Customer reviews for Vostro 1320

Vostro 1320

Vostro 1320
3.516 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
3.5
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 29
15 out of 2462%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 1320
Review 1 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ryan
Title:

OK..So.So

PostedAugust 18, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Typing with the same laptop, its performance is ok. Better on weight size and battery backup, screen comparatively small but laptop effectively the same size of that of 14". Speakers are real turn off.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sagi
(Philadelphia, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nothing outstanding and a bit on the heavy side

PostedMarch 10, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got the notebook today was not too impressed.
For a 13" it seemed heavy and I think the bezel around the screen is very big.
Keyboard is good size and comfortable to type, screen looks good, cover seems like it will attract fingerprints and scratches.
Good performance on web surfing - didn't get a chance to stress it yet but I have a feeling it will do just fine.
A bunch of USB ports which is good things, multimedia controls are a plus but on par with all other notebooks out there. Good touchpad, wireless, love the thin power supply.
My biggest disappointment with this model is that is not much lighter or smaller than a 14" 5 year old laptop it is replacing.
+15points
18of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sonitude
(Weymouth)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Just works how a PC should - brilliant!

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop. Admittedly, I specified it quite high but it runs like a dream for a well spent £1000 (including support).
The specification is:
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9550 @ 2.66GHz
x64-based (64-bit)
Windows 7
Memory 8GHz
HDD 320GB
For the first time ever, I am able to close programs instead of leaving them in the background, now in the knowledge that when I need to reopen them, I won't have to wait for 10-30 seconds for them to load. Photoshop loads in 2-6 seconds! It's great on the move too, battery lasts 4 hours in general use. Screen is a workable size and the square cornering of the chassis I actually like, giving it a solid business-like feel. Truelife screen is good (could be brighter but it's no problem).
All in all, if you want a business laptop you can rely on, you'll find it hard to find a better 8G memory machine in my opinion. I am incredibly pleased I took the plunge on this purchase.
PS. Ordered on 27/12/09. Built in China. Delivery stated as 20/1/10. Actually delivered to me in UK on 6/1/10 ... two weeks early amidst Christmas, New Year and much English snow!
Pros:general office - ms office 2010 visio project, design work - adobe design premium, mindmapping - mindmanager pro, music recording - cubase 5
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SMUK
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

so far so good

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I spent a long time considering which laptop to get, looking at the Dell range and others, Lenovo, Toshiba were main contenders. The Vostro won out because it was the best value for money - I got the 'advanced package' for the Vostro 1320.
It's a solid build and just light enough to carry around. A nice looking laptop and, yes, the shiny cover does gather fingerprints easily but not a problem unless this sort of thing really gets to you. The speakers aren't great but sound is fine if you use speakers or headphones.
I was worried about time it would take to arrive but finally received the laptop 8 days after ordering. One great annoyance was that the adapter didn't work! After taking a deep breath, a bit of patience and a phone call to customer support, I got a adapter the next day delivered by courier.
One thing I notice is that you have to force devices into one of the USB ports. Apart from that, so far so good.
+56points
59of 62voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:varunag
(kanpur, india)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

awesome

PostedNovember 23, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
i own a Dell 1520, 2.2ghz, 2 gbram. this machine is awesome.
i owned a desktop with c2d processor and 1GB ram. i use heavy software on windows platform, and my desktop used to cry(actually the fan cried). anyways.. i needed a portable machine, and i preferred a matte finish for my laptop plus a anti-glare screen. so i had no options other than dell or thinkpad. vostro was cheap in comparison, but had all the features i needed.
i would say i took the decision very quickly, not much research. i don't regret. this machine is awesome. my desktop is packed now. though this is a bit huge for being portable, but i don't mind, since i watch movies at times... and the large screen helps. :)
i like the way the laptop remains quite, in comparison to my desktop, and i love the keyboard. this machine can really run long, without making much noise. and by long i mean really long. i could run a matlab code for 10 hours straight-no joke. the only thing i don't like is the weight, otherwise its a great machine, for the price i paid.
cheers!
Pros:software development, education
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kliu0x52
(.us)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Perfect

PostedNovember 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
It seems that the only laptops where you can still get anti-glare (matte) screens these days are Dell Latitudes, Dell Vostros, and Lenovo ThinkPads. Glossy screens are unbearable and are simply a deal-breaker for me. I hope Dell never, ever drops the option for anti-glare screens. Of these, Vostros offer the best value for the price. The 1320 is especially nice; not unwieldy like the 15" machines (you can actually these these on a plane and not feel cramped) but not too small to be uncomfortable. The design, with the sharp lines and elegant look (nothing like the garish things you see at Best Buy) is also a welcome relief from most laptops. As a big bonus every processor that Dell offers with this, even the lowest T6670, supports VT, which means that XP Mode on Windows 7 works properly (and makes software development/testing that much easier). It's perfect.
Pros:software development, Travel
+110points
121of 132voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SujitMahapatra
(NJ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Nice Small Laptop

PostedOctober 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I do not agree with people who say that it is light. it is not light, though not very heavy. The Battery Life is good, I have been using this for past two years now. The Major complaint i had is with the Vista OS it has, not the machine itself. I would definitely recommend it to my friends.
Pros:internet browsing, chatting, movies/videos
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dugl
(PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good value

PostedOctober 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's a fast business class notebook with a 2.4 ghz cpu, 7200 rpm HD, 1066 fsb and less costly than most other machines in it's class. If you want gaming, music or multi-media....buy a laptop that is intended and designed for entertainment.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:spvAFC
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very Disappointed

PostedOctober 30, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
The graphics & screen on this computer are excellent - but unfortunately it's totally pointless as the amp/speaker(s) - I think there's only one - have such a low output that you can't hear the audio. So it's useless for films or music on the go. Even with headphones & volume on max you can just about hear it in a quiet environment - but on a plane,train or bus forget it. So I spent money to get great graphics & Dell cost cut the audio so much as to render it useless unless connected to external amplified speakers - & this is supposed to be a laptop i.e. PORTABLE machine !
Otherwise the machine seems to perform ok - but I insisted on XP (at extra cost) so at least no Vista issues.
The build quality is not great, especially the fit on the left side panel. The speaker jack is not a good fit and needs twiddling to connect properly and the memory card reader is a poor fit and a nightmare to get SD cards in or out and I reckon will not last very long before expiring.
The weight of the computer is far more than i had been expecting as is the bulk.It is difficult to carry or hold - the shiney cover doesn't help.
The shiney cover is a silly idea and scratches instantly and the square look of it with sharp corners is very old fashioned - so not impressive when you pull it out of your bag in front of customers.
I wish I'd bought somthing else
+27points
35of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sofie
(uk)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

awful performance

PostedOctober 24, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
i have had this for about a year, in which my hard drive has crashed twice causing me to lose everything. the keyboard buttons fell off on a couple of occasions.and also the shiney cover is full of scratches even though it is cared for. the batter supplied is terrible and does not last. recently i have been getting messages to say that i should purchase a new battery since this is nearing its useful life.the materials used in the production are very cheap which gives il an overall cheap plastic look.
overall i would never recommend this product to anyone.
+19points
27of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:linuxer
(Tasmania)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

No problems

PostedOctober 11, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
After 4 months daily use I have no real complaints. On Day One the OS was replaced with Ubuntu 9.04, which means lighter CPU and memory use. The fan hardly ever comes on. Once a week the 1320 goes travelling and it's OK as a portable, but as other reviewers have said, the sharp corners are a design fault. A plus is the bright, clear display. All up, a good Linux laptop that Dell Australia should be selling with Linux pre-installed.
Pros:databasing, image editing, web design, email and web work
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vinay
(New Delhi)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not worth the money

PostedOctober 8, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
For past 6 months I'm using Vostro 1310 with a addon NVIDIA 128 MB Graphic accelarator which is equivalent to 1320.
The model has more cons than pros. To list a few
(i) I had gone for 13.3" Screen thinking it would be a light system (<2kg). But its as weighty as any other 14/15" system at more than 2.5 kg
(ii) It is having mono speaker, so you would loose out most of the sound of stereo music. Moreover, the volume is hardly audible even at maximum. In short, you cannot use laptop for watching movies or listening musics. Even if you plug a earphone, the hollywood movies are hardly audible - being stereophonic.
(iii) The shiny front surface is very prone to scratches. So, in few months its apperance would be worst than any old system - even if you take extra care.
(iv) The Nylone case which comes in default with laptop is so short on space that after putting laptop, the case has no space to even accomodate its power adapter. A real curse when you are on move - for which a laptop is basically designed.
(v) In last six months its motherboard broke down twice and memeory once - speaks of the built quality.
The throughput of system is average with T8300 Core2 2.4 GHz processor, 3 GB RAM, dedicated NVIDIA graphic card, & 320 GB SATA HDD.
Overall, the system is inconvenient and not worth the money.
Pros:office applications data analysis internet
+47points
48of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ko1013
(US)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Loving it

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really enjoy my new Vostro. Speed, boot up time to get online, toggling between programs & windows are all great. Battery life is great right now too. My only complaint is it isn't that easy to open bc it doesn't have an indentation or a "clasp" or hook closure, so you have to wedge your finger between the screen and the keyboard to open it. Otherwise, fantastic machine!
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Henriette
(Costa Mesa CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

It's a 10 on my list...

PostedOctober 2, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am on my 3rd dell laptop over the past 10 or so years. My first two were Latitudes and they worked great. The 2nd one is still going strong but i felt that I should get something newer (trying to help out the world economi situation :D
One person complained about no camera. Well if she would have ordered the laptop with the camera it would have had it. Mine does... I knew what I bought and I knew what i bought it for, and it is just perfect for exactly that. You can't go buy a "checp" computer or something that sounds like a good deal if you don't know what to look for in relation to your needs. Just doesn't work like that. I see no reason for buying something that is not suitable when shopping on dell's website, you can actually chat with Dell as you shop to ensure you get what you need. Anyway, this computer is just perfect if you are not expecting it to be a gamming computer, or a Engineering computer with elaporate drafting programs... I can only recommend it...
Pros:Connecting with Friends, word excel power point, web design pictures etc.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dennis
(Sydney)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

No camera

PostedSeptember 30, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
After company decided to purchase this type of notebook, the bosses finally regret budget is not the first consideration when compare to business grade notebook.
It's not light, indeed no camera, how to connect with friends ? plug an external one looks ugly and loose, during meeting suddenly fans run up making some fuzzy noisy, please consider putting a camera and a better quality fan.
Pros:leave on desktop
-10points
8of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RAHUL001
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Dell vostro 1320 poor build, Hot left palm rest

PostedAugust 25, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this system recently with the spec of Core 2 duo p8700, 4gb ram, 320gb H/D, Nvidia 256mb graphic card,
The quality of the system is very cheap can be break easily, after use of 20minutes left palm rest gets too hot makes difficulty to type anything on keyboard, I am about to return this product.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances
+43points
51of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:comnerd24
(Berwick)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

reivew on 1310

PostedAugust 20, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ive been using this for 4 months now and haven't had a single problem with it. No heating problems, Great keyboard layout, and plenty of usb ports. the Laptop might not look great but i got it cheap.
only problem i had with this the speakers are very bad. my 2 10 year old speakers sound alot better than this.
besides the one drawback this laptop has been very reliable and i would recommend it to anyone as long as they are not using it for the speakers.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, School, internet
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Noby39
(Dorset UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Vostro 1320 does the job

PostedAugust 12, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had an old, heavy Toshiba laptop that served me well for about 8 years. I wanted a more modern laptop, and having had several Dell desktops - most recent is a Vostro 410, but the older Dell desktops are still going strong - I decided to buy a new Dell laptop. The Vostro 1320 fits my bill, weighing half the Toshiba's weight. The 1320 processor zips along, the laptop has very good battery life, a decent-sized HDD, plenty of memory and runs Windows XP Pro (a Dell option). I read reviews of the 1310, a few of which were less than glowing. One reviewer said that the 1320 looked dated, not sleek and glitzy. Surely it's what's beneath the skin that counts - substance and not appearance. The 1320 might not win a fashion parade - it's probably not anorexic enough for some people. But for normal requirements, and for what I want, it does the job.
Pros:business presentations, general business needs on the move, university teaching
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BDMOhio
(Canton, OH)
Title:

Awesome...perfect laptop!!

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought a Dell 1320 Vostro from Dell Refurbished website. I got a Core Duo Processor, 4GB RAM, webcam, mic, N wireless card, DVD RW drive, Truelife 800x1200 display, 250GB hard drive with the free-fall sensor, and got it for $549!! It came in absolutely perfect condition, and I got free shipping, as well. It came with the same one year warranty, all the software, etc. It would have been about $800 new. The laptop is very fast, and the keys are very responsive. The screen is very clear, and I prefer the "matte" finish that the Vostro has on the keyboard. The only thing I could say that would make the 1320 Vostro any better would be to have the outside shell in matte black, too, as the shiny finish easily scratches over time. Other than that, I love it because it is a no-nonsense laptop that does what it needs to do, and does it very fast!! No extra bells and whistles to pay for, and no flashy colors that reminds me of a big piece of junk that they are pushing out these days...seems like most laptops have shiny colors, and a bunch of useless programs that do nothing but slow the laptop down...my two cents...thanks, Dell!!
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, surfing, movies, email
+31points
37of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 1320
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mattyb878
(Ontario, Canada)
Title:

It Died

PostedJuly 20, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
First time, and last time purchaser of Dell. After 17 months of using the Vostro notebook it died. The graphics card went on it. Lost everything as the LCD would not function properly so I couldn't see anything.
I would side against ever getting a laptop from any manufacturer that has NVIDIA Graphics. 17 months, that's all I got out of it - $1500 bucks down the drain. The computer was out of warranty of course so I couldn't get it fixed.
Repairs was a new motherboard at $400 (as the graphics card is integrated) - not even worth the frustration.
Now I'm struggling to figure out what in the world I'm going to do.
+31points
52of 73voted this as helpful.
1 2