Customer reviews for Vostro 3300

Vostro 3300

Vostro 3300
3.791 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
1
3.8
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 42
32 out of 4276%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 3300
Review 1 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kenzo3300
(Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Slim & Powerful

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first Laptop i owned for this pass 5 months and i feel great. Previously i do use my company laptop which is supplies Dell Laptop and my friend also recommend me this product which is have long life spend and high performance laptop. My Sister use more than a year for another model called inspiron series, it worth every cent she pay of. For myself i prefer slim and powerful pc. Even surprise me that this laptop is support high graphical gaming which is green enviroment technology. is really a wow factor for me. This vostro 3300 series is really great laptop with a slim outlook and easy to carry with a light weight condition with a 2nd latest technology series i feel great. so far this laptop is help me for all my problem and solving my issue when i onboard in another country. Easy ti carry anywhere. i will recommend my friend and my family members. And with a promotion price even save more than other pc provider company. this laptop is worth every cents. I'm also be planning to purchase another set to my parents for their easy communication with me during my outstation work.
Pros:video streaming/editing, Travel, music playback, music editing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sajju
(New York Flushing)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

shipping and handling

PostedJune 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hello everyone
after placing the order, if you can wait 18 days to one month , you may place the order. in one month you may think or go somewhere else.
i hate to wait that long after placing the order. you make sure the waiting period before placing the order.
Pros:fun
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ScotBlk
Title:

Prefect Labtop

PostedMay 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I run program like Autocad to do drawings. My Vostro 3300 I5 32-bit system is prefect! If there was one thing I wished this computer had is HDMI output. I use 2 screens to draw. My labtop is presfect and external screen is not as clear as labtop. I had a Macbook before this. I love Apple but Dell is more program friendly if you know what I mean. I hope this helps someone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:craigo
(Canberra)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good value overall

PostedApril 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The 3300 is pretty good package overall for the price for size, 512 graphics and core i5 processor.
CONS: It came as standard with the bigger battery - 8 cell i believe. It sticks out the bottom of the laptop about 2cm so it loses all of its thinness. Make it hard to store it in a thin laptop case. When you sit it on your lap it tilts up and then the screen doesnt tilt back quite as far as would be optimal for tall people.
The keyboard isnt as nice as my old Latitude - it flexes in the middle. The soft touch media buttons look cool but they simply arent as good as a real button as they dont give feedback. Fan seems to come on frequently during basic tasks though that is probably a function of high performance and small dimensions.
PROS: Good battery life, good performance, charger is quite small. Thin apart from the battery.
Pros:cad, media, documents
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:neostack
(Bangalore, India)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good all round 13in desktop replacement

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My prime use for a laptop is for the routine tasks, browsing, email and also for programming and occasionally running scientific simulations. I run Linux.
- convenient size although its not as light as its product page might suggest.
- nice design which is not overstated unlike consumer laptops which don't seem to have any area which is not covered in glossy plastic.
- matte screen which eliminates the annoying reflections in office lighting situations.
- I prefer a standard 4:3 aspect ratio for programming tasks, browsing, photo editing and document typesetting. I dislike the newer 16:9 screens. But this screen is okay once you get used to it.
- the battery life of around 2.30 hours maybe too less for some, but it was not an issue for me since I'm usually working on a desk.
- Heat is mostly under control.
- Disappointed that there are only some preconfigured choices for components, that means I couldn't select a slightly lower end processor and integrated graphics without losing other components that I wanted (like a backlit keyboard).
Review
All in all, its a good laptop as a desktop replacement without the bulk of larger 15in laptops and with the bonus of portability. Good for students. A note for Linux users. The fingerprint reader currently has no linux drivers. Other functions work well.
Pros:software development, remote system administration, browsing email, photo editing
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bharat J
(India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

NOT thin and light!

PostedMarch 14, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a lot of research I thought that the 3300 would be the best balance of performance, size and weight to replace my old thinkpad x-series. However I am really disappointed with the weight and size of the machine. The weight is closer to that of mainstream laptops and not ultraportables. Although the screen is 13.3" and thus bigger than the 10.x inch of my old machine, due to the widescreen dimensions the actual usable aree of the screen is actually LESSER! Business laptops are not meant for watching movies alone are they?! Anyway, the machine build quality is very good, cant complaint about anything. I would request Dell that atleast your business series should have standard size screens. It will also help you make them lighter. A 12 or even 11 Inch stadard screen is more convenient than a 13/14 inch widesreen for day to day computing.
For those looking for lightweight business machine for frequent travel, pls consider onlt the x-series or similar only.
BTW, Dell, can I return this to back? Its only a couple of weeks old!
Pros:business with frequent travel
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sis
Title:

Vostro 3300 Laptop

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently purchased a Vostro 3300 Laptop. I have a 17" but it is way too heavy to lug around when I am travelling.I bought the 13.3", and it is so much more lighter to travel with, I hardly know I am carrying it. It has all the features of my 17".
Pros:Travel
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HadiSdt
Title:

Special Performance

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Beside all the positive and negative aspects that all other mentioned, I want to point to its computational performance. I'm a MSc. Mechanical engineering student who travels a lot So I need a light laptop with a great performance. I search for a lot between the models, and I can say for sure that Vostro 3300 is providing the best performance in this class, also its low price made me a little uncomfortable. I bought a core i7, 8cell battery model, and it's amazing. Over the last week, I run two parallel really heavy simulation task with Matlab 2010, and the CPU works for up to 60% for at least three days continuously also I surf the net, download via its WIFI, listen to music, watch movies, edit some pics with Photoshop, learn Catia v5r20, all in the meantime and none of them encountered even a little slow in performance, of course I used a cool pad too which makes the laptop cooler. None of my friends' laptops, Sony, HP, Apple,... none of those brands provide such a good performance specially in multi tasking. I could spend more money fore a better brand or laptop, and I searched a lot, but believe me, there was no better 13.3" model.
Of course I don't mind if the mono speaker is weak or there is no HDMI, I can easily use it outdoor. The brightness is a sufficient, keyboard feels good, batteries stay up to six hours, and whenever I want, I can run games on it. It's really silent and nice:) I strongly recommend it to university students and persons who want long term performance, multi tasking and light weight in one pack.
Pros:modeling simulation and engineering calculations, multi tasking, Travel
+49points
50of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BritishCitizen
Title:

US keyboard!

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice laptop still only offered with US keyboard
Pros:light business use
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ZEDster
(London, UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Screen tilt and slight glare is an issue for me

PostedDecember 18, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Positive
+ good hardware specs especially for the price
+ good compatibility with ubuntu
+ keyboard feels good
+ touchpad accepts gestures - nice for web scrolling and making text bigger
+ thin and light - portable.
Negative
- Slightly more glare than my old inspiron 2600 when I sit behind the window. I would go for a genuine matte screen (latitude maybe) next time.
- The screen doesn't tilt enough for someone as tall as me (6'5) - the old vostro 1320 tilts more than this.
- indirectly forced to buy expensive 8 cell battery as the 4-cell bundled battery gives less than 3 hours.
Overall the first 2 bad points would prevent me from recommending this but by no means is it a bad laptop.
Pros:web browsing + email, software development
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LynnT62
(Cheshire)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Vostro 3300 Arrived with wrong operating software

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Laptops themselves are great the Dell service could be better. Ordered 2 Vostro 3300 laptops on 48 hour fast track with Windows 7 Professional loaded. Order acknowledgment agreed with order, laptops arrived with Windows Home Premium. Contacted Dell who sent out 2 more with wrong software then decided they couldn't supply and I must have been mistaken in thinking this operating software was available. The final outcome was 3 weeks after the laptops arrived I received boxed copies of windows 7 Prof which I then had to load myself. Prior to this order I had previously been supplied the correct laptops and software the month earlier. So the spec had been changed but not on the web site. Beware!
Pros:offsite access
+34points
35of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:osandoval
(Pittsburgh, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

This is not what I expect

PostedNovember 2, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
When you touch the computer it feels like a bad fabricated product, bad quality plastic.
And for the price I expect to receive much more, et the end I paid for a computer with no Windows 7 , Microsoft Office, and Some antivirus and I only use Ubuntu because my profession. Almost everything looks like working properly, but the keyboard is not well indicated, How can I activate the numeric keypad?
At the end there were three things that bothered me most, first the offer on the dell webpage is not clear (Keyboard backlit), second you can not select do not buy any operating system, office suite or antivirus protection, third the quality of the product is poor.
But for the price I expect to get a excellent quality computer.
Pros:software development, write research papers, robotics research, Travel
-1point
13of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AMG43c
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Vostro 3300

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
A cheap but well featured laptop. Screen is of medium size to keep weight down but absolutely fine for web browsing, emails and light office work. Keyboard is nice with a good feel. Battery life seems good. For the price it's hard to beat.
Pros:email and web browsing, finance and home use, school work
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AllieHaus
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not as light and portable as expected.

PostedOctober 13, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was trying to find a laptop light enough to carry around, but with enough hard drive space and speed for photo and video processing. The computer is fast enough and has a large enough hard drive, but it's not nearly as portable as I expected. I also ordered a 3700 (17" screen) for my husband. It is not much heavier and it has a 10key. If I had to do it again, I would have purchased the 17" for the larger screen since the weight difference is negligible.
Pros:classroom, photo and video editing
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:adlorenz
(London, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very nice machine

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell Vostro 3300 i5-450M, 4GB RAM, 320GB 7200rpm HDD, Intel 4500HD+nVidia GeForce310M combo graphics, standard 4-cell battery, Fedora 13 operating system (self-installed).
Pros:
- lovely design, very good looking
- light and relatively small
- good overall performance
- nice keyboard feeling (although arrow keys need getting used to)
- very bright screen
Cons:
- absolutely miserable battery life (less than 2 hours of non-heavy use!!!)
- lack of BIOS switch to choose default graphics adapter
- lack of HDMI output
- slightly noisy CPU fan
Generally very happy, this model is quite good value for money and I'd definitely recommend, however not for anyone who is working away from external power source for a long periods of time...
Pros:web application development, personal use
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:weebound
(Liverpool)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros--
The laptop is good. It is small, very light, very good for some one who travels often. Faster processor-good memory. It all looks very compact, neatly designed. Well suited for business person who travels quiet often.
cons--
But there is couple of things which I was quiet dissapointed about that is why I have to just give 3 stars for it.
1.The worst thing about this laptop is the it has mono speakers. I really cant believe they came up with this idea. I had a vostro 1500 which had good speakers very loud n clear. But this one i am very very dissapointed about it.
2. Initialy Dell came up with a 8 cell battery for this laptop but for some reason they dont offer that any more. I preffer dell just for one reason, coz most of its laptop got 6 cell or 8 cell battery. They do not have 6 cell for this version and 8 cell cost around extra £100 n the way they designed the 8cell battery is appalling.
3. The audio & mic input couldve been on the side (left or right), instead it is right under the mouse pad. If have the laptop in your lap with a headphones connnected, its quiet difficult to adjust.
4. The quality of the CAM isnt good enough. I thought it was 2MP. The vostro 1500 which i had earlier had a 1.3MP cam which is excellent.
5. The buttons just besides the Power button, for voice controll, isnt sensitive at all. I have press many times to reduce the volume.
For some one who travels for business purpose i would suggest just go for this laptop you wont be dissapointed. But if you preffer a higher battery capacity well I would suggest try looking for another laptop which gives you the 6 cell option or if you are happy to pay extra £100 well you can go for this version.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:syadav
(India)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Desktop like performance...

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered mine with i5 520 processor and 6 GB of RAM with NvDia graphics card. Its performance is comparable to a desktop. Boot up and shutdown times are under 10 secs. Even four to five hours of continuous operation with heavy workload does not heat it up; which is quite good for a machine of this size and configuration. Good Linux support. Ubuntu 10.04 works almost out of the box. SUSE 64 bit gets installed in a breeze.
The biggest con is of course the default 4-cell battery which doesn't last even 2 hours - a complete misfit for a business class machine. Another con is the lack of a proper manual. For instance I had to spend a lot of time searching web forums to get the backlit keyboard working. All it required actually was a certain key combination which isn't documented anywhere in the manual. Sound quality is poor, given its single speaker located on the left. Not suitable for those wanting to play a lot of music and movies.
Its a good machine overall if you want workstation class performance on your lap, at an affordable price.
Pros:network sysadmin, virtual machines, linux
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChiragB
Title:

Worst Vostro ever!

PostedAugust 26, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
DELL gave me this laptop in exchange for another laptop Vostro 1320. The touchpad is awful and the spacebar does not always click right. This is the worst laptop by DELL, I am surprised how they screwed up both the input devices, really annoying. I have spent so much time with DELL customer service that I have no energy left to complaint about this product.
+32points
41of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rquinley
(Sacramento, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Laptop but no documentation

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Based upon several PC magazine reviews I bought the Vostro 3300 with the i5-520M,Nvidia Geforce 310M card,and the extra 8 cell battery. So far I love the look, feel, and performance of this laptop. This is the basis for my 5 star rating. However, I give Dell zero stars for support. Dell provides no documentation for the 3300 other than 4 pages displaying each side of the laptop. I called Dell Support inquiring as to where I could obtain meaningfull documentation and the reply was something to the effect that all laptops are the same and documentation should not be necessary. THIS IS OUTRAGEOUS!!!! I did download a few User's Manuals for some older Vostro laptops which provided some help, but Dell really owes good documentation for each version of PC.
Pros:business when travelling
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 3300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Razavian
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Overally good, but now awesome

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros.
Strong Performance
Very light and portable
Cons.
Short on battery.
My machine gets hot! Really hot!
No Stereo loudspeakers
Review
I'm generally satisfied with my choice. I do almost everything with it. I do my university research and it performs nice (not as fast as my new desktop though).
I can even play games fairly good. I feel no problem with light and mid-range games, and little problem with demanding ones (FPS in GTA IV is 18).
My battery lasts for less than 2 hours with wireless on, and brightness at %100 which seems to be low.
Maybe 16:9 aspect ratio is not suitable for a business class laptop. I would be more happy if I could see more vertically instead of horizontally. There is nothing in the left or right of the screen most of the times! But what can we do??
For a laptop in its range, Vostro 3300 is one of the bests; it's very light and very fast but it gets hot like frying pan in bottom!
I give it 8.5 out of 10!
Pros:internet surfing, technical computation, Gaming, whaching movies
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
1 2 3