Customer reviews for PowerEdge T110 II

PowerEdge T110 II

PowerEdge T110 II
4.667 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
9 out of 9100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for PowerEdge T110 II
Review 1 for PowerEdge T110 II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JJCarter
(Brisbane)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Quiet and Powerful...Lovely

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
Purchased two of these to replace my old HP servers. And I can say they are great, quiet and well built. Running a small business server plus a development sandpit using VMware which installed and worked first time. Performance is more than fantastic. Delivered on time.
Cons
The upgrades from Dell are a bit expensive, sad they are not more competitive with addons.
Review
I can recommend the Dell T110 II, super quiet and fast..plus good value for money.
Pros:sotfware development, small business server
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PowerEdge T110 II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GratefulCustomer
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Entry Level Server

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
In the past year I began doing deployment of datacenter applications, the type that can not run on a PC. Hence the purchase of a Dell server. Every person I spoke to said Dell was the way to go. I am glad I listened to them. The purchase process was easy and my system shipped quickly.
Upon receipt I purchased additional RAM and a couple of 2Gb SATA drives. Then I installed a free version of VMWare ESXi 5 (lacks vMotion and other high end features) during a VMWare promotion. Deployed my enterprise apps and went to work.
It has been one year and I just renewed my support. The box has been humming along all year with no hiccups. I am smitten.
Pros:
(1) I can buy a stripped down server and expand as needed.
(2) The basic hard drive is large enough for an OS and some additional file space.
(3) The fan is real quiet.
(4) With the upgraded CPU the system utilization level stays real low.
(5) Ran all year without any hardware issues or software hardware conflicts (aka MS OS issues). Only shutdown issue was my fault.
Cons:
(1) Dell memory and hard drives are WAY too expensive for my home use, self-training budget. If they had a more affordable version of add-on hardware they would have gotten more cash from me. I needed to be up and running quick.
Pros:software development, learning enterprise datacenter apps, software programming training, future 4 channel dvr music & movie server
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PowerEdge T110 II
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Devious
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice and simple

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It works using ESXI 5.0. Dell must have fixed the fan problem because this thing is quiet. This is not a high end product, but it is great for the segment it is intended for. Thumbs up Dell!
Pros:virtualization, training
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PowerEdge T110 II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:aaaatttt
(Houston, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good basic server

PostedApril 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We just bought a second one of this model for our accounting. It is a server good for small applications.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PowerEdge T110 II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Latrice
Title:

Great Gift for College Student

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
AWESOME computer and stylish and practical
Pros:School
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PowerEdge T110 II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jeds2
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great home file and virtualization server. Quiet and powerful. Unbeatable for the cost. Only wish it would hold a couple more drives.
Pros:home file server, virtualization
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PowerEdge T110 II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:apenguin
(new york)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

excellent replacement as workstation

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pro: Quiet/Fast/Cheap. I have to say the design of PowerEdge T110 II make it excellent replacement for your desktop. I bought the minimum config (like E3-1220/2G etc) from dell, then bought 16G ram + HD6450 video card (to replace the onboard video card) + sound card from newegg, the total cost is way below 1k ( around 700 to be exact), I installed Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bits, it worked flawlessly ever since, Great job dell !
Con: None.
Other thoughts: I am so happy to retire my Ear-Deafing PowerEdge T605 which I used as my main workstation for the past three years, BTW ,I was deaf on my left side which is facing the server. This new T110 II is so quiet, I have to use its power button light to tell weather it is on or off.
Pros:software development, web browsing
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PowerEdge T110 II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jerryyyyy
Title:

Windows Home Server 2011

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this to run WHS 2011. I originally considered the older version (cheaper) but it will not run WHS 2011, which is based on Small Business Server 2008. This machine runs it fine.
I did not have any of the initialization problems noted by the previous reviewer. My initialization was immediate (did not notice it). I am running 4 disks for a total of 7.5 TB.
The machine is quiet and lives under my desk.
As far as I can tell I have no problems and it just runs. I am serving music from it using Subsonic.
The only Con I have is I am not sure of the power it uses. It looks like a bit bigger than I need, but I bought it for the long term. I am going to see if I can disable 2 of the 4 disks, as I really do not need then now.
Pros:music server
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PowerEdge T110 II
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Faster
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Expected Better Performance

PostedJune 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The delivered build was:
Intel Xeon 3.1 GHz CPU
16 GB RAM memory
1 TB HDD 7200 RPM SATA Disks
RAID 1 (Hardware Mirror) with PERC H200
We're running Windows Server 2008 64 bit.
PROS
1. The server is ultra quiet - technical specification says 35 dBa. You can bearly hear it which is fantastic for small office or home office environments. You can work next to it without any noise.
2. According to Windows Task Manager, the CPU is sitting at 2% most of the time. Also, consumed memory is only 1.48 GB out of 16 GB, which is only 9% - fantastic.
3. Plenty of file storage for future growth.
CONS
1. The hard disks took 13 hours to initialise!!! (13 hours is not a typo).
2. Only the PERC H200 is available for the T110 II, which is entry level and very, very slow.
3. SATA disks are very slow and a performance bottleneck.
Summary
This new server replaced a server that was 8 years old. As such, we expected fast performance. However, this new server performs slightly better than the old server overall.
If you need redundancy i.e. RAID 1. Get a higher spec Dell server (e.g. R610) because T110 II only comes with PERC H200 which is slow; and get SAS drives instead of slow SATA drives.
Overall, the server is good quality and sufficient for entry level requirements.
Pros:file server, print server, intranet server, database server
+98points
107of 116voted this as helpful.