options each time to do the one task, but for the price, this is by far the best printer out there. you may even get through the controls to scan and get an error that the scanner is busy and have to start again.
Duplex scanning, duplex printing and network scanning and faxing are only available on some $1,000 plus printers. I can live with the quirky controls for the amount of scanning I do. Overall its a quality printer that is very reliable, and has a nice web interface for management/ setup. Strongly suggest this printer if you need an all-in one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mariya
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

very happy. Excellent printer.

PostedJune 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is excellent multi-function printer for home office usage. I love 2 sided printing. I highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DennyOnTheFarm
(Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great printer, great features!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: I was looking for a printer that could be networked, act as a fax with a dedicated line, scan to pdf files and be fast. This printer has all those features and lots more, it is quiet and easy to set up.
Cons: Documentation missing on scan to email set up.
Pros:virtual office at home
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CyberSpectre
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Worst Item Ever Sold By Dell

PostedApril 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I work in IT & we had...not the word HAD...3 of these @ work & all 3 failed after less than a year in use. It so happened that all 3 of these printers were warranty replacements for other model multifunction printers.
In all 3 cases, the same thing failed on the printers--the Fusing Assembly. We attempted every avenue possible to obtain new fusing assemblies for the printers from Dell & were told that they were not available; apparently the printer must still be under warranty in order to obtain the fusing assembly. So we now have 3 large paperweights.
Typically Dell has quality products with quality support & service--the 2335dn printer is an exception to this & an example of the exact opposite. We've wasted more time & energy with Dell in trying to get these printers operational, it's ridiculous.
The only 'Pro' for this printer is that when it was working, it was great--no issues with it.
However, as it stands right now, we've had the 3 printers sitting useless since May-June 2011.
Thus, on the reliability scale the scores 0 since to have 3 printers fail @ 3 different locations--that shows there is a defect with the fusing assembly. To order a replacement fusing assembly online from other sources is way more than the $120 they're selling the printer for now. So...avoid this printer, it's a LEMON.
Pros:business
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Physician
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedApril 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The initial machine failed after 4 months. The replacement failed 9 months later. I would not recommend this unit due to unreliability. This is an exception to Dell's usual quality product.
Pros:business
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:David715
(Hayward,Ca)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Printer is not good.

PostedApril 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this printer about 2 and 1/2 years ago. Wihtin one year fax dont work. They sent me a "refurbished one". after one and 1/2 years this refurbished one can turn on. I sent to repair only learn it will cost me just part $182.00 not include labor. I bought a Brother multifunction machine more than 15 years ago.it still work just need new ink. i will buy Brother printer in the future.
Dell printer when it works it work well. But it is easy break down.2 in 3yrs. and I need machine to work.
Pros:business
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pknozell
Title:

I really like this MFP..

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great small office MFP, has all the functions of the big units in a laser format. I just installed a OfficeJet 8600 at a clients site, they purchased it. I'll take this unit over the HP Officejet MFP any day. I hate ink jets!
Just don't let your kids near the keypad as my 4 year old made a 100 copies of a test page.
Pros:home office
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ikinya6
(Arkansas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great, but temperamental

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
When it works, it works great. Quick print time, high resolution, great for a small office. Scans to PDF. Great for scanning fairly large documents. Pulls the paper through the feeder quickly and smoothly. (I have an 1125, and the feeder keeps jamming up and ruining papers, and it keeps popping up with a paper jam). Double sided printing and scanning.
However, I have moved twice. Both times, it did not want to scan to my computer once I hooked it back up to the network. After several attempts, tech support got it to work after the first move. This time, however, after several hours, Dell couldn't get it to connect to the computer to scan. I could print to it, but not scan. Have had several other techs look at it, and it will not scan. Also can't get it to email.
Looks like I may have to buy another printer. I am actually considering another one of these, because, like I said, when it works, it is beautiful.
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gene91671
(NEW ORLEANS)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is in a home office and is used constantly. I researched many MFP's and settled on this Dell. I had the Dell 1125 prior to buying this unit and wasnt too thrilled but i decided to give Dell another chance because there wasn't another brand that really looked worth the price. I am glad to say I am very happy with the 2335DN. The copies print extremely fast and are nice and crisp. I love that you can send multiple page faxes and they all go thru easily. My old Dell was a nightmare with more than one page. The scan option could be a little easier but all in all, i love it.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:smallcompany
(Philadelphia)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

would not recommend for small company

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
We replaced our workhorse Dell 1815 with this machine about 5 months ago. It does not compare. We had difficulty with setup and the preset options drove us crazy. Can not send a fax while recieving a fax and it takes a extremely long time to complete a transmission. Replaced toner three times already. We would not recommend.
+2points
13of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:readnu0711
Title:

2335dn printer

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Fast and quiet, easy to install, fair price. Works fine. Fast shipment. Crisp copies. As long as it uses toner reasonably, it is a home run. I haven't printed enough so fas to tell toner consumption. I think it is a great buy for the price for an accounting firm.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell 2335dn Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RehabSolutions
(Winnsboro, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Quality Device

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have two of these in our office and have had them for over 3 yrs. We consider them our workhorses. We use them to make tons of copies and also as our fax machines, which seem to run non-stop in our very busy office. We have never had any techinical problems, paper jams, etc. They are extremely dependable and for the price, this product is an amazing buy. Why pay arm and leg for some "commercial" product that weighs a ton? This is such a great option for an office of any size.
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
1 2