Customer reviews for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer

Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
4.212 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
4.2
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 81
76 out of 8589%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Review 1 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnHouse
(Nashville)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Does not work on Mac OS X (10.7)

PostedJune 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The website says this printer works on Mac operating systems. However, after 4 hours on the phone with tech support, the printer still can't print. The technician also told me that it doesn't scan to Mac OS either. The copy on this product on the website needs to be changed!
Pros:business
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 14, 2012
Hello JohnHouse,

I apologize that you did not have the best out-of-box experience with the Dell 1135n MFP Laser printer. The website for this product does state the supported operating systems as evaluated by engineering in the Tech Specs tab. In particular this product states that it supports “Apple Mac OS X 10.3 - 10.6” (or “Macintosh version OS X: 10.3 - 10.6”), so unfortunately Mac OS X 10.7 is not supported.

If you need further assistance with this product, please reach out to our Social Support Team directly.

Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Caitlinl
(Vermont)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awful Scanner

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I depend on a good quality scanner and so far the Dell 1135n has not impressed me at all. The feeder jams all the time. It doesn't matter if you are trying to scan 1 page or 10. I don't have time to scan using the flatbed when I am scanning 10, 20 or more pages. I have used a Brother all in one in the past and never experienced the problems I am having now with the Dell. If you need a good scanner do NOT buy this product!!!!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Casas
(toronto)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Dissapointed with the printer

PostedOctober 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product and after 2 weeks or less paper was jamed and it stoped working... I'm waiting for the replacement to see how it goes... i'm dissapointed of the quality I expected more
Pros:home
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DavidK63
Title:

Re-branded Samsung Printer

PostedAugust 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have a Samsung CLX3175FN MFP that has been very disappointing from both the use of toner and overall performance.
We purchased the 1135N from Dell since the office uses Dell printers and have performed very well and relatively low cost. Also wanted a strictly b/w printer to reduce cost.
As it turns out the 1135N is a re-branded Samsung unit. It has the same issues we had with the CLX-3175 (toner usage, poor fax, lousy interface). To top it off, it shipped with a refurbished toner cartridge.
Very disappointed of Dell.
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SalesGuy
(Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Don't be mislead

PostedNovember 30, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
My company recently purchased this device for my home office. I cover a large sales territory and use all functions of this device. I print numerous documents each day, fax multiple locations each day, and scan documents every week. I find the printer to be very loud and learned through Dell tech support that there is no way to turn off or lower the sound of the fax when it is dialing out. The fax feature boasts the ability to send the same document to multiple #'s back to back and the capability to scan in documents and delay there fax until a later time to numerous locations. If you choose to fax now or later and be in the same room as this device at the same time, do not purchase it. This is not a suitable device for a person or persons running a small business or home office.
Pros:sales, marketing, management, business development
+13points
27of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GrandmaDot
Title:

1135n Printer very disappointing

PostedMarch 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product needs a hard copy instruction manual!!! I keep getting error messages. I keep getting blank pages when I print. I'm sure part of my problems is due to the lack of a printed instructionmanual. I miss my Brother printer and its superior performance
Pros:home use, printing patterns recipes e-mails
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JOC123
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Printer Is Disappointing

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This printer is disappointing. After reading many positive reviews, I expected it to be better than the multi-function it replaced. The first problem came when the ink ran out after about 500 pages. It was rated for much higher per cartridge, so the sudden lack of ink put us in a home-office bind. The second problem came when I couldn't go to a local store and buy ink (I'd forgotten this, or would not have purchased a Dell product). We needed to use the copy/print functions over a two-day period, but were forced to wait until the ink shipped from Austin to Abilene Texas. The printer itself works with ease, but has yet to meet my critical expectations. I'm just not sold on Dell printers, again, because of the issue with buying ink locally.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pegweina
(home Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

you could send better instrucations.

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
tells us if you needed a cord to go with it. It isn't all that I wanted. talked to a on line person, but I did need a new one with a fax I still don't know if I can upload pictures from chip, but will find out. pros: it works & copies good & has a fax.
Con: it was hard to use with out good instructions. I through it was wireless
Pros:personal
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TJinCville
(Charlottesville, VA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good printer, so-so scanner

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Decent cheap laser. Cartridges a bit expensive and it won't use cheaper Samsung ones for Samsung's original version of the printer. Single sheet handling could be better.
Scanner drivers interface terribly with Nuance PDF Converter Pro that I use all the time. Can't select custom image type and resolution -- only uses Dell preset ones. Dell support didn't have any idea what I was talking about and Nuance said call Dell.
Pros:work, School, home
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NikNakNikki
(Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent Quality

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The quality and speediness of this printer is great. It is quick, quiet, and my favorite...wifi connection, so less wires!
Pros:personal use
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RichieR
Title:

A little disappointed....

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this printer because it was a network printer and supported scanning. Being familiar with other Dell MFP Laser Printers I was comfortable with purchasing this. With that being said, the thing I am disappointed about was that it does not support network scanning (ie: to a server or to email). This means that if I want to scan I MUST have the printer connected to my computer using a USB cable. In my opinion this completely negates the networking function.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DeeS
Title:

Printing Options

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just received the Dell 1135n MFP printer. When printing the only option available to print is "Print to File." I have read over the manual numerous times to find a resolution to changing the default print setting from "Print to File" to "Print to Printer." Anyone have a clue?
Thank You to the person posting the life span of the cartridge that comes with the printer. I was under the impression there was a least a print life span of 2,000 pages.
Also, the letter "P" is not on the "PQRS" key!
Pros:school homework assignments, printing school grades, printing receipts, limited everyday printing
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:claboj
Title:

too early for a review, BUT...

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a good looking printer, no doubt! BUT...I just purchased this 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer (+ one spare toner) and got really surprised (sure not the first) about the fact that this machine DO NOT come with an USB cable. For that reason, don't forget to order a cable for this printer. That's all for now. I'll be back! Hopefuly next time I'll be able to click on the 5th star.
-3points
7of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RhettVanScoter
Title:

Used up the toner in a week!!

PostedNovember 2, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
For the most part it's a good printer, but if you have moderate printing needs, it's not for you. I burned through the toner cartridge that came with the printer in 1 week. Come to find out it is only a 700 page capacity cartridge and the most that you can get for the printer is a 2500 capacity.
I'm used to 5000 capacity cartridge's so I have a feeling I'm going to be spending a lot of money on toner for this printer.
I should have spent the extra money on the next level up printer and then I would have saved on the overall maintenance cost of the printer.
Pros:small business
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DBest
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

For The $$$

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this printer for a couple of days and the printing part works as promised. The issue I have is the software that allows you to scan to pdf will not let you delete out the "My Document" as a default scan destination. The software also will not let you enable the receive fax to file function.
Pros:small business
+31points
33of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VictorJ
Title:

Nice small office printer.

PostedMay 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Seems to be working well so far. Only had it set up a few weeks. Prints are high quality. It's quiet and fast. Good printer overall.
Pros:library printer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:edili78
(clinton twp mi)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great product

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the dell 620 and the laser printer.
I am very happy with the products I purchased from dell. Shipping time was wonderfull. Came a lot sooner then I was told.
Great company!!!
Pros:personal use
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JMStark
(Queen Creek AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Multifunctional Laser Printer

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a decent laser printer for the price. I love the document scanning software and fax functionality. We had a different fax and scanner that was very difficult to make use of. The software included with this printer is great for even the begining user.
Pros:home office, eductation
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:424769
(New Mexico)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

1135n Printer

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This printer is exactly what we needed for our Small Family business, It is fast, trouble free, and does not take up any more space than our old printer. the ink cost is much more reasonable than the ink jet that we used. And the best feature is the added ability to create PDF files without having to spend a lot of money on expensive software for this feature.
The only problem we had were there were no instructions included on how to use the scan PDF feature, it required a call to your tech center to get the information we needed to operated that feature.
Pros:small family business
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - 1135n Multifunction Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jeezer
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Second time's a charm

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It took two attempts to get it right. The first unit failed after one use. The automatic feeder completely failed. The second one works really well.
Pros: Fast print, OCR is pretty good for the price you pay, scanning is top notch.
Cons: Cost of ink and availability only from Dell, which is always a negative to me. Support from Dell's India team was difficult to understand and returns seem to be challenging for them to understand.
Overall I gave the product a 4 because the one that works, works very well.
Pros:business, scanning, copying
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5