Customer reviews for Precision M6600

Precision M6600

Precision M6600
3.867 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
7
3.9
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 42
19 out of 3259%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Precision M6600
Review 1 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Farrealm
(Perth WA, Australia)
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Big, powerful & rubbish.

PostedApril 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use one of these for work. If you are after a good quality desk-top replacement with a good screen then I would keep looking.
Pros:
- Quite powerful with a fairly decent screen (though far from great).
Cons:
- Screen, hard-drive, touch pad, and motherboard sequentially failed within a very short time frame.
- As you would expect this laptop is big and heavy, though this doesn't translate into sturdiness. The whole system flexes and warps quite easily.
- Power supply is huge (like carrying a brick)
- Poor case quality that damages easily. Paint wearing off even though I use mine on a docking station 95% of the time.
- Very poor build quality. Metal case is twisted and bent in places (like someone put the laptop together with a hammer). The numeric keypad sticks out higher than the main key-pad. Flimsy plastic in places. Etc. etc.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 19, 2013
Hey Farrealm,

Sorry to hear about the issues you are having with your M6600 laptop. Please, Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
www.facebook.com/Dell
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”


Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JB12
(Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Precision M6600

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I previously owned a M6400. I rec'd the M6600 for x-mas and have only had any issue with the video card driver. The issue was caused when loading the Autocad program. It was quickly resolved by Dell Support. I run 3d graphics on Autocad and the video/speed is excellent.
Pros:autocad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellFan5
(Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Love this computer for it's multitasking abilility

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this computer. It was issued to me by my employer. It works like a champ. I can run Catia V5, my companies MRP system and multiple other applications at the same time without any problems. Love it so much just bought a Dell laptop and desktop for my home.
Pros:catia v5, remote access, photoshop cs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MoonCat1998
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Superb computer

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been an Apple user for 12 years and I recently switched to the M6600 from Apple's 2010 3.33GHz 4-core Mac Pro workstation and Apple's last iteration of the 17" MacBook Pro. The M6600 is the best computer I have used, period. It gets through computations and runs Photoshop (with 1.6GB large format film scans!) like it's bored (Quadro 4000M processor). Most of the time the computer is completely silent. The fans are non-obtrusive when on as they run at a low pitch.
I use the touch/N-trig screen and enter patient data plus medical notes on-screen routinely. This is one of the most useful features for me, and I hope that the promised Wacom support for the 6700 will be forthcoming. I chose this computer over the Fujitsu T902 despite that fact the latter can fold into a tablet. I can also draw on-screen to help patients understand issues without resorting to using another device.
Coming from Apple, I am staggered by the upgradeability options (including GPU/CPU, if necessary). I have 3 SSDs on-board. I must add that the CPU isn't throttled under load like a MacBook Pro. The case isn't as rigid as Apple's unibody design, however, the interior cage reinforcement is impressive.
I agree with some sentiments expressed here about the intake vents being positioned on the bottom of the case. As I use a laptop cooler when I have any laptop on my lap, it isn't an issue for me, however.
Apart from some quality-control issues that some users had the misfortune of experiencing; from my perspective I can safely say, "Well done, Dell: one happy user here."
Pros:medical practce, web development, photo editing, clinical trial data analysis
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:2012ad
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Model number should be 666

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer was issued to me by employer. I switched from an Optiplex workstation to this laptop. I have lost a lot of productivity to the problems encountered. I have had this machine for only two months, and it is has been down three times. First was the excessive boot and shut down times;memory was added. Second incident was a bad motherboard. Now it is bricked, likely a bad hard drive. I am down for the weekend, just as I was planning to catch up on my projects.
Pros:work
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 27, 2012
2012ad,

We apologize that your experience with the Precision M6600 was not perfect. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. I do understand that you have had a string of problems with this system, without your valuable inputs we will not be able to improve. Our engineering teams read customer reviews everyday and this will surely help them understand the issue better and work on a suitable fix! Do remember, we are listening and I would suggest you get in touch with one of our Social Media Support teams and they will be able to assist you further.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KindaSatisfied
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A Mobile Workstation.

PostedJune 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
+ With a few tweaks (Memory 32G, SSD 512G) it is a great mobile workstation
+ It has been very reliable
+ With enough memory it can handle multiple virtual environments no problem
+ It can be upgraded easily and is very accessable
+ Backlit keyboard is great
+ Large screen is awesome
Cons:
+ The screen dimming feature flickers.
+ A video card with 5 outputs can't manage to run 2 in a dock keep the primary laptop display on.
+ Laptop Vents are right above your legs when sitting on lap and are uncomfortably hot
+ No battery level indicator
+ Trackpad is multi-touch but using dell software only.
+ It is heavy for a laptop but I expected that in a mobile workstation.
+ Battery up-time is meh. for it's weight but average for a dell.
Pros:software development
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 29, 2012
KindaSatisfied,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell Precision M6600. We will use your feedback to help make our products and services better.

I'm sorry that you have not been completely satisfied with your purchase. Please feel free to reach out to any of our Dell Support Teams so that we may address concerns.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:UCWizard
(Panama City, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

M6600 as power workstation

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
as a very long time Dell power user, I have been moving up the food chain in terms of laptops as I need pure power and performance with the VMs I use for work. My just-replaced laptop was a M4500 with 8G ram, NVidia 2G and a single 750G 7200 rpm drive. I use Ubuntu as the host and VMWare Workstation for the two VMs I use for work.
I finally bit the bullet and got a new M6600 with 16 gig ram, pair of 750G 7200 rpm drives and the standard NVidia Quadro 3000M video. My need was more to be able to run four VMs concurrently plus the Ubuntu host, by splitting up the VMs with two on one 750G drive and two on the other 750G drive so that the I/O performance is balanced out. I put one very active and one very lightly used VM on each 750G drive.
The performance difference was like night and day, I can now assign 3G ram for each VM leaving 4G for the Ubuntu host, and actually do productive work with all four VMs running concurrently.
Yes, I paid a handsome amount for this server, as it were, but I don't have the graphics needs I read about with other people. Mine is purely engineering usage and the Linux tools are quite necessary.
BTW, the first thing I did when I got the new M6600 was to strip off Windows 7 and put Ubuntu 11.10 on it, VMWare Workstation v8.0.3 runs like a bat out of heck on it.
Very fast and stable so far, I can handle the size of the laptop and battery for the performance I get, my old M4500 is my portable laptop for when I need to ramble around with something in my arms.
Pros:engineering workstation, virtual machine host
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Borrax
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

its not a toy

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
like others that have written reviews here, this is my first laptop. or more correctly, mobile workstation, and dell is very careful in referring to this computer as such. lets get this out of the way, this is not a laptop. if you plan on doing some word processing, excel, some light autocad, googling random stuff while watching tv, this isnt the laptop for you. it weighs around 10 pounds so carrying it around is tiresome and you will need a case. if you try to use it on your lap, your legs will block the vents and it will blue screen due to heat within 15 minutes, so you can only use this on flat surfaces. no using it on a rug or in your bed. you can kinda cheat by balancing the machine on one knee in between the vents, but its not recommended. your know nothing relatives will tell you that your computer is huge and therefor outdated. if you use it without the sizable power adapter, it runs at a reduced speed. watching HD video is fine but if you try to edit video or do anything 3d it will lag. also i believe it draws a little under 300watts of power so mobile power options are limited it seems. on an airplane, watching a HD movie with wifi off, the battery lasted a little under 2 hours.
...that being said, i love this machine
its helpful to think of this machine as a desktop that can easily be packed up and has a built in monitor. i use it with dual screens and keep it docked 99% of the time. if i have to go somewhere for a week or even a few days its nice to be able to just chuck the unit in a laptop bag and throw it in the car with me.
it runs CS5.5 very well. i usually keep photoshop, after effects, and premiere open at the same time without so much as a hiccup. but whats this computer really loves is autodesk. maya, 3dsmax, autocad 3d, revit, inventor all require zero extra configuration to use full hardware acceleration. the fast previews save alot of time. you can rotate complicated models in real time or close to real time. it renders quickly too. re-encodes 720p video at like 4-5x speeds.
and it plays games really well too. i have the quadro 3000m and it seems somewhere around a gtx550ti. plays battlefield3 at not quite full graphics but its close.
some notes:
3d games and 3d rendering really get the fans going. if you feel around back and put your hand by the vents it feels like a hairdrier.
the finger print scanner makes me feel like james bond but its takes some getting used to and its faster to type in a password.
get 8gb ram. it's MUCH more economical to get additional ram somewhere else
get the solid state drive for system drive. i didnt and now regret it. ill explain, there are 2 HDD bays and 2 miniPCI ports. the wifi uses one mini pci slot and the other can be used for a mSATA SSD. the other 2 HDD bays can be either normal or SSD, both 2.5"
TL;DR version:
great machine if you do design work and occasionally/frequently travel professionally. other need not apply
+52points
53of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AuDellUser
(Sydney)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A backward step

PostedMay 22, 2012
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
Key points:
* The screen viewing quality excellent but dimensions too small.
* The track pad is in a weird location relative to the keyboard: finding that I am constantly shifting to a off-centre position to type.
* Audio recording quality is poor and noisy
* Poor design: huge vents underneath (exactly where your lap is) can easily lead to overheating
* PowerPack is a huge heavy brick
* Reliability is poor:
- got replacement because screen "blinked"
- second laptop had first blue screens of death this week saying there was power issues (despite clear venting)
It just doesn't cut as a media production computer despite its hefty price tag.
Pros:video production, web development, digital design
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 14, 2012
AuDellUser,

I am sorry to hear the the M6600 is not meeting all of your expectations. These systems can fit quite a lot of powerful components which does require the larger power supply to run. When it comes to the touch pad, the design concept was intended to have it be located in the middle of the keys (excluding the 10 key number pad on the right) so a customer does not accidentally hit it when typing, which is why it seems off center from the screen. For you still have any concerns, I recommend reaching out to our Support Team either via phone, Twitter, or Facebook:

Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:
http://dell.to/nKRY0q
Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Delhiphotographer
(Delhi, India)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Precision M6600 is Not for Professionals

PostedMay 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hi, I'm from Delhi,India. I'm A commercial Photographer and was working on Precision M65 for Five years. Since Dell stop supporting the hardware after five years, it was time to buy a new precision. I ordered Precision M6600 with i7-2860 processor, 16 gb ram, 256 gb SSD, Nvidia Quadro 3000M with 2gb ram, 17.3 premier color ips rgb monitor.
One of the reason to buy this machine was to color correct my images. The precision which was delivered had a gradient, red(warm) to the left of the monitor which changes to Blue(cool) to the right. This defect cannot be corrected with a color calibrating device. I called dell service and they send a new screen. It took them two weeks to replace the screen because no precision parts are available in India and they have to be Imported. The servicing person damages the bezel while changing the LED. Now this is a brand new laptop. And there was only a minor improvement with the colors. On further complaints they agreed to change the LED, wires, bezel, and Video card. Again two weeks. Changing video card means removing heat sink from GPU and processor. No replacement heat sink paste was send. I do not wish to have a new machine which might have heat issues. Dell tells me that they will send new heat sink paste. Come-on this is a brand new laptop.
I insisted on a complete system replacement. They agreed. After a month my new replaced system was delivered. Surprise-surprise, same color issue. And my web cam is not working. The installation person calls dell. They tell me that they'll send a new webcam and if i wish change the LCD and video card again. I'm completely disappointed with this technology they are selling in this box. Which also means no tests are done after assembling the machine at factory. I refused and am using the machine as it is. Two months later its left fan is making loud continues noise. The monitor frequently gets green/red pixels or dots all over the screen and the monitor blacks out and i have to restart. I've asked dell what could be the reason but they are clueless. It's not that they are not helping me. Its just that their efforts are not good enough.
I've paid a huge amount of money for what i thought was one of the best machine. But its an absolute disappointment. I'm planning to buy a mac soon.
Pros:digital photography, photoshop editing, color correction
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 14, 2012
Hello Delhiphotographer,

I understand that it can be very frustrating to purchase a product that does not meet the standards for the functions you are performing. I know that you have already worked with technical support but I would like to offer that you contact our Social Support Team directly. The will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns ASAP! We are here and we are listening. I appreciate you writing your review on the Precision M6600 and I hope we can turn this around for you.

Social Support Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ).
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:disappointed991
Title:

poor build quality

PostedApril 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
very disappointed in the build quality of this system as opposed to the M60 I owned for over a decade. Mine is less than a year old, I've never traveled with it, never abused it, and it's been on my desk in my home office since I got it, yet somehow it has developed a crack on the palm rest in the left corner where it meets the aluminum chassis.
It looks like a stress fracture but it could have also been caused by the corner of the screen hitting the plastic when the lid is closed. The screen is not well supported, the plastic bezel around it is very thin and when the lid is closed that side sits higher above the palm rest than the other as if it's not fully closed, however it is.
The lid/screen assembly itself (non touch screen LED in my case) is very think and has allot of flex to it. Overall everything on the inside, keys, bezels, screen, palm rest seems very delicate and easy to damage unintentionally.
The finish very sensitive to any abrasives at all. I've never moved this thing around but it's already got scratches in the coating on the lid.
The whole thing seems less well constructed than the first M series system I owned.
I've also been experiencing some flakiness with the 3000M graphics card.
I called about the palm rest, DELL wants over $300 for a replacement. I dare not ask how much a better gpu would be.
The system is usable, however I don't expect it will last nearly as long as my M60 did and I'm afraid I'm going to have to recommend against these systems from now on unless Dell is willing to improve build quality dramatically.
Pros:business - software development, audio production
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 23, 2012
Hi disappointed991,

Sorry to hear about the whole fact. Your feedback is very important for us to build and improvise our products better than ever. I will make sure to forward your feedback to our product specialist team. However, if you need any other assistance you can reach our experts in Dell Community forums -
http://dell.to/GY65Xz Or Twitter@Dellcares - http://bitly.com/P5W1OT

Thank you for choosing Dell .
Take care!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mikeods
Title:

A Workout

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The M6600 with high resolution screen, upper level graphics card, and loaded with memory, is a screamer with fantastic detail for graphics work requiring this ability. Downside is the weight. No need to go to the gym if you carry this thing around all day. Would be nice for the Dell reps to advise the buyer that the power supply is a pretty good sized device in and of itself. Probably weighs as much as my MacBook. Traveling by plane is not fun with this laptop equivalent of a bodybuilder on steroids.
Pros:radiology on the go, teaching, ftl65s1
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:clivengu
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Not a Laptop. It is a powerful Mobile workstation!

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
To start with, I used to be a pure believer of "Desktop PC is always better" when comes to stability, performance and pricing. I am very skeptical with using laptop as my main machine because of all the horror laptop stories I heard around: HDD break down, burn, whole system overheated or unstable, lost of crucial information.
I have used more than 4 desktop machines which, so far never gave me any nightmares. They are really the most stable tools. I can let them run for weeks without shutting them down. Never break down until it outdated after few years and i decided to change.
It comes a time when I need to travel a lot more often, bringing my Desktop on airplane isnt the wisest choice. I decided to invest on a mobile workstation. I know the machine needs to be as powerful/or even more powerful than my desktop machine as I will be using it as my main machine for all my work and data storage.
I researched a lot and Precision M6600 seems to be the best option for me. Despite the price x3 times higher than the spec of what I can get for a desktop. But portability is an issue here so I will have to invest on this one.
I have used the m6600 for more than 8 months now and I think it has really completely replaced my desktop machine, in terms of Power and usage. I still backup my data often to external HDD as I am still a bit worry about its stability. So far I do not have any negative experience with this machine.. except that on the first few weeks I received my machine, it did shows a few times of "bluescreen" which pretty frightening..not sure what is the cause of it... but after that I have not experience it for many months now.
I have pushed the power of the machine to its limit. Rendering 3d visuals for few days at full power. So far it never fail me. I believe if I do that to a normal consumer laptop, it will have long gone.
The most expensive machine/property I ever bought.. but it is all worth it.I am thinking to invest on the Xeon Desktop Precision soon when I do not need to travel much anymore :)
Pros:3d visualising, Gaming, cad
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:M6500User
Title:

Please get back 1200x1080 resolution

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been hesitating to buy this model since the maximum resolution supported is 1920x1080. Since I have couple of M6500 laptops, I am sticking to them. I usually look to buy the new models every couple of years primarily to take advantage of more processing power and features. But for engineering mobile workstation not to support 1920X1200 - especially when 9 inch iPad 3 is going to support much higher resolution - is kind of ridiculous. Dell should realize that lot of applications are built for high resolutions and not all new applications are for showing youtube videos. I have always used Dell laptops and it pains me to make this comment.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 23, 2012
M6500User,

Thank you for sharing your valuable inputs with us, without which we will not be able to improve! Our engineering and marketing teams read customer reviews everyday and will take your feedback to make improvements on this machine. Do remember we are listening, please contact any of Dell's Support Teams at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+11points
25of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GChapp
(Los Angeles, CA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

M6600 review

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very happy with this laptop. I am happy with the screen, but eventually will probably get a larger monitor to use with it. I think it's graphics capabilities are pretty wasted on a screen that fits on a laptop.
I have an SSD and HD, and it is pretty snappy on startup and loading things.
I use it mostly for Autocad and Quickbooks. I use a Logitech Anywhere MX mouse, and it all works great. Hardly ever use touchpad.
I really would prefer the home-end-insert-delete keys were over the numeric keypad. I never use the buttons that are there, not even sure what they do. I guess that tells you how often I have used them.
The laptop is large and heavy. I went to REI and tried several laptop bags, and most would not hold this. For me, it's too heavy for a shoulder strap.
I ordered a Mountain Hardwear Paladin pack, and it fits fine.
I would recommend Pro Support. You pay more for it, but they deliver the service.
Pros
1. Fast loading programs and startup
2. Runs programs snappily
3. Has a numeric keypad
4. Runs stable. I have read of some people having problems with Autocad on some other brands of laptops. This important to me. This laptop just runs the program and I don't have to deal with weird display or whatever problems.
5. Display seems good for what I do
6. Surprised at how long battery lasts
7. Not too hot nor loud
8. Sales people were helpful.
Cons
1. Home, End, Insert, Delete key location
2. Heavy (I accept this as part of what you get)
Pros:autocad, general office software, quickbooks
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EEinFlorida
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Concrete Block

PostedDecember 22, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a laptop. Its a desktop in a flat package. The power supply is the size of a netbook. Its heavy as all getout. When I have to take this home my back is aching by the time I get to my car. I would trade for a less powerful computer in an instant.
Pros:electronic hardware development, office tasks
-57points
6of 69voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:professorquack
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Gaming Laptop

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this as a gaming laptop and to do game dev work. This is the only laptop with a sweet graphics card and processor that doesn't look like a spaceship and fits in your bag. You can do the spec checks yourself so I'll describe other areas.
-Boot, it has that new bios that insta post's. UEFI. Nice.
-Build, solid. Comparing this to a toshiba x205 gaming rig it runs cool and is quiet. keys are great for typing, one of the few non chicklet key's available.
-Multi touch scroll is someone tricky. It doesn't register if you're two fingers are vertical to each other. The keyboard mouse is outdated and the top set of mouse buttons gets in my way sometimes. Would like those to be removed to have less places to get cookie crumbs our off.
-Monitor, I got the non ips but on axis it looks just as sharp as the u2410- complete with that matte pearl grain (that most people don't like but I do)
-Bloatware, there is none! Can't believe it but nothing except trendware antivirus is installed. No extra Dell utils etc.
-Cost, for a gaming PC config it's high in price but watch the Dell outlet..hourly! for somereason 50% off sweet configurations show up.
-Gripe, the config I had has the finger print scanner. It's pretty slow compared to the toshiba I had. (on boot if you install the sofware, it will prompt at the windows login but it says please wait for a few seconds)
-Expansion It's got 2 internal drive bays, 3 monitor connections (albeit all different connectors)
-Speakers, It's a laptop. but sadly my last gaming pc (x205) had decent mid and bass. This seems like two piezo tweeters that sound like a telephone.
-Glow , while the white power light glow looks neat, it's unneeded. I know the laptops on. It also has a dozen other lights (blue tooth wifi, HD,battery) they are annoying.
overall, It's pretty much the only sweet laptop availible with these specs again that doesn't look like a spaceship and have blue lights distracting you...Oh It's deceitfully heavy -real heavy.
Pros:Gaming, game dev
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AndrewW
Title:

Portable powerhouse

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use this for running multiple databases, web servers and development programs at the same time. The M6600 is smooth and fast. The battery lasts for hours which is more than enough to get through full evenings of work. When hooked to the docking station you would never know you are working on a laptop. The screen is bright, detailed and does not have the annoying reflection I have seen on most laptops. The solid state drive makes the machine super quite and is smooth. Very happy with this machine.
Pros:software development
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Electronic
Title:

Some Nice Features but Overall Disappointing

PostedNovember 19, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
While the Precision M6600 has some nice overall features, I’m disappointed. I bought this laptop mainly because of its ability to have multiple hard drives, the 1080p screen resolution and full size keyboard—with numeric keypad. These three features make it a good option as a desktop replacement. Unfortunately, the touch pad is extremely limited in functionality which makes this laptop challenging to use without a mouse. For general mouse movement, it functions fine but the scrolling and ‘multi-touch’ feature are anything but functional; especially, when I compare the scrolling of the Precision M6600 to my previous laptop, a Dell XPS M1710. The XPS M1710 would scroll pages smoothly and quickly. The Precision, if you can get it to scroll, is slow and choppy. I have tried to optimize the settings and even contacted Tech Support but only saw limited improvement. If Dell updates the drive and the touch pad utility so they functions appropriately, I would provide a more favorable review and rating. Because scrolling extremely critical to the overall use of a laptop, I cannot recommend the Precision M6600 until they resolve this issue.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Precision M6600
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scribe
Title:

Not Happy about M6500 -> M6600 changes

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased an M6500 machine last year which I loved. Paid quite a bit extra for an RGBLED LCD at 1920x1200 resolution. My machine had some wear issues and Dell has always been great about fixing parts. This time they decided to replace the entire system and replaced my M6500 with an M6600. I am not happy with the changes.
I don't know who made the most recent design change decisions, but they are horrible. I now have to deal with a 16:9 display, no RGBLED monitor-- the difference on the eyes is huge, and multimedia VCR buttons above my numeric keypad in lieu of my "HOME, END, INSERT, DELETE" buttons! Finally, the front lip of the case where your wrists rest while typing is not flush and constantly bothers me. Issues that still exist from the M6500: Grounding is still horrible-- you can feel the electricity on the casing when the power is plugged in; probably related, is that the mouse jumps horribly when your hand is touching both the casing and the mousepad.
The M6500 RGBLED LCD was beautiful-- like looking at a color epaper reader; darks were dark, blues were blue, reds were red and not pink. I don't know how they claim that this WLED monitor is "true color". Looking at it side by side with my M6500 before I placed it in the return box, anyone could tell the difference.
I am an engineer. I did not purchase this machine to watch movies! I want context when I look at code. Now I have a short, fat display that leaves me with about 20 lines of code on the screen after window decorations.
These are NOT multimedia machines! They are desktop replacements for engineers! Please give me back my normal screen height and HOME, END, INSERT, DELETE buttons over my number pad instead of the "Calc, Rewind, Play/Pause, Fast Forward" buttons! Absolutely ridiculous design decision for this laptop.
Fast machine-- no complaints there. But wish I could have my old screen and keyboard layout back.
Pros:software development
+68points
70of 72voted this as helpful.
1 2