Customer reviews for XPS 13 (L321x)

XPS 13 (L321x)

XPS 13 (L321x)
4.251 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 487 reviews
5 Stars
293
4 Stars
106
3 Stars
36
2 Stars
21
1 Star
31
4.3
 / 
5
(487 reviews) 460
412 out of 48785%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 13 (L321x)
Review 1 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Screen flickering after updated windows 10

PostedJanuary 26, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Prior to update, the mouse disappears and it takes very long time to connect to the network. After update, the screen flickering right after turnning on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Laptop!!

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop used, and was very impressed with the build quality. However, there were so many minor things that added up to many hours of tinkering.
My advice would be to immediately update to the latest BIOS before removing the WIndows OS....with the factory BIOS, A01, the fan is always running at max capacity, which can be quite embarrassing in class or at work.
After that, install Ubuntu and this laptop will run like a dream! The touchpad becomes functional, and 4 gb of ram will suffice for some extensive usage.
Overall I am very happy with the laptop, and get many compliments on it.
Pros:build quality, very fast ssd
Cons:windows hinders usage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Issues with Windows 10

PostedJanuary 11, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Experiencing varied issues with touchpad and display following Windows 10 Update. Not yet able to resolve.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

windows 10 stinks

PostedDecember 22, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
my mouse stopped working and i get video issues. it also seems slower, if that was possible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Windows 10

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Updated to Window 10 but many glitches. Trackpad stopped working and screen blurs out constantly and unexpectedly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

The best machine ever!

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have used this machine for several years and it is still the best! I have purchased many brands of computers over the years, and Dells are the best. Over the last 10 years I have purchased about 10 computers, mostly laptops. The XPS Ultrabook is the one I u se all the time! It is the best by far. Everyting aout it is exceptonal: size, speed, screen, keyboard, touchpad, it is great. My only porblem has been the recent upgrade form Win 7 to Win 10. It is an ongong problems that Dell is still workng on for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Dell XPS13

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is pretty good in general. However, after updated to Window 10, the speed is faster than before. I experienced two to three times that the scene looks funny and out of order. Not sure due to lack of battery charged or anything else. Hope the life span will be long enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

System XPS L311X

PostedDecember 1, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wasn't aware that there was a new system. Did it get downloaded into my computer?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

XPS

PostedDecember 1, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
WE havebrought severald Dell XPS laptops in the past and they have l come with their own problems. I would say that this happens to alot of other manufacturers. THere have been mother board failures which if you werent told about wasnt covered under warranty unless it was too late. The current laptop has issues with Windows 10 and we are unaware of what Dell is doing about this as they dont provide you with any information about your machine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Ridge, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS 13 ultrabook

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a lightweight thin computer. Light up keyboard automatically adjusts to your lighting. I'm using windows 7 home edition. Pretty fast. My only regret is not getting the 256gb hard drive and 8gb memory. You can't add more memory its soldered to the motherboard and the hard drive is a solid state drive. You can upgrade the hard drive if you want. That's nice. All around a good computer so far.
Pros:thin and small
Cons:non upgradeable memory
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Chicago, IL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great size, but works oddly

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I LOVE how small and travel-able it is, but the track pad is so sensitive! If your wrist or sleeve or bracelet touches it even barely, it moves your mouse drastically and messes up whatever you're typing, repetitively.
Pros:size
Cons:keypad / trackpad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Austin, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great sexy and sleek machine

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my XPS13. It has a great design. It works smoothly and has touchcreen capability so I can handle my applications directly in the screen
Pros:design, weight and thin
Cons:need more usb, unable to accept memory stick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Hauppauge, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS 13

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
IT IS MUCH BETTER THAN MacBook AIR 13 - It's very light weight - Very affordable - It's just awesome!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Oregon, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Nice Computer, but Faulty Keyboard Backlight Sensor

PostedMay 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
In general, I am very happy with the computer. It is portable and reasonably fast (W7, i5, 4gb, ssd 128gb). In hindsight, I would have liked to purchase a W7, 8gb, ssd 256gb, but they didn't make them at the time and don't at the time of this review.
My primary complaint was impact the FAULTY KEYBOARD BACKLIGHT SENSOR had on performance. It caused the machine to lose "focus" on the application I was working on in a seemingly random manner. This resulted in difficulty completing a sentence as I would have to click on the application I was working on several times a minute. DELL SHOULD HAVE INFORMED PURCHASERS OF THIS POTENTIAL PROBLEM. IT RESULTED IN SEVERAL DAYS OF LOST PRODUCTIVITY.
Pros:portable, relatively fast
Cons:faulty backlight sensor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

xps 13 ultrabook

PostedMay 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this laptop. It looks pretty, but that's it. This laptop is straight garbage. I bought this laptop for my son. It freezes and you cannot get through writing anything because of consistently having to press ctrl alt delete. Most important of all is the fact that he has to save his work to go work on a different computer. This laptop is only good for watching low resolution videos. You can't even watch Youtube videos without having problems. This is the first bad computer that I have ordered from Dell. Now, I have to get him another computer. I am very upset and so is he.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 23, 2013
Hello BonnieJean,

I am sorry to hear that your son's system is freezing during use. We want you and your son to be happy with his new laptop. Please reach out to our support team. They can help you isolate the issue and trouble shoot the root cause. You can reach our DellCares team using the following:

• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW

I hope they are able to resolve your concerns quickly.

-SaraT
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Chicago, IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Powerful and compact with a few inconveniences

PostedMay 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 13 Ultrabook is a very powerful and quick machine with a very sleek, stylish, compact appearance. The 1080p display is very bright and clear and will stand up against any laptop display in quality. The solid-state drive boots everything up in seconds and I haven't thrown anything at the computer that it couldn't handle quicker than expected.
The computer is expensive. It lacks some convenient ports (only 2 USB, no HDMI out, no card reader). And the touchpad is annoying: it's inconveniently unresponsive.
If these flaws are not deal-breakers for you then this is a powerful and high-quality machine with an impressive size and quality.
Pros:high quality 1080p display, sleek design and size, fast boot solid state drive, high quality build materials, fast performance on almost any application
Cons:expensive price, small number of ports and connections, annoying unresponsive touchpad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Toronto, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

If you don’t need good WIFi than you can buy.

PostedMay 7, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Ultra book’s WiFi is very weak. I have proven of that. I am a student of Seneca College, Toronto, Canada (Newnham campus). Most of the time I don’t get WiFi connection in my class or in library.
First, I thought the college’s WiFi is weak, but it is not. One day, my ultra-book is showing "limited connection" and frequently "disconnected" in class room. At the same time, same thing happened another classmate who using Dell tablet. But another classmate she was using "another brand’s laptop" and she was browsing internet without any interruption. I was very sad.
Sometime also cursor disappear or hang for 4-6 seconds.
Other than WiFi connection I recommend the Ultra book- very light, slim, good design.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 9, 2013
Hey Ejaz,

Glad to hear overall that your XPS 13 is working out well for you. Sorry to hear about the WiFi issue it is having.
Use the link below and it will take you to our Home Support Page. Please check to see that all of your drivers are up to date as this could be part of the issue with the WiFi.
Home Support-
http://dell.to/ZLxFiW
If there is anything else we can help you out with, Please Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://dell.to/10icdPW
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Sydney NSW, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Better Screen Please - But for now I am stuck.

PostedMay 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The reviews I read online said that the screen for 2013 was much better than for 2012 and comparable with the MacBook Air.
I had a Dell V13 just over 3 years that stopped working. Here are screens better than this XPS 13 Ultrabook - with better emphasis on character clarity
* 3+ year old V13
*Dell U2410
*Dell U2412M
*Iphone 4s reading internet
* 3 year old iPad before retina display.
For The screens above I may not require my reading glasses but for the XPS 13 Ultrabook I am kind of really tempted to use my glasses. The characters appear a little bold and not as sharp as on the screens listed above. If you don't need glasses or wear your glasses the screen may be pretty good (yet not as good as screens listed above). It is too bad that Dell figures that customers don't want a really good screen - and they can't just source the same screen as on the MacBook Air.
In terms of brightness, you can crank the brightness up to that/exceed iPad/MacBook Air. However, if this is what I want then I have to revisit the brightness controls every time I turn it on. Plus the brightness likes to vary a lot depending on usage which is annoying. When plugged into power the brightness is good - but it should be optimised for portability.
It has the gloss reflectiveness as a MacBook Air which gives it kind of an expensive look but it is annoying. Maybe Dell was thinking the only reason why people like the MacBook Air screen was because it is glossy. No - it has to do with the screen behind the gloss. I prefer low gloss of my V13, U2410, U2412M.
I find myslef adjusting the resolution too frequently. If I do remote desktop to the cloud it kind of looks like the screen on my 24 inch 2410 but on 13 inches - really almost too small to see labels of desk top icons. Just dumb down the resolution and it looks of better size.
Backlit keyboard is good. But the light should not also come out underneath the keys. I saw an old MacBook Air that does this so I suppose I will forgive.
The look of it all is real good. Plus my old bag for the V13 has a lot of space in it. Dell should sell nice bags as well.
On my V13 I was wondering about missing the disk drive, now for this one the Ethernet port - for which I purchased an adaptor which is much bulkier than an ethernet jack. I did not seem to find issues with the track pad although sometimes it seems to click when I only want to point and have not yet clicked. I have a USB bluetooth mouse. The USB part sticks out a bit.
The unit is very quick. i7,8 MB, 128 SSD. And I do find humour in Dell WebCam Central where you can put lots of different effects into a Skype video call - put up party banners etc.
Overall - I did not buy last year because of reports about the screen. Are all Ultrabooks cursed by screens not as good as a MacBook Air? My over expectation was for a really good screen. I paid a lot of money for this product to get a really good screen - same price as for my V13 3 years ago, and I am disappointed.
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 9, 2013
Hi there!

First off, I want to thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed and well thought out review of the XPS 13 Ultrabook! It's great that you find the WebCam Central video effects so fun because we have fun with them here at Dell too! In regards to your suggestions and concerns about the screen specifications and other items, I recommend posting them to IdeaStorm. Dell engineers read the posts here and often incorporate the suggestions into future Dell products!

IdeaStorm -
http://dell.to/SNwb29
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Dhahran, Saudi Arabia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great lightweight & powerful

PostedMay 4, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my third Dell laptop and love the size, weight, and features. The fast boot up is awesome!
Pros:size weight & performance
Cons:no hdmi jack
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Pensacola, FL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Think twice before you buy this one – it fails on many levels.

PostedApril 27, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been buying Dell computers for years and this is the first one that was a big letdown. It arrived with missing driver device errors and an event log full of errors. The battery stopped charging, the wireless card drive failed and now the system drops the connection every few minutes. I am a systems administrator and have been working on computers for about 12 years now and have been struggling to keep this one running well. I have owned it for just two months and am very unhappy with the system.
Pros:very thin
Cons:poor wireless performance, no sd card slot, no touch screen, costs too much
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 29, 2013
Hello Bugg,

Sounds like you have a variety of issues with your XPS 13 Ultrabook. You mention device driver errors upon arrival and I want to send this information to our engineers to see what they think about that. The system event log often has errors that have no relevance on the functionality of the OS or the Ultrabook. Have you reached out to Dell Support yet?

Dell Home Support –
http://dell.to/8rIkGe
Twitter @DellCares -
http://dell.to/Tgt5D8
Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24