Customer reviews for PowerEdge T110

PowerEdge T110

PowerEdge T110
4.176 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
4.2
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 32
20 out of 2677%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for PowerEdge T110
Review 1 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RobDonovan
Title:

Very happy

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've owned my T110 for about 15 months now. I bought the 2.8GHz quad core X3460 processor and 16GB of RAM.
I bought it with no operating system and installed Debian Lenny 64-bit, which works fine. I use the machine for software development of and preliminary runs of HPC research code.
At time of writing the machine has been up for 327 days; no stability problems.
There are a lot of conflicting reports on noise, so I'll throw in my 2 cents. The noise level varies enormously depending on the temperature of the room it is in and the workload it is under. I had this under my desk while I was setting it up. In a nice cool office (say 75F), with the CPU mostly idle, noise was low enough to ignore. In a hot office (say 85F+), still an idle CPU, noise was intense enough to be offensive over long periods. Run the CPU at 100% even in a cool office and the noise soon reaches the same level.
After setup I moved the machine to a separate room; I interact with it via NX NoMachine. The BMC and console redirection are very useful for this : I can reboot if I have to, set the BIOS, see the console messages, etc, all remotely.
The machine has several usb ports, which have proved very useful.
Dell's Open Manage Server Administrator (and SARA's port of the same to Debian) is also a nice feature. You can set up the machine to shut down if it gets too hot, email you about any problems, etc. You can log in remotely and check the temperature. You can even get it to email you if someone opens the case.
All in all I've been very happy.
Pros:code development, hpc computing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jonjonjon
Title:

Not bad, but it is Loud

PostedJuly 25, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good computer for the money
Cons: It is loud. I had a Power Edge SC400 before this, and I could not hear it at all. I would say my Power Edge T110 is louder that an average PC. Some of the reviews say the fan is not loud. They must have a different fan. Wish I knew where I could get a quiet one (that fits the case and does not need to be modified!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:crustyjeff
(Co)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Horrible, Software Raid

PostedJuly 7, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The S300 RAID controller is a joke. Had one disk fail and the whole array went south corrupting the OS. The best part is that you cant add a disk back to the array without booting the OS! Fantastic. Oh and somewhere in the depths of the warranty SATA drives are only covered for one year.
Pros:sbs
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hemant
Title:

server with great value

PostedJune 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DrZim
(Pennsylvania)
Title:

PE T110 is hard to beat

PostedMay 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The price per value of this machine is hard to beat. It comes with four internal hard drive bays with four plastic hard drive caddies, along with four RAM slots. The Xeon 3430 I7 based chip doesn't have hyper threading (in my opinion HT provides marginal if any speed improvement.) It has an internal Perc S100 RAID controller that supports a software RAID 0,1,10,5 on SATA chipset for up to four drives. I loaded it up with 16 gigabytes of standard ECC DDR3 RAM and added Microsoft 2008 Server Web edition x64, put MS Web Farm Framework on it, and went to town.
Excellent Machine for the money. I would add a hardware raid card like the H700 or 3Ware card for added speed and reliability.
Pros:web farm, websites
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:collideascopic
Title:

I love dells but this one is a disappointment

PostedApril 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
On paper this server looks great. Room for 4 Sata Drives. Cheap price. Conveniently sized for non rack mounted server.
The reason I am unsatisfied with this server is the inability to turn of the remote access feature in the bios. I need to frequently reboot this machine as I use it as a test machine and the boot times are painfully slow. Worse yet there is no way to turn off the unneeded remote access and you must wait and wait. I contacted dell support (while not perfect they are IMO the best) and they told me there is no way to disable it. I still recommend Dell to my clients but definitely not this server.
Pros:linux server testing
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:computatuta
Title:

Dell PowerEdge T110 Server

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Simple to configure yet powerful operation!
Pros:3rd party application (unix)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dee
Title:

Nice entry server

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this server, without OS, to train in loading various OS's and try some configuration tweaks. It has been solid in performance and I'm happy with the setup overall. I would definitely do this again.
The only consideration for some is that the fan can be loud, particularly when firing up.
Pros:testing, training
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BoulderGeek
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great SOHO VMware server

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this little box to be a VMware ESXi Embedded server for my home. I plan to host HTTP, DNS, various desktop session VMs and SAN on it.
Installing Dell's version of ESXi 4.1_Update 1 was easy as pie. I am booting to a 16GB internal USB thumb drive. Performance is excellent, even with 10GB of memory configured in an unoptimized asymmetrical 3-DIMM arrangement. I have another 2x4GB dual channel set coming in the next few days, just to bring it to 12GB.
The reviews of the T110 that say it is loud must have had something quite different configured. My T110 is only loud during POST, when the fan is running 100%. As the machine is in a final run level, it is dead silent. My Apple TimeCapsule router is louder, and I can't hear the T110 at all in my office, right under my desk.
An Ubuntu 10.10 VM and Windows 7 x64 VMs run at native speed. Very decent performance, even without HyperThreading in the 3430 CPU.
I am exceptionally pleased with this small server. I've been a sysadmin for 18 years, and am pretty critical about hardware platforms. I was historically an admin on RISC systems, so I expect good things from "server" class hardware. I am positively surprised that I could get a quiet, well assembled ESXi box for less money than a Mac Mini.
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bonachi
(London)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

2 x RAID1 on PERC S100, YES!

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great litte server and very capable. Lots of great features for the price.
Want to add that after my initial contact with Dell sales regarding RAID1 and the onboard PERC S100 controller, I was told it doesn't support 2 x RAID1 arrays. It does.
Just install the SATA drives and during boot hit Ctr+R at the prompted time. Create the virtual drives using the utility. Once booted into W2k8R2 use Dell OpenManage to format/initialise the drives.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tekinerd
(Orange County, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Home and Low Cost ESXi Server

PostedDecember 16, 2010
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I used the T110 in a home environment and loaded up VMware ESXi 4 so I could run both SuSE Linux and Windows Home Server.
Pros
For the price, lots of CPU horsepower for a home office server, enough to run VMware ESXi 4.0 (free version). I was able to run an OpenSUSE O/S running a FEAR combat server, another OpenSUSE O/S running a development Wordpress server, and a Windows Home Server. The T110 has been super reliable and running successfully now for several months with no issues.
Cons
Would have been nice if the T110 supported remote console and keyboard via it's built in IPMI/BMI controller. I did however manage to get a third party IPMI/BMI utility running to remotely control power on and off of the unit.
Pros:gaming server, wordpress development server, window home server (whs)
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shane256
Title:

Good workstation

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got the T110 to be a workstation (mostly running virtual machines using VMWare) and it does this very well, particularly with the HyperThreaded CPU and 8GiB memory.
I have Windows 7 Professional installed.
In reference to the review that says eSATA cannot be used with an external HDD, I have been using an externally connected drive with that port for months now. eSATA is for connecting HDD externally but you have to have the appropriate enclosure for the drive, of course. Standard disclaimer applies here (do this at your own risk).
I put an SSD in the machine as a boot drive, which works very, very well and use the delivered HDD as a drive for data.
I also installed a discrete graphics card (a passively cooled ATI 5450) to drive two monitors. I don't do 3D work so 3D performance wasn't an issue, I just wanted to drive two monitors with decent resolution and DX11 capability for the pretty UI. If you're looking for a high-performance 3D graphics workstation, the PCIe x8 slot will give a small performance hit over an x16 slot but for most uses, it probably isn't a big deal (you can research various reviews on the 'net comparing x8 vs. x16 performance if it's an issue). The x8 slot has an x16 bracket/connector so standard video cards should work fine with it (mine does).
The lack of sound wasn't too big of a deal for me but I got a USB sound 'card' that I plug my earbuds into and that works well enough (they are cheap as well... like $10). Otherwise, you can get a discrete sound card for the PCIe x1 slot if sound quality is important.
The fans are audible but not so much that it bothers me. On the whole, I've been very pleased with the machine. Perhaps the only complaints that I have with it is with the DVD drive and other external bay. It doesn't seem easy to replace since there's a screw on the non-open side of the case. I will need to unscrew the other side of the case to put in a new DVD writer, it seems. Also, there isn't another connector that I can use for the 2nd external bay so my machine is full up right now with 1xDVD, 4x internal SSD/HDD, and 1x external HDD.
Still, it's been a great machine, especially for the price.
+31points
34of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:eselsea
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

eSATA port for backup devices only

PostedJuly 8, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the T110 to connect an external HD. Customer Support told me via chat that external HDs are not supported, only dedicated backup devices like Dell's RD1000 unit. I did a lot of research in the site's support area, scouring for this sort of "fine print" information, so needless to say, I'm not pleased.
So the bullet point on the main page of the T100 which states:
"e-SATA port of added external storage connectivity options"
doesn't apply to external HDs. FYI, if you're a home/small business user and don't need such robust backup, but would have loved to connect your T110 to your external storage HD via an eSATA connection.
+40points
46of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sailorman110
(Myrtle Beach)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Server

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this server to install Windows Home Server (WHS) on. It had a few install issues but once I got over the drive controller BIOS setup issue's, it installed the WHS software from Microsoft flawlessly. It is quick, and provides very fast access to my files both remotely and within my network. it is a bit noisy (fan) which is somewhat dissapointing but all things considered, it's a great machine. Dell has a history of things lasting for a long time so you can't go wrong with this box.
Pros:whs file server
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:saravanan
(chennai)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedJune 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
-10points
6of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PMCecil
(SoCal)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great value for the dollar

PostedJune 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great price, good value, easy to upgrade
Bought the T110 to use in my home lab. Running VMWare ESXi. I run multiple images and never notice any lag in response time.
Pros:lab system performing software support
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:josimars
Title:

Good Server

PostedMay 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am bit amazed by all the hoopla about he noise that this server makes. In my opinion it is the quiested of all the servers I have. I have a Dell sc 430, 420, t105 and this server is much quieter tan all of them. I have sharepoint running on it and it works just fine.
Pros:sharepoint hostin
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellreviewname
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Case Fan is not as advertised

PostedMay 1, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the T110 instead of building my own server because it offered great price for the performance. Additionally, it allowed for the OEM purchase of Windows Server 2008 Foundation. Finally, it was advertised as quiet. The server is fairly noisy (do a Google search). I would purchase a Vostro if you are thinking of putting it under your desk. The T110 sits in my kitchen pantry and I can hear it in my bedroom with the pantry door closed and my bedroom door open. Overall, excellent performance and design. It included four hard drive bays with the SATA and power cables rigged up. Nice drive trays too, although I am somewhat concerned about the drives hanging up-side down.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nickbaldwin86
(OREGON)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Server for the money

PostedApril 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this for a home/work/gaming server/media, and it does everything I need it to do.
It does everything I ask it to do.
Running a few added Tera Bytes
Runs 24/7
Windows Server 2008 Enterprise
CONS: It is LOUD!!!!
I read in a review about it being loud and the review was correct it is loud.
I am alright with it though, I don't sleep in the same room that it resides in.
OVERALL: You can't build a system spec for spec that could beat this price and performance.
Pros:home, work, gaming server, media server
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PowerEdge T110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:THX1138EBH
Title:

No so noisy

PostedApril 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought 2 of these for a VMware-based training project. They aren't noisy at all. I had to look to see the fans were spinning because older evals led me to believe that the fans were noisy. Mine aren't.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2