Customer reviews for Precision T1500

Precision T1500

Precision T1500
3.958 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 22
6 out of 1155%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Precision T1500
Review 1 for Precision T1500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Macca
Title:

Precision T1500 Workstation

PostedApril 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I approached DELL about a PC that was quick, quiet and had good graphics it was suggested I buy this product but as a 64bit for much faster processing. After a few months I have had compatability issues with my existing software because of the 64bit and now have to spend thousands upgrading. The tower makes a constant ticking sound that I find really annoying, the plug and play monitor that came with the package has terrible clarity and colour (so much for good graphics), the PC and monitor had only a few ports so I had to buy an external hub to plug everything into and I had to buy another keyboard and mouse because the ones that came with the package were difficult to use. The computer is still not up and running with the software I require to work so I am still running my old computer beside it and transferring info between the two as required. Overall a VERY poor solution!!!
Pros:interior design & related work
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision T1500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VGisMe
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

It's better than Optiplex if you want performance

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I run a lot of programs/windows simultaneously and all day. Not 3d or engineering apps, but web and web-based SAS, and streaming my music at the same time, and this platform rocks for multi-tasking. The Quad i7 kicks it. Better hardware than Opti. This is a much better machine for the $ than Optiplex, or Inspiron, etc...
Pros:business, multi-tasking out the wazoo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision T1500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sticky5011
Title:

no TPM chip

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Don't get burned like we did, there is no TPM chip. definitely not precision quality with the case, but nice performance for the price.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision T1500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Graham Leonard
(Queensland Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Dell Precision T1500

PostedDecember 3, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased T1500 to replace a 4 year old Precision 470 damaged by lightning. I am sadly dissapointed to report that the T1500 is not even close to my older Precision 470 for stability and relaibility. The T1500 crashes regularly and I have on going issues with the Dell remommended virus software and when the kids play even simple games it freezes often. I did not hesitate to buy another Dell Precision but now I have this T1500 I deeply regret the purchase... Perhaps the other precision models are better I don't know but the T1500 has been VERY dissapointing.
Pros:small business user, graphics software, general computer use
+29points
32of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision T1500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DennisSD
(San Diego)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Does Not Meet Precision Workstation Quality

PostedNovember 5, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recived my first T1500 Yesterday and I though they sent me a Vostro by accident but there is was emblazend on the front cover Precision T1500. First of all the case is horrible. It is the first non tooless case I have seen Dell make other than Vostro's, but when you buy a Vostro you expect it. Also the video card takes the PCIx slot only leaving a useless PCIx x1 and 3 PCI Slots. I am not sure what Dell was thinking. I have 30 Precesion Wokstations in the office but I am returning this one
Pros:engineering & cad
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision T1500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MISManagerAwesome
(Torrance, CA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Awesome Machine

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We are an R & D Firm and we purchased these systems to increase calculation times and graphics. This system has met those expectations and has surpassed them. This system is well priced and will give you more then you realize. We purchased our units with a 1 GB graphics card and 8 GB of RAM with Windows 7 64-bit, Awesome!!!! We have purchased 5 more machines and they are all operating very well.
Pros:software development, autocad/graphics, 3d max, poser, matlab
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision T1500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PatrickE
(Washington State)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A solid performer

PostedMay 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Up until this point my company has primarily purchasd Optiplex series desktops. We recently made the switch to the precision line and this model in particular. Thus far, I vastly prefer the build options, quality and ergonomics of the precision line up over the Optiplex.
The price is pretty reasonable as well, especially when considering the perfomance of the machine.
+9points
16of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision T1500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:engineer52
Title:

mediocre

PostedMay 16, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this as a replacement for an older precision 470 whose power supply failed. That machine was very good build quality, with the only criticism being the naff custom power supply. I would say as a general comment that for some inexplicable reason Dell do not provide powerful enough supplies for their computers.
Regarding the T1500, it seemed to take forever to arrive, way beyond the promised date. When it did turn up I wondered whether I had been sent something else other than a precision. It was not that the machine was particularly bad. It was ok, but this is supposed to be a workstation class machine, and no way does it seem that. No tooless case, the cabling was very short, and it felt a little too cramped inside.
My customer purchased a T3500 to my specification. That machine is far superior and a proper precision compared to the 1500. If you can afford the step up in price, you will clearly see a step up in class.
+30points
33of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision T1500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DaveLLS
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedApril 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Inorder to upgrade to more current software to keep my business in the 21 century I had to upgrade to a faster processor and more RAM from my older Dell. This is my 6th Dell and as far as I'm concerned their performance get better and better. I had become worried about the quality feel of the construction itself after my last upgrade in 2005 but was pleasantly suprised to find my new T1500 feels substantially improved since my last precision. Have had to deal with customer support on some minor almost non-issues having nothing to do with the performance of the machine which was kind of frustrating...the Cust service is not very well run....but that aside I'm mostly pleased with the machine itself...so far.
Pros:autocad 2010 / carlson survey 2010
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision T1500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wise1
(home)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

raid(mirror)

PostedJanuary 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very nice computer... But if using the RAID (mirror) option would question using the recommended "desktop" hard drives (wd2500aajs) instead of something like the more RAID compatable "enterprise" hard drives (wd3201abys) for the "TLER" benefit. Otherwise quality top to bottom, nice looking, and good size box.
Pros:acad lt and office pro
-11points
11of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision T1500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RMLBK
(Tulsa, Oklahoma)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

NOT as high end as other Precisions

PostedDecember 22, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have in the past purchased the bottom-end precision for the doctors who work at my laboratory. I have at various times had Precision 210 (very old), Precision 380, Precision T3400 and T3500 machines. I have been extremely impressed by all of these in the past, due to their reliability and the build quality of the machines. I just opened my first T1500 today, so I cannot speak to its reliability, but the build and design quality appears to be behind the T3500, and even the OptiPlex 760 machines we use on a regular basis. Dell has gone back to an ATX style design rather than the BTX that has been used for the past several years, and the cable management inside the case is poor. Also, the case is not tool-free as the others have been. Really the build quality seems on par with my wife's $300 Inspiron rather than any other business line Dell I've ever dealt with.
+221points
255of 289voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for Precision T1500
Overall Rating 
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5