Customer reviews for PowerEdge T310

PowerEdge T310

PowerEdge T310
4.222 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
4.2
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 24
13 out of 1872%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for PowerEdge T310
Review 1 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vivmitch9
Title:

Purchase of Server

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
What we liked:
ease of ordering
friendly, helpful service
fast shipping
delivered by promised date
easy conversion for our IT Guy so downtime was
minimized
very speedy compared to our old server
VERY large capacity holds our archives as well as
our current files
What can you say about a server? They lurk in the background, do all the work, but network computers get all the credit (or blame, in the case of our old server!)
What we haven't liked:
We have some old DOS programs that we can no longer use.....this sounds like we are from the dark ages but they were very good (and expensive) programs well suited to our office. The company has ceased operations in Canada so no upgrades will be forthcoming. The learning curve is steep for some replacement software. If you know of any way this could be rectified, please let us know.
Pros:in an accounting public practice
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xeroid
(Athabasca)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

excellent server for small business

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
this server worked right out of the box and was simple to configure for the basic setup
Pros:file server email remote access calendar
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

Pathetic

PostedJuly 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The T310 is a piece of garbage. After one year the server array controller failed to alert that it had a disk offline and a second disk eventually failed causing the server to crash. I replaced a 10 year old server with the fears that it would die soon only to buy a server that would crash within less then a year of being purchased.
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:justrube
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Reliable Server for my Business

PostedApril 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased a new Poweredge T310 and other than taking a while to receive this configured server, it installed easily and were up and running quickly. We have standardized on Dell products for some time now and the ability to custom configure and get service makes it valuable for us.
Pros:office server
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DavidMc
(Roseville, CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Quite, Fast, Inexpensive

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this for my home office as an all around server. Enabling SQL Server, Media, Hyper-V based Win 7 Ultimate and Winodws Home Server.
Like the other recent reviewers, my T310 is extremely quiet while idle. The top corner of the case is about 2 ft from my head and I dont hear anything. I havent put it under a lot of load, but except for standard hard drive noises, it's quiet as can be.
I chose the default HD and picked up 2 1TB standard drives from a different site on Black Friday. They work great.
In addition I installed a PCI-E audio card and an older PCI-E video card. I now use it to play mp3s, watch DVD, and stream Netflix onto a 32" LCD TV. All runs well.
Awesome purchase.
Pros:sql server, hyper-v, windows 7 dev machine., windows home server
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SBITS
(Portland OR USA)
Title:

Best Little Server for Small Busineses...

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This "SERVER" is not noisy, it is not a PC, it is a SERVER! But yes you can sit in the same room without it driving you nuts. The thing I love about this is the Redundant Power Supplies, Since Power Supplies are typically the number 1 critical thing to go out, you have 2 (If you upgrade) and yes with 2 PS it is still quiet. Buy the "Cabled" Drives, Buy only 1 of Dell's Drive and buy your own Drives Put them in and Save Money. (You soon can't do this because there are some NEW Dell RAID cards that I think want Only DELL Drives. (I don't know if they did this yet but I won't buy a Dell Server that "TIES" Me to Dell Drives. (I would go to "INSERT OTHER BRAND" if they do this for all their systems.) OK, Recap this thing is quite, Well built, Redundant PS option, What else can you ask for in a Small Business Server? Russ
Pros:microsoft small business server
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TechieMan
(Rochester, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent multi-purpose server

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have to agree with the previous review about the noise level being hardly noticeable. The only time I hear the fan is at power up.
I do a lot of video encoding which pushes the CPU to 80% plus capacity for extended periods without hearing much fan noise. The computer is kept in a room at about 65 degrees F.
I am very happy with the machine. Currently switching between Debian 5 Linux (loaded on the Dell WD enterprise drive) and Windows 7 Ultimate. I run a number of different operating systems running using VMware.
The Dell T310 network performance is outstanding with typical large file data transfers at speeds greater that 90 Megabytes per second.
Current configuration:
Main OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
CPU: Xeon X3440
Memory: 8GB 4x2GB UDIMM 1333
Storage: 4x1 TB hard drives Western Digital Caviar Black
DVD drives: Two DVD SATA RW drives.
Video: ATI HD4350 512MB PCIe X16 card
Audio: ASUS Xonar DX PCIe 1X card (excellent sound, needs molex power connector, got a SATA 15 pin to Molex and SATA connect from the egg and connected to one of the DVD SATA connectors).
Network: Two on board standard 1 Gbps Ethernet connections.
Pros:software development, it vm testing, video encoding, audio and video streaming
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TechExpress
Title:

About the noise

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I see many people complaining about the loud noise for this server.
I purchased this server a few weeks ago and it gave me some sort of noise as well in the first place. But the noise was gone completely after I opened the side cover and reseated all the plastic parts inside and the hot swapable hard drives. So I guess, in my case, the noise was from certain loose parts that were shaking in high frequency.
Now this server is very quiet. The noise level is absolutely acceptable. It is now running on top of my table without bothering me at all.
Hope this helps someone to eliminate the noise
Jack
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nightster
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Noise level is too loud compared to T100 & T110

PostedJuly 19, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had t100 & t110 under my desk for a while, both run so quietly that sometime, I don't even know whether it is on or off. The t310 is a new replacement, using it from day 1 made me wanted to go back to my old server. The noise level (the fan) is so loud that I'm about to give it up.
+13points
20of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WaConsultant
(Seattle)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice Entry Level Server

PostedApril 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good Performance for the price. The fan noise at startup and when the CPU is running higher than idle load is a bit bothersome for a workgroup server so that is .5 stars off. Plan on putting it in a well ventilated closet.
The setup DVD is confusing, you need to pay close attention to when to put the OS disk in. The documentation for the server is good but trying to find information about the remote management features and set-up is non existent. The help online was not much help so a .5 star off for that.
Power consumption is better than expected for a 350 watt power supply (I have a single PS) the server with 4 SATA drives is running about 170-190 watts according to our watt meter.
For the price / value, I would buy it again.
Pros:small business server
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mike
(Melbourne)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Too noisy for office

PostedFebruary 22, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been buying Dell Poweredge servers for years now. One of the best features is their near silent operation which allows them to run in an office where staff work.
The T310's fan is on constantly and is too noisy for the server to run in an office with developers working.
I really hope Dell can solve this problem or else I may not be able to use this server.
Pros:software development, virtualization
+32points
39of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PapaGolf
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Dell PowerEdge T310 is a great performer and has a very classy chassis! The server is not as quiet as the Tech Specs sheet would suggest and I would recommend that the server be located in it's own server room or a room that is not 100% occupied by staff. The T300 is a lot quieter but will be coming up for end of life soon so get a T300 quickly before they are all gone.
Pros:small business server 2008 for 15 clients
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:davocom
(orlando)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great server

PostedDecember 16, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Although i have two complaints: the fan is very noisy, and i wish it would of came with a bigger power supply other than the 375 Watts provided.
Pros:dc, web server, ftp
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bikeranne
(Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Server -- very glad I bought it.

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: I am glad I purchased this server. We bought it to replace our old server. It was easy to set up; it is much faster and seems to be reliable. It has been running without any problems since we set it up. It is a lot of computer for the price.
Cons: I have had this server for a little less than month and I have not found any cons.
Review: I would recommend this server. It does everything that I need and more. It sits in the basement and simply runs like it is supposed to.
Pros:single server for 8 computer network
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DondersConsulting
(Raleigh, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

almost perfect

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
very clean and functional build. This is the cheapest model you can get with a PERC6. Screwless HDD trays are nice. Great value in an entry-level server.
Unit arrived without the usual system build CD/DVD set? Must have been an oversight...
I configured mine to have very low power consumption but the case fan is quite loud. I think the firmware controlling the fan needs an update. This is billed as a super-quiet server but mine has a steady cold wind exiting the back to the tune of much fan noise. Hoping a firmware is issued soon to resolve this.
Pros:single-server environment
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bero183
Title:

Fantastic Computer

PostedNovember 10, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just Fantastic
-30points
15of 60voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (12) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for PowerEdge T310
Overall Rating 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
1 out of 2 recommend this product