Customer reviews for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer

Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
4.5 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.5
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 15
15 out of 1694%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Review 1 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ShadowLAP
Title:

Dell 2230D Laser Printer

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would highly recommend this printer. I purchased it to replace an HP LaserJet and I am very happy with my selection. Very good quality for the price.
Pros:home business
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PrintPrint1
Title:

Open the box, get in your car

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just bought a Dell 2230d Printer only to find Dell does not supply a cable you MUST HAVE to complete setup. The vague instructions give buyer the option to buy a multi-pin to USB cable or a USB to USB cable. Got in car. The store only had the multi-pin to USB for $29.95. Attached new cable guaranteed to work with Windows 7 and my new Dell XPS 8500. Wouldn't print. Spent two days following Dell online instructions by first reading the online user manual, running Dell Diagnostics, pulling hair, etc. FINALLY, a Dell tech solved problem after a half hour of trying this and that: Wrong Cable. Tech said multi-pin to USB doesn't work with the 2230d Printer. Nice. Only works with USB to USB printer cable, also $29.95. Hello, Dell? Please put the right cable in the box, as HP does with their printers, and charge me for it, or TELL ME WHICH CABLE WORKS and TELL THE BUYER IN THE ONLINE SPECS THAT THE BOX WILL BE MISSING A CABLE. Hopping off my soapbox now.....
Pros:heavy home use
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sunfun
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Reliable Printer

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This has been one of the most reliable printers I have ever purchased. I even purchased a second one in case they stopped making this model and something happened to my original printer! My husband prints a high volume of small print pages and the quality is great.
Pros:home
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:likes2chewgum
Title:

Dell 2230d printer

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great printer and a bargain at the price. We absolutely love it.
Pros:personal, business
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jeff7462
(Portage, MI)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Does What You Need

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
It prints black and white perfectly fine.
Doesn't jam too often
Cons
Can be a little slow if printing large documents
Pros:work
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mysha5151
(Wellington, UT)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Wow

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the first Dell printer product I have ever purchased and I wasn't disappointed. It says that the intial toner is 1500 pages, but I got 2000 out of it easily. I purchased another dell printer 1133 with scanner to use in conjuction with it. I do lots of work orders, invoices, scanning etc and these two together are all I need for our business. Thank you Dell for making affordable quality products.
Pros:work order invoices
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Brackenboy
(Brisbane Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedApril 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love the printer but am disappointed with the cost of toner. Dell claim 3500 pages per cartridge and I have done 2201 which includes some envelopes and many pages with only 1 or 2 lines of print. As soon as the toner indicator reached the half full mark the print quality deteriorated. Removing and shaking the cartridge helped to a small degree however this hasn't lasted for long. I feel somewhat mislead by the claim of 3500 pages per cartridge, especially when they cost so much more than other comparable brands.
Pros:home use, committee reports
+31points
34of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PastorDeb
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Printer

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have used the printer for 3 weeks and so far am very pleased. It is very fast! I am curious to see how long the cartridges last. That will be the deciding factor.
Pros:church office
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anngru
Title:

Not for Everyone

PostedNovember 28, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have had many b/w laser printers over the years. Purchased this to replace an HP1020 we used daily for about 6 years as business reached the point where we needed a faster, heavier duty printer. Have now had it over 6 months.
Initially spent untold hours on tech support reinstalling software and trying various "at home" fixes. Dell had to replace the printer twice before we finally had a working machine.
On the AAA+ side, Dell can be relied on to provide top-notch customer service. The replacements arrived within 2 business days.
Overall, I have to say we regret this purchase and am glad we didn't spend the extra for another paper tray. We now use it strictly for large print jobs and purchased a used HP1020 to replace the one we gave away.
Why?
We print a lot of packing lists, envelopes of various sizes and self adhesive labels. Plain paper printing on the 2230d is crisp, clear and professional. BUT, multifunction paper handling is below average.
It is hard to properly position paper so that it feeds properly, and only after a lot of trial and error were we finally able to learn how to carefully load and print labels. But can never use more than several sheets at a time and rollers constantly grab multiple sheets. (It jams when using self adhesive labels in the paper tray).
Feeding envelopes also causes some teeth gritting. The paper guides on the multi-function tray move freely to contract in size. But when you need to increase the size, you have to press and hold a release tab that is on the right side of the paper guide to allow the guides to move. So if you need to use that function frequently with various sizes, it can become very annoying unless the printer is readily accessible and the right side is within easy reach.
Pros
Super print quality, fast, workhorse laser printer.
Cons
Poor multi-function tray design limiting use of labels and envelopes. Heavy, large foot-print machine. Some overall machine quality issues. Rather expensive per sheet print costs.
Summary
Good machine for plain paper, large scale print projects. Not recommended for small, mixed usage office environment.
Pros:home based business, veteran hardware user
+52points
52of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VevaBailey
(Dayton, Nevada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best Printer Yet!

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Having gone and checked out several other printers, looking for something very fast and getting a lot of pages from the ink, I chose Dell's 2230d Laser Printer.
Pros:genealogy
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Riddler
(Springfield, Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

This is a GREEEEAT printer!

PostedApril 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
After many years of utilizing only an HP laser printer I decided to try a Dell, since I have a Dell Computer and monitor. I purcahsed my Dell 2230d laser printer when it was on sale from Dell for just $129.00, plus free shipping included.
There first thing I printed was a 33 page report and I just could not believe how quickly this printer printed. The text came out "very clear" on every page. My HP printer would have taken at least 8-10 minutes to print 33 pages. This printer printed the entire report in less than 2 minutes. WOW! Envelopes also print very crisp.
I checked out Amazon.com to see if they are selling the Dell 2230d printer and they are. However, their price is a whopping $289.99 for the exact same printer I paid just $129.00 buying it from Dell.
The only thing that I do not like about this great printer is the cost of a toner cartidge. $110.00 for a "use and return" cartridge is very high. The cartridge only lasts for 3,500 pages then you have to purchase another one. If Dell was smart they would sell the toner cartridge for this printer for about $50.00 tops! If it cost $50.00 I would purcahse two or three at a time. Why am I mentioning any of this: The toner cartridge for my HP laser printer only cost $55.00 but it printed at least 5,000 pages.
I "Highly Suggest" you purcahse this printer if you want a "really good black and white laser printer" at a "very affordable" price, if you purchase it online at Dell.com that is. Also: Wait for it to go on sale.
+39points
42of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SJCharlie
(San Jose, CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Surprised

PostedApril 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first DELL product other than the 8 computers I have purchased in the past. I was leery about buying a printer from DELL since I didn't consider DELL a printer company.
I received a gift certificate from DELL when I purchased my XPS1340 laptop and decided to use it as partial payment on the printer.
I was pleasantly surprised with the print quality, speed and reasonable pricing of their printers. Although it is a little noisier than I expected, the advantages and quality outweigh the noise problem.
I will consider DELL the next time I need to purchase any other printers.
Pros:general home use
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mbesr
(Griffin, Ga.)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell 2230D Laser Printer

PostedDecember 29, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
These printers excess my expectations as a faithful HP purchases for 15 years.
It duplexes faster than more expenses HPS I have owned. It does not jam, ever, it seems. The only problem is with envelope handling. I have not been able to put more than two envelopes in the feeder at a time. The feeder is just too small.
Pros:work place printer
+4points
13of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ControllerJan
(Tacoma, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

it's about paper weight

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have forms with 3 different weights of paper, this printer works thru these forms without a jam, or crinkle. This has made a tedious job much easier being able to just load the forms, and walk away while printing. Instead of having to babysit each piece of paper, or printing one weight of each form at a time, or hand feeding each sheet.
Pros:manufacturing sales orders, shipping documents
+30points
32of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:aclayman93
(Jacksonville, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Wow! Pleasantly surprised

PostedMay 10, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been a personal laer printer user for over 15 years. And I have always gone with HP. However, in recent years, my printers have been offering less and less life, the latest of which only lasted just over 2 years. It was clearly not cost effective to pay a premium for another HP for the life I was yielding. In addition, automatic duplexing has become standard for me and was a must for any printer choice. Frankly, I chose the 2230d for price alone as there are were no reviews currently available when I bought. I am blown away by its performace. The print clarity is by far better than ANY HP I ever owned (and I've owned 5 over the years.) Now the footprint is a little large for my liking-it JUST fits in the spot I have for it. It is very wide, so be sure you can fit it where it needs to go. It's a tad tall as well. When paper prints out, it tends to get caught in a little plastic lip that separates the control panel from the paper tray. To remedy this, it has a fold up "paper catcher"; however, since the printer was so tall to begin with, I cannot use this feature, as it would not then fit into the spot. This does not lessen my liking for the machine, however, as the paper does not get creased if I take it out carefully. It is a small price to pay for a printer with knockout graphics and flawless text. My company logo has never looked sharper. Great printer, and a bargain at that. Highly recommended.
Pros:Presentation, printing reports invoices etc.
+168points
173of 178voted this as helpful.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Ratings-only reviews for Dell 2230d Mono Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product