Customer reviews for Vostro 3350

Vostro 3350

Vostro 3350
3.871 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
3.9
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
21 out of 3070%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 3350
Review 1 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Emanuels
(Israel)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Warming Laptop !!!

PostedDecember 24, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my Vostro 3350 on March 2012. The type I have bought contains Intel's CPU I5-2430 and external Video card - AMD Radeon HD 6490M. The device probably was not designed to support both this CPU and external video card, as it gets hot where I put my right arm on (on the right side of the mouse pad). I had cooling system replaced twice and motherboard as well - no problem fixing was found. Moreover, the technician has told me that they have no solution and this is the device, and I should "live with it". Again - the support was quite fast, but the problem - unresolvable - Unbelievable !!!
So called - Enjoy your device!
Pros:software development, video watch, documents writing
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 25, 2012
Emanuels,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Vostro 3350. We are sorry to hear that this product did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate the information you have provided us so far, and will use that information along with our own methods to determine the scope of the problem and potential root causes.Our engineering teams read customer reviews everyday and will definitely work on this as priority.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please reach out to one of our Online Social Media Support Teams.
• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks again, Have a great day and Happy Holidays!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OHAttorney
Title:

Would not purchase again

PostedApril 7, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Vostro 3350 in October 2011. The unit arrived quickly (prior to the estimated delivery date). However, I ordered a "backup" battery at the same time I ordered the laptop and the incorrect battery was sent. I contacted Dell and a replaced battery was sent - it was the same incorrect battery. Turns out the battery listed on the Dell website, and recommended by Dell customer service when I spoke to Dell live, was (and still is) the wrong battery. The Dell website also did not (and still does not) recognize my laptop's Service Tag Number so I cannot place an order for correct accessories (including batteries). A Dell rep did give me the part number for the "correct" battery but neither the Dell website, nor anyone at Dell customer service, can find a part associated with that number. Returning the incorrect batteries was not as easy as one would expect either. So here it is six months later and I still cannot get a backup battery for my Vostro.
With regard to the Vostro 3350 itself, the unit is okay. It is smaller and lighter than my previous Dell laptops and the 500GB hard drive is nice (upgrading from a 150GB hard rive was the primary reason I ordered a new laptop). The Vostro 3350 does run hot - very hot - and the cooling fan runs almost nonstop. The battery is "triangular" shaped such that the battery becomes a stand for the laptop, no doubt aiding in the cooling process. The battery life is not as long as advertised or expected (and this is a real problem since Dell seems incapable of supplying a backup battery for this unit). I get about 3 to 3.5 hours maximum (even with radio disabled and running few applications). The back-lit keyboard and fingerprint scanner are nice features, but the touch pad buttons are loud - noticeably loud especially when using the laptop in quiet environments. I saw this loud button issue mentioned in other reviews before I bought the Vostro, but thought that the noise would not be such a big deal. I was wrong, the button noise is very noticeable - far more noticeable then on any other laptop I have owned (Dell's included).
All in all I think the Vostro was not a good choice for me. At the time I was considering the purchase I had my choices narrowed down to the Dell Vostro 3350 or a Lenova Thinkpad. Despite having been a Dell fan for years (we have owned several Inspirons over the years) I should have gone with the Thinkpad.
I would not recommend the Vostro 3350.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dokie
(Austin)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Light and Dependable

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Without a doubt the Vostro 3350 is truly dependable in its class. Ever since I got this on christmas I never encountered any problem or issues with my Vostro. Web pages load easily and connecting to a newtwork is a breeze. The spill proof and backlit keyboard is remarkable and the fingerprint reader eliminates the hassle of entering User ID/Account numbers and passwords. Before purchasing this notebook, I have compared other brands with the same specs but the Vostro 3350 always have the key advantage among others. I'm not hesitant to recommend this to my friends.
Cons:
None
Pros:work and streaming video, Travel, video/picture editing
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EricSven
Title:

Nothing but problems

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had nothing but problems with the Vostro 3350 and I would highly encourage you to look elsewhere for a laptop. This is the only Dell I've had so I can't tell you whether this is a Dell issue or just a Vostro 3350 issue.
The problems that I have had:
- Speakers sounded blown from the first day that I got the machine.
- 3 months after getting the computer, the hard drive failed and I was forced to go through a lengthy process of backing everything up and then waiting for a replacement hard drive and re-installing EVERYTHING back on to the computer. I had very little assistance with this and it was an overall nightmare. While the customer service people are very nice at Dell, it is terribly frustrating trying to understand them over the phone and I was passed off to other people way to many times.
- My finger print scanner stopped working after 4 months
- I have constant problems with the sound card crashing which prevents any audio from working
- The two finger scroll feature for the mouse pad has not worked in months
- Shockwave Player (or something like that) has been crashing since I got the machine. This really is a pain when on the web!
PROS:
- webcam is nice
- pretty fast when working
Pros:business
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Decent Laptop on Heavier Side
(India)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Decent Laptop on Heavier Side

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first laptop. I looked for one with performance than look and I found it!
i5, 4GB RAM, 500HDD, 1GB ATI Graphics, 6 Cells
PROS
Nice features for a decent price, like backlit-keyboard, fingerprint reader, dual layer DVDRW, and eSATA apart from other normal features. Overall it is fast in processing for my needs; playing medium-level games are handled well with my ATI graphic card (a bit tricky to configure the settings).
CONS
Battery life is what I am not happy with, I get about 1-2 hours when I am on the move even on basic minimum plan with this rather heavy machine. Dell can find a better HDD as I find it a bit slow on startup (compare to my cousin’s Toshiba with similar HDD). The camera can be improved, as I find a cheap camera attached to my Desktop much better than on this system. The sound can be better as well. Also, the touchpad needs better drives if that is what is making it act awkwardly sometimes (side scrolling is activated without reason).
TIPS
Lastly, I found that installing Microsoft Mobile Center fixed the Bluetooth-Mobile issue, but was not able to connect my internal SATA drive through eSATA with eSATA-to-SATA cable and I was told by the support that it will not, but I feel it should have worked technically speaking. Dell needs to list on the website the things they learn from the previous experiences, for example that fingerprint needs Digital Persona software to work and that Bluetooth-Mobile needs Microsoft Mobile Center installed, etc.
Pros:streaming video, Travel, graphic design, games (medium)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dudiekh
(Indonesia)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Very nice at the beginning, disappointing after

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
When you first open the box and assemble, it is very noticeable that this laptop is good stuff and reliable, especially from leading brands. But there is a problem when first used, among others:
1. problems on the hard drive is not detected, so I had to take him to the retailer for its hard drive replaced. But apparently it does not solve the problem because until now there is still a problem when booting, which is often the hard drive is not detected, so I have to reboot again until its hard drive detected. Very annoying when I need to boot quickly to urgent needs.
2. I felt heat on the right palm rest when the laptop is used for long periods, or in the short term but with the heavy work. very annoying and distracting.
3. number of speakers was just one, so for a multimedia experience I have to spend more money to buy third-party portable speakers, while the entry-level laptops from other brands are on average already using stereo speakers with a reliable soundcard.
Bottomline: The build was very good, but in the inside there is still room for improvement, so as not to disappoint the user
Pros:office work, internet use, Gaming, multimedia use
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rashidi
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good Vostro

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Truth is my friends have bad experience with Vostro series. I thinking of latitude but i got very good price for Vostro and its worth evry penny.
Pros
1.Mainly to do for work and listening mp3.(works fine with Photoshop CS5! and Reaper Audio)
2.back-light is amazing and now need it more that I thought.
3.Using it for some game too and its work fine too. (medium set)
4.I connect it to my HDTV with HDMI cable and its work perfect.
Cons.
1.Hate how they design the network port. Should change it with power port.
2.The back-light should do like button. not a shortcut...sometimes i just random click it in dark....
Pros:photoshopreaper, surf internet, watch movie
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JasonH
(Sugar Land)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Vostro 3350

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have tried multiple netbooks and laptops, but nothing has been as perfect as the Vostro 3350. Its the perfect mix of power and size that we need for our mobile users.
Pros:Travel
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bacontrees
Title:

Robust, fast, the future of laptops

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this unit for almost 6 months. I use it for lectures (PPT slide shows), playback of DVD's, web surfing and HD video editing.
Pros:
- good shell design (I have no problem with the high-cap battery design sticking out the back).
- excellent battery life (I never plug it in with all-day lectures and presentations)
- great keyboard (island style, backlit on mine)
- fast, multi-tasking machine
- instant VGA output recognition
- fingerprint ID login
Cons:
- the fingerprint login has crashed on me, didn't work for 4-5 minutes, so I had to re-boot
- weight - not a huge issue, but it would be nice if it were a bit lighter
Overall, the power of this unit outweighs the minor inconveniences. It never gets too hot when I am typing. It looks really cool. The metallic casing is futuristic and durable.
Pros:Video Editing, presentations
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Manki
(Vanuatu)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good speakers, Rotten touchpad

PostedDecember 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Vosto 3550 is really a nice machine. A good-feel keyboard, and load speakers (not hi-fi!)
However the touchpad is rubbish. It jerk & jumps and zooms with a mind of its own - and that's with all options turned off!
So if you want to laptop you and you must use the touchpad, DON'T come to the 3550.
Otherwise a good deal.
Pros:email, word processing, audio editing, browsing
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dfmembreno
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great Laptop with full of Features, I am really pleased.
Just add the AMD Radeon 6490M and 6 GB Ram.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FrustratedinAZ
Title:

Horrible machine and worse customer service

PostedOctober 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I rec'd the laptop via FedEx on Friday, September 30th. After 2 days, I rec'd a blue screen with error code ending in 7A meaning there's a bad
hard drive. I get on the phone with Dell customer support and they tell me they need approval to replace the laptop or send me a refund. What a joke!!! I want my money back now! I will NEVER buy another Dell product!!!
DO NOT BUY THIS LAPTOP
Pros:business
-3points
20of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Maysam
Title:

Vostor

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell computer are not what they used to be as before, I have a Dell Inspron for a long time, which run perfectly, when i decided to get a new computer, Dell was my prefered computer, but after getting a vostro, things are different, the quality is not as what used to be, the screnn has a burnt pixel, the computer not as solid as the old one.
The customer service is not friendly, not helpfull, and they do not treat their loyal costumers, I wasnter to return a part as I was not happy with it, they told me no returns,if you wnt you money back go and sell it on ebay.
I think the company is loosing ground, as they had their share of the market and they do not care for their future.
+4points
16of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Paul CKH
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Speaker the main issue

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Was disappointed on the sound quality from the one single side speaker. To compare with my Vostro 1400, I will only rate it 2/10. Both loudness and sound quality is bad. Due to this I deducted 2 stars off the overall rating.
Performing reformat on 3350 is so much easier than before and it really restore back 100% to its factory setting (drivers/software) unlike last time using CDs yet still have to manually download certain drivers.
Backlit keyboard was a great option. In fact it's the main factor why I chosen 3350 as the 14" model doesn't comes with it. The typing feel was firm and can feel the quality is there.
With its standard 8-cell battery, the life span max can only last me 4-5hrs with normal usage under Dell Recommended mode and only screen brightness set at my own preference (max).
Overall built of 3350 is solid. Need not mention the screen which already commented numerous time by other users.
Pros:travelling, home use, office use
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sidrah
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Stupendous!

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is truly an outstanding machine and to top it up they have got this extremely courteous and promising service. Couldn't have been better!
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sammy2000
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great feature-packed subnotebook

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I opted for the Core i5 base model, which includes the backlit keyboard and 8-cell battery. While I admit the larger battery is an eyesore and adds some heft to the weight, running my laptop for 7-8 hours (wifi on) away from an outlet is fantastic. The body construction is superb - metal body/lid/hinges, matte surfaces, and flex-free palm rests perform admirably. There is no lid latch, but it closes soundly and does not open freely. The keyboard uses a standard layout and is pleasant to type on. My only gripe is the left and right mouse buttons are very stiff and will require some force to register.
In terms of hardware, I have not run into any issues yet. The Core i5 in combination with 4GB RAM and 7200rpm HD deliver snappy results and boot up/shut down times are noticeably shorter than my older Core 2 setup. Wireless card has not dropped any connections. I have not tested USB3.0 or bluetooth capabilities as of yet.
The fingerprint scanner works quite well actually, as does the webcam and built-in microphone. Both are average but get the job done. Backlit keyboard has decent lighting and looks stunning upon first use, but I honestly do not find myself planning on using this a lot.
The weakest aspect of this laptop probably is the screen. Backlighting is for the most part, consistent. Contrast is average but by no means bad. Color reproduction seems accurate, but a little washed out - blacks have a slight gray appearance to them. If you're familiar with the Dell ultrasharp monitors, don't expect as good results. Despite this, the resolution is fine (I do not feel its grainy, despite some other stories I've heard) and default color settings are acceptable. Mine had a slight bluish tint, but again, this is not really noticeable.
Overall, I'm satisfied with this laptop. I primarily use it for work and wanted a more mobile-friendly package. The long battery life, study construction, and anti-glare screen make this laptop great for those whom frequently use their laptop on-the-go. I am by no means a pc gamer or extensive media user - if you seek those qualities in your laptop, I would suggest you look elsewhere. This vostro 3350 does however run 720p videos flawlessly and handles photoshop quite well (although you'll want to use a better monitor for that).
Some things to check though are the default audio and mousepad settings. Mine uses IDT (proprietary dell software?) Audio which had "SRS Premium Voice Pro" enabled. This resulted in my regular audio playback to sound terrible. Also, by default touchpad scrolling is set to 2-finger scroll. If you prefer traditional scrolling down the side/bottom, you'll want to enable that.
PROS: sturdy construction, USB3.0, bluetooth, (backlit) keyboard, battery life, bundled Win7 installation disks, quiet operation
CONS: touchpad buttons may be stiff for some, screen could be better, default settings need tweaking, proprietary dell software hit-or-miss, bulky battery
+46points
48of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:turbohack
Title:

Add to my prior review

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I forgot to mention - this laptop comes with 2 USB 3.0 ports. Talk about blazing fast file transfers with a USB 3.0 flash drive (Readyboost: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/ff356869.aspx). I'm wondering if an external USB 3.0 SSD would perform almost as well as an internal one. Need to research this more.
Oh - and the Esata port doubles as a powered USB 2.0 port. Powered - as in you can charge any USB external device (cell phone, etc) WITHOUT turning on the laptop. Great feature.
Pros:video/photo editing (i hope), some games - light duty, web surfing emails
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TriNgo
(Toronto)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

3350 Heat problem

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just got this laptop. Very solid looking and performance.
A bit heavy for a business 13 inch laptop.
The biggest problem for me is the heat from the HDD drive on the right of the palm rest. That has been the biggest disappointment for me since it makes you feel a bit uncomfortable with typing and spending time on the laptop.
Pros:web surfing, office work
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kiwidutch
(New Zealand)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Wireless Issue

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Vostro 3350 is probably the only laptop that ticked all the boxes for me, and overall I'm very happy with it. I got the 8-cell battery, which provides around 6-8 hours depending on what I am doing. Only two gripes about the product:
1) The screen is a bit grainy, and the vertical viewing angle is quite poor. Overall I think the screen quality could be alot better.
2) The Centrino Wireless Card (N-1030) has major issues when running on the "Dell" power plan (in Control Panel). You need to set it to 'maximum performance', otherwise you can get massive latency, and dropped packets, rendering your wireless almost useless except for basic web browsing. It took me literally hours and hours to find the cause of this issue, so thumbs down to Dell on this one.
Pros:business, personal
+16points
19of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 3350
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Techster
(U.S.A.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A Very Good Laptop For Price..

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros-I like the form factor of this Laptop, metal design, backlit keyboard, the TN screen high resolution and 8cell battery. comes with more standard features. (great for on the go)- traveling. It's pretty snappy with ATI graphics, I5 Cpu, and 6GB ram option which I chose for dual channel mode and for page filing- makes the system more snappy. I got the base 320GB harddrive,eventually I will upgrade to a sata3 ssd. The battery life is great with the 8cell I been able to aquire about 11.5 hours with the power save mode and system graphics tweaked through Ati.
Cons- I have not had any so far.I would like to see a Intel Quad 2630 or 2720 fitted in this model.
Review- This particular model was choosen by me after a few months of searching laptops. The main concern was battery performance,multi-tasking speed, and form factor the 3350 has it with the option of installing an ssd of my choice. This is my 3rd Dell laptop in 8 years and I would buy another Dell product.
Pros:business, Gaming, Travel, personal
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2