Customer reviews for Vostro 1720

Vostro 1720

Vostro 1720
4.286 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
4.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
25 out of 2793%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 1720
Review 1 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:manthorp3
(Brighton)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell are incredible !

PostedApril 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am a mac user and bought a vostro 17 for the primary use of autocad. I basically used the "basic" yet retro looking "frame" to house a very fast and graphics heavy pc. This was the cheapest way to do it.
I had a problem setting up the fingerprint software so i went online and someone from dell support went on my pc (from where ever they were in the world) and did the whole thing for me.
Dell pcs are brilliant and more importantly the service dell provide is brilliant.
The vostro 17 is a must buy for someone who wants a good spec laptop for a very low cost (compared with other laptops out there).
An make sure you get quidco ! They offer 5 % off the whole unit as cashback.... :)
Pros:autocad
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gazellina
(London)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent value for money

PostedApril 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this laptop a month ago, I had fixed a maximum budget and customise to the maximum I can afford, knowing which elements I could upgrade at a later stage.
Very fast processor, and excellent memory.
Cons: DVD reader/writer is eve so moisy!
Case is ugly. This is function over design. A choice to make when buying. Same specs as Mac was twice the price...
Pros:desktop replacement for graphics design
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:andy57s
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Vostro 1720

PostedMarch 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Nice Machine, Full of Features, Great Deal, Great Monitor
Cons:
Back Cover where Media Player/Speaker Touch Buttons are located doesn't sit Flat. It looks wavey (lower in middle than on ends)
Pros:Travel, outside on deck
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pressco
(Cornwall)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Vostro 1720

PostedMarch 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this to replace an ageing Toshiba Satellite Pro which had served me well for eight years.
I have a Dell MFP which has worked reasonably well for the last three years or so (although the toner is way too expensive) and I therefore decided to give Dell a try.
I have not used it much yet but I have to say I am impressed with the overall quality and ease of set up. It is a very pleasing laptop on the eye and has a nice wide screen so that I can get an excel spreadsheet completely in view without having to scroll across the screen.
It came with Windows 7 which I wanted and everything is working fine at the moment.
Wireless set up was a doddle and the Bluetooth connected to my mobile without a hitch.
If it continues to work well I shall replace my desktop too with a Dell.
Pros:home and business
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kenlhlp
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent box!

PostedMarch 1, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have only owned Dell computers. This is my 5th laptop and it exceeds my expetations. Had an issue with the driver for the included camera and Dell support fixed it within minutes online. The support is why I own dell. For a 17" screen it seems light, well layed out, and has all the features one would need. Also with windows 7 professional all my XP Software works well such a photoshop, frontpage, flash, etc.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lawrence11
(channel islands)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

upgrade

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was upgrading from an old dell laptop, which had given up the ghost and was unsure about gettig another laptop or to go desktop for expandability. In my searching online i kept coming back to the vostro 1720 (2.4 duel core, NVIDIA graphics card, 2 gig ram, intel wireless). I felt that this would give a sufficiant life span for the price compared to other deals else where, especialy as you can go up to 8 gig of ram. most other units i was comparing to would only take 4. so i believe that as time goes on you can up the perfmance a bit more when you need it. not sure if i will ever need all 8 gig tho.
i recived my order very quickly, surprisingly quick as it was not an off the shelf spec.
The moment i started using the 1720 i knew that it had plenty of go as it fired through every thing i threw at it. including light music and video editing.
After using for a couple of months now i have had no problems at all (other than getting around win 7).
my only criticisms are the same as others, mainly that the power plug and all usbs are on the sides of the unit, this means i now have wires both sides on the desk rather than all out the back(which i did preffere). also that the touch pad is located over to the left hand side rather than in the midle which does take a bit of getting used to.
All in all i feel this is a solid laptop that puts out good performance. i can't comment on portability and use on the move as mine has not moved since first use, but i dont think i would buy a 17 inch laptop if i wanted good portability, although the unit is rather slender in thickness. also a good point that most laptop users have forgoten about is that you get a full size key board with number pad.
in all a good buy and would recomend.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bpopfl
(florida)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

An excellent purchase

PostedFebruary 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this laptop for my son for Christmas. Read all the concerns from previous reviews, but have not had any of the negative items listed. My son loves this machine and has added autocad type software to the laptop. Has had no problems with software or hard ware or heat related issues. Great replacement for desk top computer.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JW1720
(Oregon, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Vostro 1720 a great laptop at a great price.

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been happy customer of Dell for a while now, having had a great experience with my Vostro 200 desktop. So naturally when it came time to get a laptop, something from the Dell Vostro line seemed like an obvious choice for me. I was looking for the most bang for the buck and definitely wanted something in the 17" size. The 1720 is light for its size and feels solid. The screen has a latch and hinges are nice and tight. The keyboard is nicely sized and it’s nice to have a numeric keypad. The negative thing about the keyboard is a slight amount of flex at the edges which makes the keys feel a bit “springy”, but overall keyboard feels nice and is easy to type on. I’ve seen comments about heat from these laptops but that doesn’t seem to be the case so far. My 1720 came with the Intel integrated video card so I’m probably not generating the internal heat like the Nvidia optional card. Display is nice and I’m glad I went with the matte display, but colors are not the most vibrant. But it’s easy to read more than adequate for a business oriented laptop. This laptop is quiet, but the DVD drive can get a little loud when it’s spinning up. The laptop is well equipped with plenty of USB ports and even includes a firewire port. It was hard to find info about this laptop on the internet, but overall I have to say I am very pleased and would easily recommend this machine to anyone looking for a low cost, well equipped workhorse of a laptop. Good job Dell for delivering a great product at a great price. Keep up the good work.
+101points
102of 103voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bhatch
(Brandon, Mb, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Sturdy, quality machines

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've just ordered a Vostro 1720 (Core 2 Duo, 4 Gb ram, 500Gb HDD, nVidia graphics) for myself. Might seem premature to do a review before even receiving the laptop, but I've used variations of the Vostro line previously (1320, and 1520). Been very pleased with the experience with those others - - no reason to expect any different with the 1720.
I don't generally travel much with the laptop, so for a desktop replacement, I went for the 17" screen 1720 (and it includes the full keyboard with number pad).
One thing I've read in other reviews that I'd like to restate here: What is it with all these laptop companies that are now putting every connector that you can think of, on the sides of the laptop ?? What was wrong with the old days, when power connection, external VGA, ethernet connection, etc , were all on the back ?? You could plug in everything, and not have the computer sitting on the desk looking like an octopus.
At least with the 1720, external VGA and ethernet (two of the larger, more ungainly connections) are out of the way, on the back of the machine. But if you look at some of the new Dell Vostro, or Dell Studio designs, more and more are coming out with no connectivity on the rear at all. Here's hoping that my 1720 will last me 3 - 5 years, and, just maybe, my next machine will be all wireless ?? ..... Brian.
Pros:business applications, internet connectivity, email communication
+7points
13of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JSturge
(America)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome!

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
A very sturdy laptop that is still running good. Not only great for work and school but also when modified it can play all games on the market in 2009 with high settings. Excellent resolution for movie viewing.
Pros:work, video, School, Gaming
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Turbowilly231
(Bowie md.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

BANG FOR THE BUCK !

PostedOctober 3, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
First off, this is a very good portable desk top.
I say that because it runs my solidworks and mastercam cad/cam software very well. Better than my old desktop by far. Great display. Full number pad. That was super important for me doing cad/cam work. Not too heavy. Lots of features and the best thing of all WINDOWS XP. NO PROBLEMS AT ALL ! I found a coupon code as another person had said to do. At the time it was 40% off. saved me well over 700 $. That allowed me to max it out for the screen,graphics card, battery and so on. Always check the internet with a coupon code search before buying this or anything to be honest. Some big dollars to be saved and be patient. I waited for a few weeks until the right deal popped up because they change all the time.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, cad cam work, picture/video
+132points
136of 140voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Insurservice
(West Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
We only use Dell in our small business. We just purchased a new Vostro laptop to replace a desktop. I am ready to upgrade another desktop and will again purchase another Vostro. Thanks for the great computer systems!
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, small business
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TomCo
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best all-rounder i have ever owned

PostedSeptember 12, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
my configuration is 2.2ghz core 2 duo 2 Mb L2 cache 800 mhz FSB CPU, 250 Gb 7200 RPM Hard Drive, 2 Gb DDR2 RAM, integrated Graphics, 6 cell battery and vista home basic(should of gone for premium to be eligible for windows 7 upgrade).
I was looking for a new laptop and like every one I wanted the best possible product for my money. The Vostro 1720 was cheaper than every other 17 inch laptop i looked at, and with slightly higher specs. The build quality is excellent and it feels very light for such a large notebook, i can lift it with one hand (just). The integrated graphics will play flight simulator 2004 smoothly on full graphics settings which is all i need in terms of gaming performance as i do not play any demanding games. The 6 usb ports come in very handy as does the 8 in 1 card reader. The screen is fantastic in terms of picture but it is very hard to open and i need two hands(one to stop the base lifting with the screen). The only other bad point I can see is the position of the power socket, as it is on the left side of the laptop rather than on the back.
Overall i think that the Vostro 1720 is a relatively powerful, solidly built Machine, and you won't find a better value 17 inch notebook on the market.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, web browsing, light gaming
+79points
81of 83voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HappyWithVostro
(Carlsbad, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Desktop Replacement

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased my Vostro 1720 after researching many makes/models. I am VERY glad that I decided on the larger screen, and therefore the FULL keyboard. I shudder to think of not having it now. I upgraded the screen, and the anti glare is still glossy, but readable in the daylight. It's very crisp. There were NO reviews of this model at the time I purchased it, but am glad that I took a chance with it. 6 USB ports are nice so I can choose where the cord connects, which varies depending on where I'm sitting. The wireless works fine. The only technical issue is getting my BlackBerry 8330 to sync via the Bluetooth connection...not a big deal, really. I rated it a 4 of 5 because I wish that there were the option of a lighted keyboard.
I also got on the bus when Dell was offering a $400+ discount...a nice little perk and motivator to pull the trigger. It's definitely worth full price though.
If you don't have to work on the plane, or carry your pc all day, get the 17 inch monitor and full keyboard!
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, home business
+62points
65of 68voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:usul2525
(Lousiana)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

vostro 1720 gamming

PostedAugust 31, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
First let me say this is not my first or only Dell product. My inspiron died after 3 years, so i upgraded to the vostro 1720. 4g ram, nivida9600 512mb, it looks nice and runs well with the expection of video games have clock issiues and run many times too fast even though I changed settings and every time I reboot the computer looses it ablity to find my network. windows media and intel por wirless are in a fight. I have made 4 calls to dell and let them take remote contro of my system. they have done all sorts of things that work for a while then it looses connestion and I have to preform system restoe which is anoying and is keeping me form enjoying this system. I will say I may continue to use dell but I will purchase form best buy seems you can get almost the same system and save hundreds plus you have a store to return your product too. Dell I need my internet to work wihtout problems!
Pros:Connecting with Friends, billing and work related projects, try gamming
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnathanAmber
(Tulsa, OK)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Thus far a grteat system!

PostedAugust 28, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
About CareerBiz's review... you should check your OS settings before blaming the manufacturer.
1. It is an integrated webcam... what do you expect? Mine works fine, even though I don't use it. I did test it.
2. OS related issue. Not hardware related.
3. OS related issue. Not hardware related.
4. It has a good bit of hardware... it is going to run warm. It doesn't burn you though.
5. Understood... I would rather have the powernnector on the back as well.
6. The volume buttons work... although it would be nice to be able to hold them down to quickly change the volume.
7. I like the number keypad... great for gaming. :D
A good part of your complaints is due to either an OS issue or hardware related error... reinstall the OS and see if that helps you. Other than that, check your memory page file size and check out the hardware afterward. My paging file size is at 4096 and I have no problems.
My review...
I wanted something to be able to do my programming, various things on the web, gaming when I was bored, etc.
Thus far I am very pleased with it.
Sure I wish it would run cooler, and the power plug is in a weird place, but it does exactly what I want it to do. It plays the latest games, like America's Army 3 with ALL the graphics maxed out, handle my coding programs as well as others, and it works rather well. I even encode MP3s and videos... and it works wonderfully.
BTW, I've been working on computers for over 17 years, fixing, replacing, troubleshooting... so I know what I am talking about when relating to those memory errors you're having CareerBiz.
-Johnathan
Pros:Connecting with Friends, business - programming, personal - gaming
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CareerBiz
(Melbourne, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Vostro, My 8th Dell, is a Letdown

PostedAugust 18, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would rather share this with a customer service department, but that's not something I can find at Dell unless I want tech support or want to buy something new. So, here goes:
First off, quite frustrating that the Vostro is the only 17" from Dell that can still be downgraded to XP so you have no options of laptops. I opted to soup this computer up with more of everything than I would need for my business so that I would have no speed or space issues anytime soon, but it was a waste of money.
Why I can't stand this computer:
1. Camera is terrible; has a drag/delay that makes it useless.
2. Despite being huge and fast in all ways I allegedly purchased, I get a low memory error if I have more than 6-8 documents open (Outlook emails, Word) and have to reboot a few times a day. My old Inspiron never had that problem and I've got less files and less software on this souped up machine.
3. Keys keep locking up and forcing me to reboot.
4. Dell has not figured out how to make a big laptop run cooler. Tis one is still hitting 60 degrees rather quickly like my old Inspiron didn't start to do for a year after purchasing. (I installed an internal thermometer to test it).
5. Power plug is on the side? You can't put a 'laptop' on your lap with that plug, can't rest it on the side without the CD-rom when it gets too hot...
6. What is with the volume button? Absolutely terrible and useless to try to turn up and down.
7. Great that it has a full keyboard but when you use 1/4-1/5 of the laptop spanse for a number pad, you do not create an even lap surface -- now the regular typing keyboard is pushed way off to the left. This is just crazy to adjust to. Get rid of the number pad and center the keyboard.
I have not even made my first payment yet and already am so very disappointed with this computer. I've had 5 Dell laptops (3 17" and 2 15") and 3 Dell desktops. While there are always problems here and there with technology, I have never experienced such a computer letdown. It's not fun to spend $1500 and regret it almost immediately! I basically find myself sitting at my desktop and trying to avoid using this thing due to all the aggravation. But, since there are no other Windows XP 17" options I am stuck this time!
Pros:running a business
+156points
168of 180voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nicassio
(Melbourne, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Vostro 1720

PostedAugust 4, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The 1720 is overall an excellent computer. The piano black finish is very sleek and the screen is bright and clear. The keys are on the small side, and they could be spaced out a bit better. The computer feels strong, but the keys themselves feel cheap under your fingers. 6 USB ports is great, as is the way all programs are pre-installed. My fingerprint reader doesn't want to recognise my finger tip, no matter how many times I swipe (yes, i did register my fingerprint first.) The computer is quick to turn on and off and doesn't get hot. The sound from the speakers is much better than I had anticipated. It would be nice if the battery life (as a percentage) would be displayed in the bottom right corner of the screen. For such a large screen, the icons and text shoul be bigger. This computer feels so light for its size. I was very happy with the Dell person who sold it to me. Yet, I was upset at how long it took to arrive. Due to a 'shortage of parts' there was a delay. I paid for it on the 15th and got it on the 3rd of the following month. Nearly 20 days is too long. The computer feels strong, solid and of good quality. It needs to have a webcam as standard. I couldn't find it among the options in 'Customize' my dell. I am very happy with my purchase, but less than happy with the time I had to wait for it to arrive.
Pros:work, leisure, university
+26points
29of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OrbitalThread
(London)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Mixed emotions

PostedJuly 25, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I must say first of all this laptop is great. I am freelance software developer and I work extensively with the laptop. However I have had a few issues with the laptop. 2 hard drive failures and 3 DC-in replacement. I must say that Dell support in the product replacement has been great. The biggest FLAW with this laptop is the position of the DC-in component. This should be placed at the back of the laptop instead of the side. C'mon Dell designers, you can design a great product, but fail with the small bits that actually create bigger problems.
Pros:software development
+15points
19of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 1720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:psheldon
(Perth, Western Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Solid State Drive Not Available

PostedJuly 23, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
On paper the Vostro 1720 looks like a perfect replacement for my ageing Inspiron 9300. It has the 1920x1200 resolution, latest CPU options, and optional Solid State Drive...except that whilst the SSD is listed as an option in the Tech Specs, you can't order it!
According to Dell support, it is not shipping with the Vostro yet. No reason given, nor any expected availability date. So if you are looking to put an SSD in your Vostro like I am...keep looking.
Pros:software development
-7points
14of 35voted this as helpful.
1 2