Customer reviews for Vostro 3550

Vostro 3550

Vostro 3550
3.61 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
6
1 Star
10
3.6
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
36 out of 5171%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 3550
Review 1 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lurcherlad
(Oxford, UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Loosing Confidence in the DELL Brand

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Since writing a review earlier today I have been trying to download driver update recommended by the DELL site. This site try to load DELL SYSTEM DETECT which is already on the device, however, is always unsuccessful. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE. If you recommend update then we should be able to down load them. There is no way I will buy another DELL device nor would I now recommend to others.
Pros:none whatsoever.
Cons:list is too long
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsFebruary 21, 2013
Hey Lurcherlad,

I definitely understand your frustration with the driver update. I am sure that we can help. Please reach out to one of our Online Support Teams so that we may assist and find a best solution for you.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

I hope that we can improve on this experience and earn your confidence back.

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and thank you for choosing Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:aloszaf
Title:

Review

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop because I needed quite a strong machine for advanced computations and writing in LateX (I work at university in Poland). Anyway, I was very dissapointed when I began to use it. The touchpad seemed to be horrible (I was looking through forums and I had realized that many people had the same problem). But it turned out that it is sufficient to use a Dell's software for a touchpad...
Even in Linux one may just use synclient to configurate it. I've installed ubuntu and debian on my vostro and everything works very well (I didn't have to install any additional drivers etc.).
What is more, the laptop is quite durable (I put it in my bag and go with my bike whenever I want) and quiet.
Best
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:prajeesh
(India)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good Laptop

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first laptop. After a long search I selected this model.
One month ago I purchased and it is working fine and I am very happy.
Pros
--Antiglare screen
--Sleep and Charge
--Quiet working
--Multi touch touchpad
--7200 rpm HDD
--Less heat.
--Finger Print reader.
Cons
--Windows Home Basic - some of the features are missing
--2 GB ram.
--Space between function key and Volume key. Not able to operate using single hand. (To increase or decrease volume)
--Speakers are not upto the mark.
--Touch pad sometimes gives problem
Pros:software development
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Timmm
Title:

Touchy & jumpy

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
After years of hassle-free service from our old Dell Inspiron, this new Vostro is a real disappointment. The touchpad is over-sensitive, moving and deleting text when a hand is waved over it. Plus there's an intermittent lag between typing and screen, which the very helpful technical support people have been unable to help me with.
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 10, 2012
Hello Timmm,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your experience with the Vostro 3550. We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing concerns with the Touch Pad on this system. I would suggest that you attempt to adjust the settings and sensitivity in the Dell TouchPad application. This will give you an option to change the TouchGuard/TouchCheck, which is what can make the device sensitive to palm movements over the touch pad.

I would also suggest that you reach out to our Social Support Team directly via the Dell Community Forums (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz; Twitter - @DellCares (http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); or the Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ). They will be able to look into this matter on your behalf and resolve your concerns ASAP! We are here to listen and respond to our customers’ needs and I hope that we can turn this around for you.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CourtneyS
(Hamilton)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Thank God

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just recently replaced my slow, dysfunctional Acer Aspire netbook with the Dell Vostro 3550- And all I can say is thank God I did. The laptop's start up is faster, graphics are good, it's very quiet- and I can run more than one program at once! The laptop has not once crashed or had any sort of problem, and it opens and runs programs with great ease. I am so glad I switched over!
Pros:Gaming, chat, School, web chat
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TeeCY
Title:

Good machine

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I used Dell for many years, many models too.
Vostro 3550 is the latest and current machine that I am using now. I am extremely happy with it.
It is fast, quiet, less heat... and the battery can last long enough too!
good work, DELL !!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FernandoPortes
(Union City, NJ)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Durable Laptop

PostedJune 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased my Vostro 3550 with an Intel I5 processor on Dec 2011 to replace an old Inspiron 6000 and an old Vostro 1000 laptop. After using it quite extensively for six months, my new Vostro 3550 exceeds my expectations because of this: 1. Intel WiDi. Did not know it had WiDi capabilities. It works great with both my TV and my stereo. 2. Power Jack. Unlike cheap run of the mill laptops, the power jack in the Vostro 3550 is NOT welded to the motherboard. As a result, when the jack gets loose (inevitably it will after 2 to 3 years of use), all one has to do is to replace a little power card attached to the motherboard, not the entire motherboard. A+++ for durability becuase of this feature. I once had a brand new Compaq laptop that only lasted 2 weeks before the power jack and the entire motherboard had to be replaced (this is why I changed to Dell). 3. Windows XP Installed. Win 7 came with Windows XP installed, which allowed me to run some old XP only hardware (scanner) without any problem, and without having to download or upgrade anything. 4. Outstanding service. My 3350 came with a free 1 year service warantee. The speakers were making a strange noise and a Dell tech came to my home one day after the call and replaced them (zero down time). Will buy a service contract on my next Dell purchase based on this outstanding service (no need to ship the laptop somewhere and waste time; no need to have a spare laptop to avoid business interruption). 5. Usability. The 3550 does not generate that much heat. I can use my 3550 on my lap without the need to have a book below the laptop, like what I needed to with my Inspiron 6000 and with my Vostro 1000. The aluminun construction feels more robust and reliable than plastic laptops. In addition, the 7400 rpm HD combined with the Intel I5 processor work great, as compared to my old laptops. I do notice the speed difference.
In summary, this is a great durable laptop that I expect to use for at least 6 to 7 years.
As things to improve, I wish Dell had installed more powerfull speakers. I realize that this might be too much to ask for a "business" laptop, and Dell might not want to canabalize the XPS line. However, although it is already a great laptop, with 20 W speakers like the XPS, it would have been the best Dell laptop ever. Please have the option for 20W speakers in the next Vostro line. In addition, CD/DVD are already obsolete technology. Please do not include a CD/DVD tray on the next Vostro and save the space and the unncesary weight.
Pros:business, streaming video, home, reading newspapers
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:eingley
(Brisbane Queensland Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good machine except the touchpad

PostedJune 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had the Vostro for almost a year, and have been happy in every respect except for the horrible touchpad. While the worst of the features can be turned off in Windows, it isn't recognised in Ubuntu apparently because Alps won't release the driver info. Consequently, my touchpad has a piece of cardboard over it so I can type without the cursor jumping all over the screen. Wny won't Dell, instead of having their product condemned all over the internet (I'm certainly not the only one), or insisting their customers use only Windows (when we're clearly not going to), sort this out with Alps? Surely it's not that difficult? It's a pity that an otherwise great machine is so let down by such a minor but fundamental problem.
Pros:home computer with some office use
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 27, 2012
Hi Eingley,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to know that one of its features could not meet your level of expectations. However; just in case if you need assistance, I would suggest you to check with Our Technical Experts at various forums.

Like Facebook-
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
Twitter@DellCares-
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ

We take your feedback, thanks.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:milllane
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Hardware Failure

PostedMay 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
My new laptop has been diagnosed with hardware failure. This is the 2nd consecutive laptop purchase by us that has had serious hardware problems. Coincidence? Perhaps, but it seems Dell has some serious product reliability issues.
They are going to send me a new hard drive, but they are making me reinstall the Windows software, drivers, etc., not to mention my on software which I will have to reinstall. Add my time to the cost of the laptop, and this has turned out to be a very expensive purchase.
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 14, 2012
Hello milllane,

Sorry to hear that you have not had the best out-of-box experience with the Vostro 3550. I know that you have already spoken with Tech Support, but I would like to offer that you reach out to our Social Support Team directly. The will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns ASAP! I really hope that we can turn this around for you.

Social Support Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ).
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shak
Title:

Superb Laptop

PostedMay 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hope dell doesn't remove my review.
I am a IT Engineer and Web Designer, I have fixed a lot of bad laptops. This laptop vostro 3550 deserves a 10 when it comes to worst laptop ever.
Touchpad: super bad
Performance: 0
Graphic: 0
Please don't waste your money on this laptop. You will regret it the moment you unbox it.
I don't know why dell is keep selling this laptop
Good luck in choosing a better laptop
Shak
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 22, 2012
Hello Shak,

Sorry to hear that you did not have a great out-of-box experience with the Vostro 3550.
While we run multiple tests and try our best to simulate the environments that our systems will be running in during the development stages, there are bound to be hiccups once they are outside of our testing. We strive to provide excellent service along with great products so in the event a concern does arise, you will be able to get the assistance you need and deserve.

If you are still in need of assistance, don’t hesitate to reach out to our Social Support Team directly via Facebook/Twitter or the Dell Community Forums. They will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns ASAP! We are here to listen and respond to our customers’ needs.

• Social Support Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
+10points
30of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GWFAN
(Sturbridge, Mass)
Title:

Always reliable

PostedApril 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
One of many dell Vostro laptops I have bought through the years. I love the quality of the laptop and the support from Dell.
Cons: Maybe not the best speakers for music.
Pros:business, facebook, ebay, homework
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kyrick100
(Bronx)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Upgrade

PostedApril 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Unlike other laptops, this Dell Vostro 3550 has highly up-gradable parts, like a second hard drive or light up keyboard.The only problem is the touchpad, which can be avoided by getting a bluetooth mouse.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:poojapyal
Title:

Worst Laptop, please do not go for it

PostedApril 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hey,
I have purchased DELL VOSTRO 3550 just a day ago, and having very not actually very but very very bad experience with this laptop, its touchpad is terrible(BAD) and it is giving noisy sound when laptop turns on. PLEASE DO NOT GO FOR IT.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 21, 2012
Hello Poojapyal,

I am sorry to see that your out of the box experience was not perfect. I hope you were able to resolve any issues you were having. If you still need technical support, please feel free to reach out to us. We may be able to assist:

• Tech support Forums:
http://dell.to/NjitjY
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://dell.to/OO2MDG
• Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:
http://dell.to/nKRY0q

-SaraT
+8points
19of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Matt0815
(Louisville, KY)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Vostro 3550

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would highly recommend the Vostro 3550 to anyone looking to purchase a new laptop. It offers alot of great features that you won't find in other brands at the same price point. I've used many different Dell products over the years and have always been completely satisfied. They make a great product!!!
Pros:personal, business
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:k1w1
(Queensland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great support

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
For our small business it is not just the computer that is important but also the support. We purchased the on-site 3 yr support. Peace of mind and knowing if (highly unlikely) we have a problem we will not be without our computer for days on end while we send it away to be repaired. Dell has great online support as well as very helpful telephone support.
Pros:business use
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dromesburg
(Pittsburgh, PA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Super laptop. Excellent quality. Nice profile!

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Extremely happy!!I've bought & used many Dell products and will continue. I bought this laptop so my Mom can learn to use a computer, Mom is 73 yrs old. We love to Skype and she really loves how easy the laptop is to use and handle. Would highly recommend this laptop and Dell.
Pros:skype with mom, entertainment, internet, photos, videos
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:0YMG0
(Mid-Atlantic)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

No Regret Purchase

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Being a very satisfied customer of a Dell Vostro V13, I did not hesitate to purchase this Vostro 3550 for my daughter.
The 3550 has been a very good replacement for my daughter's old Dell Studio 1537. It meets or exceeds all of the attributes you would expect from a mid-range notebook computer. Processor speed, memory, disk space, wireless capability, battery life, weight, screen resolution, keyboard size... everything is good with the Vostro 3550.
As a senior in college, my daughter finds the notebook an important tool for her studies in marketing and finance. It has proven to be more reliable than her old Studio model, and a much better performer.
The computer has also been an important part of her entertainment as she manages her music library and plays movies on her television via the HDMI port.
We highly recommend this computer to our friends.
Pros:email, web browsing, word processing, spreadsheet, music, video
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Talisin
(Swansea)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great piece of Kit

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Well i bought this due to a suggestion from a good friend and i have not been disapointed, its a great piece of kit and im glad that i have bought it.
The price was great for what you get, even plays all the latest games so you dont have to miss out when away.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LadyLLyonnesse
Title:

Simply put... AWESOME !!!!!

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Awesome... The processor is very fast, it's light weight and easy to carry for me (I have trouble carrying things) so this is wonderful... simply love the back-light for the keyboard makes it so much easier to see... Simply Put I Love this Computer... I recommend it to all my friends.
Pros:business, travel (i take it everywhere), streaming, Gaming, designing patterns
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 3550
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BCarole
Title:

I like my Vostro!

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my third Dell laptop, second Vostro. It is lighter than my last Vostro and the hinge mechanism is improved. The i5 processor is responsive and fast. Touch pad takes getting used to, keyboard is comfortable. Backlit keyboard is a plus. Wireless card is working well (Satelite connection). SD card reader is convenient, although inserting the card so it "catches" is tricky. Good value for the money. Fast shipment and good packaging.
Pros:teaching online college classes, family business
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3