Customer reviews for Vostro 3750

Vostro 3750

Vostro 3750
4.018 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
4
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
42 out of 5675%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 3750
Review 1 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GCEK
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Too many problems

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the big screen and the backlit keyboard - at the time of purchasing this was the only machine to offer this.
However from the outset I could see that I was going to have problems - it is slow to start up, the fan is on constantly, the battery lasts for a few minutes, the bluetooth is erratic, I am always getting the 'blue screen', the keyboard had to be changed (good CS on that one) and what is most annoying is that the mouse pad has a life of its own - or at least had; it doesn't work at all now despite trying driver reinstallation. Luckily I have a spare wired mouse (bluetooth one doesn't work, at least not consistently). As I write the screen keeps scrolling upwards, and I am not touching the mouse - very annoying.
When it comes to replacing this machine it will not be a Dell, I'm afraid.
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 7, 2013
Hello GCEK,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Vostro 3750. Sorry to hear that your out-of-box experience has not been a positive one. I can understand that this can be frustrating and this is certainly is not the experience that we intend. You may find the following knowledge-based articles helpful to alleviate some of your concerns.

Tips to Improve Battery Life on Dell Laptops:
http://dell.to/IFqCuU

Troubleshooting Fan Noise:
http://dell.to/zNn7fP

With erratic cursor movement and keys that mistype, you can take a look at the tips on this article to see if it alleviates the concerns: Mouse, Keyboard or Touchpad Not Working Correctly -
http://dell.to/UCThZq

Most touchpad concerns can be alleviated by adjusting the Touch Sensitivity and TouchCheck settings. To do this you will want to go to the Dell Touchpad application located under ‘Hardware & Sound’ in the Control Panel.

(In Windows 8, click the Windows key + I to open the settings menu, then select the Control Panel. From the Control Panel, select the Dell Touchpad app)

I would also highly advise that you reach to our Online Support Teams. They will be able to gather more in-depth information to assist you in this matter. They do have the same capabilities as our Phone Support, but through social media outlets; and we recommend their services because of their success in resolving customer issues.

• Online Support Teams Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/pwws14); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

I hope that we can get this resolved for you and restore your faith in our products. Thank you for sharing and have a great day!
--Gina
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TNVOL
(Tennessee)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not happy with the mouse pad

PostedDecember 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have two of the Vostro Laptops at work. The Mouse pad is way too sensitive. Dell sent someone out to fix the problem and still is not working correctly. Very frustrating when you are typing and your cursor jumps to another filed. Would not recommend this product until they replace mouse pad. As of 12-11-12 looks like the identical mouse pad. I have an Inspiron and the mouse pad is much better on it.
Pros:work - retail
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 12, 2012
Hey TNVOL,

I am sorry to hear that the touchpad on the Dell Vostro 3750 has not met your expectations. We have not received any additional feedback on this concern, so it is possible that you are experiencing a hardware or configuration error.

I encourage you to reach out to one of our Online Support Teams so that we may further identify and address any possible solutions to improve your experience with Dell.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Again, I apologize that you did not have a perfect experience with this laptop and I hope that we can resolve any of your concerns.

Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for choosing Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rasg
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Vostro 3750

PostedOctober 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Vostro 3750 to replace my Vostro 1700 about six weeks ago. After several weeks of use I find that this laptop is not going to work for me. The Vostro 3750 is a very nice laptop but somewhat on the large side. I could over look some of the smaller items but the biggest disappointment is Windows 7 and the fact I can't install Windows XP on my Vostro 3750.
I have a lot of special applications that won't work in Windows 7, so I need XP.
Pros...
Backlite keyboard,
Cons... too big, room for only one hard disk, lack of hardware buttons to turn on/off the sound, lack of drivers for Windows XP
If I could do it over, I would get the Lat 6450 with 15.6 inch display.
Pros:industrial support
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 11, 2012
Hi rasg,


Sorry to hear about the issue with your system . I understand it can be disappointing for not able to use the system for the purpose that you would want to use for . However, i would suggest you to check with our Dell support teams for the further assistance and if we can do something to fix this issue .

You can reach through- Facebook-
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
Twitter@DelCares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Dell community forum -
http://dell.to/GY65Xz

We are always there to help you . Thank you for choosing Dell .
Take care .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jeffdmc
(toronto)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Graphics problem on vostro 3750

PostedJune 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
i bought this for a reason .. because i enjoyed the business class look and power from it's prior 3700model. But this one, 1 day old has fuzzy external graphics output problems and static noise. Also the nvidia driver is from 2010! So i have to do some updates myself. Would have been nice if Dell did that for us on a new laptop.
Pros:business, pleasure, Gaming, fun
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mooly01
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent Laptop

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Styling is excellent, understated but classy. The lack of junkware was a big factor for me. Matt screen is excellent in use. Keyboard has good feel for fast typing and illumination is nice touch. Audio is best I have heard on a laptop. The i5 processor flys along and fan use is minimal.
Complaints... nothing much hardware wise. The LED screen driver is faintly audible at low brightness settings (below 30%).
I didn't get on with the Trend security. It flagged and even deleted some of my specialist apps and files as malicious and I had to contact Trend and use a removal tool.
The Vostro though is brilliant. Enjoy !
Pros:electronic circuit simulation, pcb design, web
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BajanJonesy
Title:

Nice Laptop, but....

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am enjoying my 17.3" Monitor, well designed keyboard, powerful nVidia 1GB memory and powerful i5 processor. The thing that's puts a chink in this power-house is the trackpad, erratic, always at the wrong time. updating drivers, uninstalling drivers hasn't helped. Talked to dell support and IT professionals, no one has a proper solution. So I use a dell external mouse - that works!
Pros:studies, Gaming, buisness
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Australia Melbourne)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Dissapoitment

PostedMay 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
My hard drive failed about a month after I purchased the computer. Needed to reload windows and office which was not done properly and I have problems till today that were not sorted out. I have a feeling many other drivers are missing ingluding my video card ones.
Pros:emails, internet browsing, invoices, word processing, excell - work rosters
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 24, 2012
PeterZed,

I am terribly sorry to hear about your issue, more sorry for your service. Please reach out to our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares), and they can take a look at your order history and offer you some assistance. This team has assistance avenues which conventional support cannot perform.

If you don't have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell's Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/wPdrET

A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide her name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

I hope they can be of some assistance,

+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:StephenGB
Title:

my Kaypro was faster

PostedApril 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is by far the worst computer I've ever owned. It's immense and heavy; you might as well put a handle on a desktop. The fingerprint reader works about half the time. The computer freezes, sometimes several times a day. Bootup can take 10 minutes. Dell support leaves much to be desired. I've owned half a dozen Dell computers. This will be the last one.
Pros:internet, powerpoint, word
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 22, 2012
Hey StephenGB,

I am sorry to hear that you are not happy with your Vostro 3750. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with this system.

The Vostro 3750 is a low-end business system, so it does not have the high quality features that a Latitude or a Precision have. I am sorry that this laptop did not meet your expectations.

It is possible that you need to update your drivers. These updates can improve the performance of specific features, such as the fingerprint reader, and overall laptop performance.

You can always reach out to our Online Support Team at:
• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you for choosing Dell.
-2points
8of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kishy
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good price, good spec, but bad quality control

PostedApril 4, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my Vostro 3750 in October 2011, and was quite happy with the value I was getting for my money given the specifications of the machine. However...
I noticed, right off the bat, a few quality control things that just scream 'low end consumer-grade'. Among my complaints:
-Trim does not fit together correctly. Palmrest does not sit level with the aluminum pieces on the left and right, for example. Trackpad has a considerable gap around it.
-AC adapter jack is too far inset into the computer, causing the AC adapter cord to fall out easier than if it were able to push in all the way.
-Optical drive trim does not fit flush, or even CLOSE to flush against the side of the computer.
-Plastic is thin and is obviously of a lower grade than previous models have used. Does not 'feel' like a quality plastic.
-Aluminum on the bottom half is purely cosmetic (opening the computer reveals the actual chassis is plastic with aluminum sheets stuck onto it for appearance only). The aluminum on the screen half of the unit does aid structural strength, though. Do not buy this for a metal chassis because it doesn't have one.
-Trackpad buttons rattle excessively. Even the vibration of the hard drive or fan can be enough to set them off if the computer is sitting on a hard surface.
-Internal EMI/RFI issues. The internal subwoofer speaker can, in certain conditions, pick up interference from the graphics hardware. This happens whether or not external speakers are in use, even with sound muted - the only fix is to internally disconnect the subwoofer (verified by doing exactly that).
All of my concerns were found true on two units.
I ordered my machine with a 3-year ProSupport with NBD Onsite service contract. I did pursue Dell over my complaints, the biggest point I pushed being the audio interference.
Over the course of 3 months, I went through 3 AC adapters, an onsite motherboard replacement, a complete computer replacement, and had been escalated to the REC (Resolution Expert Center). After I successfully proved that a motherboard design fault is the cause of the audio interference with photos of the motherboard detailing why the issue happens, the Technical Account Manager I was dealing with forced me to take a refund without escalating my concern to engineering.
It is worth noting that there was no non-Optimus motherboard option at the time. The motherboard has obviously been revised since that time, perhaps in response to issues like the one I mentioned.
To recap: the Vostro 3750 offers very good performance and specifications for its price, but you have to be willing to overlook some major quality control issues. Perhaps I'm just picky, but for a supposedly business-class built-to-order machine, this just didn't cut it for me.
Pros:surfing and listening to music, web development, Gaming, instant messaging, video calling
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 22, 2012
Hello Kishy,

Sorry to hear that the Vostro 3750 did not meet your expectations. I would highly advise that you reach out to our Social Support Team directly via Facebook/Twitter or the Dell Community Forums. They will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns ASAP! We are here to listen and respond to our customers’ needs and I hope that we can turn this around for you.

• Social Support Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
+54points
55of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:magistar
(Midwest)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Vostro i5 - Just Excellent!

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Being part of the Telecommunications Industry and working with Network & IT specialist's; I have the use of & am exposed to cutting edge laptops & computers when I am on the job. One gets accustomed to that, so I needed a personnel laptop that offered the functionality & speed that I've become used to for home use. The Vostro 3750 was the affordable solution.
The big plus's are it's speed, large screen with very good resolution (without glare!), excellent video playback, the backlit keyboard is a nice feature, solid build quality - it has the feel of a hi end unit, but best is the ability to allow extreme multi tasking without any slowdown - I choose the i5 due to financial concerns and have not been disappointed!
My only real complaint is the poor audio quality.
Overall I'd say that the price/performance ratio of this Vostro Core i5 is off the charts. Highly recommended!
Pros:video streaming & conference, Travel, maintain hobby/business, hi rez audio files
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dromesburg
(Pittsburgh, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent configuration, excellent quality product

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Vostro 3750 is a solid quality product. Exceptional speed, quality and value. I've used HP products for many years and in the past few years I've moved over to Dell Products. I love the large display, the weight is not heavy and the speed is exceptional along with the overall quality for this laptop. Dell keep UP creating the superior products!!
Pros:Video Editing, photos, itunes, watching videos, tracking family medical history
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigBadJohn69
(Tamaqua, PA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Best computer I've ever owned

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had a Dell XPS 400 desktop which served me well for over six years. I decided I wanted to change over to a laptop. I researched the Dell website and decided I would buy a Dell Vostro 3750 laptop. It turned out to be the right choice. It has so many new features such as fingerprint recognition, XP mode, Windows 7 Professional, illuminated keypad, and much more. Since it's a small business computer, it's built to last a long time. It's probably the best computer that I've ever owned. I would highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for a heavy duty laptop.
Pros:email, storing my music files, internet, keeping personal information records
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:flrncntrl
(la plata, md)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

best one yet

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
i was looking to change from a tower to a laptop so icould keep people off. it wasn't hard to choose....i've had nothing but great luck with dell and this computer just reinforces that belief. customer service is the best. when i got it had a problem with the monitor and spent 2 hours with customer service trying to work out the problem, when it was determined it couldn't be fixed online the rep scheduled a tech to come out the next day, he showed up promtly and replaced the monitor. one of the best laptops i've ever had and would recommend this to anyone
Pros:business computer
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NvdB
(Charleston, SC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Value. Value. Value.

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Looking down the road a little, I wanted to give up my desktop PC and live with just one machine: a laptop. I love horsepower and screen real estate. With those requirements in mind I shopped a variety of manufacturers and products. Long story short: The Vostro 3750 configured to my needs was a price leader. Having used one at work I knew I would like the non-glare display panel and backlit keyboard. Yeah, it's a monster. But that's exactly what I wanted, and every time I use it I feel like I'm using precisely the configuration I wanted at a price that could not be beaten.
Pros:home and business
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pestes
(Apex, NC)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great machine for the money!

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The really nice thing about the 3750 is that it is lightweight and has a great display size. For my purposes, I use at my home office, remote office and when visiting customers. The screen display is large enough so that I don't need an external monitor when I am at my remote office, and it is also large enough for me to present to customers without a projector.
I love the backlit keyboard and the fingerprint scanner for logging in to various sites - I no longer have to remember all my various logins. What a time saver!
The only (minor) thing missing IMO is a single touch volume control - instead you have to use a function key combination.
I did have one dead pixel on my laptop monitor, but after a call to Dell Support they had a technician come to my home office and replace it within 24 hours. Great service and very friendly!
Pros:business
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ProgrammingPastor
Title:

Buy this one

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
After waiting for years, I am so glad I bought this one. I needed a Windows 7 machine to support a new client and after researching many models, I decided to go with the Vostro line. This is my first Vostor purchase, as the rest have been Latitudes. As a programmer, I love the feel of and usefulness of the backlit keyboard. Viewing this large, wonderful screen is very easy on the eyes. The fingerprint reader is convenient for logging into multiple customer sites for remote access, besides getting onto my own machine. The convenience of Windows 7 Professional with the virtual XP machine makes troublshooting different customer environments easy, and the speed of this machine makes me more productive dealing with large databases.
As a pastor I am able to work in multiple programs side by side and search much quicker than on my old machine. Video editing and burning DVD's is very convenient.
Cons
I regret that I didn't buy a larger hard drive. I was surprised at the pricepoint I was able to get to, and chose a small drive because I thought I was happpy enough with my old laptop. I am so pleased with this one.
Review
I have used several brands of computers and worked on many as an IT professional. Dell is the best.
Pros:software development, Video Editing
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tommyfe
Title:

vostro 3750

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this computer to replace a 3 year old vostro that was stolen. I Wish I had gotten the 15" screen this unit is to big for a portable laptop. The lighted keyboard is great and I love the finger print scanner. The lid does not latch when closed seems real cheap and hard to get open. This unit has no video controls on the front like my old unit. Over all this unit is not near as user friendly as my old unit.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Homelesss
(Oklahoma City, OK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great products and support

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought my Vostro 3750. I was skeptical at first, considering there are alot of other ones for cheaper. I weighed the pros and cons and did my research. Dell has the best support anyone can ask for. Prosupport is unmatched by any I have experienced. Price was very reasonable and I have not had an issue. Best laptop ever...
Pros:personal everyday use
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:laspalmas
Title:

Huge problem with touchpad, probably better avoid

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Comfortable laptop, good speed, low noise, good screen, comfortable keyboard. But huge problem with touchpad, impossible to use it without the touchpad constantly interpreting that you are clicking when you are not (just if your wrist touches it). This has never happened to me previously on any other laptop. Battery short life. The problem with the touchpad appears in many, many online forums. Dell suggests all kind of software soluciones (tuning and adjusting Windows behaviour) which DO NOT work at all, basically because it is a HARDWARE problem.
Even if you deactivate the taping on the touchpad, many times you use your fingers to scroll and it doesn't react.
Battery life is poor (2h30), I suppose due to the screen, but still with $300 netbooks around with 9h batteries included in the basic configuration I would think DELL could have done better.
This two problems make this product a failure for me, after 6 DELL (desktop and laptop) machines I have had.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 3750
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SueD55
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Extremely pleased

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am a accountant/bookkeeper who travels daily to different clients, so my laptop needs to be strong and very reliable. This laptop replaced a 3 1/2 year old Inspiron laptop.
This computer has been in use daily (including some weekends) for the past four months. It has a lot of travel miles on it and it has been exceptional.
The monitor is clear and bright. At some client offices I have external monitors, keyboards, and mice that I leave at the client office and hook it up to. At others, it is used as it is. The key pad (10 key) on the side is excellent and a wonderful addition from the laptop I just retired.
If I were to have one complaint, it would be the touchpad. It's more likely my own problem, but have not been able to adjust the sensitivity to the way I prefer. Instead I just use a USB mouse and with that I have no difficulty.
I had a problem with the case and Dell furnished a technician who came to my office to meet me when I returned, late one evening from a client's office. She quickly replaced the warped piece of the case and was on her way. I live in a rural area and was pleasantly surprised to find Dell had technicians in our area.
Pros:business, daily travel
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 3