Customer reviews for Vostro 1220

Vostro 1220

Vostro 1220
4.217 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
4.2
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
21 out of 2391%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 1220
Review 1 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JCseven
(Hartford, Connecticut)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Title:

Great Laptop!

PostedJune 30, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like my Dell Vostro 1220. I had been doing a lot of research of other laptop manufacturers and various sizes. I have bought Dell computers several times previously and have always been very happy.
This little computer is no exception - it's super fast and works like a charm. I went all out and got the P8600 processor, 8GB ram, 128GB solid state hard drive, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, Dell Wireless 365 Bluetooth, and the Intel WiMAX/WiFi Link 5150 1/2 MiniCard for Vostro. Plus it comes with all the other great hardware like the 8X DVD+/-RW, 1.3 Mega Pixel camera, etc, which would cost you a good buck or two from anyone else.
My computer doesn't feel hot, the LCD display is very clear, the whole machine is so quiet and the sound quality is very good with my headphones on. Without the headphones on the sound quality from the one speaker is low, but in my opinion still acceptable for this size machine. I got the Cherry Red finish and although it does pick up fingerprints, they really aren't too noticeable unless you are looking for them. The battery and Optical Drive do add to the weight but it I didn't think it was too bad - mine weighs 4.32 pounds. Most of the time I will use my laptop while plugged into an electrical outlet, so battery life was not that important to me. I also purchased the Logitech V450 NANO cordless LaserMouse since I use a mouse quite a bit, and it works really well.
This system hooked up to my wireless router and bluetooth devices seamlessly. So far anything I've asked it to do, like configure Outlook Express with my email accounts and install various software and devices its handled so smoothly and worry free.
I could go on, but lets just say that I'm really impressed with this SWEET little machine. That saying, "You get what you pay for." In my case, Dell delivered exactly what I wanted!
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GusFer
(Houston, TX)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very compact and robust notebook

PostedMay 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is true that is a little bit heavy and it fells short in fine details but it is a very robust machine.
I loaded with Adobe Photoshop CS5, MS Office 2003 and works very nice and fast over the Windows 7 professional 64 bit system.
I really recommend this notebook if you are looking for something smaller than a regular notebook but with enough juice to run heavy products. If you are looking something light and small just for surfing, this equipment is not for you.
Pros:streaming video, photo processing, Travel
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stretchie
(Bristol)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Brilliant

PostedMay 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a laptop to replace my terrible Acer Aspire. This was/is the perfect laptop for me. Small, sleek and so light, it even fits into my handbag! It was important to me that I get a small laptop but that still had a DVD drive and all the other bells and whistles, and this one has it all. There are no other small laptops this good in this price range.
The only downside is that the speaker is very quiet. You can't really stream radio or TV without needing additional speakers/headphones. But to be honest, this laptop is so perfect anyway, that I really don't care! :)
Pros:Travel, streaming video/audio, small business
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AnitafromTroy
(Troy, MI)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Perfect size and power for busy students

PostedMay 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this notebook. I started law school a year ago. At that time, I had a heavy, large HP laptop, and considered buying a netbook just for the ease of transporting the device around. When I killed the motherboard on my HP, I thought, "I need a notebook that is not much bigger than a netbook, but has a full-sized keyboard and plenty of power." This Vostro perfectly fills the bill.
Not only would I recommend the Vostro 1220, I did so, and my fellow student also is happy with his, after giving his netbook to his wife.
Yep, the sound really IS bad. I have an ultra-portable Altec-Lansing speaker that I'll plug in when I want to listen to something. It's not that big of a deal, given the other strengths of the Vostro and the fabulous price.
Pros:word processing, music storage/manage mp3, web surfing
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:A1ex
(Purdue)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I really liked my Inspiron 700m...

PostedMay 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have an Inspiron 700m (12" screen) that I love. It's just gotten old (bought it in 2004) and slow. I made the switch to Windows 7 64-bit and love it!
The Vostro 1220 is pretty good. The major draw backs for me are only one speaker (full volume is barely audible) and the heat sensitive volume buttons are horrible! Luckily, I don't think I'll run into a situation where the music is blaring and I need to panic to mute it as the little speaker doesn't get that loud.
The battery is decent. I think I can pull about 3.5-4 hours. Don't get the T9550 processor! There is a video on Youtube of it reaching 186 degrees. I called Dell and downgraded one level to the P8700. It works awesome and doesn't get uncomfortably warm. I also read bad reviews about the LED display. I got the LCD and it's okay. It's a little washed out, but not like what I read on the LED. The deal they had for 8 gigs of ram was the selling point for me. It was a relatively cheap upgrade compared to 8 gigs of ram for the Latitude series. I read issues about build quality and I think it was much to do about nothing. It's as durable as any other laptop. Mine sits on my desk and I don't throw it anywhere. If you're hard on your stuff, this may be an issue.
In the end, would I buy it again? Yes, but just for now. I'd hope for something like this to come out that includes the i-series processors, two speakers, and function-keyed volume controls. Basically, I'd like a newer and more powerful Inspiron 700m. This will do...
Pros:School, microsoft office
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kjnaturescapes
Title:

Almost Perfect Laptop

PostedApril 29, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was almost the perfect laptop. I wanted a small laptop with tons of power and a DVD drive. This laptop is fast even using apps such as Photoshop and Lightroom. But the biggest disappointment was the lack of the HDMI port so I could view my pics on an HD TV. Also...although I read the other reviews about the speaker, I didn't believe it could be that bad..but it is. All the way turned up and with headphones on..it is a challenge. So...watching movies or TV is disappointing. If these aren't important to you..then I would highly recommend this laptop.
Pros:business and personal, photography, Travel
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Marc001
(Devon)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good little machine

PostedApril 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good small machine. Fully featured and runs Windows 7 Pro perfectly.
Simple to use with no annoying faults as yet.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DebbieCS
(Newcastle upon Tyne)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Don't buy

PostedMarch 31, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased a Vostro 1220 to replace a Dell latitute 420. The Vostro 1220 is a very disapointing machine. It is much heavier than stated, has sharp uncomfortable corners and is larger than the dell 420. Speed is ok but not brillant. If you want a light small machine go for V13, I wish I had.
Pros:business, home
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cardiospecialist
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Vostro 1220

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have used Dell Laptops for more than five years.
They have always been so good and reliable that I would never considered any other company.
The fact that you can customize the machine according to your requirements will never let you down.
I am a cardiologist and I use my Dell laptop for recording ECGs, heart sounds, blood pressure and for examining radiographs and ultrasound images. This is something that I could never do if I did not trust the company 100%.
Highly recommended!
Pros:medical applications, office
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cpower
Title:

Great but could have been Amazing

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great because:
1. Matte screen with decent resolution.
2. Nice powerful processor.
3. No heat issues (with p series processors)
4. Lovely size. (Get the belkin bag - perfect fit).
Would be the best laptop ever if it:
1. Had a hard drive bay. Changing the hard drive on this model is ridiculously hard (take off kb, palm rest, disconnect wifi antennas etc).
2. Had a NVidia ION in it. The ION fits in the smallest netbooks and would have been ideal in the 1220.
3. Had better speakers, not a mojor concern.
4. 2 more ports - HDMI and Firewire.
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GordS
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

so far so good

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just got this computer today after quite a bit of investigation.
Pros
Size is just what I wanted. Smaller and lighter than many laptops but bigger and more powerful than a netbook. Battery has been going for over 6 hours and still showing 2.5 hours left. 6 cell lithium does the trick. I ordered it with the solid state hard drive so it’s up and running in literally seconds. Also opted for the 4 gb of memory and the anti-glare screen. Appears so far to be quite solid…don’t notice any flex in the screen and hinge feels strong and solid. Keyboard is pretty good. Windows 7 actually works and the ultimate version gives you the ability to do remote access which is what I wanted to do.
Cons
The single speaker is so weak it might as well not have one. But, I understood prior to purchase that the speaker was poor and wasn’t really worried about it. Headphones will work just fine. Case cover is a finger print magnet but not really a problem. I bought the red cover to match my Dell all-in-one desktop and blackberry so maybe the black wouldn’t be as bad. Not really a con but might be to some people…it’s a pretty bare bones computer. No fancy things to make it stand out in a crowd but looks to be a real work horse and should do exactly what I wanted it to do.
Review
If you are looking for a well built powerful yet small computer for on the road work, this looks to be a good choice. Small size, fast fire up times, anti-glare and long battery life is ideal for long flights which is what I bought it for.
Pros:business travel
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BettyC
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Speaker volume is the worst ever

PostedJanuary 5, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only real vice for this laptop is the the sound. You cant hear anything at all from the speakers, even when therye at the highest.
The laptop is pretty light. It weights at 4.3 lb and i got the basic package.
Pros:business/home
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Captainlaurie
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Workhorse; but falls short for multimedia purposes

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the Dell Vostro 1220 for personal use, after spending hours deliberating on which Dell notebook would give me the features I was looking for without wiping out my entire budget. The Vostro 1220 looked like everything I needed: small and compact, so I could take it with me wherever I needed to go--without sacrificing an optical drive and having to carry around an external; plenty of usb ports; a media card reader; long-lasting battery life; a webcam for video chats while I was on the road.
When I received the laptop I realized that it's missing one key component: halfway decent sound. There is only one speaker on the Vostro 1220 and it didn't really deliver the sound quality I was looking for. Granted, most laptops have really lousy speakers so I wasn't extremely put out, but I was hoping for better than just one.
+34points
35of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:93561
(Sydney)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Vostro 1220

PostedNovember 24, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
recently own this new machine. first impression: it is not as light as i expected. very similar to my 14 inch laptop. even without the battery, it is not very light. it is however small enough to be moved around.
the build quality... not very impressive. boring keyboard. the little gap where the LCD screen connect to the base made it look cheap. the keyboard is however easy to type. the arrows keys are a bit small, but i think i'll get use to them.
After a few hours of using, i find it very smooth. maybe because i have the 2.66ghz processor, 4g RAM, 7200 RPM HDD, and windows 7. compare to my 14 inch vista. this is vostro 1220 is way faster. however, after a few flash games on facebook, the wrist area become quite warm. not hot. but uncomfortable warmth. i put a usb fan underneath it and the heat quickly go away. i am not sure if heat problem occur in all small laptop or it is due to the powerful processor built in.
conclusion, i think it is a powerful mobile laptop. heat issue can be solved by cooler mat or fan.
Pros:home entertainment
+28points
35of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NEMA
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best of Both Worlds

PostedNovember 18, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Having read some reviews I was concerned about the build quality but now I have my own Vostro 1220 all I can say is it excellent. I have used/owned many Netbooks/Laptops and this has to be one of the best. The screen resolution is superb and I selected the larger battery and this gives me in excess of 6 hours use much better than my Asus PC1000H netbook.
The 1220 is very quiet and very pleasant to use, the only negative issue is the poor sound although since I use mine for Internet/Office/Photography applications I doubt it will affect me too much.
If you are fed up with the limited capability of a Netbook then the Vostro 1220 has to be considered.
Pros:internet, office
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Forensic Accountant
(Sydney, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Portable computing on the go

PostedNovember 4, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have some experience with laptops having previously owned a Sony Vaio and a Toshiba Satellite. This is my third Dell laptop which joins an XPS1730 and Latitude D510 which are still functioning perfectly well after 2 and 4 years respectively. "Horses for courses" as they say, and the Dell Vostro 1220 is perfectly suited to everyday computing on the go. It's more powerful than a sluggish netbook and you'll have no problems running a typical productivity suite like Microsoft Office. It's not the sort of laptop you'd buy for gaming so I don't understand why some have recommended it for that purpose. It has Intel-integrated graphics which are not suited to running high end games. If that's what you're after, buy an Alienware M17X (the current equivalent of an XPS1730).
I've owned my Vostro 1220 for 2 months now and run it pretty much 24/7 during that time. I've had no issues. My primary uses are office productivity and browsing. The majority of its time is spent in office but I use it on the 30 minute commute to and from work and also out and about at client's premises, coffee shops, etc.
In the real world I get 4 hours of normal usage out of the 6 cell battery. It takes about 2 hours to fully recharge the battery.
The keyboard feels natural. I had concerns before I purchased that it would feel smaller than normal but as it is, it's fine. The wrist rests are comfortable enough for the hands of an average-sized male. Unless you are a big bloke, you'll probably find the keyboard experience is perfectly normal.
The screen is clear (at 1280x800) and text is easy to read in a normal office environment. The screen can be difficult to read in high glare environments when it is not positioned directly in front of you. Those occasions are likely to be rare - unless, perhaps, you work outside in full sun - so weigh up that factor accordingly. My unit does not have a noticeable bar of light at the bottom of the screen.
In my four years experience with Dell customer service I have always found it to be better than average, and if you option the right after-sales plan it can be truly exceptional.
The glossy finish looks good and while some would have you think it's marred by fingerprints, they're not noticeable, unless you look real hard for them and most people don't.
In summary, it's light, looks good, comfortably runs anything you'd ordinarily want to run on the go and it's reasonably priced. Dell's delivered another winner! I'll probably buy a red one for my teenage daughter.
Pros:office productivity, internet browsing
+230points
236of 242voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BEUF
(Toronto, ON)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Pocket Rocket - almost

PostedSeptember 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
1) Weight - very light even with a 6-cell
2) Heat - acceptable
3) 6-cell battery - very good battery life, and it also fits very well into the laptop (no noticeable bulges)
4) Webcam - good enough quality, no need to pay extra
5) Construction feels pretty solid for the price range (sub $800)
6) Cool multimedia bar
7) Standard-size laptop keyboard
Cons:
1) Standard screen too glossy, noticeable bar of light on the bottom; suffers from excessive glare; also very limited viewing angle (can be a good thing)
2) Outer shell requires constant cleaning to look good
3) Speakers - just use headphones
4) Lack of video-card - the P8600 can't really flex its muscles
Overall a 4 given its price-range and target audience. Perfect if you want something that has more oomph than a netbook, but still very light to carry around.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, class notes, surfing the web
+74points
84of 94voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fansari
(Montreal, Quebec)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great laptop!

PostedSeptember 5, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this laptop while on sale + coupon combo and I am very satisfied with the product. My configuration is a Core 2 Duo P8600, 7200RPM drive and 3GB RAM. Great machine, it's small, fast and fairly light.
My regret is that the 12" model does not allow you to upgrade the video card to a NVIDIA. It is kind of heartbreaking to have a fast machine but get stuck with a slower Intel graphic chip for 3D video games but my main reason was to get this for university anyways due to size and weight. I tested some casual games on steam and they run at an acceptable frame rate. As long as you are not going to use it for heavy 3D games, you will love this machine. It ran circles around my older athlon 64 desktop machine when I was encoding our wedding video for 720P.
The laptop has very nice finish but it is a fingerprint magnet!
Overall very satisfied with the machine, I just wish there was a option to upgrade to a nvidia chip so I don't feel so bad next to my wife's larger vostro 14 which has a Nvidia. :D
Pros:Connecting with Friends, university
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:avatart0ph
Title:

Dell Vostro 1220

PostedAugust 28, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
bought this online August 20, 2009 arrived today, August 28, 2009 ..and so far in perfect condition.
was very hesitant to buy because:
1.) don't know dell well and read a lot about bad reviews of dell especially with the customer service
2.) cannot see actual product. i had to look at pictures and just say to myself come what may.. if i don't like the look so be it
3.) online buying.. especially with this kind of transaction..
4.) for technical problems, i have to call them.. and i hate waiting
i still bought the vostro because it has a reasonable price and Canadian computer shops just don't have the kind of laptops i want which is small but powerful.
when it arrived:
What i like about the laptop:
- Keyboard, very nice to type on...
- quiet and cool! i have been running the laptop for 4 hours now and it's still not hot! AMAZING
- long battery life for a 6-cell. turned on around 2.30 and now its 6.14pm. i still have an hour to go before battery runs out. (i have to test this with more powerful applications though)
-very light! can carry it with one hand with very little effort
- 3 usb ports
What i don't like:
-glossy texture outside - not a fan!
- looks ugly without the battery attached
-we shouldn't pay extra for bluetooth feature. now one of my light indicators is useless.
-its too squarey.. it would have been better if edges were curve not a right angle
- would have been even better with a video card
overall:
i love it! didn't arrive late, all features i requested are here (especially the centrino 2).
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 1220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LucaPalooka
(Beverly Hills)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love my Vostro

PostedAugust 11, 2009
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this Vostro for my weekly visits to Starbucks. Can you believe they have free interweb? That and the fact the half double decaf latte's are aamzing....those vanilla shots get me everytime.
Anyhoo...My Vostro is rad!
Pros:Connecting with Friends
-107points
16of 139voted this as helpful.
1 2