Customer reviews for 1235cn Color Laser Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

1235cn Color Laser Printer

1235cn Color Laser Printer
4.148 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
4.1
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
23 out of 2785%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Review 1 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:greggcsr
Title:

install disk

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product it's self works very nicely.
I have problems with the scanner.
I need the install disk to fix it and i lost mine.
please contact me if you have a copy and you can personaly save my but.
if you know where to get one please direct me to it.
Thank you,
Gregg Crosley
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlexMcPrinter
Title:

It's a heap

PostedMarch 20, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
It goes through ink fast, but that's okay since we didn't get very good service life out of it anyway. In fact we're looking to replace it now.
I'd suggest looking for something more robust for printing. We're a small-ish office and don't put much stress on the thing, but it just went to pot in no time. Scan's fine, but the printing: Just no.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SeaChange
(San Clemente)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Printer Blues

PostedNovember 9, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
When printing my first print job, the printer printed pink where sky blue gradually went to white on a page banner. The casing seemed flimsy and was not aligned properly at seams, which gives it a very cheap appearance. Jammed once on the first print job. The toner low message came on at 420 pages of sparse PowerPpoint text. When I chattted with support they stated that the product ships with 'starter cartridges.' Beware you need to spend another 175.00 dollars immediately to get toner.
On a positive side, it ran pretty quiet.
Pros:home business
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dpidy
Title:

Very Good Value

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this to support my new business. I have a monochrome laser but really need the copier and color capabilities this MFC offers.
There is no manual feed for envelopes or legal paper, which means my old monochrome laser will continue to soldier on.
Overall, this is a great value, and works seamlessly in my mixed PC/Mac office.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KevinY
(Minneapolis, MN)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

No Manual Paper Tray/Duty Cycle less than stated

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an inexpensive printer that does a decent job, but you get what you pay for. There is no manual paper feed for envelopes such as they offered on the 1600n. The unit runs VERY hot - so hot that during heavy usage the printer burned out and they had to send a new one. I'm thinking Dell's stated monthly duty cycle of 20,000 pages might be a little high.
Typical for color printers the toner cartridges only last 1,500 pages and are just as expensive as those that will yield 5,000.
I would not buy this printer use in a high-volume office where more than 500 pages a month are printed.
On the plus side the user interface at the printer console and the software at the PC is very good.
Pros:scanning, heating the house, printing
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:capcom
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Works as Advertised

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Held off for several years on buying all-in-one printer until this model came along which offered very low initial price, networked, lots of features and small footprint. Even my computer-challenged wife can use it for copying and faxing. Only inherent feature lacking is auto double-sided printing, but this still can be accomplished in software by flipping stack in tray after odd pages are batch printed first.
This printer has relatively inexpensive 1500- page cartridges, but it's not available for refill or by 3rd party vendors yet. If this printer model was more widespread, then cartridge refills and/or refills might become available.
Overall, the 1235cn is a great all-in-one unit for home use.
Pros:home printing/ scanning/ copying
+7points
14of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1337
(Ann Arbor, MI)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not bad, not bad...

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Certainly a great printer - have it attached to our file server via USB. Plan to move it to the network once we re-organize.
I had to send the first unit back - the drum had a dry spot on it, or something, it would print 90% of the page, and the rest would be splotchy, or just plain not show up.
Dell was pretty good about getting me a replacement, had it within the week (with only 2 contacts to 24/7 chat, the first representative claimed I would have a replacement in 24 hrs!?... unfortunately wasn't true)
Makes cutesy sounds when out of paper, turning on, and when the printing job is done. Not loud and obnoxious FYI, just something I didn't know. This printer is VERY quiet, my head is about 2 1/2 - 3 feet and its not disturbing.
The output tray is small, and sometimes gets jammed. (We frequent 25+ print jobs) Though there is a sensor (which makes a cutesy noise) that pauses printing when the tray is full, though it seems like it waits to long. Probably only 1 in 25 BIG print jobs I have a problem.
The feed tray is KIND of small, maybe a 1/4 ream, but the top is clear, so you can see how its doing paper-wise AND what paper/color is loaded - LOVE this feature.
Toner is relatively inexpensive considering similar lasers. Easy to change as well.
You can print directly from a flash drive, or scan directly to a flash drive.
So far I haven't had any issues (2 months+ and about 70% though the first set of toner cartridges) with the replacement, ultimately I am happy with this decision
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DanieleR
(llinois)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell 1235CN....perfect!

PostedJune 9, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was tired of buying a new HP printer yearly. There quality has gone down the last few years. This is a great all in one solution for our home. I wanted the quality of a laser printer and I wanted to purchase from a company I trust and have done business with over and over again! Thanks!
Pros:
Fast for home use
Great quality
inexpensive all-in-one laser printing solution
Cons:
expensive drums (inkjet isn't exactly cheap either)
Not wireless
Pros:home printing
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shellyf
(Brooklyn, NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Does it all with some quirks

PostedApril 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a full featured printer that allows you to scan, fax, print and copy. I've had some repeated minor problems wherein the first 2 inches of the left side of the page printed so light you could hardly read it. This was fixed when I shook the black toner cartridge. I don't mind doing it once in awhile but its happened a few times now and we'll see. The other functions work very well. I also note that the toner cartridges are expensive and will try 3rd party vendors when the need arises.
Pros:print many different items, scan important documents, make copies, faxing documents
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tngo
Title:

So worth the price for such small printrer

PostedFebruary 19, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
For the price I paid for this printer is worth every penny. It prints & copies great quality. Coming from a first generation laser color printer, having the drums rotating before a print job & ever so often rotate itself was so loud; I was very hessitant on purchasing this printer. But I took the chance. By amazement this printer is very quiet & quick on the job. I definately recommend this to anyone needing a color laser MFP.
Pros:personal
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:passionfil
(los angeles)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

excellent dell laser printer

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
wow I just love my new dell laser printer. I did do research on laser printers. This product did have great reviews and I totally agree. This product is user friendly, setup is easy, printing is awesome. Scanning, faxing is right up there in the awesome range. I dont know how much the replacement printing cartiages are as of yet, but i really like this product so it will be well worth the price. I love dell products my last printer was a Dell and it was functioning for over 9 yrs.
Pros:work business school
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ind55
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell 1235C - multifunction laser color printer

PostedJanuary 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I selected this printer through Dell website after checking many available options. This is for home office use. I like its features, compatability and technical specifications. The price offered with this features is quite reasonable. It is compact and fulfill all my needs. It was delivered well within time and in good condition. Dell have wide variety of selections of printer and their website is nicely design to make right selection. The support is good to clarify any technical or commercial issue. I am Dell customer since last 7 years and have found their product with utmost quality and performance. I will surely suggest to my friends.
Pros:personal use in home office
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DianaA
(No. Andover, MA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Buy!

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I work in a small office, just two people, and when I was having problem with my ink jet I knew it was time to upgrade. We didn't have a lot of time or money. I read the reviews and found them very helpful. We purchased on reviews and experience with Dell alone. Set up was very easy just as the review said. The price was great. I don't always feel like we get our money's worth these days but I did with this printer. Quiet, not too big, good looking, pleasant ring when the job is complete. I am Very happy with it.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:palmerjd
Title:

a sweet deal

PostedNovember 2, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
After almost two months reviewing laser printers, tired of my clunky gu-gunk, gu-gunk ink jet I bit for this one--with the insurance I had 21 days to evaluate it. I was first impressed by the whisper quiet (bunnies make more noise). The output is very respectable, set-up pretty much a breeze, as is par with Dell. Bit of a beast on the desk, but whatever. Important note to people replacing old printers and dumbos like me, something not noted in any of the set up(who knew), make sure you go to your settings-control panel and uninstall the old printer. Otherwise, it's pretty much as user friendly as a toaster--just push the button. Not sure yet re: toner $. A nice bonus, you can rid yourself of your old printer by recycling/returning it to Dell in the new box.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rdm9253
(San Diego)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Greyscale and toner

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just be aware if you order this printer, order extra toner at the same time. If you don't and you run out of color toner you can not print in black and white until you get your color toner. There is no default to print in greyscale only once you have run out of the color toner. Other than that it has been a good MFC printer.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DanielW
(Morehead City, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great product for the money!

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
After failing to note the correct cable insert locations several times, I became very impressed with every function. I've scanned, faxed, printed, and copied. I've never owned a better machine, especially for the price. Key piece of advice: Study the plug placement carefully before getting frustrated. Reading comprehension is everything.
Pros:job hunting/applying
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IFMSLLC
(Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell 1235cn Laser Printer

PostedOctober 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This printer was reasonably priced and was delivered on time. Set up out of the box took less than 10 minutes. I use the printer for my small consulting business and for college classes. The printer has many features that my business requires, such as scanning and faxing documentation. This is done easily with the top feed tray.
Pros:consulting business, college classes
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:carrorl
(Orlando, Fl)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I don't think for the price you can find a better color laser printer that has so many features. Print quality is great and response once "print is clicked" is quick.
Unfortunately the supplies are VERY expensive (as typical with most) and if I had to replace the toner cartridges and the print-drum at the same time, i'd consider scrapping it & buying a new one.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, as needed home use
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mitchw
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

No additional paper tray available!!!

PostedSeptember 22, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like this printer and it does the job but with no manual paper feed option I wanted an additional paper tray.
Now I am told that they will not sell me an extra paper tray !?!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 1235cn Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mdg1943
(Montgomery, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

The good, the bad & the ugly

PostedJuly 24, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The print quality is very good, setup was great, and the overall appearance is good. The only LARGE problem is that the Smarthru Offfice software only partially works. The Scan feature has a very robust menu but unfortunately it doesn't work. After over two hours on the phone with the tech he gave up and agreed it probably never would.
Pros:printing & faxing for business
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2