Customer reviews for XPS 17

XPS 17

XPS 17
3.849 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
7
1 Star
7
3.8
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
52 out of 7371%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 17
Review 1 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AnkleDoc
(Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Many Problems - Some Still Unresolved

PostedAugust 20, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell seems undecided with this machine. It is very heavy and very hot while running. Mine came with a defective WiFi and it took 2 visits and about 50 hours of MY time to figure out the problem. One other BIG negative: the power cord is huge and heavy (this laptop is an energy gobbler I guess), and the cord constantly falls out of the computer while you are using it. I cannot recommend this computer.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xL4n1x

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Gaming, music
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SecuritySolutions
Title:

USB 3.0 ....NOT!

PostedMay 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this was a great laptop until I tried using the USB 3.0 ports. They randomly lockup and you must reboot to get them back, although they just lockup again minutes later. If you need USB 3.0 functionality then this machine is NOT for you!
Pros:business
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RobWithbrokenxps
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Don't buy this dell

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
It has had more problems in the last 30 days than most laptops would have in there whole lives!
1. It's NOT a good gaming laptop, the graphics card isn't that powerful, oh and it over heats to just under 90'C, so unless you have a wireless games controller you won't even be able to touch it while gaming.
2.It has a really loud fan that is constantly changing speeds making it really annoying to use.
3. The blu-ray/DVD Drive is really lose and keeps opening and feels like it's going to fall out.
4. The USB 3.0 ports randomly disconnect.
5. The Audio Drivers keep crashing, so you have to reboot or and application that requires sound crashes to.
6. Most of the ports are at the back of the laptop making it difficult to plugin/inplug USB 3 devices, HDMI cable, the power cable and Ethernet.
Those are most of the problems I have experienced so far.
On the brighter side dell support was happy to help, they sent a technician round to replace the heat sink, fan and USB 3 ports. When that made no difference they gave me a refund.
I would still think about buying a dell but not a high end laptop.
Pros:Gaming, school work, office, skype
+18points
26of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:foresightref
Title:

Bought 2 and both have usb 3.0 disconnect problem

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Both were great except that the USB 3.o disconnect after about 15 minutes. Have to reboot to get working again and then they disconnect again. Device manager shows normal operation but no connection is possible. Only 1 usb 2 on board. Went for hours with tech support and no resolution. Sent one unit back and am thinking about the second. Hate to tell a friend that his computer is no good.
Pros:Travel
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AMCooper63
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell XPS 17 Fantastic, but no RAID.

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love the machine so far but expected with two hard drives that it would be RAID configurable. Seems kind of pointless to include two drives without being able to set them to RAID 0 or RAID 1 unless you are looking to dual boot with mulitple operating systems.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nyarlathotep
(Classified)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not for everyone, but a great desktop replacement.

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Massively powerful (able to reach higher benchmarks than my mid-range desktop)
Large screen with good resolution.
Solid build quality, much better than most flimsy Dell laptops.
Battery lasts for an impressive amount of time, considering the big screen and power-hungry parts.
Cons:
Big. If you're going to buy a laptop like this, you're essentially getting a desktop that doesn't need to be constantly plugged in. Do not expect to take this everywhere you go.
Prone to heat dissipation issues. It doesn't get dangerously hot, but prolonged use with power-hungry activities can make it uncomfortable.
Worst speaker placement I have ever seen. They're right in the middle of where you rest your palms and wrists, you get to choose between using your laptop and having your music come out properly. There's no comfortable way to use it without covering both speakers.
All in all, good if you're looking for a semi-portable computer than can keep up with some desktops on sheer power, but certainly not ideal for the average consumer.
P.S: If you do buy it, do NOT buy that fancy HD+ screen. The standard screen, at 1600x900, is already fairly high resolution at this size. If you go for the extra resolution, text will become difficult to read without pressing your face against the screen, forcing you to either use a non-native resolution or manually zoom in on anything you want to read properly.
Pros:Gaming, college, resource-intestive game development
+64points
73of 82voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:matonster
(halsteren, netherlands)
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

xps 17 made me drool the first time

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
i just love how fast it is. I'm a big electronics geek and this thing made me drool and not because i had an attack from the price (thats a first)
Pros:Gaming
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:charliesecho
Title:

Quit complaining'- read---I'm NOT new 2 gaming-

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Woe are you guys fitting the sterotype---cranky about the absolute littlest things---I configured it to 8G, with a 3G Nvidia I7-Q 2.3 turbo and this thing if configured properly (and not played catch with) it is as good, (I) think better than the Asus G-53 Gamers,..and I'm not even a gamer, but I still know---I use it for the web, duh...but Video/Audio and mostly for Flight simulators and NOW, (since it's benchmarks are so off the chart<---not really, calm down, but now I DO play---Call of Duty---better than on Asus and I was able to get a 3G Nvidia with 1080p, 8g ram---$1702<---that included tax---and (2) year accident protection. I STILL can't get a response from ASUS-
Not like me to be a populist, as Dell is-but Dell has a good one here...get it and admit it---
Pros:sierra viper flight---others, video conversion and downloading
-11points
8of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tpc247
(Oakland, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

one of the best computer deals out there right now

PostedJune 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
What was important for me was the 64-bit quad-core CoreTM i7 2720qm CPU, only 1 or 2 steps below the state-of-the-art, most advanced chip currently out on the market. Also, I needed my next computer to have 8 gigabytes of RAM, 1 terabyte of hard drive space, a 17-inch high-resolution 1920 x 1080 screen (yes, high definition), and the ability to play Blu-ray DVDs.
Dell's grand total price was almost $300 less than the HP I was first expecting to buy, for an upgrade on the CPU, hard drive spin from 5400 rpm to 7200 rpm, 17.3 inch screen with resolution increase from 1600 x 900 to 1920 x 1080, and I was able to throw in a 50% upgrade in battery life, from 6 to 9 battery cells.
Pros:web browsing, internet telephony, watching movies
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Abakiz
Title:

Great laptop

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Although it doesn't come with a 1080p screen 900p surfices. The sound quality is amazing also for a 17" laptop the battery life ain't too bad. (3-5hours)
I tested this gaming performance and it comes close too my old desktop 460GTX which is very very impressive.
Although it took quiet awhile to get to me (3 weeks) it was well worth the wait. You won't find this value for money anywhere else on the internet, 17" laptops usually cost a lot more.
The keyboard is very easy to type on and feels very nice. The whole finish is nice!
All in all a very good laptop and I'm very happy with my purchase which was worth the wait.
Pros:website design, software development
+100points
106of 112voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PaulVaBeach
(Virignia Beach)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

What a poor display

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a XPS M1730 which I was thinking of upgrading. The complete lack on high def 1080P on the XPS 17's is a deal breaker. Dell offer a BLUE RAY player option for this but no ability to upgrade the display.
AVOID XPS 17's until this is taken care of. The XPS 15's for some reason are 1080 capable.
Just completely backwards here by Dell.
Pros:work, tv / movies, Gaming
+34points
79of 124voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:aaronp55426
(Minneapolis, MN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Display quality

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Display quality is C- at best; everything else is A+. Contrast is a big issue. Everything looks washed out. I expected better from an XPS. Maybe the next generation will use direct-lit LED IPS displays, but as it is this display is a deal breaker.
Pros:software development
+20points
24of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HBennett
(United Kingdom)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Lots of power, lack of reliability.

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop was bought for business purposes and personal uses, within the month that I have had the machine I have had a technician come round on 2 separate occasions to fix 3 separate faults, mainly The heat-sink, Optical drive & keyboard. I have read on forums that other people specifically get the problem with the heat-sink and keyboard so don't be too surprised if your laptop gets really hot on the left side of the track pad or that keys on your keyboard get stuck and require extra pressure on the key to be recognised. Customer service when dealing with these issues was great they came round next day to fix these problems, still have very little enthusiasm that the product will last 6 months never mind a year. The speakers are of great quality, the screen may need an upgrade if your used to 1080P, it runs fast enough but don't expect to play games at enthusiast settings as this is technically a multimedia laptop.
+25points
26of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lawschoollady
Title:

Bad touch pad mouse, great picture

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
both left and right keys on touch-pad mouse have broken. can't click on either anymore, but the touch pad still works. i'll have to replace the whole touch pad and both buttons. the picture on here is GREAT. the sound is ok, could be a little bit louder.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DeFreeze5
(Houston)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Product with Horrible touchpad

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great product. It meets expectations in every area and is very easy to use. The backlit keyboard is a fantastic option. I'm about to get another one of these for my wife. Having said that, the touchpad on this computer is so bad, its laughable. I never use them, anyway, but on the rare occasion where I've had to, it was a chore. Just get a mouse or trackball, like we all have, anyway, and buy the laptop. It really is a fantastic product and value.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JackM6400
(Birmingham, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Lack of 1080p LCD option

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would love to order one now, but, the lack of a true HD screen forbidden me to buy this model. It is laughable that its little brother, XPS15 has got an LCD 1080p option but not its bigger brother which supposed to have a bigger screen. Put it this way, why having a BD-ROM drive which plays 1080p true HD on a lower resolution screen. Someone in Dell is not thinking about their products carefully. Maybe Dell is much more clever that what I thought. They want to get rid of the lower resolution screen before bringing in the 1080p option. I will wait for a 1900x1200 screen! My son just got a XPS15 and he adores it, particularly, showing off the BD capability with the JBL sound system to his friends!
+23points
35of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KH355hamdi
Title:

Very happy customer

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just maxed out my XPS 17 to 16 GB ram. Next is to install the 2nd HDD. Big screen, not too heavy, great gaming hardware, great sound. What else could anybody want?
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FlyGirlYYC
(Calgary, Alberta)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

W-O-W!

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just received my XPS 17 and I LOVE it! It is exceeding my expectations. I have been a Dell customer for many years and I will remain a Dell customer for years to come. This computer is GREAT! Backlit keyboard is a must. It is fast, awesome screen, I got a "design" from the design studio (makes it more personal) and I don't regret ordering it. It is awesome for people who have intermediate to advanced computer skills. The definition of the screen is awesome. Worth every penny! Fast delivery and friendly/helpful customer service. Is a little on the heavy side but very manageable. THANKS DELL!
Pros:streaming videos, playing games, Travel
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 17
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:baldwinstls
Title:

xps 17 slow performance

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the xps with the icore 7 processor, and all the things the sales person said would provide faster video rendering. To date This machine has not proven to be any faster than my five year old Dell Inspiron or a two year old HP.
If you are considering this machine for video editing I suggest looking at a different brand. Also, I bought (susposed to be pre-installed) Adobe video editing software. It was half loaded when I received my machine and apparently was not the same version as what is sold in stores as all the features don't work ( like being able to ëxport"video. I ended up loading an older version which works fine.
Pros:video production
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4