Customer reviews for Precision T3500

Precision T3500

Precision T3500
3.961 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 25
19 out of 2673%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Precision T3500
Review 1 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GregV
(NYC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Don't waste your money and time!

PostedMarch 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Where do I start?
One day after I received a system that I paid $2K for, a motherboard fan control failed and fan started to spin like a crazy. Tech came and replaced motherboard.
Then I realized that my 1333MHz memory I paid for was actually running at 1066MHz. Dell replaced the system with a new one. The new system also reports memory running at 1066MHz. Dell says it's by design :-).
A week after the second replacement motherboard started to whistle making it very uncomfortable working with the system installed on a desk next to you. After long and suspicious troubleshooting with Dell, they are sending me yet another system. I have very little hope left.
A side note on system's design and ergonomics. When you first open the case, it seems the system was designed for easy upgradeability. When you start actually adding and removing parts, you realize how awkward and poorly thought-through the internal layout is. Internal brackets are flimsy and unnecessary overcomplicated. There is no single component (CD, memory, PCI cards, fans) that can be easily swapped out without breaking your fingers. And try to disconnect your network cable from the unit!
Very, very disappointing. It is yet another huge reason that forces me to look elsewhere but at Dell.
Pros:office routine, network administration, virtualization
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1YearOldPC
(Office)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

No Complaints

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Solid PC. I have been using this model for around 1 year and have yet to have the first problem.
Pros:general use
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SFTech
Title:

Precision is a Great Workhorse

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the 4th Precision I've owned. The T3500 is a rock solid machine that can handle everyday tasks as well as high use programs like CAD.
Since I've used several models over the years, I can count on the same performance from my next upgrade.
+Performance for the cost.
+Quiet
+Case is large and has plenty of expnasion.
+Multiple monitor support.
+Multiple hard drive support.
-none so far.
Pros:business
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:crawfordtech
(Las Vegas)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Strong performer

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We purchased 30+ T3500's for our graphics/3D dept. & have not had a single problem, as with most Dell products we normally see 3 years of reliable service before any repair is required. We demand allot from these machines & they deliver 24/7, are easily upgraded, and offer the best value. I highly recommend the T3500.
Pros:3d rendering, cad, virtual machine host
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dmat725
(44060)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell T3500

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Finally a computer that can handle what I throw at it! Huge models are mandatory in my daily work with SolidWorks, which can slowdown older computers. With the Dell T3500, that problem is gone! Because of it's speed, It not only has increased my productivity, but has enabled me to use more of the software that previously I had never used. What a difference!
Pros:solidworks
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MattThermal
Title:

2 t3500's ones good ones a lemon

PostedJuly 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 2 Dell Precision T3500 for workstations running XP. Intel Xeon processors 4GB ram each.
Migrated to Win7 at start of 2011.
One machine is just fine. Runs autocad, Office, etc. no problems.
the other machine experienced an issue with SATA-0 SATA-1 No Drive Found.
Tried running repair startup tool from CD / didnt work. Tried resetting VRAM / didnt work. Tried new MB battery, new SATA cable, different SATA port, no work.
Purchased new blank HD. Loaded Win7 OS, Office, installed into somewhat CHEAP plastic drive dock inside, set BIOS correctly, and No Drive found.
This was with an entirely new drive mind you.
So, One works still, one doesnt detect any drives.
Pros:mechanical design and office, office administration
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Seyed Meeran
(Chennai)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Machine performance is awesome.Poor Cust Support

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
hi..
I brought my workstation T3500 a year before.
Processor W3530 2.8 and 4GB ram with 64bit OS.
The performance of the system is awesome.
But only thing i got disappointed was Dell Customer Support.
During the Initial stage of purchase, sales team following us well.
After sales, when i want to upgrade my ram... their response is very poor.
Still, i feel after sales support need to be improved..
Now, i am planning to order few more memory of RAM. Lets see how they response. :)
System Rating : 8.5/10
Support: 6/10
Pros:graphics design, software development
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jbhoman
(Edmonton,AB)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Reliable System

PostedMay 3, 2011
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have deliberatly waited for an extended period of time before making a review on my Percision T3500 to allow time to reveal real reliability and usability results.
Here's my system: Power supply 500 watt, Xeon W3540 @ 2.93 Ghz, 4GB 1066Mhz RAM, 1TB Hard Drive ( Western Digital 1001FASS 32MB Cashe ), Nvidia FX3800 video card, BluRay Optical Drive and originally Windows Vista 32bit, however I qualified for free upgrade of Windows 7 32Bit. Windows index scores are:
Processor 7.5
RAM 7.5
Graphics 6.9
Gaming Graphics 6.9
Primary Hard disk 5.9.
My system is very fast indeed, in fact my T3500 frequently is faster than other systems that are newer with 64 bit systems and more RAM. The Percision T3500 has proven to be very quiet and cool, only under full load will you hear the system making a dull roar similar to other systems idol noise. If anything, I will hear the fan from my video card before the system itself. My Percision T3500 just won't break, have not had one issue related to the machine itself since I open it for the first time, just some minor OS related bugs which most have been resloved.
I do plan to buy another system sometime this year, just waiting for a revised version of T3500 in a few months. I will be changing to 64bit Windows this time and I will order with raid 0, as that is the only weakness for me, the drive is not slow, but not fast enough for me.
I encourage you to do as much research as possible of how-to upgrades, location of expansion card slots, map of motherboard etc. & including processors specifications before you buy, simply there is a real lack of documentation/references ( but you can find it deep into Dell's site under support ) on the system when you get it (BTW the system weighs 38lbs). Also you will need to go into your BIOS to enable virtulization, since by default it's set in off. If you plan to have raid on your system, I highly recommend your order sytem with it, rather than trying to create it. The only regret I have is not purchasing 3 year Pro support, where you will have next business diagnosis &/or repair, but also help with operating system/software questions/troubles, this would have saved me some time looking for some answers, and my next system will have such. I don't know why I didn't do it in the first place, I've done so with my consumer Dell models.
When you order/build your system, you need to go a little above what you will need (I really do recommend this), going for the least expensive video card or raid controller just to save a few bucks, usualy ends up with customer disatisfaction.
In summary this has been and to date the best machine I've ever owned and I give Dell credit for building such a fine peice of machinary. Do yourself a favor, don't try to save a few bucks buying a consumer model, I simply don't know how else to say it except that they're just not the same and the Percision wil give countless more hours of using over repairing.
Pros:internet, Video Editing, streaming, web page development
+52points
59of 66voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BudTech
(Bellingham, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Where's the Cable?

PostedApril 27, 2011
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
This T3500 came with a Nvidia NVS-295 video card having two unique 5 sided HDMI ports. In previous T3500 purchases a HDMI to DVI-D adapter cable (DP/N 023NVR) was included. Without a unique 5 sided HDMI adapter or 5 sided HDMI cable this Precision computer sits on the shelf. The cable should have been included as before. Try to find the part at Fry's or Best Buy or the Dell website! Try to talk to Dell customer service or chat on line. The T3500 is a super computer but if you can't turn it on . . .
-3points
18of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:4ndrea
Title:

Bad workstation

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have upgraded to this workstation mainly for Autodesk Inventor. After 6 months I had to upgrade to 6gb because of memory leaks. After upgrading to 6gb, i still experience issues with being slow, not as responsive as it should be. The system makes a squealing noise while loading programs. Dell is convinced there is nothing wrong with the system itself, so then it must be an issue with the T3500 workstation. The video card sometimes fails to show icons when inventor is loaded. This machine is entirely certified by Autodesk and that was the only reason i bought this workstation. I will never make the same mistake again.
Pros:autodesk inventor
+13points
42of 71voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HowardF
Title:

Quality Issues

PostedDecember 15, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 3 motherboard replacements the performance is excellent. To say the least having 4 service calls for a new machine was not what I had expected.
+24points
28of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SIVA
Title:

NICE MACHINE

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
WE ARE USING WORKNC , REALLY ITS DOING GOOD...........
Pros:cad/cam
-14points
2of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:advrsharma
Title:

Best Single socket workstation

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased mine a week ago with xeon w3680 processor and 12 gb ecc ram with 300 gb 10k HDD and Ati firepro series graphics card.It is a very fast machine and I was prompted to buy this as a Third workstation besides a T7500 precision which I use for extremely heavy applications.(see my review about that machine also)and a Mobile precision M6500Laptop .This machine uses a 6 core processor which has same speed as a xeon w5680 which came later than the xeon w5580 which i have in my precision T7500.This machines performs 3/4 work than my previous T7500 which has dual 4 core processors with same clock speed at less than half the price.The speed is amazing.
I have only Two serious suggestions to make.
Firstly this machine should be overclocked by Dell to match a simlar product by Boxx which might only require a Liquid cooling solution.I have fully researched that now xeons are factory overclockable .Secondly the power supply should be upgraded to 875 watts which is offered in T5500 precision so that upgrading a Graphics card with more power requirement and more connectors is easy. The Psu of precision T5500 can easily fit in the same chassis as this one because they are same. This upgrade is must if Dell wants to maintain its market leadership in this segment.
Pros:rendering, research, scientific applications
+52points
58of 64voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jaybo
(Melksham UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Quick Machine

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The T3500 is a quick machine. We are using it for Unigraphics NX CADCAM software.
Pros:cadcam
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vitaly
Title:

Good imaging workhorse

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received the T3500 workstation nine days ago. It will be primarily used for image analysis on the Matlab or Adobe CS4 Extended platforms. So far, it is as fast as expected with the 3.2 GHz W3565 processor. I may have over configured the machine, but I do not have much time for shopping. My dual 3.2 GHz Pentium 4 Dimension 8400 lasted nearly six years (11/2004) and still in use. I do hope that the Precision T3500 would last for at least six years. I have a good basis to believe so as it has 525W power supply and enough room for future upgrades and expansions. I will update this review after some intense imaging jobs have been completed.
Pros:pro image processing, photo/video editing, home entertainment, office 2007 small business
+10points
17of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mark
(Bangalore)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Perfect Workstation.

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this workstation with the Xeon W3580 ( 3.3Ghz x 4c ), 12GB ECC RAM @ 1333 and 2x146GB 15K SAS Drives.
This machine is blazingly fast. I have 2-7 virtual machines running in vmware most of the time, which I use as a virtual lab environment for testing, and this machine just never lets up.
I purchased the SAS HBA to go with my machine but a heavier duty SAS raid controller like the H700 is highly recomended.
My experience with the reliability of dell workstations has been a positive one. My Last workstation, a Precision 390n, ran 24x7 for three years, power permitting, before I replaced it. This one has been running 24x7 for 10 months now and purs along happily.
Footnote:
I cannot understand why dell offers this workstation with X55xx series Xeon cpus. This is a single socket system and should be used with single socket CPUs. Using an X55xx cpu in this is a waste of transistors and money.
Pros:vmware workstation ( heavy use ), sql server, software development, office / productivity
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MarkTrading
(New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not that fast

PostedApril 29, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this to trading purposes based on purported performance ratings. It is not as high performing as advertised even with a stripped down version of XP, 4 GB of RAM and a Quad core 2.67 GHz chip. Would have been better off getting a machine half the price.
Pros:trading
+10points
27of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kaynofx
Title:

Higher pricing.....

PostedApril 1, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
Powerful machine, nice looking
Cons
Expensive machine
When i first checked out this workstation in Jan 2010, the price was lower. Now (April 2010), with the same customized specification...the price tag has a difference of over RM1000. I dunno what's happening....I thought the price would go down a bit. Weighing to get 2 sets for my office use. If Dell reduces the price in near future, will definitely make some purchases....if not,will need to find other alternatives.
Pros:interior designing, architecture, light gaming
+15points
29of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlanEarl
(Phil)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

POWER SUPPLY IS NOT DURABLE

PostedMarch 17, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this machine 20pcs. Then after 6 months 6 of them will not turn on anymore due to internal power problem. sigh...
+56points
67of 78voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Precision T3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:toto4
(Connecticut)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

One word to describe the T3500... WOW!!!

PostedNovember 6, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have to say Dell, Thank you! Thank you!. This machine flies. With Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, 6GB of Ram, the W3520 Proc, dual 320GB drives and the beautiful 2007FP I run all my Apps flawlessly. VMWare, Video editing and encoding, digitizing music, etc. This machine handles all my tasks. I love this beast! Hands down, one of the best machines I have ever owned. Also, very quiet!
Pros:vmware, photography, office applications, video encoding, digitizing music
+33points
46of 59voted this as helpful.
1 2