Customer reviews for PowerEdge R710

PowerEdge R710

PowerEdge R710
4.81 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 142 reviews
5 Stars
117
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
4.8
 / 
5
(142 reviews) 114
11 out of 1292%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for PowerEdge R710
Review 1 for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Squuiid
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best servers Dell has ever made

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
These are the best servers Dell has ever made. Far better than anything HP has out right now.
You really can't go wrong with an R710.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Riffeb
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great all-around server

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great all around server. It really shines as a virtualization host if you need a lot of expansion for NICs, HBAs, or local storage.
Pros:virtual host
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ober
(Pittsburgh)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good Job

PostedJune 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have two of these servers, it is a huge increase in performance and service compared to my old 2850's.
The manufacturing is definitely better then the previous generations. This server is definitely meant to be used to virtualization, but this gives the servers plenty of room to expand the servers roles.
I would recommend this server, good job Dell.
Note: the management console software requires a windows management server.
Pros:department server
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RTcom
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

No down side to the performance, price, or Quality

PostedMay 31, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pro: The unit is very quite high performance and very stable. I have Dual Intel Xeon E5645’s and 36GB of ram running Windows Hyper-V Server 2008. I also have the internal SD kit for embedded hypervisors. The embedded hypervisor slot seem to work with none Dell SD cards which is a plus since the foot print of Windows Hyper-V Server is around 16gb for the full install or the embedded version is around 8gb if you pack it yourself. Unit is very easy to add RAM. The ability to replace fans on the go without powering down the machine is a huge plus. Four 1Gb NIC ports need I say more.
Cons: I got the 16x PCI-X upgrade card so I run Remote-FX but I have come to the conclusion that the E5645 does NOT support this feature. I feel this could have saved me some time if Dell provided a little more information about the processors on the configuration screen of their servers. But ultimately it’s my fault for not doing more research but really why wouldn’t a brand new processor support this but my OLD Intel E5504’s support it just fine…
Changes: I wish I there was an 8 bay option but they do pack a lot in this server, but still seems like they could have made room for 8 3.5” Drives. One other thing I would like to see changed is the option to buy these server without hard drives, and cd-roms. If you do upgrade like we do I’m sure you could reuse some of your old hard drives that are still less then a year old out of decommissioned servers. Right now I sell my old server, and then have to destroy the hard drives for security proposes when I could just reuse them!
Pros:virtual web server
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:simonchtan
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great and robust platform

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently pruchased 2 unit of the R710 units. They are pretty compact piece of hardware and is great for general deployment.
I have one of the unit built as a IVR/voice Portal. these unit is capable to take 1 x ISDN full size and full height PCI-x card. Another unit was my 1st Hyper-v deployment.
Both power comsuptiom was within good 250w - 180w average.
Pros:ivrs deploment, hyper-v r2
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:schultzycom
(Alberta)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

R710 is awesome compared to HP DL380 G6

PostedMay 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Set up a couple of these R710's with clustering. But first I had to open it and look at how they put this together. It is just a fantastic layout and much easier to use and get around than the HP DL380 G6's that I have setup. HP maybe #1 in market share, but I tell you nothing beats Dell. Also it is nice Dell ships everything assembled into one box, instead of the waste HP sends out talk about environmental waste and time waste building the HP's. Nope Dell does it right!!
Pros:production sql cluster
-15points
21of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlistairC
(Belfast)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Watchout for UDIMM

PostedMarch 30, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good product, however watch out for one major gotcha, which isn't mentioned anywhere that I could see on the Dell Premier site. Maximum system memory on R710s using UDIMM is limited to 24GB. I came across this critical information while reading the hardware manual AFTER purchasing a new R710 with 16GB UDIMM RAM. If I need to upgrade past the 24GB mark I'll need to throw away the 16GB UDIMM RAM and replace the whole lot with much more expensive RDIMM equivalent. It's a bad design in itself, but it's even more ridiculous that the Dell Premier configurator doesn't make this limitation glaringly obvious. It does helpfully stop you from purchasing a dual-PSU server with only one powercord, however it doesn't notify you about a limitation with could cost you £1k to put right. Very poor.
Pros:virtual host
+131points
142of 153voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PaulM2
Title:

Great server performance, well engineered

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
if you opt for L series Intel 55xx processors these Dells offer excellent performance without the power penalty - we've been very pleased when buying these over the PE2950 models.
the design and engineering of the rail kits means you can unpack and rack up servers in record time
remote management is great too, KVM over IP works perfectly - uses java, works with linux + firefox.
Pros:web farm, database
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mango13
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Virtualise This!

PostedSeptember 18, 2009
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Lets face it, gone are the days of multiple servers. High running costs... High cooling costs.... Rack space, or the lack of it! Lets all get smart, save costs, get rid of cooling annd help the environment. Welcome to the R710! You no longer need a mail server, a web server or a database server VIRTUALISE! Lets move on.. What's the saying? Survival of the fittest. Thats the R710
-64points
16of 96voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fatman76
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Huge Imporvement from the 2950

PostedSeptember 17, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hot swappable fans...nice
2 dual Gig ports....nicer
great price ........nicest
Have been using this server in the K12 market to virtualize server operations....so far I am very happy
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:John
(LA)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

SPECS

PostedAugust 11, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
How do you tell if it uses 120V or 220V and what connectors do the power cords come with?
Response from Dell.comBy PowerEdge Portfolio ManagerProduct GroupSeptember 16, 2009
Thank you for your feedback. We take customer input very seriously and want to make sure you have all the information you need.

PowerEdge Power Supplies are auto-ranging which means the power supply is automatically equipped to support your power requirements, whether it’s 110V or 240V.

The available connectors with the power cords are listed as part of the Power Cord selection once a user clicks on “customize it” button on the R710 product page.

Please check out the Resources section in the right-hand navigation for other resources such as white papers, industry comparisons and the R710 Technical Guidebook for more technical and topic-specific information on the R710 and its features.

Thank you for choosing Dell.
-230points
22of 274voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HPUSysAdministrator
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

R710 Review

PostedApril 17, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The cell phone sized lithium battery in the front of the server may be subject to heat from the drive bays? But I am sure that was a design consideration and is not a problem.
Pros:Easy install. Fully featured server in 2RU. Relatively quiet.
Cons:The DVDrom is not very securely installed. Pushing in the drive tray in can cause the DVD module to slide back into the chassis housing requiring removal of the chassis cover to re-secure it.
+42points
77of 112voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (130) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for PowerEdge R710
Overall Rating 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5