Customer reviews for Vostro 130

Vostro 130

Vostro 130
4.172 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
4.2
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
26 out of 2990%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 130
Review 1 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jim22
(Tampa, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I got a lemon!

PostedNovember 28, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned this labtop for only one year and with in that time the hard drive has crashed twice and the webcam stopped working as well. I do not recommend this product. I just recently extended the warrenty for one more year thank goodness. Luckily under the warrenty these problem are fixed for free, but it an extreme inconvience waiting for a dell tech to come to your home to fix it. I will never buy a lab top from dell ever again. Next time I will spend the extra money and invest in a mac if this crash after the new warrenty ends.
Pros:personal use, school work
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hifaash
Title:

Low graphics

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
gaming graphics is only thing missing: which is not dell target for VOSTRO
Pros:game, movie, coding, internet
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ryan Tan
Title:

Vostro V130

PostedJune 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ovall is good! I like it but the build in speaker allocation is not so nice becuase two speaker (or maybe 1 speaker) place in one side of the laptop (Left side). When u play a music, you will found the bad feeling on it. Far away from the laptop is slidely better.
Pros:business
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Onkar
Title:

Mean Machine With Great Looks

PostedJune 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Recently I bought V130(i5, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD), and it's awesome.
First impression, it's stylish looks, pretty thin light weight looks cool in RED color.
Second impression, when you boot up the system, i5 processor shows it's capability, boots up within merely 15-25 seconds.
It works with great speed and efficiently(with ultra boost technology) even though Oracle server up and running and 10 browser windows open.
But this laptop doen't comes with enough battery backup. The 6 cell battery is not enough for this road warrior.
It's like, I owe a ferrari but it's comes with speed lock of 60 km/h. But if you are usually nearby a power socket then battery backup is not an issue.
No backlit keyboard unlike other vostro models.
But at the bottomline it's a great machine.
Pros:(software development web browsing)
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Devasahayam
Title:

Battery Problem

PostedJune 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think DELL doesn't want to compete its product in the market, the Dell Vostro V130 is such a sleek and elegant looking laptop but its battery backup takes off all the looks and features. If DELL looks into this factor alone i am sure it would be the best product in the market for young college going students. Other players in the market like ACER and SAMSUNG are offering sleek laptops with good battery backup with cost effectiveness, that too tough for DELL to carry on with the product. I hope DELL comes back to the market with the product with good features and better battery backup.
Pros:networking
+13points
20of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:k
Title:

v 130

PostedJune 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
the design of this laptop is very nice, slim.. and suit for travelling. but as user we cant change battery. the battery is not location as outside as what we have normal laptop. how we change the battery?? battery also not last long. jus 1 hour without doing anything. ...
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tsc4164
(Virginia Beach, VA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

A Hidden Gem

PostedMay 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the v13 because although I would of course rather have the new and improved v130, I couldn't pass up the savings Dell was offering to clean out the v13 inventory. But I just love the v13 and so would highly recommend its newer iteration to anyone and everyone interested in a truly thin and light laptop. The dimensions of this machine are such that it really seems to weigh far less than 3.5 lbs. It fits easily into any briefcase, has a great display and is a joy to type on. The battery life isn't great but these days it isn't too hard to find a power outlet almost anywhere so I don't view that as a significant drawback given the tremendous convenience factor that the size and weight of this computer provide. Frankly I can't believe Dell is not heavily advertizing this model--all of the advantages of the small netbook yet all the capability of a full featured laptop. If more people were aware of these machines they would fly off the warehouse shelves--get yourself one!
Pros:everything
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Faisal12
(United Kingdom)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Lovely little number

PostedMay 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
As soon as I took the v130 out of the box I was in love. Very sexy and well built device, reminded me of the saying 'they don't build them like they used to'. However in this case dell have built it like they used to. To the touch the laptop was nice and cold, this was due mainly to the alu casing. Picking it up felt light and something very easy to carry much like my other ultra portables. During use even when i have on my lap its hard to feel heat but if you start using cpu intensive programs its tends to get a little hot but nothing like my XPS M1330.
I splashed out and went for the Intel core i5 and 500gb HDD. This in sense was a good thing for when I need the raw computing power but my mistake was going for the 7200rpm drive which can be heard spinning and spinning. Trying to do your work and all you can hear is that dam HDD. Alas if dell made the SSD standard this problem would have never arisen. Another problem is the lame speakers but nothing a pair of headphones cant fix.
Lastly and this one really grinds my gears, the battery life is awful for an ultra portable. Are you serious less than an hour when running on the bat. I understand that the battery needed to fit with the sleek design but whats the point of having an ultra portable if you cant really move around with it?? Its also an enclosed batt so cant carry extra with to change. I think dell should provide a battery pack that can be plug to the power port for extra charge much like the mobile phone emergency charger.
All in all its very nice sexy laptop that is more than capable of doing the job.... but the battery life is a killer.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mukesh Thapliyal
(Delhi)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

laptop you need, more than u want

PostedMay 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
seems to be a great laptop with such a great customised features....really appreciate Dell for this.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hirnav Patel
Title:

Vostro V130

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been using this since last three months or so. First thing whcih inspired to to buy this laptop was its weight and an ultra thin laptop. you wont get a quality product like this laptop in the price whcih Dell is offering. Any other companies are not offering the same configuration with LIGHT WEIGHT AND THIN Laptop in same price. DELL IS MASTER IN THIS....
Pros:Travel, video, office purpose, internet, streaming
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellCampus
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice light machine for travel

PostedMay 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm in I.T. and manage about 400 Dell PCs. I don't use a notebook all that much, but have experienced most Dell models in the past 12 years. This unit replaced my personal Latitude D series 15" notebook, as I wanted something small like my old X1 and earlier models. We just returned from 3 weeks in Europe where the notebook was slipped into my carry on, and even carried in a slingpack walking around Athens and Rome a few times. It performed flawlessly with decent battery life under normal use (although watching movies on the plane it was down to ~2.5 hrs). Enough ports to charge two phones and a camera at night, and HDMI for the TV at home. The only things I don't like are: lack of a fingerprint reader, and a non-removable battery. For the price, and excellent machine that stood up to plenty of tossing around with no issues.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:haresh007

PostedMay 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
great looks and light weight
absolutely stunning
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hook2k
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awsome...at the first sight!

PostedApril 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well, this might be a long story...
Have used V130 for quite a while now and after great first moments I feel a bit let down.
The LOOK:
Extremely sleek, amazingly minimalistic and very well designed. I bought it, cause I felt in love with friend's V13. Very tight build, when handled at one corner, doesn't squeak or twist on the other - one robust piece of metal. Screen: Great performance, good HD quality and no ugly mirror-gloss like in HP's or cheap stuff. Used in blazing sun, and seen the screen, rather than my ugly face. Cons: What did you do (Dell) to brightness regulation ??? Took me good day to figure out where to switch 'auto' function off, but still hot-keys don't always work.
FEEL: Great in any manner. Cold touch of metal all over the body. Keyboard is perfect. Wide, well sized, very responsive - overall stunning typing. Cons: someone above said backlight, I will agree. Touchpad, well...it gave me a hard time. Frozen PC every time I used side-scroll or multi-touch when... browsing with Firefox ! Well I don't know whose fault it was, but Synaptics made natively better drivers, so bye bye Dell ones.
SPEED:
Can't tell a bad word. Core i5 + 4GB DDR3 + Win7 Pro + 7200rpm 500GB WD. Fast and furious little toy.
USE:
Well battery life just cannot be too long in such a small body. Disk drive spinning at 7200 doesn't help much. LED backlit however, does. "Worry"-free-security ? Scrap it! Few months and haven't even registered it, are you kidding me Dell ? Web-conference or chat: impossible! Don't know why, I'm not new to computers but just can't figure out why V130 would crash and freeze when receiving video call! Tried almost everything... no luck.
HEAR:
And here it starts. I do not like hearing from you V130. People 'with ears' please look at the specs first. Honestly I didn't ! It says: SPEAKER !! Not speakers, or Hi-Fi stereo speakers. It has one (1) single, monaural, tiny and ugly sounding speaker. Is it 21st century? Do I really need to plug in headphones to watch HD video with sound ? For business, fair enough but it tells me: I'm business only buddy, don't take me home. I did and regret. I am well disappointed. Other ugly sound I hear from it, is hard drive. In silence, when I mostly use it, it's very, very annoying to hear it spinning or reading/writing data. Didn't hear the fan so far though. At the end, audio reproduced from stereo jack is just 'sufficient' for my ears and output power isn't enough for Hi-Fi headphones.
One more on the back side: HDMI output upscaled to 1080p somehow extended desktop beyond that so couldn't see edges or taskbar on 1080p TV.
Overall I call my copy of V130 as 'not fit for purpose'. Of 5 things I do the most on PCs and 3 of those I bought it for, it failed me in 3 and 2 respectively. You might see it soon as 'good as new' bargain on eBay I'm afraid.
PS. Need to cut my review cause Dell said 'too long', I beg your pardon ?
Pros:home, business, entertainment
+52points
55of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Storm2234
Title:

Vostro V-130

PostedApril 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased this laptop approximately two months ago. Was hesitant at first due to its size, having owned a 15.4 inch Vostro, but after getting used to the smaller size and keyboard, I am very happy with my purchase. I chose the Core i5 and it's very fast. Boots up quickly and shuts down even faster. I really like the look and the ease of transporting due its size and weight. It comes with a matte screen, which is fine, but I think I would prefer the glossy screen. The only thing this laptop really needs is a lighted keyboard.
Pros:business, School
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Celin Chair
(Penang, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

V130 my new BFF

PostedApril 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Light and stylish. Red color fits me most.
Use it for web surfing, movies, songs and programming (AS400) for my work.
Work amazingly well and quiet.
V130 is my new BFF (Best Friend Forever)
Pros:software programming, video streaming, surfing, multimedia
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PA60
Title:

Good value

PostedApril 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Completely satisfied with all this laptop has to offer and ideal for business and pleasure travel. So light, who needs an ipad. Had the computer six months and no problems whatsoever. Highly recommend.
Pros:business, pleasure, Travel
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KowalewskiRobert
(Poland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Dell

PostedApril 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought Dell one yaer ago. This is very good laptop. It's working silently and fast.
Good product.
Pros:computer shop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:George
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedMarch 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:software development, Travel
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellgal
Title:

sleek! perfect for a gal :)

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
*LoVe* how thin, light and sleek the v130 is! and in *RED*? :) perfect. from RM2,150 it's a steal! love it, and lug it everywhere i got cos' it's sssooo portable. only downside? the built-in batt and absence of CD drive. other that tat, it's got everything i need!
Pros:work
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 130
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dhiraj Chauhan

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2