Customer reviews for XPS 15 MLK

XPS 15 MLK

XPS 15 MLK
4.191 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 540 reviews
5 Stars
332
4 Stars
100
3 Stars
35
2 Stars
25
1 Star
48
4.2
 / 
5
(540 reviews) 523
440 out of 54081%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 15 MLK
Review 1 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DivineNTD
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Disappointing for a high end device

PostedAugust 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing runs hot, and is heavy for a 15". I should have just gotten the 17" with a larger battery. This has maybe a couple hours of battery life, and problems with the power cord that probably stem from Dell trying and failing to engineer the smaller form.
I worked with customer support and had a technician come over to look at the issue with the power cord falling out all the time. The way it is built the power cord sticks out at least 1/8 of an inch when fully inserted and falls out all the time. The technician couldn't find anything wrong (it was just poorly designed), but they did manage to break the keyboard so that now it's sunken in.
But the machine is fast, has no trouble handling Photoshop and a ton of browser tabs while watching video.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DrMLKapoor
(Gurgaon, Haryana, India)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

The product is excellent having great features

PostedMay 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is second year of my using this product. I purchased it on line with some personalized features. I am proud of my choice to purchase it. Now I have installed windows 8 and it is working to my great satisfaction. Online support is very good and helping, I have used it at least 3-4 times in the beginning but for the last 9 months it is working so well that my need never raised for support on line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dells4ever91
(Sioux Center, IA 51250, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

More than I thought it would be

PostedMay 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought my XPS 15 off of the outlet center and paid considerably less for it than I find it to be worth. It is great at everything it does and I would for sure get another if I had the opportunity. The turbo boost is amazing and has really enhanced
Pros:touch screen, amazing graphics, long battery life, fast response time, amazing harddrive speed and space
Cons:heavy, battery is bulky
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RWKr
(Bluffton, SC)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

XPS15

PostedApril 26, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
* Performance for a laptop is very good. Whether I use music notation, CAD, spreadsheet, or database software the performance is what I would have expected.
* After viewing all of the screen possibilities my choice was the 15 inch screen. Seventeen inch makes the laptop too large to carry around and less than 15 is too small especially if you eyes are getting old.
* Connectivity has always been a breeze no matter where I am at. It is quick and transparent.
* At max resolution the screen images are great. However, there is an issue when at max resolution in that text size with just about any web site gets too small. This isn't an XPS problem but be aware that you (like I did) will scale down to a lower resolution to make text more readible.
* Speakers are adequate and what you would expect from something this size. If music quality is important to you I would opt for the best sound card offered and then connect to the audio output jack with a good set of headphones. Then sound quality is very good.
* Like all keyboards if you are a fast typist it will take you a couple of weeks to adapt to the new feel/touch. The XPS K/B is no exception. However, this K/B will allow you to type at any high speed rate (I type over 120 wpm) and with ease.
* Weight/size is acceptable. I purchased the Dell carrying case and it handles the XPS very well along with the power brick, cables, and anything else I put in there.
* Useability: The XPS has cooling vents on the underside and it is important that these vents not be blocked as this could cause the unit to overheat. If you use the XPS on your lap then typically one of your legs will cover the underside cooling vent. To eliminate this problem I purchased a laptop board which provides for a solid, flat surface for the computer. And actually using the board is better if you use a mouse since it provides a place to put and use your wireless mouse. I'm not a fan of touchpads as to me they are too slow in getting to where you want to go on the screen.
* The algorithm for the cooling fan is questionable. While this doesn't affect any operations it comes ON/OFF at strange intervals. Haven't figured why this is so.
* Audio volume controls should be dedicated and not as a 'Function' button.
* The liquid/dust cover over the keyboard has lifted on one end. Not a problem except cosmetically.
* Battery life is acceptable for the technology we have today. Like all batteries they have a pretty good life at the beginning but then fade to adequate after time. I would opt for the max battery that is available if you work in this mode.
* I would like to see a cable tie of some sorts to hold the power cable in the connector when using the XPS on your lap. As you move around the cable moves and sometimes disconnects.
* Most of my issues have been with Windows. Can't fault the XPS for this issue.
Pros:good buy for the money, good performance, weigh/size acceptable, great screen image
Cons:some cosmetic issues, cooling vents should be moved
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:miguel020
(Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell XPS 15 L502X

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell XPS 15 L502X is really an awesome laptop!! Bought it in December 2011 and it totally replaced my desktop pc. After one year of usage and many hours of typing the keyboard was a little bit worn out. Replaced it for a backlit keyboard which even types better (more feedback). The 6 cell battery is also replaced for a 9 cell battery. The Intel® Centrino® Wireless-N 1000 (1x2 bgn)card is replaced with an: Intel Centrino® Advanced-N 6235 (2x2 agn Bluetooth)card (noticeable performance improvement). Also replaced the original hard disk for an: Intel® Solid-State Drive 520 Series (240 GB) (great performance gain). Microsoft Windows 8 Pro upgrade (clean install) went flawless!! The pre-installed Dell drivers and factory installed software was very easy to restore. Only thing that I really don't like/regret is that there is no extra set of cables for a WWAN/TV card upgrade installed. If I knew it on purchase I would have ordered a Dell™ Wireless 5620 EVDO-HSPA mobile broadband* mini card. Other thing I really would have liked is the option to buy PointGrab gesture control software on the Dell website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CAMerrill1
(Mobile)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Almost nothing but problems!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros - Cheaper than the MacBook. Compatible with all my current software. It was capable of handling multiple applications - at least in the beginning
Cons - I've had nothing but problems with this computer almost from the beginning. Received it Feb 2012 and put it into use immediately. Since then, I've lost track of all the repairs that have been necessary (not due to any fault of my own).
The motherboard has been replaced at least once.
The palmrest has been replaced once.
The Blu-Ray player has been replaced at least twice
The power supply has been replaced at least once
The cooling fan has been replaced at least once
Hmmmm.... let me think, what else could be replaced? I've had so much down-time that it's ridiculous. I purchased this laptop because I've had such a good experience with Dell over the years. I was considering a MacBook but decided to stay with Dell; mainly because of price differential, software compatibility, and previous experience with the product. No more! This, I believe, unless something changes dramatically, will be my last Dell computer.
I've been told that they will take my laptop to one of the facilities for two weeks and check it out. I work from my computer! What am I supposed to do during that time? They will not provide me with a loaner so that I can continue working - just want me to do without my laptop for two weeks! Can you imagine?
Maybe this laptop is a lemon. If it is, lemonade will not provide me with what I need to keep working while this computer is out of commission.
Right now, I need to have the keyboard, at least the "k" key replaced, have the palmrest looked at again due to a horrible vibration/buzzing, and also have the Blu Ray player checked out again due to sound problems.
I'm sorry to say, Dell, you've let me down!
Pros:online training, graduate school, website management
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DirkinFTW
Title:

What works??

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just received this yesterday, and even though I love the touch screen capabilities, and the backlit keyboard, I have ran into a problem that might make me send it back. I have always used a Logitech keyboard/mouse setup on all my past pc's, and for some unknown reason, they do not work with this (I've installed the appropriate software from Logitech but to no avail). I also have a Belkin port hub that doesn't work, nor does a Kensington docking station (3.0).
I'll be calling technical support tomorrow in hope that I'm missing something.
Pros:work, personal
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SRF0611
Title:

Charger failed 1 week after warranty expired!

PostedNovember 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The charger adaptor failed less than 1 week after the warranty had expired. For some reason the adaptor type is written into the bios? I have 3 other laptops, all different makes and none of them have this function written into the bios, so why is it there? Written into fail?, who knows? Seems a little suspect to me!
Going by the forums this is a very common problem. The only possible fix is to update the bios, but you can't do this if the battery is less than 10% or to replace the adaptor, which is rather expensive and not a guaranteed fix.
I wish I had noticed this before I had opted for a Dell!!!
Also too many Dell applications installed, which slows down the PC considerably.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jback88
Title:

PROBLEMS

PostedNovember 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons - not meant for the physically handicap Delete key too close to home key. Tap the delete key to erase accidentally hit home key and erase wrong material
I've had problems with and eventually had to replaced 1: the motherboard ,2: another motherboard with speakers & 3: now getting new Bluetooth component. I have a speech program I'm unable to use until the component replaced.
I Purchased 4 yr warranty which does not cover replacement . You cannot purchase replacement warranty once there has been a problem recorded.
In the past 10yrs I have been a loyal Dell laptop purchaser in the past I've owned a Latitude, an Inspiron,the XPS
But this last experience with the XPS & meaningless warranties has given me second thoughts
When a car has so many defects It's declared a lemon and is replaced by either the manufacturer or dealership
When will Dell adopt the same policy
I have had several weeks of downtime spent over 50hrs on the phone and had multiple work interruptions.
Just waiting for the next problem
signed LEMON OWNER
Pros:business
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lihkin
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great notebook with a couple of caveats

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the Dell XPS L502X last year (2011) in August. It came with the B+RG 1080p screen and TV tuner. I previously only had HPs and Sonys and this was my first foray into Dell. Of course, I was apprehensive, especially since a couple of friends had warned me against buying Dell. First let me say that their customer service was excellent. My first notebook arrived with a scratch on the chassis. I called them and they arranged to have a new one sent (custom built) and let me have the scratched one till the time the new one arrived. It really was stellar service. The second notebook arrived perfect.
I have been very impressed with the gorgeous screen and the sound (one of the best speakers on notebooks by far). The HD TV tuner is an excellent add (I believe they have taken away this option now). All in all I was really happy with my notebook.
Then 6 months into owning the notebook, the battery started to die. Mind you, I probably used the notebook on battery only on a few occasions and took the precautions one takes with modern batteries. I called Dell and they promised to send me another battery - which has never come. I called them again and was again told that they would definitely be sending the battery again as 6 months was unacceptable. But it has yet to arrive. More importantly, the screen hinge seems to have come loose - i.e. there is play in the screen hinge. This is a little disconcerting and I have never had this issue with any of the other notebooks I have owned (Toshiba, Acer, HP and Sony).
I still think this notebook is stellar and if these two issues were fixed on my computer I would be a very happy Dell customer. I do have warranty for 2 years - so I am hoping to call them soon and that they will help me out with replacing the battery and getting the screen hinge fixed.
I would still recommend the computer and the Dell brand. I have pretty much everything in one machine - wonderful screen, great speakers, good backlit keyboard, awesome TV tuner and a great BD writer.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Viswanathan
(Columbus, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

An amazing and immersive gaming experience

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 15 with the NVIDIA GeForce 540 graphics card is what I have and it is an absolutely brilliant laptop for gaming... It has a good battery life, a brilliant keyboard layout, nice style and finish, and it comes with an i5 processor with 6GB of RAM. I can play most recent games with the 2GB graphics card... I have never had a trouble with this laptop since I bought it and it runs smoothly as ever....
Pros:Gaming, entertainment, graphics software
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kevin1000
Title:

XPS 15 L501x

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The laptop is a good all rounder both for music games and business. This model is less likely to get over hot whilst sitting on your lap compared to other XPS machines. The only quibble
I have is the screen can reflect quite a lot compared to my old non reflective screen. However all the positives make this not so much of a problem.
Pros:music, word processing, internet, video, image manipulation
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PhoenixAZ1899
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Won't work w/ projectors

PostedOctober 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Dell XPS works fine as long as it doesn't need to communicate with other devices (which, admittedly, almost everyone does need). The keyboard layout is a bit awkward; the menu keys near the arrow keys get awkward if you have fat thumbs like me.
Biggest, biggest complaint: there is no VGA outlet, and the computer is horribly unreliable at working with mini-display port and HDMI adapters. Read the forums! Do NOT get this product if you need to connect it to a projector or other monitor. Find another product that has a VGA port. I spent several grand to get this machine, and it can't do what I need it to do (talk to a projector). Read the forums, and you'll see this is not a user error.
Pros:business
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Abomm
Title:

Runs fast and that's it

PostedOctober 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Information:
This is my second year owning the laptop
I have had a 15" Dell XPS 2.53Ghz i5 processor, 4GB RAM, 64 bit Windows 7 and 500 GB hard drive
Pros:
-The computer runs fast and if you buy new it will probably be even faster
-Nice 720p screen
-Good Microphone with Realtek software
-The Silver on the outside is nice
Cons:
-Mousepad is not very reliable. Often it will assume you are pinching with only one finger and you will zoom in and out rather than move around
-Keyboard is good for a year until you have to clean it. Months after cleaning my keyboard keys are progressively falling out (most notably the Backspace, control and Shift)
- Has only 3 USB ports
- Battery life is 4 hours on low brightness and minimal activity (aka surfing web and watching yotube)when bought and after 2 years of my almost never unplugging my battery charger I have less than 2 hours on low brightness and minimal activity
- Poor quality webcam
- Has only 3 touch sensitive buttons(almost never used sadly)
- Rather thick and heavy to carry around
- The black on the inside fades and you are left with gray spots where your hands are
Pros:Gaming, rendering videos, surfing the web, schoolwork
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Charlton
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Sold short

PostedAugust 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I got it, the expation were HUGE, it did fall short on every promisse. My 3 year old laptop was and still a much better one..this one it HORRIBLE by all means.
Pros:personal compuret - net and social media
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:muertopvb
Title:

OLD XPS 15 l502x

PostedAugust 15, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
*****These laptops are not what they appear to be. they do not appear with the 9 cell battery. there is a reason. it lifts the back end of the laptop 2-3 inches. they don't even fit in the 15 inch sleeve that they sell for it. so DO NOT buy this laptop. the way they portray the laptop is not how the laptop looks like, you WILL be disappointed. Believe me!!!***************************
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SnoqualmieD
(Snoqualmie, WA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

XPS 15 Major Disappointment

PostedAugust 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm a long-time Dell fan, have purchased great machines from them starting in 2002, and for the most part have always been happy with the products. Very disappointed, however, with my recent purchase of an XPS 15 (L502X) ordered on 6/20/12. This is the 6th major purchase from Dell. I've ordered 2 desktops, 3 laptops and a printer over the past 11 years. This will probably be my last purchase.
Pros: The screen is a good size, and I don't have problems with the keyboard that others reported. Responds quickly. Like the design, great JBL speakers. Would be fine if not for the Cons below.
Cons: The fan is so loud that it distracts from the online experience. My previous XPS M1530 was quiet and smooth. This one sounds like a jet airplane, or a foghorn. A tuba comes to mind. We decided to live with it, however, as we didn't want the hassle of sending this one back, and setting up another one with our data, so we didn't act on the offer to return the laptop within 21 days. Unfortunately, we are now hearing a scratching noise on occasion - not all the time, but every other day - in addition to the awfully loud fan noise. Sounds like there's some component scratching inside, like a skip on a vinyl album. Also not crazy about the touchpad. Slightest touch and it will send the cursor off into some crazy place where you didn't want it. Really touchy. Sad to say, I contacted Dell a day or so after our 21-day return policy had expired, and was told no dice, contact Support. I understand that you have to set a limit on when people can return things, but after purchasing so many products from Dell, it would be nice to see some return loyalty. My feeling is that I won't purchase another Dell product, ever. It's time to see whether we can find better machines elsewhere, because I feel that I spent $1000 on a machine that is defective out the gate, with no recourse to return it.
Pros:movies web email photos
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AngelaL
(California)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good Notebook

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a good notebook with good display quality and audio quality. I like the backlit keyboard. But it is way too heavy for me to bring it with me everyday and for travel, so I'm just used this primarily at home as a desktop replacement. USB ports really not enough for me to use. In general, it's still consider an amazing laptop.
Pros:streaming video, home
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GLSmith256
(Athens, Alabama)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent functionality, with beautifully design.

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros it functional speed is fast. The design is beautiful with its brushed Aluminum surface. The only Cons are that it needs more USB ports and improved battery life.
Pros:personnel, Travel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 15 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Redhitman337
(Missouri City)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

XPS 15 not New XPS 15

PostedJuly 27, 2012
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this machine everything about it is exactly what I wanted. I read alot reviews about people liking it but it being to heavy, well what did they expect it is a desktop replacement with performance quality parts so yes its going to be heavy. I think that if your going to complain about a machine just because its heavy you should go buy an HP... You will come crawling back asking XPS 15 to take you back. and it will because it is a superior computing machine!
Pros:auto cad, adobe acrobat, photoshop, excel
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 27