Customer reviews for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)

Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)

Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
4.25 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
11 out of 1292%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Review 1 for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AnhYeuEmMaimai
(Twin Cities, MN)
Title:

Nice machine overall

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great little machine that is light weight and easy to carry. Got it for my wife as a basic internet machine.
System arrived in a rather small box with the follwing
Laptop
OS DVD
Application DVDs
Power cord with US plug
Initial impressons:
Once again Dell did not dissapoint as machine was in a bag and properly secured in the box.
However, upgradability of basic components leaves a lot to be desired as you have to remove keyboard to get to the ram and the entire palmrest to get to the HDD.
Setup:
Turn machine on and enter user data and 3 minutes you are at the desktop. Machine was fairly up to date only requiring about 60 updates to bring it current.
Speed:
Since it is a first gen Core i3, I was not expecting much but overall the machine is prety speedy handling HD content playback and basic duties fairly well
Features: for the price on the business side you are hard pressed to beat what it offers once you factor in the support part of the package
i3
2GB ram (upgraded to 6GB)
320GB hdd (upgraded to 500GB)
Intergrated video
Wireless N and BT 3.0
Island keyboard (I think is is great)
Build quality:
Dell is really good at giving you better build quality than the price suggests with the Vostro line and this machine is no exception. The rubberized top and bottom give good grip and the hinges are a nice solid feel.
Bottom line: If you want a relatively light machine that does not break the bank, this is it.
Pros:chat, internet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NiteshKumawat
Title:

Best Laptop VOSTRO 1440

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Best laptop in this value.Battery performance also very good.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HappyWithLaptop
(San Francisco Bay Area)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Vostro 1440

PostedApril 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a laptop computer as a secondary machine at home, and for occasional travel. The 14" screen is very good, and keeps the size of the laptop reasonable. I did not need to spend twice as much for an "ultra-book" since weight was not a major factor for me, nor was extra-long battery life. As it turns out, the weight of this system is fine for my purposes, and battery life is adequate. Built-in CD/DVD is very handy. This system was inexpensive and has performed very well.
Pros:Travel, portable system for use around the house, software development
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ankit8885
Title:

Cool compact good for on the go.....

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It been 3 months it works perfectly fine......looks good very compact...... I love the top rubber grip perfect for on the go people....
Pros:Travel, data, streaming
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jdbj
(pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent product for its price

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am quite pleased with this purchase. I bought this with the celeron p4600 processor. I didn't like the size of 15 inch laptops so I bought this one since it was much cheaper than the 13 inch laptops on the site. I use it for college and playing civilization 5 among other things and it works well. I am not heavy into multitasking so the celeron works well for me. I also like how light weight is and I absolutely love the case design. So hard to find a case that is anti smear/fingerprints under 400 dollars. I also like having 3 usb ports as opposed to two ports on many lower end laptops. I am also pleased with the internal cooling fan. I did have a problem adding memory, my keyboard would not fit back into place correctly. Dell sent me a new keyboard free of charge and it took two days to arrive. The replacement was easy to install, I had never had a laptop with the memory modeuls under the keyboard before. Thats the one complaint I have with the laptop, is the memory modules being under the keyboard as opposed to under a small compartment on the bootom of the laptop. I highly recommend this to anyone who uses it for basic uses and some minor gaming and I plan on buying Dell from here on out.
Pros:college/office programs, civilzation 5, music downlaod/play/burning, stream hd movies/videos
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jpwisconsin
Title:

Simple / Functional for Travel

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
First I am not a technical kind of person, but understand the basics of operations, syching with the exchange server, EVO, and Transformer tablet. Typically when I am traveling for business I am looking for avenues that are quick and easy to use.
This product is one very simple, pretty quick, and very functional for traveling. And I travel via car and planes. The touch pad is a little touchy but one feature that I like is that you can turn it on or off right from the keyboard and I have mine set to turn off if I plug in an external mouse. I tend to drag my hands while typing which causes me to use move the mouse. And if any of you have traveled and need to fire up the laptop in the car or on a plane, you all know you there are times that it's not optimal key boarding.
Skyping works great, sound is quality isn't the greatest but it's loud. My last Laptop was a Sony Vaio and the sound was good but the volume was low even at the highest settings. Screen is good and quality is pretty good. I like that the USB ports are on both sides not just louded on one side like the VAIO.
The only negative that I have is when keyboarding the sound and feel of the keys is a little cheap feeling. I was a little surpised by that but it's minor and I know that some of it is because I am a heavy typer.
If you are a business traveler or just looking for something quick and easy to use I would recommend this product. If you are looking for a laptop that you are going to be using as your main pc I would look at investing a little more money into a more robust laptop. I have a desktop at the office so when I'm off the road that is my main computer. For the simple business travler to stay in touch with the office and clients, it's a very inexpensive way to stay in touch!
Pros:businss travel, video conferencing
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stcr
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

I like it but....

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
When I opened the package I was impressed by how small and neat it looked. Booting up was a breeze and it didn't take me long to get into the usual with 1440. Surfing, typing documents, streaming videos, downloading software, etc. I have not received the free business tool kit download as yet (maybe I haven't figured out how to do it as I'm not very tech savvy). My only issue with this laptop is that I found that the touch-pad responds a bit lazily at times. Also the laptop starts slowing down after 2-3 hours of constantly being on it. Rebooting seemed to help speed things up.
Overall its a good deal given the price. If I could have afforded a more expensive laptop, I would have but this 1440 is what I can afford which works well enough for the purpose it was selected for.
Pros:surfing, typing, streaming videos
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Coub
(Memphis, TN)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Once again, Dell didn't disappoint.

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this laptop for me and my mother to share about a month ago. It arrive swiftly in environmentally friendly packaging. When I removed it from the box, I was very surprised at the looks of the machine. It was sleek, despite the ribbed back of the computer. The display quality was absolutely radiant. I was more than pleased.
I was a little skeptical about only having 3GB of RAM and the 2.1~GHz processor, but this little machine has a lot of power. It's virtually silent, and the battery life is good. I would recommend this to nerds and normal computer users alike.
Pros:Travel, word processing, media/design, internet browsing
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chachundar
(NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

vostro 1440

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
i bought this laptop on thanksgiving, it's works fine i've got intel i3 core.
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 23, 2012
Hi chachundar,

Thank you for your reviews.I'm glad to hear that your laptop is up and running .I hope you are enjoying and wish you good luck .

Thank you for choosing Dell .
Have a good weekend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:akoirala
Title:

Its Good but....

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I brought this notebook few months ago. It is the best laptop that I know because its cheap and it has a lot of function which other have eg: 4 gb of ram Intel i3 processor. When it was brand new it was a little slow but I formatted this laptop with OS given in it and now its super Fast.
Pros:everyday and anything and anywhere
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HRMisHere
Title:

This computer is my baby!

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ok so I brought this computer about a month ago and I must say that I'm in love with it! It's small, easy to carry around with you and it's fast. The only thing I would add to this computer is that I'd make the keys light up s that it'll be easier to see when typing in the dark, but that's not even a big deal at all. Even though I've only had it for a month, it hasn't given me any problems at all and i'd gladly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a laptop
+45points
45of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 1440 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jtc0990
(az)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not satisified

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laptop over a year a half ago. It included the dual core Intel 6570 and 2gb DDR2. Not until last month did most of the keyboard's keys become slowly unresponsive. Every couple of key punches, certain keys won't register. It has become a major nuisance, especially in class while taking notes.
When I first bought this laptop, I noticed the keys would leave a mark in the screen when it was folded up. Meaning, when I had the laptop in my bad, I would open it when I needed to and the outlines of the keys were left stuck to the screen.
The laptop did what it needed to, when I first purchased it. But since recently the keyboard stopped working and my warrenty ended, I decided it was necessary to let users know of the unreliable product. Spend $50-$100 more on a better laptop to save yourself troubles like mine!
Pros:School, business
+205points
246of 287voted this as helpful.