Customer reviews for Studio XPS 16

Studio XPS 16

Studio XPS 16
4.223 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 777 reviews
5 Stars
434
4 Stars
211
3 Stars
56
2 Stars
23
1 Star
53
4.2
 / 
5
(777 reviews) 754
661 out of 77785%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Studio XPS 16
Review 1 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fred1s2
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Laptop

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is great for video editing, music streaming and
general use.
Pros:500gb of hdd, 4gb of ram, best screen ive seen
Cons:overheats a lot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Cleveland, Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Laptop - Dell XPS Studio

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is just awesome, great picture quality, great LED screen, great graphics, great sound with Bass and 7w speakers, lovely keyboard with back light.
I love this laptop, not sure why dell stopped it's production. It's the best laptop Dell has ever created. I would Love to buy another same laptop for my wife. I would highly appreciate If dell can start manufacturing it again.
Pros:home, net surfing, movies, games, music, office work
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JarMedic
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Design Flaw

PostedAugust 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros- Great for surfing the net.
Cons- Overheats too much. Design flaw on Dells part. Screen covers processor heat sync vent.
Do not buy this computer w/o chill mat attatched.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:teamNOTdell
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Death By Computer

PostedMay 24, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you bought this product and then read this review, I truly and sincerely feel sorry for you.
However, let's begin with a few positives just to be fair:
+Screen resolution and overall clarity is
great
+Overall keyboard size and each individual
key size are better than the norm
+Specs look great on paper...
Now for my "unbiased" list of negatives:
-If you have an extended warranty, be
prepared to take full advantage of it.
I started out with an XPS 1640 in the Fall
of 2009. On that system, I needed the
motherboard replaced once or twice, the
hard-drive 4-5 times, and the heat sink
once. That eventually led to Dell
courteously deciding that I deserved a new
system. With this brand spankin new
1645 system, I replaced the motherboard
twice, the hard drive at least five times,
and the heat sink once again. All of this
in less than a 3 year span.
-Do you honestly think I need another
negative?
In conclusion, I will never buy from this conglomerate again...
Pros:school/work, multimedia, web development, Gaming
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KurtX
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not up to past Dell standards

PostedApril 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second Dell laptop I have owned but I doubt I will get a third.
On the positive side the machine is powerful and has all the connections I needed or could have wanted.
However, this machine overheats and freezes under heavy use unless I keep laptop cooler running under it at all times. This is fine when using as a desktop replacement but is a pain for travel or if I just want to use it while sitting on the couch.
There are other disappointing design flaws as well. The screen was beautiful, but has been marred over time by the keyboard. This is just poor workmanship.
I ordered my laptop in black. The gloss black finish is cool, but not on the keyboard where it just picks up fingerprints and transfers the slightest residue to the screen.
For the amount of money I spent I expect more from Dell on their flagship laptop.
Pros:a lot of audio editing, some gaming, a little video editing, streaming video
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ZeldaOoT
Title:

Simply the best.

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is simply wonderful. I have owned it for over three years, never had a problem, and it is as powerful as ever. I like it so much that I will always be a Dell fan, and have suggested similar computers from Dell to friends. Although I have never been a fan of lower models like Inspiron from dell, there Studio and XPS lines are flawless.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Collegestudent19
(St. Louis, MO)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great until crashed

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
pros: Worked well for music with excellent audio output, fast-performance, and awesome quality screen.
Con: facial recognition was not the easiest thing to use and i just disabled it. Other than that the only problem I had was that it crashed about 2 1/2 years after i got it out of nowhere. Gave me a blue screen and would not ever start up again, so i have to replace it.
Pros:streaming video, internet surfing, music
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fwbubba
Title:

Nice solid laptop for gaming and general use.

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Reaplced an HP laptop with my XPS, and overall I'd have to stay it was a step up.
Pros:Gaming, web, work
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Carl64
(Thailand - Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Studio. A waste of money and time.

PostedAugust 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I spent good money and purchased a Dell Studio XPS 1645. I am in the web design business and need a good reliable PC. I have owned this piece of junk for 1 year and have reconfigured it already. It crashes daily, overheats and freezes. I spoke to the tech guys and ran tests that I had already ran myself. Then they said that i had to take it to be repaired. And as I was in Thailand at the time (Purchased Australia) I had to phone Thailand support and start again. I really dont have the time to waste with this piece of rubbish. DONT BUY ONE!!!
Pros:web development
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rune
Title:

10 Months

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
10 months in and no problems yet. Hope it continues... Its power, design and price were worth the 2 weeks spent researching laptops before purchasing it.
The only critique of its design is with the screen. Its high-gloss finish becomes a mirror when exposed to ANY light. Also the screen hinges are to tight to open with ease so to get it open you literally need two hands simultaneously working together to get this thing open.
Pros:graphics, mixed media
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CleanAirPaul
(Woodland, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best Laptop

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I tracked the Studio XPS 16 in for over a year comparing different models from other vendors. Finally the time was right to make the purchase.
Pros
Everything worked right out of hte box. The setup and install went very smoothly. It found my wireless connection and within minutes I was copying music and pictures from my desktop.
The Studio XPS has several features that make it standout from the crowd. It has a lighted keyboard, a true HD high resolution screen, a 9 cell battery for longer battery life, Windows 7 Professional and a BlueRay slot load disc player. These were all the features that made this the right laptop for me.
Cons
The Studio XPS 16 in is no longer available in this form factor. A second generation I5 processor would have been desireable.
Awesome machine!!
Pros:connecting to work, streaming video, viewing pitures, playing music
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kcrish
(New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great product but gets little HOT

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have owned this dell for 8 months now. It has been great. I do heavy gaming, and video editing and its had no trouble handling the load. While playing games like call of duty modern warfare 2 or crisis 2 at medium setting I get great frame rate (around 45fps). The screen is the best full 1080 on a 15 in just looks great. The speakers are loud and have great surround effect. The backlight is so helpful at first I thought I don’t need it but now I can’t live without it. The only thing that is bad about this laptop is that it gets little hot. But it does have intel core i7 and ati hd5730 GPU. The battery life could be little batter but other than that his is the best laptop. I definitely recommend you to buy it.
Pros:heavy gaming, Video Editing, streaming video, little school and work stuff
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ch2112
(Pennsyvania, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Value, fast PC!

PostedJune 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was our second XPS purchase. Super fast machine for the price! If you're a gamer, get a cooling pad, otherwise PERFECT machine in my opinion!
Pros:Gaming, streaming video/music, email, Travel
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JoshN
Title:

I love Dell Outlet

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was a fantastic deal. It works perfectly, got a good warranty, and was a steal for the price. This is a gaming laptop for the price of your typical business/office productivity laptop.
Pros:gaming work video chat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:raj2000
(Dover, NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell XPS 1645

PostedMay 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall a great Laptop for the money. For a refurbished unit the Speaker vents were not cleaned up as good as I thought they would be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ace22111
(Yonkers, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Overall Great laptop

PostedMay 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have owned this laptop for almost 1 year now. So far all is good. The only issue with this laptoop is heat! The laptop does get very hot when playing games on it. I have added a laptop cooler under it and it now stays cool. I also watch alot of HD video on it and the system preforms great!!
Pros:games and videos
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FromEverett
(Everett)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome speed and great graphics

PostedMay 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love this machine. The i7 produces a punch and the graphics are clear and crisp. Helpful service techs make this a breeze to set up and get going quick. So far, so good!
Pros:personal use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:akim
(miami)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Worst Battery Usage & Life Ever for a Great Laptop

PostedMay 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes, it is very frustrating that you can only have at best 1:30 average of battery right out of the box.
should have known, i would have sacrifice some of the nice features and settle for a different laptop that performs like a laptop in terms of battery usage
it just doesn't make sense that you need to be always plugged in
Honestly, i felt that i was duped into buying the XPS studio as i can get my head around Dell putting in the market such product in this time & age
i had other Dell laptop in the past with up to 9 hours battery usage...going backward was unexpected
Other than the battery, the xps studio is great, customer service is great
Hope this help
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ali
(jaipur)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

nice pice

PostedApril 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like it .
Pros:software development
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Studio XPS 16
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:subbu
Title:

With in 1 month having issues with power cable

PostedApril 21, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
With in 1 month having issues with power cable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 38