Customer reviews for Precision M4600

Precision M4600

Precision M4600
3.936 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
4
3.9
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 45
20 out of 3067%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Precision M4600
Review 1 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Caduser74
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Paper Weight

PostedApril 10, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our company bought 2 of these laptops to run Autodesk Building Design Suite. Since day one both computers shut down at random without warning. After googling the issue online, this seems to be a big problem with this laptop & the problem also seems to be over the heads of Dell customer support. For the money we dropped on these things, one would think they were getting quality. I will never buy a Dell again!
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 12, 2013
Dear caduser74,

I regret that you have had a unsatisfactory experience with what Dell considers one of its premium lineup of business laptops, the Precision M4600. Please reach out to our SOS support team from one of the links below. Hopefully you will reach a better resolution with your current issues.

Twitter @DellCares -
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SoCalMiguel
(Rancho Santa Margarita, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Better desktop replacement than I had hoped.

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm glad I did not read some of these reviews when I purchased my M4600 from the Dell Outlet. I trusted that my last Dell worked great and that my "new" Dell M4600 with 3 year warrenty would help me be more effcient than having a desktop and transitioning files as needed to my laptop for trips. I was right!
My 4600 came with a 15.6" 1920x1080 matte screen, Core i7 CPU, 16GB ram, 128GB SSD, nVidia Quadro 2000M and 9 cell battery.
I purchased the E-Port Plus Docking Station so I could have the second power supply and have everything (dual DVI monitors, scanner, Ethernet, USB 3.0 drive, etc) plugged in with one simple click.
I just upgraded the SSD to 240 and plan a 512 when prices come down somemore...maybe in a year.
I love the super sharp 1920x1080 matte screen...it gives me 1/2 my normal desktop when on the road...which means I can get work done. Not sure why anyone would want less pixels...ever. This was my 3rd highest requirment after CPU and RAM.
This is now my only PC. I'm a developer, I run 1-2 virtual machines to simulate client environments. Otherthan SSD diskspace, you can never have too much, I love this system.
Battery life is nearly 5 hours...to me that's crazy with a 15.6" screen Core i7 machine. The battery is internal...no buldge.
Finally, a very quiet system with the SSD...fans only spin up occassionally. No more switching from desktop to laptop.
My only complaint is I get an occassional popping sound from my speakers using the headphone jack on the docking station.
Pros:excellent battery life with 9 cell battery, sharp 1920x1080 matte screen, quiet!!, fast!!
Cons:occassional popping sound frm speakers when docked
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gnyff
Title:

Bad quality keyboard print and minors

PostedDecember 8, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just delete a large review - strange Dell choose not to state how many caracters are allowed/left. So I'll find another place to post it...
Anyways, my low rating originates here:
My machine was bought in US and "localized" with a Danish keyboard (bought in Denmark). After shipping costs and taxes this was ~40% cheaper than buying on dell.dk!!! As the keyboards are really lousy quality (the text started fading after around 4 months light office use) this proves to be a problem! For some of keys the black part is now also wearing off; leaving backlit spots instead of letters. Not good. Dell claims there are no production errors known - so I guess this is (sadly) the standard quality. For me this is totally unacceptable. Others that did not change the keyboard might have it replaced under warranty once in a while - but it should not be so. I'll never get more than three months warranty (!?) so I'll keep the thrashed one and tell my customers about it ;-)
The "standard" screen is fair. Viewing angles and colors are far from IPS types (pitty the Dell premium was insane) - but it's not a bad screen. I still think it's a mistake the screen is 1080 lines and not 1200 - but it might be an availability issue (although I'd expect Dell would be big enough to drive the market).
The cooling system draws air in from the bottom of the laptop (don't leave it on a pillow or the like) and pushes it out at the back. Much better than the side exhaust seen on quite a few of the new machines. While writing this the fans are off - with ~10s fairly audible spin-ups every say 2 minutes. I would personally prefer a very low steady flow. Under heavy load the fans are of course very active - and audible - but I'd deem the noise "acceptable" :-)
There are a few "minor annoyances" that I'm surprised Dell missed:
1) There is no "external power applied" LED! The battery indicator will be lit when charging and yellow when discharging AND almost depleted. Big mistake! There should be a (non-white) indication when running off the internal battery. Likewise there's seemingly no way to apply a (BIOS) "beep" when power is connected or (more importantly) disconnected. Might just be me, but I do miss this ThinkPad feature ;-).
2) The numlock LED is /not/ in the num-lock key in the numeric keyboard. Instead it sits with all the other white indicators (HD, battery, WiFi, BT) in the opposite side.
3) I'm puzzled Dell still did not find a spring actuated door/dust cover for their SD-card readers. The dummy SD-card is ugly, and prone to be lost. Guess it's no problem to just leave the hole - but it would be nicer with a proper door... ;-)
Does the M4600 show promise? Yes, overall it's a well designed laptop.
Would I recommend it? Definitely not! The keyboard is an essential part, and I'm deeply disappointed a big player like Dell have lost focus on quality here.
Pros:office use, hardware development, software developement
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 11, 2012
Hello Gnyff,

I am sorry to hear that this machine has not met your expectations. Letters wearing off your keyboard under general use is not a typical occurence with our keyboards. If you want, you can reach out to our support team through a variety of methods including the Dell Support Forums (
http://dell.to/NjitjY), Twitter: @DellCares (http://dell.to/Tgt5D7), and Dell’s Facebook Support Form (http://dell.to/OO2MDG). They may be able to assist further or provide suggestions.

-SaraT
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:adobepro
(Staten Island, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice try, but still prefer my M4400

PostedDecember 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Solidly built machine, but I find myself misjudging the keys when going back and forth from a desktop workstation to the laptop -- not major, but in addition, I find my wrist hurts a little having to move all the way to the edge of one side compared to the traditional keyboard layout. However, the downfall IMHO, is the new 16x9 format. My M4400 was 16x10 @ 1440x900 and was perfect for the 15.4 screen. IMO, 1920x1080 on a physically smaller screen is way too small and no matter the DPI/Font adjustments, things just look off; somethings ok here, others not, esp. when doing an RDP to another machine, things are tiny. To me, the Precision is a Workstation, not a Playstation/TV format and I wish Dell would push to bring back the 16x10 format on the Precision line. There's a big gap in between that I think most people prefer between very large and very small that Dell is not offering. Again, ideally, it would 1440x900 on a 16x10 format, as I think 1600x900 on a 16x9 AR is still too small. I ended up returning the unit and continuing on with my M4400 that I had for four years thus far. What I suggest is that if you're interested in a Precision, go to any retail store and see the difference btwn the 1366x768 and 1920x1080 screens and judge what you prefer before you commit to the Precision.
Pros:software development, image editing
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 10, 2012
Hello adobepro,

Thank you for providing your feedback on the M4600. I can understand how transitioning from a 16x10 to a wider screen 16x9 display can be a big change to how you view and work on your system. We take these reviews seriously and appreciate the suggestions. I always recommend posting some of your ideas on Idea Storm as well. The way it works is user's will vote and idea up or down. A post with a higher promotion has a better chance of being implemented.

Check it out, here:
http://www.ideastorm.com/

Thank you again for your feedback. -SaraT
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nibs
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Its magnificent laptop

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Its magnificent laptop
pros -
1. keyboard i work a lot in the dark and this light is so good, every key is so "finger friendly" :) simple, i'm lovin it
2. graphic card quadro 2000m - this is what i have dream about, its so good, and its is really better then my mac book pro gr.card
3.removable hdd - this is very important for me cos i have sensitive data and this is only laptop that i know which support so simple remove hdd
4. lcd - its brilliant with resolution 1920x1080
etc
cons
1. Only design of laptop - its look old fashion but when you know what you have inside that box you can only smile to others :D
I would recommend this beast to all my friends
Pros:video rendering, personal use, software development
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:williamhd2
(columbus ohio)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

great stay with dell

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
fast as I will ever need (pretty fast) will last for years for sure. feel of quality. dell puts alot of their stuff on this but you can get rid of that or not because of large hd. dell uses quality parts! buy 1 you will like alot.
Pros:home work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RomanOko
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

good hardware but weak body

PostedAugust 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
the machine is very good in hardware: I gotta M4600 with Quad Intel, 750 GB HDD and cool IPS LCD with 100% AdobeRGB color gamut. Best solution for office work for Graphic Arts but not so mobile as expected - too heavy - about 3 kilos, plus charger - about 1.5 kilo. the body is good designed (except of its weight ))), but lit is a little slack - cover sags and I afraid of LCD damage could occur.
Maybe, Dell could make body little thinner, and palm rest covers of body little more rounder, making them not so sharp.
Also, found that USB 3.0 ports are Software-ports, so they have not enough amps on their output (some of my usb3.0 hardware do not work properly, HDDs, Flash drives and so on). USB 2.0 ports are OK.
And of course, sad about Charger device - it's too big and too heavy. And it is 180W instead of standard 130W for E-port replicator, so you'll have too buy additional charger if you wish not to carry charger with yourself all the time. I gotta E-port at the office with 130W power, so my Precision always tells me "Power is not enough", and laptop's speed slows down, and my 180W charger is at home...
Maybe have to buy one more 180W charger, but...
Hope they will change something in body design in newer products.
Pros:graphic arts, business trips, rich applications
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 31, 2012
Hey RomanOko,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell Precision M4600. We appreciate your feedback because it is an excellent resource for other customers to use.

It is always a challenge to balance high powered and high quality hardware with aesthetic features, like weight and size. Please feel free to share your suggestions with us at:
http://www.ideastorm.com/

If you are concerned about your LCD being damaged, I recommend purchasing a laptop sleeve. Check out our laptop accessories here:
http://dell.to/PFRHRu

Again, thank you for providing us with your feedback and thank you for choosing Dell!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DaveArchitecture
(Cincinnati)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A Machine to Facilitate the Work

PostedJune 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased a Dell M4600 with Intel Core i7 Extreme Quad Core Processor, 512 GB SSD, 16 GB DDR3-1600 SDRAM, Nvidia Quadro 2000M (2 GB GDDR3) & 15.6 FHD (1920 x 1080) Wide View Anti-Glare RGB LED Back-lit Display & WiFi / WiMAX card.
As one whose line of work is architeture, the software I run on the machine is Revit, AutoCAD, FormZ/Renderzone and the standard Windows 7 Professional suite of Microsoft & Adobe applications. I spec'd this machine to allow me to add & run 3ds Max, Maya and the Adobe Creative Suite set with no sweat. I chose the M4600 series instead of the M6600 because the nature of my work does not require the additional horsepower available in the M6600 and to keep the portability of the smaller screen size / overall size (I believe resolution is not increased with the larger screen). My standards for comparison are a Dell PC (2011) and a Dell M60 (2004).
PROS:
- This machine is very fast. Boot sequence is less than 30 seconds to login. Windows login is less than 10 seconds. A set of files I transferred from the M60 took 2 min. to copy to a flash drive and 20 seconds from the flash drive to the M4600.
- Use of an external hard drive (conventional) does not slow the M4600 down appreciably.
- Color and crispness of screen image is impressive - quite a jump from the M60.
- Keyboard is fast and comfortable to the touch. It is a noticeable improvement on both the conventional Dell keyboard and the M60.
- For my work I typically use a mouse with programmable buttons. That being said, the touch pad & track stick on the M4600 are easily adjustable to one's taste, and are a vast improvement from the M60. They are also superior to the recent MAC books I've used.
- Back lit feature of the keyboard is helpful and can be adjusted to taste.
- 2 @ USB 3.0 & 2 @ USB 2.0 are helpful. Use of a docking station adds 2 more USBs.
- Acquisition of wireless signal is quick. Data throughput is significantly improved over M60. I've not yet been in a situation to utilize WiMAX.
CONS:
- Number pad on the keyboard is a nice addition, but is easy to inadvertently switch off due to the placement of the '9 padlock' key.
OVERALL:
This machine as I have it configured is expensive; but I feel it's a good value. The solid state hard drive adds significantly to the cost - but also to the performance; and hopefully to the longevity. In a perceptual sense, the laptop doesn't feel heavy, but does feel solid and precisely constructed. In the research / purchase process, I compared with the EliteBook systems offered by HP. Based on the available pricing at the time of my purchase, the M4600 offered significantly better value. In closing, assuming you use a laptop as a tool of the trade, I recommend a suitably configured M4600 as a quality means by which to satisfyingly accomplish the tasks and develop the designs at hand.
Pros:architectural design, contract document production
+25points
27of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SQLServerDevAuthor
(Colorado based - lots of travel)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Poor Quality - Returned

PostedMay 29, 2012
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
I’m a SQL Server MVP, developer/author/speaker. My last 15 or so notebooks have been Dells – mostly Latitudes. Wanting a larger screen and the fastest notebook possible, so I bought a Precision M4600.
I was disappointed on three counts. First, the display (I choose the most expensive option – the RGB LED 1080P display) has a dazzling effect as if tiny crystals covered the display. I found it extremely annoying. It was the worst looking display I’ve ever seen on ta notebook computer. Secondly, the performance was not what I expected. It felt no faster under load testing than my previous dual core Latitude E4300. Lastly, the fit and finish was horrid. While it has the heft of a well built machine, the actual quality is less than a $300 box store sale computer. The front right corner of the lower case was improperly assembled bending out the case. I have no idea how it passed any visual inspection.
I’m returning the unit for a full refund.
Pros:software development, presentations
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 14, 2012
We’re sorry to hear that your out-of-box experience with the Precision M4600 was not up to your expectations. We value customer reviews of our products and appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We strive to provide the highest in standards when it comes to quality assurance, which is why we take it seriously if a system is given to a customer in a less than ideal state.

I would advise that if you have not already returned the system, to reach out to our Social Support Team directly. The will be able to assess and diagnose your concerns and offer a suitable resolution for you. I hope we can turn this around for you.

Social Support Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ).
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:steven222
Title:

Outstanding Laptop

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Out of all the laptops I have owned, this is the best one yet.
For starters the laptop is a power house. Out of the box software was set up well enough where I did not have to format and reinstall Windows. It was pleasing to see that very little "junk" software was installed on the system.
Some reviewers mention that the system is bulky. While this is a true statement I feel that the laptop's capabilities dictate it needs to be this way. I feel very comfortable carrying the laptop around and always have confidence the laptop is not going to wind up with a cracked screen or cracked frame. On that note this is the most solid "business" oriented laptop I have handled as compared to manufacturers that build their systems out of low grade plastic that cracks easily.
One of the best features about this system is support for Dell docking stations. I really miss the fact that the old consumer models (such as the Inspiron 8500) had this feature but no longer do. This feature (plus the awesome video card) really pushed me to get the Precision laptop over any of the Inspiron or Inspiron XPS laptops. I have dual 23 inch monitors and love that I can just set my laptop down on the docking station and everything just shows up and I don't have to worry about plugging anything in over and over again. I think people who have very little equipment in their setup probably won't recognize this benefit and could give or take on this feature. For someone like myself who has dual monitors, 5.1 speaker system and many other USB peripherals can greatly appreciate a docking station. On a side note, the docking station saved me last week when I encountered a networking device that could only connect using a null modem serial cable. Since the docking station already has this built in I was able to connect the networking device natively without additional drivers or setup.
The only "con" to this laptop is the size of the power block that is included. Having a bulky power adapter is never fun to haul around and just takes up a considerable amount of space, even when tied up properly.
As I said before, this is the best laptop I have owned so far and I am looking forward to the years to come and not having to worry about replacing this laptop. This laptop is certainly more pricy than consumer models but it is worth it.
Pros:software development, personal, project management
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Phishyblue
(Minnesota)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Out of Return Policy, Out of Luck

PostedMarch 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I initially received the M4600 Workstation, I was thrilled. It was a handsome machine, appeared well built, and was thought out with a business setting in mind. I bought the Dell CRT stand and port replicating dock, not only are they functional but they're quite elegant really; I highly recommend the docking stations for Dell's business machines. The docking stations make it incredibly simple to connect your laptop to all your desktop peripherals and with the touch of 1 eject button your laptop is mobile once more.
On the 40th day of ownership, things went very south. Within the first week I found that the biometric fingerprint reader is a complete waste of money. It only allows you to log into Windows, nothing more. HP's biometric system allows you to log into Windows, and anything that has a user name and password prompt. I've used HP's system, and it's fantastic. Dell's is worthless. That's a minor issue really, just don't order it - but the big issue came when the screen would display the Dell logo then a black screen. The only way to get the screen to recover was to hold the power button down until the system shut down, restart the system, and wait. Usually this takes 2-5 cycles to get the display to recover and actually work once Windows boots. Since I'm out of Dell's incredibly short 21-day return period I'm probably out of luck. One little flaw, one huge flaw, both marring what would otherwise be the best business machine on the market.
Pros:student: accounting and finance
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 21, 2012
Hey Phishyblue,

I apologize that you did not have an exceptional experience with your Dell Precision M4600. It is difficult to know the exact cause of your system shut-down, but I'm sure we can find a solution.

Dell Technical Support is capable of troubleshooting the issue, and finding a solution for you. We also have several Online Support Teams who can help identify any issues that may arise. You may not need to return the system entirely to solve any concerns you have.

Reach out to us at:
• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Thank you for choosing Dell
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sheehanje
(Scotia, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Perfect Balancing Act

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
What I like:
Well executed design in the chasis. It has balance between being roomy enough to be a desktop replacement, but durable and light enough to not pass over when leaving the office.
Keyboard is fast, functional and doesn't cut corners. This is the absolute fastest laptop keyboard I've used. The number pad is also nice. I am not an accountant, but have already found it handy.
Touchpad is responsive without being over sensitive. It's well positioned and I find if comfortable going from full out typing to controlling the cursor. I also can fully rest my wrists on the unit with out tripping the touchpad.
Input/Output layout is well thought out.
Performance is outstanding. I outfitted my unit with 8GB RAM, the ATI Firepro M5950, and a Core i7 2720QM. Excellent for Work, above average for Play. For added performance I put in a 128GB SSD. I also added a 320GB 7200RPM for extra storage. Programs load quick, and I'm up in running in seconds from a cold boot.
I went with a 1920X1200 Premium HD display. It's not the IPS panel, but looks good and has a very wide angle of view.
Graphics are smooth with the ATI GPU. 3D Apps work well, and I tried a few games that run decently. The FPS aren't going to blow anyone away on high settings, but if you're like me, they will get you through boring nights in hotel rooms.
Audio: Being a laptop, I don't expect much in the way of audio. With that said, the speakers really do come to life for a laptop and don't have that tin can sound you get with most laptops. They aren't going to blow the doors off the house, but I might not be reaching for my headphones as much.
Somebody said in another review that the E6520 is the same except you can get more RAM in the M4600. This is wrong. There are more HD options, better GPU options all around, a better chasis layout and build (in my opinion), and I don't believe you have the IPS option on the E6520.
I have a fingerprint reader, and I must say, this is much improved over the previous iterations I've used. It just works without fuss.
Cons:
Battery life. This is a desktop replacement, and it consumes energy like one. You don't get full performance on battery, and even with lower performance, the life on the 97Wh is a couple hours.
Performance customization. I don't want to overclock the thing, but it would be nice if I could use the full power of the ATI Firepro to get a little more juice when playing games.
Exhorbant cost to add blu-ray. I have the CD/DVD combo, but would've opted for blu-ray if it was even reasonably priced.
The Dell update utility is poorly thought out. It doesn't show what it's updating, doesn't give a clue as far as progress time, doesn't allow much cusomization, and just seems like a clunky bit of programming.
At the end of the day, I've very happy with the purchase of this laptop. It fits me like a glove and gives me top notch performance on the go. This is Dells flagship line of laptops, and it shows.
Pros:virtualization, light gaming, visio, systems management, multimedia creation and presentation
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nonoob
(Northeast, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Computer

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got my M4600 with an i7 processor, 8 gb of RAM, quatro 1000 video card and HD display. I use it for data analysis and display, drafting, circuit modeling and of course a game or two. As a high end user of Alienware systems (own 2), I must say that I am completely impressed with this unit.
Pros:
1) keyboard layout, very functional, well placed, and easy to find keys when typing large amounts of data. I do not like the new keyboards that have come out, the short keystroke and spaced too far apart.
2) FAST - many complained that the computer is not very good at gaming display. Not sure where this comes from, but I played 2 hours of WoW with a crisp, smooth action of the display. HD really brings out the environment. Also when using 3D ACAD modeling the images are very striking.
3) Weight - it is a little bit heaver than your average laptop, but then again, this isn't the average laptop. I have no issues carrying this one around.
4) The case is very solid with very low fan noise when taxing the system (and I did the first day I got it). I like the blockish style laptop. Oh, yes... some say that the laptop is very thick. No so, I measured this against a Lenovo Thinkpad not much difference there. The case easily fits in my existing bag with no problems at all.
Cons:
Haven't found any yet.
Overall, this is a very sound system that lives up to Dell's hype. I love it and am already very attached to it. My Alienware laptops are great, but this one will replace those with no loss of capabilities.
Pros:engineering data crunching, Gaming
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CrustyCurmudgeon
(Charlotte, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not Impressed

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got this a few days ago to replace an aging D620. Paired it with the premium dock (E-Port Plus). Upon unboxing, I was struck with its rather flimsy construction. Instead of feeling sturdy and well built (as I expected) I find plastic that doesn't seem to fit or feel as solid as it should. The bezel around the display is a good example. One side seems properly glued or fastened together, the other is not, and squeezing the front and back together produces an audible clicking sound. This kind of construction passed for fine in 1995, but today, a little more is expected.
Moving on... The way it drops into the dock seems less than positive in a mechanical sense. Personal opinion perhaps, but I've had numerous laptop/dock configs, and this is far from the best fitting of those in mechanical terms. It's spongy and indeterminate instead of positive and strong.
Performance-wise, I was shocked at the slow start-ups out of the box. I recorded some times of a minute and a half to boot to the Windows log-in screen. That seems to have been reduced somewhat at this point, but why so bad initially?
I don't know if its the dock or the PC, but I've had a number of odd performance issues...
-- I had some sort of USB meltdown that still doesn't seem resolved. After pairing my iPhone successfully a few times, it suddenly decided that it didn't like the driver. I kept getting messages that the iPhone device driver wouldn't load properly (even though it had already installed properly an hour earlier). Then my keyboard and mouse wouldn't be recognized and wouldn't work. This complete setup - monitor, cords, keyboard, mouse, USB connections, everything - worked fine with my six year old D620. The only thing that fixed it was installing a new USB hub, after which everything was fine. Well, not entirely fine. It sees my webcam (a Logitech C910) and associates the right icon with it, but labels it as an Apple iPhone. Oh well.
-- Audio: there seems to be some sort of control that turns the audio circuit on and off when a sound (system event) is played. Problem is that a noticeable "pop" is emitted when this happens. Then a noticeable "pop" occurs again a few seconds later, presumably when the audio circuit is shutting down. It's not loud, but it's annoying as it happens at random times.
-- Waking from Sleep: it doesn't seem to do this very well either. Neither my USB mouse or keyboard will wake it up. Only reaching for the power switch on the dock will do.
-- External Monitor Startup: I've tried setting the power so that when plugged in, it never goes to sleep, but does shut the monitor off after a while. I'm finding that once the monitor shuts down and I come back, trying to get it to power back on via my mouse or keyboard doesn't always work. Why the inconsistent performance?
I've had this for all of 5 days at this point. Can't wait to see what happens next.
Pros:self-employed business, photos & video
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 24, 2012
CrustyCurmudgeon,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Dell Precision M4600. I am sorry to hear that this system didn't completely meet your expectations. We work very hard to try and make every customer the happiest customer around. If you are still having issues and would like to reach out to us, please use the information below. We would love the chance to show you we can still make your experience with Dell a positive experience. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HawthornSolutions
Title:

M4600 laptop

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop. I bought two of these machines for my business and run VMware workstation. This machine is very fast.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NickD1
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love it so far

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very pleased with the performance and quality of my new M4600. It serves as my desktop machine with a docking station as well as a field service laptop. The battery life is phenominal, the screen is sharp and bright, and the keyboard has good feedback with a solid feel. I would highly recommend going for the SSD, because the rest of the system is barely breaking a sweat before the 7200 rpm hard drive is at max throughput. Overall, I am very pleased with this machine. It is a tad heavy, but it has a very sturdy feel which is more important to me than weight savings.
Pros:industrial software development, cad, database administration, field service of industrial equipment
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pitboss2001
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell M4500 Review

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm using a Dell M4500 for work which was initially configured with XP. It threw Blue screens like crazy until I sent it back to be re-imaged with Windows 7. Only 1 blue screen (same problem USB BugCode Driver error) since then.
I later learned the laptop is designed to run with Windows 7 and not XP (whatever that might mean).
Laptop has the extended battery and it runs for 3-5 hours depending upon what I'm doing. Lasts longer if the WIFI is off (of course).
Laptop is very sturdy. A bit heavy, but since I travel a lot, I'm OK with the extra weight. I want something reliable which can take a few bumps and this more than meets my needs.
Very pleased so far.
Pros: Decent battery life; easy to view display; very nice graphics; comfortable keyboard and responsive touchpad. Decent enough sound for (2) 1" speakers.
Con: The finger print reader is disabled by the company software and should have been left off the configuration when it was ordered. A little heavy and hot when that fan kicks on.
Pros:word, excel, solidworks, Travel, email
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TominMN
Title:

Precision Laptop

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is exactly what it is billed as, a desktop replacement. It is a powerful laptop, you are not sacrificing anythign spec wise. Sure, the price can be high, but this laptop can take a beating.
I have had it for about a year, with no issues at all with the laptop. I'm running Win 7 Ultimate x 64, i7 x940, 8.0 GB of RAM. If anything, I'd recommend adding a SSD drive at least for your OS, and that would make this machine even better.
I currently have a port replicator (docking station) and am running dual 23" monitors with this, and couldn't be more happy. Get the better docking station, so you can output to 2 monitors.
Cons: Battery life isn't the best, even with a 9 cell. But, that's to be expected.
It is clunky for portability. I have a backpack, and don't feel the strain, but if I carried it in a traditional bag, it would be bothersome with a lot of travel.
No HDMI out. Dell's never seem to have this (except for the XPS lines or consumer lines maybe).
Pros:it support
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RfnChili
(NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Powerful laptop

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this laptop to replace an older D630. I am still working through some of the differences in packaged software and drivers, but Dell support has resolved most of them. The resolution is great for viewing remote desktop sessions even on the LCD. The expandability of this laptop is what sold me. Extra RAM slots over a regular laptop and space for another hard drive, plus all of the added ports will give me the flexibility to test new Windows version plus any virtual machines that I am testing with.
Pros:system / network admin, telecommuting, vm and application testing
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Precision M4600
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:alpervin
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent laptop

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: Great desktop replacement. The 1920 screen lets me do far more and the anti-glare makes it a pleasure to use. The keys are light to the touch and the touchpad is the right size with great buttons. The build is solid and the battery is good. The i5 is fine, you don't need an i7. The image is powerful - it will impress the prospects in the room.
Con: It's heavy, but opens surprisingly well on most planes.
Pros:business presentations, email marketing, create content while flying
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2