Customer reviews for Vostro 1710

Vostro 1710

Vostro 1710
4.143 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
4.1
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
12 out of 1486%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 1710
Review 1 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bulldog777
Title:

One heck of a laptop!

PostedMarch 3, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Again---thanks for offering XP PRO. And FAST SHIPPING !! I received the laptop almost a week before it was due to me. WOW!
Pros:Numeric keypad is a BIG plus for me. Fast power up time as well as shut down. Thanks for still offering XP PRO. That sealed by purchasing decision. Great value too.
Cons:If I have anything to gripe about, it's the weight. BUT--I knew that when I purchased it. It is a trade-off that I'm willing to overlook for what the laptop has to offer.
+67points
69of 71voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WABusinessUser
(Seattle WA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

6 month review

PostedFebruary 27, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was a refurbished unit but looked and performed like brand new. Outstanding value for the money
Pros:Delivered quickly with all parts/manuals Everything works as advertised
Cons:Heavy, but knew that. User is off to the left of center when using the full size keyboard. A little hard to get used to.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimMcC
Title:

I Like It!

PostedFebruary 27, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I have had the product for several months and am very pleased overall. Purchased with 2-160G HD's that are mirrored because of a devastating HD failure on a previous machine. I like the FULL size keyboard and numeric pad but it does shift your position on the palm rest to the left side of the machine when typing. I've seen a keyboard on a Dell Studio that was back lite and was jealous. The WUXGA screen and the 256MB NVIDIA video card are a good combination. I couldn't go back to an WXGA display. The DELL N wireless card provides higher connection speed and allows me substantially more range from the router than I have previously enjoyed. I like the way the CPU fan cycles on and off. It keeps the unit sufficiently cool when used on the lap. Good battery life (2-3 hours) and all the various ports I require.
Cons:It's a little heavy to carry around and the shinny top is a fingerprint magnet but that's the extent of my whine.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Timberline
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Happy Camper

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This notebook shipped much sooner than original estimate. That was a pleasant surprise.
Pros:Overall size, screen quality, numeric keypad, number and location of usb ports, sound quality, easy access to boot device options.
Cons:Shiny lid is visually nice but hard to keep clean. Black keyboard keys are hard to see in limited light conditions.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ToddJohnson
Title:

Pass on this one!

PostedJanuary 28, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
My 1710 was purchased through our IT department at my place of employment. On the very day I recieved it; after powering it down, It would not turn back on. The blue power light would come on and the fan would start, but it would not boot up. the only way to shut it down was to remove the battery. After several tries, you sometimes could get it to start. I know it wasn't a overheating issue because it wouldn't even boot up after starting it for a few seconds after sitting over night, then turning it off and trying to start it again. My IT department returned it to Dell and A new one was sent back; but I can tell this one was refurbished. The battery life is about an hour, and you can see the wear mark scuffs under the battery from it being removed and replaced, and other "wear with use signs" on the unit. It bothers me to know that we spent top dollars with Dell (laptop, 19" monitor, docking station and blue tooth keybord with mouse) to get this system, and they send us a refurbished model back. Never again with Dell.....
Pros:17" Screen
Cons:Cheaply made. Mine had problems from day one.
+29points
33of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:farmboy2
(san antonio, texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

best purchase ever

PostedJanuary 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:nice big machine capable of handling alot of functions. would highly recommend product!
Cons:dont like the cd port. would rather have one that opens and push close instead of just inserting cd.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gbwcpa
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedJanuary 12, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Large display and keyboard. Excellent Value.
Cons:I thought there was no trial software but it came with McAfee Antivirus. No biggie.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MSSS

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Picture Quality is great. All features are working properly
Cons:Sent the wrong cord and adapter originally, was supposed to be here in 2 days and it has been five and haven't seen it yet.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:houston08
(Houston)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Do not buy

PostedJanuary 5, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
There was no user manual installed nor in hard copy form.
Pros:The full size keyboard and numbers pad was a plus. The best I can say for this machine is that Dell did not argue when I asked to return it.
Cons:It is a piece of cheap plastic junk made in Malasia! There was no CD/DVD drive as paid for and the Express card slot just fell out when opened; then the eject stem would not retract into the laptop. The AC adaptor cords would not stay connected to themselves or the laptop. Dell's quality has declined so dramatically that I will never purchase another of their products until they move assembly and manufacture back to the US.
+44points
53of 62voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LilBusiness
(Mountain View, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

New primary computer

PostedNovember 17, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
A good portable primary work computer, although I may regret this on business trips.
Pros:Built in ten-key pad, 17" monitor.
Cons:Bigger and heavier than most laptops.
+28points
29of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rbhoel
(Tampa, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Vostro 1710 review

PostedOctober 14, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Another key is the excellent service and support reputation of DELL.
Pros:It has all the features I was looking for and I only had to add a couple of other features that were not standard. Key in this case is the availability of Windows XP as my company is not planning on making the transition to Vista until absolutely necessary or another, better OS comes along.
Cons:there are no cons that I can think of.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:david007
(Irvine, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Two Left Speakers -

PostedJuly 28, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wish there was a mute button next to the volume down button.
I wish the touch pad was closer to the keypad, but this is better than some of the other 17" laptops I've tried.
Pros:1920x1080 17" Display (my choice) - Excellent Finger Print Scanner (my choice) - Excellent Door-less DVD drive and an Eject button that never gets hit automaticalle - Excellent Battery life - Very good (I got the big battery-My Choice!)
Cons:1) The left and right speakers are both on the left side of the laptop. (not my choice) Both right next to each other, both on the left side of the middle. I'm not using this as a multi-media machine but it sure was discouraging to me when I figured out that there were two left speakers. Please know this befor you buy.
+102points
107of 112voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KstateWildcat
(Seattle/Tacoma, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Very good price, delivery and options

PostedJuly 23, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I hope it lives up to Dell's reputation of superior products.
Pros:As noted above this notebook has a lot going for it. So far it seems to have very good battery life, the full keyboard is a plus as I intend for it to replace my desktop, boots and loads fast and generally speaking is a very good buy.
Cons:It is heavy and big (won't fit in my existing case, but this was expected with the full keyboard), plastic case is very easily smeared and I wonder about the durability. I am not crazy about the slot loading for the DVR drive as it will not allow you to use the mini disks found in the newer cameras and some software. I could not get the SD card reader to work and cannot use my compact flash from my camera in it.
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 1710
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JackintheBoro
(Murfreesboro, TN)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good value, but lacks some things

PostedJuly 17, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I like the ability to add a fingerprint reader and webcam. Lots of USB ports. Integrated SD card reader. Full size keyboard nice. Battery lasts about 2 hours or so without cooling pad attached.
Cons:Should be able to have mutli-card reader, not just SD. Many cameras use microdrives. Keyboard has volume controls on it, but no MUTE button. Plastic case leaves a bit to be desired. My previous Latitude's case seemed beefier. Touch pad musch poorer than my 4.5 year old Latitude. Also need buttons above and below touch pad, not just below. The buttons on it are too small.
+52points
55of 58voted this as helpful.