Customer reviews for Precision M4500

Precision M4500

Precision M4500
4.206 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
4.2
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 33
21 out of 2584%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Precision M4500
Review 1 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AdamSF
Title:

Change the hard drive!!!!

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had three separate hard drives fail on my Precision M4400 and M4500 laptops. That's more than any other Dell I've had, and I've only used Dells for the past 15 or so years.
I love the Precision M4400 and M4500 models, but change your hard drive immediately!!! I bought an Samsung SSD to replace one of the failed drives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ArnieL
(SC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Can't get all the bells and whistles

PostedJuly 8, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Up to this point Dell has always met all my needs in a laptop. I recently purchased a M4500 and it had everything I needed on it except one thing. The display resolution of 1366X768 made it hard to view pages in most applications without scrolling up and down. I had horsepower, backlit display and DVD/RW, all the things I needed to perform my job but the display was unacceptable and a higher resolution was not available on this model. So I then purchased a M4600 and am still disappointed. I have the horsepower and display now but the backlit display is not available on this model making it hard to see the keys in low light conditions. Also, It only shipped with a DVD and not a DVD/RW making it impossible to burn data to disk.
Pros:database crunching
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SteveGG
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great alternative to hauling around your desktop

PostedJune 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros - Very capable and powerful little workstation, just the right balance of size & weight. Runs most professional quality software without issues.
Cons - The new gen of AutoDesk products really do not benefit from the workstaion graphics cards, save your money and get a better processor
Pros:autocad, 3dsmax, revit
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:borderbabe2412
(Denver, CO)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

perfect for school/internship

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Opening it was crazy.. It was big. Going from a dell v13 to this guy was a step up both in physical size and performance. I blew up the V13 rendering Rhino with V-Ray and Grasshopper Plugins, however the little V13 was a trooper for sticking in there as long as it did. I am a 3rd year undergrad majoring in Architecture and emphasizing in Engineering. My summer internship is with a Construction Company. So far the m4500 rocks! It is the fastest computer in the office and I have photoshop, cad2011 doing take-offs, rendering with revit2011 and performing simple excel and outlook emails all while on this dell (plus facebook) writing this review.
Seriously this thing can multitask and its not buggy or anything. Go semi to big though: I have a i7-840QM with 8g Rom the NVDIA 880M card, and I just put in a 120 ssd. Thing's a champ and I got this dell outlet at around 1,050. This will deffinately hold up till grad school.
Pros:rendering, multitasking work and class, autocad, adobe and microsoft office
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SitePicker
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent Overall

PostedMay 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have used the M4500 for a over a year; plenty of time to discover its strengths and weaknesses. Pros: The true high definition screen is a joy to behold and adds to making daily use a pleasure. The computing power is solid and the Intel i5 processor has yet to disappoint, multitasking everything, including GIS apps, with no discernable drop in performance. It is strong. Cons: the Dell Wireless 375 Bluetooth Module and companion Microsoft Bluetooth notebook Mouse 5000 have an annoying tendency to stop working at least once a month, requiring you to initiate the device discovery process again. I don't know if this is a problem of the M4500's wireless module or the Microsoft mouse, but it is only a minor annoyance. My two other issues are also minor - it is heavy, but I don't think you can expect a mobile workstation like this to be light (maybe someday). The speaker screens, adjacent each side of the keyboard, tend to pick up little bits of particulate matter making it look dirty or clogged but these are easily cleaned with compressed air. None of these cons are should keep you from purchasing the M4500. It's features and benefits are superior and it is an all-out workhorse.
Pros:business
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:samixo
(aurangabad)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

no screen

PostedApril 25, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
when i unmount the laptop from docking station, there is no display appearing on laptop.
Pros:design purpose
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Volk
(Canada)

PostedApril 21, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
It would be a great machine but designing a workstation aimed at performing business tasks with 16:9 aspect ratio is totally beyond any sense. Of course, if someone's job is to watch movies all day long, go get one, but it is show stopper for software development.
Pros:software development, solution architecture
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JamessR
(England)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

M4500 Use Compared

PostedApril 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
(i7-940xm 8gbRAM 128gbSSD Win7)
Acquired as a more portable backup to my existing M6500's which although powerhouses in their own rights, are just a little too weighty to be considered truly portable.
The M4500 is as quiet, cool running and smooth as the M6500 and runs VMware guests with comparable speed and ease as its big brother, apart from stripped down BSD guests which are astonishingly fast. The graphic quality and speed is crisp and sharp, booting is quick and predictably it devours MS and Open Office applications effortlessly.
It held its ground in a head to head with the M6500 thrashing identically configured database engines and resources, although I would have expected it to have a very slight edge.
Like the M6500 however, the M4500 also seems to have a problem with some mid-range LaCie eSATA, it will read but resets the eHDD on write operations, although USB/Fire wire are no problem [the Iomega eSATA does not have this problem].
Dell still seem to have a problem selling the Minicard SSD add on which both Precision laptops are reputed to use; it's still not available on the machine configuration or spares websites and the online-experts I contacted appear to have a product training issue which needs to be resolved. I normally recommend using the website but if you need one of these, telephone your account manager.
In summary, it has so far managed to cope with some extremely high peak workloads without cooking either itself or myself and while not blisteringly fast, it is smooth and indefatigable, so more of an S-Class rather than a GTi.
Pros:software development, portable workstation, product testing
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:talaki3
(WI)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

4.5 Stars

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's a powerhouse! I'm running SolidWorks all day for mechanical design. (make sure you have the SW-approved display driver to avoid SW crashes.) The DisplayPort is rather inconvenient, but my docking station still has the DVI output. Do I spend extra $$ on DP-to-whatever adapters? Probably not. Very happy with the machine, and pleasantly surprised by Windows7. Runs fine on 4Gb RAM. Backlit keyboard is awesome!
Pros:3d machine design, everyday business apps
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mickii
Title:

school question

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
this computer/laptop is and looks amazing but what are all of the special features?
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SheridanChico
Title:

Great laptop

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I upgraded from an M4300 to this new M4500, and am thrilled. Dell had no minicard SSDs for sale, so I used an Intel 310 80GB drive and re-imaged the computer. It screams now; 6.6 WEI. The 1800 graphics card is very fast. Access to components from the big panel on the bottom is excellent, and the fit, finish, and keyboard are all improved - the keyboard now rivals a Thinkpad keyboard, something I thought impossible for a Dell.
Pros:general business apps, web authoring, photography
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:adobepro
(Brooklyn, NY)
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

M4500 Needs a 1440x900 Resolution Option

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Needs a 1440x900 Resolution Option. Nice machine, nearly comparable to my Precision M4400 that I love, however, Dell really needs to offer 1440x900 -- everything else is either slightly too large, or slight too small -- at 1440x900, it hits the mark for a 15.6 laptop. Why did Dell stop offering 1440x900 starting with the M4500? I still have many years left of life with the M4400, so I'll be waiting for the next refresh of the Precision that may hopefully offer this resolution. 4 Stars for the overall solid product. 1 star deduction for the resolution offerings and lack of a dedicated HDMI (no adapter DP->HDMI) connection.
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Brett123456
(North Dakota USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell M4500

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this computer for school, architecture major
i7 940XM
8GB DDR3
1920X1080 screen
FX1800M
256GB SSD
Things lightning fast, build quality is excellent, especially moving up from a D-series Latitude. Great screen! Cheap replacement parts if need be, great laptop, powerful spec, I'd definitely recommend it to other
Pros:architectural design, revit, autocad
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GraphicsPhotos
(San Francisco, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Smoothly running powerhouse

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
My specs:
8GB ram
Intel i7 Q740
120GB solid state HHD
1600x900 display
Nvidiva Quadro FX880 1GB ram
Windows 7
My setup runs smooth as butter: I can use Photoshop, Illustrator, Dreamweaver and Outlook at the same time and I can still open my 20MB photos in under 2 secs.
My laptop starts up in 50 seconds flat. It used to be 40 seconds before I installed Office 2010.
I like the keyboard layout because there are almost no dedicated shortcut keys. The touchpad is a bit too sensitive to my palm.
The screen is excellent for a laptop - my eyes stopped getting sore since I got this laptop. Of course one still needs an Eizo monitor for photo editing.
Best of all, it's super quiet.
Pros:graphical design, photo editing, general corporate (ms office), personal data storage
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tomcatt
(Birmingham, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

a porsche wihout wiper!

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
just recieved a precision M4500 but havent been able to use it yet, as it is on the hand of schoool IT peaople for network settings... while been very excited to start running it soon, been informed that this super machine hasnt got any wireless card! i cant figure out how come this is possible when the first thing any cheap laptop would have these days is wireless kit!
will post more comments once get my hands to it.
Pros:computational and simulation work
-16points
13of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hconant
(Rhode Island)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Precision M4500 power pack and cord

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great laptop. I have the 256SSD which is worth the money. The display is so bright I usually only have it about 1/3 brightness. My ONLY complaint so far is pretty signficant displeasure with the included power pack and cord. The one included with my system is the DA130DB. It is physically very big and very heavy. May as well be dragging a brick around with you. The cords are very NON-flexible. The cord is so stiff that I get the feeling it is going to break the small port it plugs into in the back of the M4500 because it is always bending in the wrong direction. The AC cord end keeps falling out of the charger pack because of the stiff cord and the right angle design. So it comes out when you don't know until you get a low batter warning, to your surprise. The little plastic nipple that you should be able to use to attach the strap around the cord for traveling popped of the first day, never to be found again. So now when I travel I have this heavy tangled mess which takes up more room than the M4500. For such a nice laptop, and comparing with Macbook power suppies, I don't see why they had to package the rediculous power packs with this high end computer.
Pros:general business travel
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TraderDenver
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Powerful, But Not Reliable

PostedNovember 4, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The M4500 is a great machine in theory, but I have returned one already and am in the process of returning my second one for a refund.
What is the problem? Well, after spending nearly $5000 on a laptop, I expect it to work, not crash. Apparently, there are problems with the Dell Bluetooth 375 card and/or driver. The first machine started to give an "Unable to load bluetooth stack" error, then suddenly (on a trip of course) died. I mean really died. Could not reintall Windows or anything.
Now, my current M4500 gives the same error message, but has not yet failed. Still, this is very annoying, and seems to impact system performance. Dell Tech Support does not have a fix, or a new driver.
If you need the power of this laptop, I suggest you order it without Bluetooth. Unless you use Skype a lot, or something similar, you are better off without it, and the laptop should be ok.
Also, you definely want the extended life (yes, heavier) battery as this machine will drain a standard battery in less than one hour!
Dell has a very good product idea here, but one that should have had better quality testing before release. Hopefully the bugs get worked out, and it will be a winner if so.
Pros:financial, Travel
+56points
58of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PLK
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Replacement for Inspiron 8600. Good for multitasking as I run several demanding processes simultaneously.
Out of the box - battery had indentations but replaced by Dell immediately. Battery protrusion a bit of a shock!
Wireless broadband intermittently drops out. May be router/modem problem so possibly not the M4500.
Keyboard layout - good. Love the backlighting! But speakers do collect dust.
Display - big and clear.
Overall, please with laptop after a short time of use.
Pros:finance, video, education
+22points
24of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sukhoi29
Title:

Really good product yet flawed

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall I like the computer, I also have a M6500 and I like the M4500 more.
-First the covers over the speakers are large and in a real poor location (but they do not have a texture to the gridded portion like the 6500) but the grill portion still traps dust and crud and holds it there. Heaven forbid you should splash some food or beverage in that area, as I eat in front of my computer all too often that problem is very pertinent to me, even spit, drool or maybe snot from a sneeze for that matter are problems.
-Second the computer has rubber bumpers to cushion the lid of the computer on the base of the computer next to the key board. Well the problem with that is oil from your skin gets on the bumpers. I quite often rest my hands on them, and then the oil breaks down the bumpers. It swells them and eventually they tear, that has not happened yet with the 4500 as it is only days old but the ones on my 6500 need replacing and the computer is only several months old.
-Third thing is both these machines run much hotter than my old dell XPS M170, now they don't get hot like most other brands I have seen do; but my old M170 barely got warm to the touch and the fan almost never turned on.
-Fourth is the color, the black color does not hide dirt and smudges very well.
-Fifth is all the connections for every peripheral device all plug in the side, I do not like that as it makes for a more cluttered desk top, some of the USB's and internet cables should exit out the back, simply put they get in the way, I even have to move my mouse pad over to clear that junk!!!
All the complaining aside I think these machines are built in a fairly rugged manner and will stand up well. That being said I would not have ordered this model if you could still get the old XPS M170 or M1700 version. I thought that model was more robust and ergonomic and had smoother lines so it was more comfortable plus it was better built.
Pros:work -- run specific work software, personal enjoyment, web browzing
+36points
52of 68voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Precision M4500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nashjw1958
Title:

For those about to dock... (Part 2)

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Other issues I have with the “upgraded” stand is that it is nearly all black with little in the way of accents as opposed to the D-Series who’s internal panels were black with a brushed silver frame (a color scheme that was coordinated with both the M70 Laptop and the Dell monitors of the same vintage). All of the corners and edges in the newer stand are also very abrupt and sharp unlike the old unit which was generously rounded. And the power on/off and eject buttons on the “upgrade” are oversized and very cheesy looking. Overall, the E-Series accessories strike me as being cheap in appearance and not something I will display with pride in my workspace as was the case with the D-Series.
As for the M4500 itself, the first thing I noticed upon unpacking was the object appearing to be a hinge that projects about a full inch from the back of the laptop (I didn’t see that in the photo on the Dell website!). At first glance I wondered if they had accidentally shipped the unit with the Legacy attachment installed. I then realized it was the battery. I wish they could have found somewhere else to put this (like inside as was the case on the M70). The next detail I noticed was that when closed you can see all the way through the unit between the bottom half of the unit and the top (keyboard and screen). The M70 screen cabinet was molded around the edges of the lower half when closed not only improving the appearance but giving the impression that it was solidly closed and sealed.
I am also disappointed with the overall detailing of the M4500. The cabinet of the M70 looked so much more classy, expensive and professional with nice accents of brushed silver and dark greys. And I really liked the top with the circular Dell logo in the middle surrounded by the internal case imprinted with tiny rows of “Precision Precision Precision…”. When opened the M70 also had much more accent and a more expensive look with media buttons also more obvious and better placed.
And while the M4500 offers nothing substantial in terms of a larger screen of enhanced keyboard, the unit is 0.5 inches wider. Doesn’t sound like much but when coupled with the 1 inch battery projecting out the back of the hinge it feels and looks more like a 17” screen size laptop than the 15.6” it is. I like powerful things in small packages and scoffed to myself when walking by someone’s office and seeing a 17” monster parked on their desk. I now feel like I’ve joined the club.
But I suspect it performs wonderfully and hope it proves to be as reliable as my M70 was (I will, however, miss its look and hope I don’t find myself carrying it around for sentimental reasons. A good laptop becomes almost like a limb and you feel incomplete without it).
If the performance of the M4500 lives up to expectations, you’ll probably not hear more from me. If it does not, I will surely let you know…
Pros:engineering
+4points
23of 42voted this as helpful.
1 2