Customer reviews for Precision T7500

Precision T7500

Precision T7500
4.154 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
11 out of 1385%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Precision T7500
Review 1 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TechUser
Title:

Dell Precision - a powerful package

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
It offers a lot of customization options depending on the application and is also highly upgradable. Quite a powerful package when correctly customized according to needs.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MONO
(DELHI)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Does Not Operate with UBUNTU x64

PostedJune 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have a Dell Precision T7500, we wanted to instal UBUNTU Linux < 10.But after Installation while rebooting it did not boot. Have to use RedHat 5 Enterprise. But its not at all user friendly.
Pros:application software
-37points
7of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sarath
Title:

Outstanding Performance

PostedApril 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Outstanding performance, helpful for complicated 3d renderings, very nice.
Pros:3d rendering
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:markevans
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very happy

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
So far I have found this machine to be extremely fast, reliable and solid. My software makes full use of the power of the dual Xeon processors and massive ram.
Coincidentally, I also created the car image (coming out of the computer) used on this page ^above^
Very happy with this beast and I estimate the production time I have saved over the past 6 months has already paid for the machine.
Pros:3d modelling and rendering, image editing and post production
+25points
31of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:InteractiveAgency
Title:

Best price for the power

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We are an interactive agency and do a large amount of 3D animation and HD video production... we employ many of T7500's in production and they all perform very well. Without question these are the best price for the power.
Pros:video production, graphic design, 3d animation, interactive development
+24points
26of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:advrsharma
(India)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best in class .Class apart.

PostedMay 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wasquite confused before ordering one.I had been using Sun ultra,hp.lenovo and fujitsu workstations in the past.I did a lot of survey or comparisn between HP Z800,Fujitsu celsius R 670, Dell precision T 7500 , Boxx 8500 and finally ordered after lot of research and amidst lot of anxiety as i had not used any dell workstation earlier. Finally the machine came which was actually very heavy and well built and quite different from the earlier ones i had ever used.
I had ordered with duak xeon w 5580 and quadro fx 5800 with sas dives 300 gb 10k rpm and 24 gb ram.Although now T 7500 is available with gulftown xeon x 5680 (faster)
processors. No regrets for ordering it a little early
I realised my choice of Dell T 7500 was best because of following reasons:-
1. Best brand(sales by volume) in this region(india).
2.Best after sales technical and phone support.
3.Best hardware in class.Opened the cpu and found it myself.
4.Best Inveentory managemnt for service for critical and mission critical works.Others could not promise such support.
5.Extensive ISV certification by leading industry software vendors.
6.Best energy management systema inside.
7.One of best rating as per workstation benchmarks by spec.
8.Highly upgradeable.Though others mentioned above are also upgradeable but my earlier experience with other makes is poor as the ordered upgrade parts were never available for months.In this case everything came next day yes next day and duly installed by trained staff.
9.It works in the harshest environment day and night. we do not shut down our systems for weeks.Other makes often hang up even with Ecc ram.
!0.Though slightly costlier but the reliability is perfect and it is better to pay more than be sorry.
Pros:rendering resarch and scientific applications
+91points
117of 143voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DDH
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Reliable System

PostedDecember 9, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am running Win7 Ultimate (64 bit) on a Xeon 5506 Dual processor machine with 8GB memory and RAID0.
The system is very reliable and fast, despite the low processor frequency of 2.13GHz. Its strengths is the ability to run numerous processes/programs at the same time at normal speed without fault.
The build-quality is exceptional (as one would expect for the price!) and the best I have ever seen. A great deal of attention to detail went into the (very heavy) computer case. Cooling is quiet despite numerous fans due to good planning.
There are some negative points as well, although they do not directly refer to the machine. The 'consultant' attending to me during the ordering process displayed a severe lack of knowledge in computer systems. As a result, I got a RAID1 instead of the ordered RAID0 and a couple of other things were wrong. The after-sales service, however, was excellent and efficient.
In summary: A solid system good for heavy duty as well as fun. Overpriced, though.
Pros:video authoring, web-surfing, multimedia
+44points
60of 76voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LarryLuther
(Burbank, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

RAID flaw

PostedOctober 19, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
On the whole I'm satisfied with compute performance, but very disappointed that a RAID setup which worked on my old system doesn't work. The first two disks are mirrored and I added two 1 TB disks that I wanted striped, but the system fails it's own diagnostics. I was told by Dell to buy a seperate RAID card.
Pros:image processing
+24points
39of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rbm1
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very good machine, but...

PostedOctober 3, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a very impressive machine.
However I do have some complaints/suggestions. First I do not see the reasoning in including a PCI-X expansion slot - a regular PCI slot would be a lot more useful.
My really big beef is with the paucity of documentation. All I can find (and all the sales rep can find) is a Service Manual and a short tech sheet online. This does not come anywhere close to providing the level of documentation I have come to expect from Dell based on past experiences.
My second complaint is with RAID configuration. Actually, this somewhat stems from the first problem (lack of documentation). I was forced to make some assumptions (yeah, shame on me!) based upon past experiences. I had come to expect that I would be able to migrate to RAID rather easily based on my past experience with the Intel Console Manager. But this uses an LSI chipset and hence a different utility. If I read the instructions buried in the firmware/software correctly it appears that migration is not possible - only the creation (repair and deletion) of RAID volumes. This may sound trivial to some but what this means is that instead of being able to migrate to a RAID volume (which preserves data on the originating HDD) one has to first create the RAID volume and then (since all data in the affected drives is lost) to rebuild the OS. This is doable but is a real pain in the bottom side. I guess Dell would prefer that you pay their exorbitant prices for HDDs to have RAID factory installed. This is definitely a step backwards in technology.
In summary: great hardware, lousy (nonexistent) documentation and not-so-great firmware/software.
Pros:Finances, multi-media editing, entertainment center
+69points
81of 93voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LANMAN
(Bagley, MN)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Workstation

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I usually get high end workstations but for the last few years I settled with a single CPU, 2Gig of Ram and a standard hard drive. To say the least it was the longest wait I have ever experienced and I don't think I will do that again.
With Dual Quad Xeon's, 20Gig of Ram and mirrored OS drives, this thing is priceless!
Side by side with my friends they're waiting for patches to load and programs to start and I'm already running in factions of the time a 'normal computer' would take. My suggestion? Don't waste your money on a entry-to-med level PC. You want power and performance, this is the power horse for you! LOVE IT!!
Pros:video rendering, dvd creation, high end games (ultra mode)
+26points
37of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GamerCrazed
(Miami, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The Most Awesome Dell Precision Model Ever

PostedJuly 6, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Already owned a Precision 490, but after a good
3 year run, it was time to retire the old box and upgrade to the newest Intel Chipsets (5520 in this case), DDR3 Tri-Channel Memory and the the latest Xeon 5500 Series Processors.
For some reason, I decided first to order the new Studio XPS 435T consumer model, which has similar specs to the new Precision T3500, but turned out to be a terible choice, with a very fragile case that broke and loud sounding fans, so I returned it to Dell and reordered this T7500 (which is what I really wanted all along, but was trying to save a few dollars given our economy)
After using the T7500 for the last few weeks (and wonder what the heck was I doing even *thinking* about ordering any of Dell's "consumer" PC products in the first place) I must tell you that Dell has really *outdone* themselves by creating this screaming monster of a workstation!
Pros :
Extremely Solid "Tank Like" All Metal Case
Extremely Quiet (3 times over the old 490/790's)
Extremely Reliable
Extremely Fast
Cons :
Big Case (but almost same size as XPS 435T)
Very Heavy (but is this really a negative?)
Very Pricey (if bought fully configured)
THE VERDICT - WORTH THE WAIT & VERY SATISFIED !!
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, 3d gaming + computer modeling, multi-threaded / hyperthreaded applications, multi-program / multi-window usage, surfing the web, multimedia (video sound playback blu-ray discs)
+74points
79of 84voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cnopilot
(kl)
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedMay 31, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Video Editing, Gaming, Presentation
-28points
11of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision T7500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gaurav
(India)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good work performance

PostedMay 25, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am using dell projector and Laptop. and having a good experience with that. I like its products.
Pros:Video Editing, Travel, Gaming, Presentation, business
-59points
9of 77voted this as helpful.