Customer reviews for Vostro 1540

Vostro 1540

Vostro 1540
3.75 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
3.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
5 out of 862%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 1540
Review 1 for Vostro 1540
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vikram15011984
(New Delhi)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Complete Value for Money, Awesome Product

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have bought this laptop in april 2012, & i will share my experience since then as i am writing this review after using this laptop for 3 months,
This is a great product, and let me tell you the best part is its price.. its complete value for money, i have only upgraded RAM from 2GB to 4GB, my HD WLED screen was faulty since the day i have got it, it might be my bad luck as it happens rarely,
But thanks to dell Next Business Day Warranty & complete cover policy which protects product against any physical damages, Again you would only find such warranty in dell.
I called dell, and the next day engineer was at my place to replace it with new screen, & the screen is anti-glare HD-WLED which you would hardly find in any other laptop in this price range, which is actually very useful when you are using laptop for a long period as it doesn't give any strain on eyes..
I am a technical person & from IT background & Profile & I use this laptop alot, you can say it's almost ON all the time, I chose this laptop only because this is is the best available in the market in such a price range & with great performance believe you me..
i am loving this laptop and i am Extremely Satisfied with the product... thanks dell for making such a wonderful product at such price range,
I have suggested this laptop to my friends & 2 of my friends have actually purchased it & they both are Completely Satisfied. so its my advice to you all that don't be in any doubt, just grab it before dell stops manufacturing this model.
Pros:studying, movies & songs, web browsing, googling...
+25points
27of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 1540
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Disco
(Indiana)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

All I Need and Then Some.

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my very first laptop. First of all you can connect to the internet with Wi-Fi. This laptop has a CD/DVD drive which is better than some laptops that needs an external drive. There are no extras that need to be bought for product functionality. A 300GB hard drive is plenty of room to last a while. The widescreen display looks great and the camera works well! Has an HDMI and VGA for setup with multiple displays. Three USB 2.0 ports allow for use of any such type of device. Plus it has Windows 7, and 3 years of Trend Micro Antivirus included for free!
Pros:fun and games, internet, music and movies, online college, social media
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 1540
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:deborahgipson
Title:

dbiagas

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I enjoy the use of my laptop. The vostro/1520, It's an life saving must have computer. I have no trouble with this laptop. It produces everything that I need. From downloading, browsing, picture cam and more. I would highly recommend this laptop.
Pros:home, streaming video, internet search, downloading, facebook interacting, resume upload, picture upload, Travel, research, software development
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 1540
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bhupendra K
Title:

Good Machine & value for money

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell 1540 is a good machine & great value for money. The configuration is best matched to the demand. No idea about Dell service yet, but I hope it won't be required.:-)
Great deal for me!
Pros:office docs, e-mails, softwares, videos
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 1540
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:aswin
Title:

Buy this

PostedNovember 28, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
every thing is good.. but battery life somewhat dull comes 2hrs per charge.. fyn keyboard with out extra keys like numpad... i got new keys(rupee,euro).. but i got less than the online price.. love u dell
Pros:software development, video
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 1540
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Doug001
Title:

Touch Pad Awful

PostedNovember 7, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a vostro previously for 3 years. Great computer. Decided to get new computer and stuck with Vostro. The new vostro looks good, is lighter and still has great screen. Unfortunately I have had some major issues:
1. Excel is not working correctly. Can not use all buttons when I open up certain files. They act like they are protected, but they are not.
2. Motherboard went out in 3 months. Unacceptable.
3. Biggest problem is touch pad is huge and comes up to bottom of space bar. The edge of the palm of my hand overhangs the touch pad and registers touches as I type. This "touching" moves my cursor all over the place making it impossible to work effectively. I do not like this computer. Touch pad design ruined it.
Pros:work
+36points
50of 64voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 1540
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:marymack1
Title:

soft top

PostedOctober 19, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased vostro 1540 2 weeks ago. The screen is already cracked. The top is so soft (rubber) you can push it in and crack the screen. This is not how my screen broke. I put it into a bag opened it back up 3 hours later and the screen was cracked. Dell service was great and came out to me within 24 hours. I think this one has to be sent back. Poor design!
+56points
58of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 1540
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ajay N
Title:

Sense and Simplicity!!

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
A nice cool tech spec and simple model offering a wide range of feature which will be useful for our daily routine.
The camera is ok(Can be made better quality), while the rest of the features of this model is amazing.
The best part is that the laptop's speed of operability and its classic and subtle look is a nice touch and its budget friendly.
Overall: Good and Satisfied!!!
Pros:software development travel streaming video
+141points
147of 153voted this as helpful.