Customer reviews for Precision M2400

Precision M2400

Precision M2400
3.1 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
3.1
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 19
10 out of 1856%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Precision M2400
Review 1 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bennett Marks
Title:

Good but not Great

PostedMarch 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have had this laptop for 18 months. Now running Win7 Enterprise. Had some trouble with first hard drive. Replacement Toshiba from Dell is quiet and trouble free. Graphics card is a little too hot, but seems to work well. Ribbed case is nice looking but case flexes. All in all, serviceable, but not worth top dollar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChooChoo
(Upstate NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Solid Notebook

PostedApril 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a good laptop for use both as a desktop replacement as well as on the road. I've used it for just over a month and it replaces a Dell XPS M1210 notebook. It's running Win7, and I purchased the upgraded graphics card and the solid state drive, so this baby rockets compared to my old machine (and is very quiet). The weight is similar to the XPS but it's not as thick so it's easier to type on the keyboard since your arms aren't raised up as much. Also, the XPS had a cramped keyboard and the M2400 is full sized. Another reviewer mentioned that the lid doesn't have a latch, but mine does.
Pros: fast, relatively lightweight, nice sounding speakers, decent keyboard good for typing (although not as good as the IBM T42 thinkpad), backlit keyboard for night time use, good battery life with the 9 cell... +4 hrs.
Cons: too bad they don't offer the laptop with an i5 or i7 CPU. When I first started using the keyboard, I kept hitting the eraser pointer b/w the G and the H keys, so I turned the eraser off. I wish the laptop screen would fold 180 degrees. Now when you open the lid it only goes about 145 degrees -- not completely flat.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chetan
Title:

excelient

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
oh thats great dell is such a superb laptop making company in world. when i buy this i really realize that dell laptops works better other laptops.
Pros:system developer, software developer
-45points
8of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Achtung5
(Chicago, IL.)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice Laptop

PostedOctober 27, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The M2400 is a great laptop. The video card upgrade over the Latitude is worth the money. The non-glossy LED display is bright and crisp. The laptop is fast and extremely quiet. It seems to stay cooler then the D series. I am getting about 4 hours of battery life with 9amp battery; the brightness up, keyboard light on, and integrated Cell modem card running. The backlit keyboard is a very useful feature. Build quality is good although not quite as good as the D series. The E series is lighter and I believe that affected the build quality somewhat. I like the lighter keyboard feel over the D series. The sound quality is good for a medium laptop. The styling is nice, particularly the wavy magnesium front.
I have this laptop configured dual boot with Vista 32bit and Windows 7 64bit. The speed running windows 7 is simply amazing.
The only Con would be the plastic bezel around the screen is made of cheap plastic and the speaker grills catch dust. Overall this is the nicest laptop I have ever owned during my 15 years in IT
Pros:information technology consulting
+36points
43of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:edctjsyr
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

No real problems

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I Purchased two of these a couple months ago. I chose them because of the features and the design (only two ports on the back of the machine: ac power and nic port). Im huge on not having to kink my neck everytime Im looking for a port. Small screen (14 inch) allows me to use this on an airplane. Lots of usb ports.
Out of the box they were formatted and the OS reinstalled (I do this with every PC I buy to remove poor quality "extra value" software). Drivers were obtained from Dell and the respective manufacturers. I recommend doing this to any newly purchased computer.
All in all this machine has been great. Its fast, no issues with crashing/overheating/vibration that others reported. I dont do any real video playback so I cant comment on that.
MS Office, SQL Server, Visual Studio, Oracle all run fast and without issues.
Vista Ultimate x64 had no driver problems that I am aware of. The only problem that Windows 7 Enterprise x64 has is with the CD/DVD burner.
Pros:business
+15points
25of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Santyappa
Title:

Sturdy and Reliable

PostedSeptember 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been using this laptop for an year now. No issues. Looks nice and works great
+2points
14of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sean
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Unless you hate yourself, don't buy this machine

PostedSeptember 25, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
Nice looking, reasonably fast, light. Backlit keyboard surprisingly convenient sometimes. Has the "eraser" pointer as well as trackpad.
Cons:
Build quality is shocking on the M2400's. I'm on the second motherboard and I still get spontaneous reboots where it appears to lose the connection to the hard drive until you reboot a second time, and complete failure to wake on suspend (the screen never comes back to life). Part of this could be the shocking dell UCM software, which appears to disable the sound device anytime it's in the docking station. Our M2400's fail constantly -- the M4400 hasn't caused any problems, so if you have to go Dell go that way.
Pros:technical design
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:badunit
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

should not be for sale

PostedSeptember 14, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I struggled with the E6400 and Dell replaced it with a M2400 but search the net they both are poorly designed computers. Graphics card overheats and the computer throttles down. Must be rebooted every 1/2 hour - my netbook out performs this computer. Horrible unit. I am now done with Dell.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

M2400 - Almost Perfect

PostedAugust 27, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Dell M2400 is a solid notebook. Lightweight, good performance, battery life and display quality. Great fit and finish and easy to upgrade (just installed an 8GB memory upgrade). Dells support has been great. The driver and bios update support on the Dell website has been fantastic. Dell gold support has been second to none. The tech support reps were well informed and spent as much time with me as I needed. Best of all, they were all american!
I would have given it 5 stars if not for the issues with the OEM version of Vista Business x64. I was unable to install Visual Studio 2008 or SQL Server 2008 Developer Edition. When I installed the retail version of Vista that came with my MSDN subscription, everything went great.
The Microsoft dev tools issue needs to be fixed but most will not experience that problem.
Pros:ms software development.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheOlSwitcheraroo
(Midwest)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

many issues

PostedAugust 12, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
lid has no latch. so when you put in laptop bag it can open slightly, allowing pens, coins and other stuff to scratch screen. Had to have a dell technician come on site to replace chassis as it would not dock. extended battery can only be placed on it when undocked. so you have to undock, put in battery, plug in wall for it to charge. sound quality is terrible. Dell needs to get rid of Dell Control Point. My end-users can't figure out how to connect, its buggy, its non-intuitive.
This is a step back for Dell. I have a feeling many people will switch to Lenovo after experiencing these models.
Pros:road warrior
+1point
11of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:REVIEWER25
(Missouri)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Precision 2400 is trash

PostedJuly 23, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Dell 2400 is such poor quality, that I decided to sell my Dell stock.
The machine has so much vibration, your hand gets numb working on it.
The whole thing feels like low grade plastic. Keyboard is spongy, not at all crisp. There was a clear drop in quality from the Latitude series to the Precision series.
Strongly suggest you avoid this PC.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, business
+16points
25of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rissloc
(Annapolis Junction, MD)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedFebruary 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop. I had to remove Dell's Security portion of it's Control Point Software as it conflicted with Offline Files. LOVE the backlit keyboard! Nvidia graphic cards show text on LCD's better then the ATI graphic cards. I configure the laptops for my office and so far this model is my favorite.
Pros:Fast speed, portable, backlit keyboard, Nvidia graphics card, solid.
Cons:Lid a little hard to open, Dell Control Point Security Software problem.
+13points
20of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CORich
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I should not have ignored the other reviews.

PostedFebruary 12, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw really mixed reviews but dropped $2500 anyway for almost every possible feature. In the end my 3 year old "obsolete" laptop is better. All of the features are nice but after 3 days of trying to work out problems with dells software, a terrible touch pad, slow performance, a full reinstall to try and correct issues, still completely unsatisfied.
Pros:Tons of cutomizable features On paper a great laptop
Cons:It doesn't work right Touch Pad Pointing Stick Docking Dell software
+27points
31of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Robert82
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Ok with some love

PostedJanuary 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
For a Precision Workstation laptop, I was hoping for more and better quality. Some of these issues will probably be fixed with patches but my first impression of this laptop hasn't been great.
Pros:Rugged and sleek. Nice display. Pretty good webcam and works well with WebEx. I like the pointing stick and touchpad with three mouse buttons. So far has good battery life.
Cons:Loud hard-drive. Slow video performance and sound quality is extremely poor. I also have a problem with the sound drivers crashing. I recommend removing the Dell's connection controlpoint and trusted drive management software as I've had issues with those application as well.
+24points
26of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlaskaDAH
(SouthEast Alaska)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Power+Speed+Sturdy+Light

PostedJanuary 12, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
After 2 months of heavy use, I am thrilled with this purchase. Replaces an Inspiron laptop + Inspiron desktop. Combination of power and speed, rugged and lightweight, great docking solutions makes it easy to do my work and maintain only one computer.
I have had none of the problems described with networking, WiFi, etc.
I had to place a second order to get everything I needed for docking at my second "station" Website could be more clear/helpful
Pros:LONG battery time w/Battery Slice FAST Lightweight and Rugged External on/off for WiFi
Cons:Cannot dock without removing battery slice Website makes finding the optimal docking solutions difficult
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TubaDave
Title:

Not ready for prime-time

PostedDecember 17, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Its very fast and has a great display.
Cons:Network management software does not work with wireless networks! AC/DC adapter sold with computer only runs computer at 1/3 speed. Dell will not let me return the adapter without returning the whole computer... poor service. Lid is hard to open. Trackpoint is not as good as it is on the Lenovo computers. Should have purchased the Lenovo.
+28points
42of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SAM
(TH)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best Notebook

PostedOctober 9, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Select it, if you would like to use a lightweight business notebook and hight performance.
Pros:This is a best notebook for everyone.
Cons:high prices
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for Precision M2400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0 out of 1 recommend this product