Customer reviews for Precision M4400

Precision M4400

Precision M4400
3.429 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
12
1 Star
8
3.4
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 61
33 out of 5758%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Precision M4400
Review 1 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vikram2101
Title:

heating issues

PostedDecember 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this laptop for just over two years. It was fully loaded at the time of purchase- with SSD, 8GB memory. No problems the first year - just that it was heavy and the battery didn't last an hour, but now I run into issues with the fan, heating, slow disk read / writes etc. I was told the problem may be with the SSD, I updated the SSD firmware, but that didn't really help . Looking to replace the laptop now.
Pros:development machine
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Panko
(calgary)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

WOW

PostedMarch 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I configured this with the QX9300 2.53Ghz quad-core chip and the solid state drive. This laptop is small, light, and is as fast as my quad-core xeon 3.16Ghz workstation for single thread apps. Amazing. Not quite as fast in multi-thread mode.
Pros:simulation, software dev
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nazzk
(Sydney)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

All together a good laptop

PostedMarch 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I found this laptop very good and stable.
I am not sure how all the on-board user interface mechanism work and can not complain much as I am using it on dock device.
1) No Fan Noise but can feel/hear heavy vibration/Noise when CD inside.
2) No break down since a year I owned it
3) No booting problems
4) No Graphic problem except compatibility issues with ubuntu, mandrake linux versions.
5) Battery doing good so far.
6) All external communication device interface good.
7) No problem with resolution to external monitors
8) No driver issues with windows OS
9) Processor speed good.
10) Multiple VM host access speed good.
Pros:software development, vm server host machine, Travel
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DaveinArkansas
(Arkansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Ongoing Touchpad Issues

PostedFebruary 19, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I posted an earlier negative review but it doesn't appear to have made it to the board. My issue is with the touchpad, which doesn't work properly. Initially, when using the touchpad the mouse pointer would jump around and the right-click menu would randomly appear. At times, the machine was not useable due to the behavior of the touchpad. I then called Dell and arranged for a technician to come on-site and replace the palmrest and associated parts. However, the technician was provided a palmrest part that didn't fit exactly right, AND the touchpad is worse than ever.
So, I've had the machine for over a week now and have not been able to use it (as intended) at all. Sure, I can plug an external mouse in and work away, but that isn't what I expected when I bought a laptop (you know, using it on the plane, etc.). Two thumbs down for the touchpad on this machine, and for Dell's inability to solve the problem.
Pros:Travel, photo editing
+26points
36of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:syah
(johor baharu)
Level of Expertise:Newbie

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
-22points
5of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:indi
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Disappointing

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a bad laptop - until you consider the price. The biggest problem is how slow it is but it is also plagued by other `minor' things. At least a couple of Dell's driver (audio, connection manager?) hog cpu cycles regularly and must be killed, trackpad settings are reset every time computer starts up, and the speakers are, well, a joke. In addition, the hard drive is fairly loud and makes nerve-wrecking ticking sounds like it may give up the ghost at anytime. Video, e.g., on Hulu, stutters. Overall, this is just not the performance one expects from a $2000+ laptop.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:artcarck
(Santa Barbara, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Overall a Good Laptop with Some Minor Issues

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
First, the general specs of my computer:
Intel T9900 3.06GHz
128GB SSD
4GB RAM
WUXGA RGB-LED
Backlit keyboard
Win7 Ult
For those curious about the performanace of what Dell calls the "Mobility" SSD, here's what I've found. The SSD that shipped with my M4400 is a Samsung M800, model number mmcre28g5dxp. I imaged the drive to a 7200RPM hard drive, and compared boot times. 31 seconds with the SSD, 58 seconds with the spinning HDD. Not too shabby.
The display, an RGB-LED is of course nice. I was surprised to find that the display on my XPS16 with RGB-LED was brighter than that on the M4400; perhaps a function of the glass used on the XPS.
The short coming of this laptop is the trackpad. Compared to that on my XPS, the trackpad is too small, too jerky, and not as pleasant to use. The surface is too smooth, so that cursor movement depends on humidity or the presence of even minor traces of moisture on my finger. However, for full disclosure, I've never liked MacBook Pro trackpads, where others love them.
It's expensive, but a three year warranty with next business day replacment is tough to beat. I plan to keep it for 2 1/2 years, a record for me!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hausjam
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Tremendous Performance Value

PostedJanuary 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Like others have said, this laptop is not cheap. But if you want the best, you have to pay for it. I think the only better mobile workstation than the Precision is a Thinkpad, and you pay even more for them.
My only real complaint is battery life. But then I only have the 6 cell with the FX1700M which uses quite a bit of power. Still it would have been nice if they would take a page out of their Alienware book and make available the ability to switch between discreet and integrated graphics. I think this alone would extend battery life from 2 to 3 hours.
And I am not sure why others are complaining about the Eport Plus. It is a brilliant port replicator. They even got rid of the docked/undocked status in windows, so you can now just disconnect it without having to undock first. The dual external DVI is just phenomenal. It seems if I warm dock, my external mouse and keyboard don't want to wake up. Which is strange because hot dock works just fine.
And of course, I dont have to tell you, this notebook is workstation fast. Ridiculously so.
I have owned so many Dells, I lost count after a couple dozen. They just keep getting better.
Pros:autocad, photoshop, mobile internet
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kalamazoo
(Kalamazoo, MI)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome Machine!

PostedNovember 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Many surprises for me.
First, Windows 7 is actually a great OS.
Second, this laptop is fast, fast, fast.
Third, faster than my desktop
I have the docking station for dual monitors and the T9900 cpu with the SSD drive. All the applications just pop open. It's faster than my desktop. I also just plugged in the second hard drive (removable) and the copy speed is awesome for imaging the main drive. I have to travel, give presentations, code, generate multimedia and I have yet to be disappointed.
I don't know why there are negative reviews. This is a great notebook with Windows 7.
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pdxpeters
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Terrible design for Left-Handed

PostedNovember 19, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are left-handed and ever use an external mouse, don't buy this. It runs hots due to a stupid unconventional design. The fan sucks air from the bottom with no clearance for incoming air. So where is the hot air exhausted? Not out the back like every other laptop. It blows right on your left hand!
Good performance otherwise. Locking up when using a projector with high-end CAD graphics.
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Paulh4400
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good hardware that flies with Windows 7

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
The CPU etc is very fast. The video card is also quick (for a laptp). The metal case is solid and feels indestructible. The LED RGB screen is very crisp and bright. Was very easy to upgrade to Windows 7 64 bit as Dell had all of the drivers available. Works very well with Windows 7
Cons:
The keyboard is a complete embarrassment for a $3000 laptop. It feels very cheap and flimsy and is hard to type on quickly, even when compared to my old cheap Inspiron notebooks.
When initially got this laptop a lot of Dell installed drivers and apps didn't work that well (specifically the wireless and the touchpad drivers). After replacing the Dell wireless driver with the Intel one, it worked fine. The touchpad drivers were always iffy. Reinstalling Windows 7 has solved these issues. Why does Dell install all of those useless applications?
Docking and undocking with the expansion port sometimes causes the computer to lock up.
Gets extremely hot when the CPU is working hard.
Review:
Overall, a great performing laptop once I installed Windows 7. The only real beef with the Dell side of things is the keyboard quality and all of the Dell "software" that was installed by default.
Pros:software development, cadcam
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KarlZ
(Houston, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

The only computer I use...

PostedNovember 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I always felt I was "settling" for a lesser computer when using a notebook. Now the Precision M4400 is literally the only computer I use - and I'm pretty demanding on a computer. The only thing that I think would have people shy away is the price. But in retrospect, I no longer need a desktop.
How demanding am I on computers? I primarily develop .NET software using Visual Studio. I don't play video games, so the video graphics aren't paramount for me. But as long as I can remember I've always had three computers - Home Desktop, Work Desktop, Notebook. I gave up on my work desktop less than 2 weeks after purchasing my M4400 in January 2009. Today I'm relinquishing my home desktop to my wife (to use in her work).
Before I go on I need to explain my setup. I have:
• Quad-core
• 8 GB RAM
• 128 GB SSD (Solid State Drive)
• Wintec FileMate 48GB Ultra ExpressCard (Very Fast)
• Black Wide Screen WUXGA RGB-LED LCD (very nice 1920 x 1200 screen)
• 2 Docking Stations (one at home, one at work)
• Battery Slice
• running Microsoft Windows 7
The setup of basically two SS Drives, the memory, and the processor make it very fast. I'd almost rather look at my notebook screen than my monitors at work. I had a Dell Latitude D820 before my current M4400. Here were the issues I faced:
I want quick access when I walk in the door at home. The D820 on Vista took forever to boot and didn't like sleep mode. The M4400 is awake and ready to go in about 10 seconds on Windows 7. Goes to sleep in 4 seconds.
I want lots of disk space. I don't need access to 1 TB of data at any single point in time, so external drives can help me augment my current ~160 GB setup.
At one point I had gone 21 days without rebooting my machine. I would just put the notebook to sleep when moving about.
I run two virtual machines on my notebook (each takes about 14 GB of space) and all is well - except that it does cause the machine to heat up at times and have the fan kick in.
I used to spend lots of time making sure that I had the same files on all three of my computers (various sync programs made this almost reasonable). Of course I don't need to do that now.
It's not the smallest notebook I've owned, nor is it the largest or heaviest. It is the fastest. It does have the longest battery life (with the slice). It has the nicest screen. It has the nicest Windows OS. It is one of the most expensive I've owned. But if I only have 1 instead of 3... (Of course 1 of those doesn't save me any money.)
Pros : My only machine, speed, battery life, LCD screen
Cons: Price, heat
Pros:software development, only machine, Travel
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Twice
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Precision M4400 - Disappointed Twice

PostedOctober 23, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
Bravo to Dell for publishing good & bad reviews
Attractive design
Display
Backlit keyboard
Speed
Support tries to fix & please
Quad processor
Cons:
Vibration from hard drive
Heat
Noisy fans
Noise surges even at idle - not the fan
Poor sound
Flex in keyboard
Volume buttons not lit
Poor touchpad
ControlPoint
No keyboard spill protection
Review:
Never owned anything but Dell and had high expectations. The first unit is characterized above. Dell replaced it with a second which was WORSE. According to Dell tech support, the hard drive was defective, perhaps explaining excessive heat, and the wi-fi hardware was defective and would not maintain internet connection. I returned both.
Pros:work, presentations, multi-tasking, photography
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:yuanyuanmanman
(KY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great PC, headache dell controlpoint software

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just got the PC one week ago: 3.06 GHz, 4GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 770M, integrated webcam/microphone, Windows XP.
Pros: looks great. Very fast. Backlit keyboard is excellent, although the key is a little bit noisy when you type. Integrated webcam/mic is cool and works well and easily with windows live messenger.
Cons: pre-installed dell controlpoint caused great troubles, but it is hard for me to find any use of it. It causes frequent wireless drops, standy/hibernation problems and resource waste. After completely uninstalling controlpoint software, everything works GREAT. Wireless is now managed by windows itself. This is my experience, not suggestion.
Another problem I initially had was that when I resized a window or scrolled a webpage, there was noticeable hiss noise. I contacted dell support and mentioned that this could be a graphics card problem. Dell replaced the whole motherboard promptly and now the machine is really quiet!!
Just so so: touchpad, speaker design and layouts.
Dell customer service and support: Excellent.
Conclusion: great machine worth purchase.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, computing solving engineering problems, search internet read webpages, use ms office
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jost
(Scotland)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent, except for two annoying flaws.

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
After using my M4400 for a year (mostly with Linux), I am still very happy about choosing it. The machine is quite robust, no cracks despite rough handling. The built-in microphone and webcam are excellent for video-conferencing (speakers are acceptable for voice, but not for music), the three button touchpad is a boon for a Linux user.
Two nuisances remain:
1) The brightness sensor for automatic display brightness is reacting much too fast. Any shadow that briefly hits the sensor, like a quickly passing hand, causes an annoying flickering of display brightness. The sensor should react much more slowly to avoid this!
2) The backlit keyboard with auto-off feature is very useful, but it is incomprehensible to me why the three sound control keys (soft, loud, mute) do not have a back light. It is very annoying.
Otherwise I am completely happy about it. The advanced docking station and stand are also without flaw, having all the connectors I desire. Especially that docking station and laptop use the same charger is highly useful.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, work, coding, pleasure, linux
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RDB
(Atlanta, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

M4400 Mediocre

PostedSeptember 22, 2009
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the 12th Dell laptop I have owned. It replaces a D620 Latitude. I am running XP with 4GB of ram. Every new Dell laptop has been a significant improvement over the last, except for this one. My last 3 Dells cost ~$2000, due to being configured with performance options. So these are the top end machines as offered from Dell.
You'll read folks reviews about this being an all metal laptop. Nope. The chassis appears to be some type of metal, but the lid and keyboard surround is plastic. The hinges are metal which is a nice feature.
The backlit keyboard is nice, but the keyboard is flimsy. This is a big laptop, so if you like the size of the 600 series Latitudes, be perpared. The sound buttons are not backlit and are black, so good luck finding them in a dimly lit situation. They are also very flimsy.
Fan noise and heat is normal for a high performance laptop. No real complaints there. My D620 and 600M both could get pretty hot also.
Hate having the speakers on the top. Debris and crud will build up on the perforated metal screens. This also made the laptop wider than necessary.
No serial port. Most won't care, but I have some serial legacy devices that will now require a USB to serial converter. The USB ports are all on the sides which is a pain in the neck when I've got this behemoth in my lap and the USB mouse stick is catching on the sides of my recliner. Obviously this makes the unit wider with stuff hanging off the sides.
I thought the Latitude D620 and 600M platforms were the perfect size, weight and had great features. The Precision M4400 is a sideways move for me. Dell has not impressed me with this offering as they have in the past.
The docking station is poorly designed. The old Latitude docking station was adjustable and you could slide the laptop forward or tuck it completely beneath the stand. This one is not adjustable and the laptop sticks out 7" from the front of the monitor ledge. This causes your keyboard to be so far away from the monitor you find yourself constantly craning your neck forward to see the screen. I am going to ditch the docking station and just use the port replicator with the monitor sitting on my desk.
Reliability has been very poor which may result in this laptop being sent back to Dell. The hard drive will occasionally click loudly for a few seconds then stop. My IT guy says this may be normal for this drive. I doubt it. At least once a day it freezes up for about 15 seconds, then start working again. I have been getting OS errors on shut down for MCI Command Handling and several DLL initialization failures.
Not happy with this laptop Mr. Dell... You could have done much better. Go back the D620 platform please!
Pros:work engineering.
+31points
36of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:missouiribb63
Title:

M4400: 7 Month Review

PostedAugust 16, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The speakers are terrible. They are tinny and have no depth. I have had worse from other manufacturers, but to be honest, with this price and target market Dell should have done much, much better. My old Inspiron 8500 is so much better. I have seen some people still blaming the sound card, but when I hook it up to a stereo system with HDMI, the sound is actually quite good. The early sound card issues caused hefty sound distortion… this is different.
Pros:cad, games, multimedia
+2points
14of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:del4me
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedAugust 11, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this laptop a few months ago, and am very pleased with the quality of the materials used in the case. Other laptops I have looked at have plastic covering the outside, but the Precision from Dell is all magnesium. I especially like the design of the lid; it's wavy surface is unlike anything else out there.
Concerning performance, this machine has not disappointed me at all, and crunches through everything I throw at it, including some games like Star Wars Battlefront 2 and Need for Speed Carbon.
I added a few extras like bluetooth witch allows me to hook up to my bluetooth mouse without the hassle of wires. Also, the LED backlit screen is much brighter and more vivid than regular LCD monitors. The fingerprint reader, lighted keyboard, and integrated webcam are very useful extras which help me to protect my files, connect with friends and family via the web, and work in low lit situations.
I don't think I could have gotten a better laptop, this being Dell's top-of-the-line business class model.
Pros:internet browsing writing papers gaming
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Golddiggie
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best laptop ever

PostedJuly 10, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had my current M4400 for about five months now. Prior to that, I had another one from when they first became available. Everything about this laptop screams power (silently)... I use this day in and day out running VMware Workstation 6.5, VMware Infrastructure Client (connecting to our VMware farm), Office 2007, web browsers, and many more applications. I did have to install XP x64 onto it after spending about 2-3 weeks with Vista since I needed more of my tools to work on it (using VMware Workstation with XP 32 bit on a VM for the balance of the tools). This system has zero issues with me running the XP 32 bit VM along with many other apps, all at the same time. Zero lag here. NO excessive fan noise (watch your task manager for rouge items kicking things up several levels). Even when an AV scan runs, the fan remains silent and the laptop stays cool enough.
Core 2 QUAD Extreme Edition 2.53GHz
Quadro FX 770M video
8GB RAM
320GB HD
DVDRW
Intel 5300 wifi card
Bluetooth card
FIPS compliant fingerprint reader <-- LOVE it!
With the system (as I just listed it) I've never had any lack of RAM or issues connecting to a network (either wired or wireless). I run dual displays all the time (internal plus a Dell 24" LCD connected to the port replicator via DVI). I also have a PCMCIA GB NIC installed for VMware Workstation to use (so that I get full Gb for the VM's and full Gb for the rest of the laptop).
Those complaining about the laptop being too hot need to understand that this won't be a cold to the touch laptop. Unless, that is, you're not tasking it much, or have it running in a very cool room/environment. I've NOT had any shake or rattle while reading, or burning, discs (cd or DVD). Of course, a lot of issues could be directly attributed to running Vista on this system (one of the reasons I upgraded to XP x64).
The display in this system (LED backlit, 1440x900 resolution) is top notch. NO bad pixels (stuck or dead) and great response as well as color.
Biometric reader has zero issue remembering my scanned in fingerprints and resolving all the login steps (preboot authentication as well as to our domain). Using the software from Dell too.
The only thing that will replace this laptop is what Dell comes out with as the next [major] revision in the line (in the 15.4" display size)... Maybe we'll have an 8 core option by then... :o
BTW, for the person that complained about the laptop NOT having a serial port... Get over it. Serial ports in/on laptops are a thing of the past. IF you need such a connection on it, simply get an USB to serial adapter cable. If you don't need to be mobile with it, then get the port replicator with it on that. I've not seen a serial port on any new laptop in well over two years now.
Pros:very fast great display very secure, fips compliant biometric reader, plenty of ports and expansion, use it at work every day (systems administrator)
+42points
46of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Precision M4400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ray
Title:

Could have been better

PostedJuly 10, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would be a good laptop but I was quite disappointed. There's no serial port (which I need for my work as a programmer), the battery sticks out the back, there's a noticable gap between the screen and the plastic case that holds it (easy for dust to get inside), had trouble with my wireless connection after updating the Connection Manager driver, and the laptop shakes and buzzes when a CD is spinning inside the DVD drive. Also I can't get the fingerprint login to work, after I enrolled and restart Windows, it losses the scanned fingerprint (tried a few times and gave up). Bit of high-pitch buzzing, which I think it's b'cos of the battery charger. On the performance side, it's not too bad.
-7points
17of 41voted this as helpful.
1 2 3