Customer reviews for Studio XPS 13

Studio XPS 13

Studio XPS 13
3.99 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 299 reviews
5 Stars
125
4 Stars
102
3 Stars
33
2 Stars
22
1 Star
17
4
 / 
5
(299 reviews) 296
228 out of 29976%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Studio XPS 13
Review 1 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DCWjr
Title:

The World Catching Up To Dell

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a laptop, with a few updates, that Dell should've brought to market about now, plus-or-minus a year's time.
My first 1340 -- indeed, the 1340 on the keyboard of which this review is being written -- was acquired in 2009. Recently, I acquired a second for a backup because the first (this one) is still running strong. (It makes sense if dwelled upon)
A few hassles, though relatively minor by most standards, have occurred over my ownership period, most notably a too-slow driver-update process (something Dell could speed for all machines -- my family has at least a dozen laptops and a couple or three desktops, and Dell's apparent lack of efficiency in updating its driver base is endemic) and thus the reason for an absent fifth rating star, above.
Compact already, the 1340 was so close to being an "Ultra" after the Ultras came on the scene that there seemed little logic in replacing the 1340 on its size, alone.
While the 1340's Intel Core Duo processor isn't exactly cutting edge, it's very capable nonetheless for most of my needs, including Adobe CS6.
Added were an SSD to each of my 1340 machines, providing boot times of fewer than 11 seconds in each and, of course, similar efficiencies in program loading, execution and data movement.
The 1340's human interfaces -- a backlit keyboard with a wonderful tactile feeling; separate audio/video buttons above the keyboard, and a well-located, good feeling, responsive mousepad -- are as good or better than found in any laptop I've owned.
With a standard battery (remember, SSD) I can easily fly coast-to-coast without a recharge. As importantly, whenever someone decides to recline into my zone, my computer stays out and working due to its size.
Though going on 4-years old, this machine's cutting-edge design still is in the forefront of design, with a slotload DVD, accessible headset (2) and line-in (microphone) on the front edge, there is no spinning of this machine from side to side in frantic searches for the little plug-in holes.
USB (2.0) and 1394 ports on the sides, a SSD/Sony Pro slot up front, and an express slot on the side, one doesn't need to further "accessorize" the 1340. It even has an HDMI port.
Overall, so good is this machine that another was purchased to extend overall usability, if nothing else -- and Dell needs to build a few more, too.
Pros:business/journalism
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BBOP
Title:

xps m1330

PostedOctober 3, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
pros - its small compact.
cons - it gets too hot, too slow even with 4gb ram, keyboard went out every 3 months, i had the li ion 9 cell battery it lasted less than a year, the laptop was replaced more than 3 times in less than a year, the laptop crashed resulting in loss of data numerous times, i needed techs to come out and fix it and to send it in to dell for them to fix it numerous times. i spent more time without the laptop working than with the laptop working.
THIS PRODUCT IS NOT WORTH THE AMMOUNT OF MONEY OR TIME THAT YOU WOULD NEED TO SPEND JUST TO KEEP IT WORKING.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TechTraveler
(Detroit)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Company, Great Services, So-So Product...

PostedMay 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had the Studio XPS 13 up and running for less than a month now. However, prior to using it I had to install a newer BIOS version and had to have Tech Support replace mother board and a few other items. I'm hoping it doesn't start heating up again....
Pros:Travel, desktop replacement
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kzew
(middletown, md)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great deal

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:everyday personal & business use
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vicyam
(Ca)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great deals found at Dell. I wish the discription of some of the products were a little better. The laptop said leather accents but if I would have seen a picture of it, I probably wouldn't have ordered it that way. Other than that no problems.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Coastie52
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Happy

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop for my husband. This laptop is just the right size. Just everything about it is great (keyboard, face recognition, my husband needed some help he called tech support and he is very, very happy with the laptop. We have an XPS 17" for almost 6 years now and we were very happy with that laptop but it was time for a new one.
Pros:web seaching, studying
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ramsespride
(North Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

solid workhorse

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this refurb Studio XPS 13 to replace the Inpsiron 13 I previously owned. I needed something with a little more RAM, a faster processor, bigger hard drive and a better graphics card. The XPS 13 definitely delivered and had a few nice extras (backlit keyboard, dedicated media control buttons, edge to edge screen). The computer boots up under two minutes, runs the latest video games (Call of Duty: Black OPs) and software. Plus, it's light, which makes it easy to take anywhere without sacrificing performance. The batter life is little shorter than my Inspiron 13, but that had a 9 cell (much heavier) and the XPS only has a 6 cell. By finessing the power usage controls, I can squeeze over 5.5 hours of continuous running time. The LED screen is much brighter than my old LCD CCFL screen and has a wider viewing angle. My favorite thing about this computer is it's awesome array of ports. This baby can connect to anything. It has a Display Port, HDMI, Firewire, 2xUSB, ESATA, VGA and an Ethernet port. No matter where you are or what you need to connect to, this laptop has you covered. Finally, many of the newer 13 inch laptops on the market have taken out the optical drive to cut down on weight. I still need to use CD's and DVD's on my laptop (and burn them) and don't want to have to deal with an external drive. I got a great deal on this laptop and will hold onto for at least 4 more years.
Pros:Travel, work, entertainment
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kputer
(Lansing Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

going strong after 2 years

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: Style, size, weight, performance, slot load DVD burner, HD display
Cons: Price, no backlit keyboard option
I bought this used almost 2 years ago and haven’t had a single problem with it. I upgraded to Windows 7 home prem and enjoy watching HD TV from my HDHomerun TV tuner on the network. I like the looks and get compliments about its style and size. It originally had the 9 cell battery which needed replacing so I got the 6 cell which doesn’t stick out the back and gives me almost 2 hours of movie watching time. The LED models probably do even better on battery power. The cpu is sufficient as I do some DVD ripping with DVD FAB and it goes fast. I love the slot load DVD and I don’t know why they aren’t more common on laptops. The only thing I wish it had was a backlit keyboard which I don’t believe you can get on these. We also have the Inspiron 1318 which is identical to the XPS except for color and it has worked well for almost a year now. I also love the quick expert support you get with the XPS line as compared to the standard Dell consumer support, i.e. India.
Pros:home and student
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dtm4trix
(Sacramento)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Laptop is a Lemon

PostedNovember 15, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
well first let me start of by saying I have owned 3 dell computers prior to this one. I was happy with all 3. I don't know how or who came up with this design but it's horrible. First this is supposed to be a high end machine and as others have pointed out there is only 1 usb port. Why a computer of this supposed caliber only has one usb is beyond me. My dell mini 9 has more usb ports. Second, I have had intermittent episodes of the screen just going black and having to do a hard re-boot to start it back up. Got on tech support website and they checked it remotely and had to send a new motherboard. Tech installed it but discovered other issues. Dell had to replace it with another model. I have had nothing but good dealings with dell tech support, they have been pretty awesome, thats why I am giving it 2 stars. But I have to say avoid this model at all costs. I think its just one of those times when someone at dell designed a lemon. I will give dell another chance because of my past experience with their hardware and the support I received with the current issues. But I advise all peeps wanting to look at this laptop to steer clear.
Pros:video, light gaming, work excel and word, surf the internet
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DrJM
Title:

Abysmally disappointed

PostedOctober 15, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this computer for nearly a year and have been unable to overcome the myriad challenges in using it. The mousepad is abysmally malfunctional and user-unfriendly and had caused me endless agonies. But even when it is docked and I use an external mouse and keyboard, it carries on independently in contrary actions of its own.
I absolutely detest this computer and intensely resent the "techie" would coerced me to leave HP and go with a Dell this time around.
Lest you think it is just this machine, I must tell you that, against my best advice, my daughter recently bought a new Dell laptop (nearly a year newer than mine) and is now suffering with the same issues. Neither of us will be a repeat buyer!
Pros:personal and business, travel and desktop
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:papapee
(Ghana)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My rating

PostedAugust 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:software, music, games
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Awesomeluv
(Ghana)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Nice Laptop

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
i like the laptop but my ration is low
Pros:video, programming, games
-12points
0of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:corbingiles
(seneca, MO)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Don't Buy

PostedJuly 24, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros---None
Cons--Everything.I've had this computer for a year and have had nothing but problmes with it. I even sent it back to Dell to be repaired and it still runs horrible. I couldn't use it for any of my classes last semester and now I'm going to have the same problem this semester.I will never buy another dell again and i will never recommend it to anyone.
+8points
16of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mahesh
(chandigarh)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

best colour combination on studio

PostedMay 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
i am using inspiron series.i have seen your studio color combination amazing color combination i like it i had told my friend about studio features he like it and then buy. Can u provide outer design of xps16 in studio15 now i like it and i want to buy it.
Pros:software development
-10points
2of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:libertyx24
(mumbai)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

a bad product

PostedMay 5, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
not worth the amount of money this thing costs
it gets over heated very quickly
Pros:office, Travel, home
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:XPS john
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Nice piece of machine

PostedApril 25, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Currenty, i am a Posgraduate student studying in an university.I have been using studio xps 13 for nearly 8 months in my research work..So far, no critical problem found. after updated new version Bios and Nvidia driver, it's now running smoother. It is very portable for me to bring to everywhere to do my work. in terms of performannce, it is perfect.
However there are a few things tati'm not very happy with it:
i) easily get hot , especially the palm-rest area due to bad exhaust system
ii) the speaker quality is quite poor, cant even hear the sound if the environment is noisy.[ should have same quality speaker like xps 16]
iii) only 1 USB and 1 shared E-sata port.[even inspirion has more port than tis model which is catagorized as high end product line]
iv) the surface of the machine looks dirty with the finger prints.
v) the slot load driver is very noisy when reading the CD or DVD. ( any solution for it?). [even inspirion could have quite rom, wat for we pay so much to get tis machine with this kind of trouble?]
vi) poor webcam and oftenly make the face recognition failed
i wish dell developer could consider these issues in next XPS product. hope to see new XPS 13 series model release with perfect specs. XPS seies should maintain the quality of this high end product series.
Suggestions:
i)1 piece aluminium body + light weight nano carbon fiber material + leather cushion palm-rest for the elegant look.
ii) SRS premium+ HD dobly suround speaker+ sub woffer
iii)add more USB port + propoer ventilation+ at least 2mp webcam.
Pros:research studies, entertainment( movie songs), Gaming, internet
+46points
49of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1330
(iran but must choise ( turku ))
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

down load the latest driver version

PostedMarch 14, 2010
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
dear sir ,
i can't conect to internet , beacause the modem of my dell loptop is out of service .
its model is: del xps m1330
please help me to download the latest driver version with output code 03 .
thanks.
Pros:work office, Travel, home
-14points
9of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:varma
(manipal)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

dell studio xps 13'' laptop

PostedMarch 8, 2010
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
i buy studio xps 13 laptop in last june,but it is having less battery backup and it is creating more more noice while reading dvd/cd and it is not having proper exhaust option,so thatswhy it is so hotty.it is very heated in very less time.
small dust particles are entering into scree through tha gap between screen and screen cover.
Pros:academics, running primavera and microsoft projetcs, Gaming
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SteveDavis
(Crawley)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very tidy, fast piece of kit

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The website doesn't do this laptop justice; The machine is very compact, but despite this has a great, useable keyboard and decent mousepad. Build quality looks very good indeed, looking like a very smart piece of kit all round.
I bought the faster processor and graphics card options, and the machine runs pretty much anything I can throw at it (all games run at max resolution with max graphics settings). This machine easily keeps up with most decent desktops.
The only slight downside is that as a result of this the battery life is only about 2 hours. I did expect this, and most of the time use it on AC so this isn't a problem for me, though others should at least bear this in mind.
This laptop gives me exactly what I wanted - very good processing power and good portability.
Overall I would thoroughly recommend the product.
Pros:software development, Gaming, internet browsing
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Studio XPS 13
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:robbusmaximus
(uk)
Title:

Small but perfectly formed!

PostedMarch 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Many pros: Wonderful sexy machine! Love the aesthetics, the technical side is obviously great!
Two cons: only one USB port, and when there's a CD/DVD in drive it reads the disc every 20 secs and is noisy... Gets right on my ... Someone tell me how to stop this please!?
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15