Customer reviews for XPS 730

XPS 730

XPS 730
4.239 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
4.2
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 34
35 out of 4381%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 730
Review 1 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JBond007
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This is a BEAST

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The best DELL has to offer and the ultimate in engineering of computers. This is the number one system and you just can't build one which has a well thought out, for the present and future, gaming system. It can do all of your needs as well and then some. Expansion is not limited and therefore you bang for the buck is there.
Pros:attractive and an excellent piece of furniture., this will awe your guest and they will envy you., excellent support from dell.
Cons:it's rather heavy for a light weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:johntracker
Title:

Nice Chassis

PostedFebruary 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:This is a great starting point for someone like me who loves to modify but is a bit scared to build something from the ground up. The chassis has a simple layout and gives you heaps of space and slots to play. Currently I'm running 6 x internal 750GB drives (2 in the 5.25 front bays) in a raid 1+0 config (all supported by the factory bios and software) which are lightening fast and give me 2TB redundant storage. (note this is a true 2TB not 2000 billion bytes). Also put in dual SLI 9800Gt's. very stable and I'm happy!
Cons:64bit OS should have been a factory option... but see 730x now I guess!
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mercair
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

XPS 730

PostedFebruary 6, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:When it works to it's potential the 730 is fantastic. Unfortunately, this is a rare occurrence.
Cons:This is my 3rd Dell Desktop. It will DEFINITELY be my last. Am an avid Flight Sim user. This machine constantly freezes mid flight. Have had the Graphics cards (there are 2 running with PhysX GPU acceleration & SLI) replaced twice. Still no improvement. Is marketed as the "ultimate" in gaming machines. DO NOT purchase this computer if you intend to run games with high graphics content. It simply will not handle the game. You will be very disappointed.
+28points
37of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ultracat
(Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

730x--the strong, silent type

PostedFebruary 2, 2009
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
this is the 9.40ghz Intel Core i7 with dual GeForce GTX280s and liquid cooling. i have lots of PC experience as a user with average problem-solving skills and i did not have any major problems getting the hardware and software installed, updated, and working properly. highly recommend the 24" ultrasharp monitor--excellent quality image and performance.
Pros:simple, intuitive packaging, easy setup, well-featured presentation, clean, understated appearance. fun to play with the different LED color settings to alter appearance. surprisingly quiet. fast-loading applications, runs all the top games with max settings without issue. quality is unquestionable.
Cons:disc drive bay cover buttons are obscured by doors once opened, forcing you to push on the tray to close rather than re-pressing the button. also, my Blue-ray drive was installed at the top of four available slots, leaving it high up and inconveniently close to the top edge of the case; i have to stand up to see whether the disc is sitting on the tray properly. case is unusually tall and wide. also, for the premium money paid for this unit, the windowed side panel should be standard. price is steep.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SeriousGamer
(Long Island, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Powerful System

PostedJanuary 9, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Not happy with Vista. Wireless gamepads and controllers cause lost USB connection problems with all but the supplied Dell keyboard and mouse. Even an XBox 360 wireless controller does not function properly. Wired 360 controller OK. Looking forward to SP 2 or Windows 7, whichever comes first.
Pros:Solidly built, very quiet, powers my Dell 30 inch monitor at max rez (2560x1600) for most games. Beautiful system.
Cons:High heat generation accompanies high power. Adequate ventilation a must. Spring loaded DVD doors seem flimsy; prefer old style.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tmanrdking
Title:

love the computer/ hate Vista

PostedJanuary 1, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cannot download anything from internet or email unless it's from Microsoft. The "Data Execution Prevention" settings that Microsoft has on Windows Vista stops all downloads unless it's on disk or from Microsoft. I have tried Dell chat to repair this and he was not able to figure it out and was going to call back but has not, session ID # 24425200. Do not recommend Windows Vista to anyone. Please HELP, useless until I can download.
Pros:Love the computer. Have bought 2 laptops and 2 desktops from Dell 3 had XP and worked great
Cons:Windows Vista, cannot do any downloads and so far no one can help. see problems below
+3points
11of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jsaler
(Brick,NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

average at best computer

PostedDecember 30, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:It is very quiet
Cons:Exceptionally large case and very heavy. Had significant difficulties hooking up computer to wireless network and this meant lugging this monster up and down the stairs to the router at least 4 times.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:irwinbdi

PostedDecember 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Powerhouse
Cons:Very unstable with just a little overclocking. Disappointing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:loudgimp
(Fla.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedNovember 24, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
i still would buy another if need be
Pros:support actually worked even tho, out of country
Cons:hard drive did not work right out of the box,had to send tech with new hard drive,and install it.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nemezule
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great computer!

PostedNovember 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very pleased so far, will update review once I get Vista 64 up and running.
Pros:Great gaming pc, fast response time. Works great for all types of applications.
Cons:Have to manually install Vista 64bit. Can build a more powerful computer for cheaper but you do not get the service/warranty.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kabang
Title:

love it

PostedNovember 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Good solid system.Tones of room for upgrades.Air flow is inprsive even with fans at low speeds.I'v hade no problems running my favorite FPS games
Cons:lots of drivers needed updating to the point that some of the features in the owners manuel were not even available.Had to re route cable rubing on hard drive cooling fan.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PandemicLemley
Title:

Team Pandemic

PostedNovember 13, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell XPS M1730
Take desktop power on the go with the same system that helped make Team Pandemic the 2007 North American Esports Award 'Team of the Year.'
Components:
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Extreme X9000(2.8GHz/800Mhz FSB/6M L2 Cache) - Big things sometimes come in small packages. This processor is hands down the fastest notebook option available to gamers today.
Genuine Windows Vista® Ultimate Edition SP1 - Enjoy the richest gaming experience available with DirectX10, exclusive to Windows Vista, and take full advantage of your hardware with Ultimate.
System Color - Sapphire Blue
4GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz - Good memory is the unsung hero when it comes to getting the most out of your hardware. Pair your selection with 4GB and be sure to never come up short.
17 inch UltraSharp TrueLife Wide-screen WUXGA -
NVIDIA®SLI™Dual GeForce®8700MGT with 512MB GDDR3 Memory - Dell sacrificed nothing when cramming this kind of power into a notebook. Not one, but two NVIDIA GeForce 8700MGT's running in full SLI give you championship-caliber performance on the go.
RAID Performance 256GB (2x128GB) Solid State Drive - Solid state drives don't 'spin.' That means no annoying disk noise and lower read times. Lower read times mean more speed. Paired in the ultra-fast RAID0 array, these hard drives truly are a silent killer.
Integrated Sound Blaster Audigy HD Software Edition
Intel® PRO/Wireless 4965a/g/n Mini Card
CD / DVD Burner (DVD+/-RW Drive)
Accessories:
McAfee SecurityCenter with anti-virus, anti-spyware, firewall, 36-months - Public networks and LANs aren't always as safe for your PC as they seem. Leave nothing to risk with the McAfee SecurityCenter suite.
9-cell Primary Battery and 9-cell additional Lithium Ion Battery - Add an additional 9-cell for longer battery life and less downtime on the road.
Dell XPS Notebook Backpack - This backpack is a must. Most generic notebook bags won't properly fit - or protect - this beast... and you'll never want to leave it at home.
-16points
6of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Quality

PostedNovember 3, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Works well with all my games
-8points
3of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:trapjaw
(florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

the best of the best

PostedNovember 2, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
this is very well built very please with the purchase
Pros:this is a top of the line machine Mr Dell surpassed himself with this machine my thoughts if you want fast this is it only had few minor errors but they were a easy fix
Cons:can not find any
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:needforspeed
(london)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

XPS 730 THE NEW BEAST

PostedOctober 31, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
My system qx9770 3.2 cpu,4 gig 1333mhz ram,which i will upgrade to 1600mhz later on,blueray-rw,2X750 +2X1000 hard drives,Ati 3870x2 card which i upgraded to 2x9800gx2,and wow Quad SLi,Dell 3008 30" Monitor.
Pros:As an upgrade from an xps 720 h2c,this version is so very quiet,and sexy with X panel,790i sli chipset,the bois is easy to use for overclocking,is machine is the nuts on gaming, well done dell!
Cons:weight and cost,besides that,nothing
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:InitialBB
(Melbourne, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best Purchases Ever

PostedOctober 13, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
- It would be great if the system whip with both 32-bits and 64-bits Windows
- There should be more choice on Anti-Virus/Firewall, instead of just McAFee, Norton may be a good option
Pros:- The LED light from the machine makes hardware (i.e. USB device) installation easier in dark area - Case design makes upgrade hardware easier pretty quiet for high end model - System is pretty stable
Cons:- Very Heavy - It only ship with 32-bits windows which support maximum of OVERALL 4GB RAM. There is no point to purchases 4GB ram , as dual-512MB Graphic Card will consider as 1 GB, so the maximum ram available to the system will be 3GB only, in my ease 2.5GB - BIOS took pretty long to boot up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NihilisticWolf
(Peoria, Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

An absolute beast for gaming.

PostedOctober 8, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'd suggest this to anyone looking to buy one. If you're skeptical or thinking over the purchase.. If you have the cash, fork it over for this baby. You won't be disappointed.
Pros:This machine is a BEAST. It's done everything I've wanted it do, tears through everyone game I own, on the highest settings. Crysis was the real reason I bought a new computer, and this beast of a machine handles the game like it's nothing. Max settings, very smoothe FPS. This thing is WELL WORTH the price for a gamer that has deep pockets. Fully upgradeable, easily customizable, the perfect machine for any gamer willing to give it a try.
Cons:It's.. very heavy. >.>
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kbl931202
(Miri, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

One of My Best Investment

PostedSeptember 30, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
As a Power User, i recommend this one to anyone that has sufficient money to buy this. Or else, XPS 420.
Pros:The H2C Hybrid Cooling unit..overclocking is a snap with no worrying so far. The bundled Monitor is bright and vibrant as well compared to my old acer. PLaying Crysis is ok with acceptable framerates in such a big resolution. nForce 790i is "future proof". And da Case design is brilliant. Isn't it?
Cons:DDR3..too expensive to buy here. And da lightning system seems too striking in night. Means you cant even turn on da pc overnight. No Logitech Gaming Keyboard and Mouse to select like da Acer Predator. A bit expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MG1001
Duration of Product Use:Months
Title:

XPS 730 H2C

PostedSeptember 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good computer. Pricey for what you get, however, I like the dell name and reputation.
Pros:This is a solid and sturdy computer. Built like a tank. It is quiet and Fast and can handle most multitasking objectives with relative ease. I personally like the exterior lighting in both the front and rear. It is practical and fashionable.
Cons:A comparable computer could be put together for less money. Corsair dominator memory should be standard with systems this pricey. This computer is more expensive than it needs to be. Also, for the amount of money spent, the computer should have come with wirless/bluetooth mouse and keyboard. I forgot how much I had having wires all over the desk. Finally, although xps has expedited telephone number for service, I had one issue where the service tech did not seem to have as good a grasp on his product as I would have thought. He did not end up helping me, I actually fixed the problem my self. It may have been an "outsourcing" problem.
+27points
29of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 730
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Helldiver
(Toronto, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A very polished, well built machine

PostedSeptember 19, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
You can build one for cheaper, but overall with the design, support and level of polish delivered by this machine I am very happy and satisfied as a customer.
Pros:- Excellent build quality - High quality components - Very quiet except for fan spinup on initial boot - Nice design - Excellent XPS support experience
Cons:A lot of lockups and BSODS encountered within Vista even without installing anything. Problem with nvidiacmd.exe within the startup. Things seem stable now after upgrading the bios and video driver, but given the chance again I would stick with XP since Vista is still very unstable.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2