Customer reviews for PowerEdge T105

PowerEdge T105

PowerEdge T105
4.167 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
4.2
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
7 out of 888%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for PowerEdge T105
Review 1 for PowerEdge T105
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LostinSF
(San Francisco)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent SMB/home server

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very happy with the price point of the T-series having used the 100 & 104 for WHS, Ubuntu, and workstation functionality. Good build quality. Added a LSI 1064E RAID controller and a dual-HS SAS assembly in place of the superfluous ext. FDD for a RAID0+1 SSD array for boot, retaining the 2x internal drives for a similarly RAID'd 2TB data volume. And still have a bay for a tape drive. System is fast and quiet. The only complaint would be the 5.25 bays which could have a design to better allow a double-height device (ie a cheaper LTO!) without having to do any customization. Would also like to see a filter option on the front in-take.
Pros:web development, sql
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PowerEdge T105
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dan1975
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Beware

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
Cheap
No superfluous hardware
Cons:
No motherboard RAID
No 3rd-party RAID
I chose this system for an entry-level file server, and at least as far as that goes, this is a great deal. The problem comes with the storage options though.
For 1TB RAID 1, the option is to get 2 drives at $530 each, plus a $200 RAID controller. That would more than double the price of the system I ordered, so I chose a 160GB single, no RAID, intending to add my own RAID.
I discovered, though, that this system is not compatible with non-Dell RAID controllers, and my research indicates that this is by design. Unless the RAID card in the system is a PERC6 or a SAS/6ir, the BIOS will report a resource conflict. The system will still boot and allow Windows to find the card, but the card cannot be used as a boot device, and you will always have to press F1 to continue on each bootup.
The system does not support RAID on the motherboard, and that is fine--this is an entry-level system which has been stripped of most of the goodies so that it can be sold for a base price of about $300. But being intentionally incompatible with 3rd-party upgrades is infuriating.
If not for this one detail, I would give the system 4 or 5 stars. But when considering this server, beware of this limitation.
+57points
58of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PowerEdge T105
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Clintre
(Austin, Tx)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Virtually Great

PostedFebruary 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this to be a lab system and found that it can be more than that. The fact that the AMD Opteron and Athlon support sirtualization I was able to load the free Microsoft Hyper-V R2 server and I am currently running 6 virtual servers on this system including 3 x Server 2008 R2, one of those being a SQL server, Ubuntu, Windows 7, and a Windows 2003 server.
This sytem has been very reliable and speedy with the Opteron Quad Core and 8GB of memory.
Also, this would make a great office server as it is very quiet and does not put out too much heat.
Pros:lab, small business
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PowerEdge T105
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GregHolmberg
(San Francisco bay area, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A good entry-level server

PostedSeptember 23, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Good performance.
Low price.
Reasonable set of slot types.
Fairly quiet.
TPM chip for cryptographic key generation.
Cons
Maximum of four drives, 8 GB RAM, 1 CPU.
No sound.
Very low-end graphics.
Review
I have the quad-core at 2.1 GHz, 4 GB RAM, two SATA drives, DVD, on-board NIC, no OS. I installed openSUSE 11.2 64-bit, and created a software RAID-0. Easy installation, all hardware supported out of the box with openSUSE.
I got this for developing enterprise software (Java, Eclipse, database), and it works great for that. The ECC memory ensures reliable operation, software RAID-0 is fast enough, multi-core lets me test my multi-threaded Java server. I like that Dell provides Linux drivers and BIOS updates that run under Linux (no DOS boot disk required).
I don't run it continuously (I only turn it on when developing), but it's been reliable so far. I've had it for over a year.
I haven't really pushed a lot of data through the on-board network card, so I don't know if it's slow as ClickCT reports. Certainly it's good advice in general to off-load TCP/IP processing to a smart NIC in a file or web server.
There are only four memory slots, so if you think you might someday expand beyond 4 GB, then get the high-density DIMMS (2 GB per). 800 MHz RAM is a little on the slow side by today's standards. 1067 would be more reasonable.
It would be nice if Dell added some eSATA ports on the back.
I'm pretty happy with this machine for my needs, and I would buy it again. At least in 2008 there wasn't much competition to the T105 at it's price-point.
Pros:software development
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PowerEdge T105
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:blcslv
(WV)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great server very fast

PostedApril 29, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great server was bought for a minor task now does much more without problem.
Pros:Fast. Easy setup. Does more than servers $3000 more expensive. AMD processor.
Cons:Have not had one yet.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PowerEdge T105
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:print1guy
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

smooth installation

PostedJanuary 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The selection process of equipment was a painless, step by step process. I also liked the availability to check on the status of the build.
Pros:Fast. I thought our old server was fast (4 years old. This is great, right out of the box
Cons:None on the server itself. You'd think migrating settings in the os would be simpler.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PowerEdge T105
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ClickCT
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice Server

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Attractive Price point Multitude of build out options.
Cons:Integrated NIC is very slow get the add on card.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PowerEdge T105
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jt5williams
(Corpus Christi)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Office Server

PostedAugust 22, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
My first AMD server and absolutely no regrets. It runs quiet and I couldn't ask for more speed. In fact it is so fast I am planning to install another software package on it instead of buying a 3rd server.
Pros:Extremely easy server to setup. It came with MS preinstalled and only took a few clicks to complete. I have it running under my desk and I can't even hear it. Completes my accounting reports in half the time as my old server...very fast!
Cons:None
+30points
35of 40voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for PowerEdge T105
Overall Rating 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5