Customer reviews for PowerEdge R210

PowerEdge R210

PowerEdge R210
4.158 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
4.2
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 16
5 out of 771%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for PowerEdge R210
Review 1 for PowerEdge R210
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wigey
Title:

Great little unit

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
We chose this unit for testing a small web service, but after loading VMWare ESXi, bringing up the Database VM, Webserver VM's, and loadbalancer VM, we realised we still had power to burn, and that was with the Core i3 processor. (Managed >12 million hits / day under testing)
Out of interest, I found a Core i7 processor sitting around, popped it in, and although this one runs at 2.2GHz instead of the Corei3's 3.2, the extra cores make it even nicer to use.
Yep, it's a little noisy, but a sound-dampening rack cabinet fixed that...
Will be buying more.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PowerEdge R210
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tim546
(Orlando, Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Server

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This server has been colocated in a datacenter and is being used as a LAMP web server. It's well built, very fast and a great value. We added hardware raid and a few other accessories and still came in under budget. The only thing we couldn't figure out was that you have to press down on the case lock to open the case... ended having to read the instructions!
Also, yes, the fans are loud especially when it first powers on. But honestly, who cares. It's a high-performance rack mount server. Sports cars are concerts are loud too. It doesn't mean there is anything wrong with them.
Pros:web server
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PowerEdge R210
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DondersConsulting
(Raleigh, NC)
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

why no quiet 2U version?

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This would be a fabulous server for wall-mount or 2-post racks in small offices if it was a 2U size. This is an untapped niche market that Dell could make a lot of money with. Sure, I believe this model is quietER than other 1U's, but no 1U server is truly "quiet" or "low-noise" by a general standard.
The obvious benefits of 2U size over 1U:
- lower cost due to easier design with more room
- larger fans would ELIMINATE noise
- chassis could hold 4 or even 6 hard drives, and hot-swap option
- shorter depths possible (12" or 10" would be great)
- more card slots
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PowerEdge R210
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MartinRck
Title:

R210 is just far to loud

PostedMay 10, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros
I just got the machine 2 days ago, it looked perfect, it has everything i wanted.
Cons
Unfortunately, when I switched it on, I was startled by the noise it makes.
I will have to send it back to dell.
-44points
35of 114voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PowerEdge R210
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DBowen
(Denver, CO)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Server, Very Powerful

PostedFebruary 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
My company uses this server primarily for data mining/processing and REST-based web services. It's been able to tear through those tasks, and everything else we've throw at it, without a problem. Stability has been rock solid, and installation of RHEL5 went without a hitch. While we don't care about noise, since its located in a data center, I can say its significantly quieter than the SuperMicro servers we've deployed previously.
Cons
This isn't a Dell issue by any means, but while Dell supports UEFI many linux distributions currently do not. If you're planning on deploying SUSE or Windows Server this won't be an issue as both of them have support for it. Alternatively you can always just leave it in the old BIOS mode which is supported fine by everything.
Another issue we ran into is that you can't access a reboot switch when the bezel is locked. This can be a problem if you don't have the necessary network equipment for remote reboot, and/or you can't leave a key with your data center.
Review
Overall, this server is an excellent bargain for the price, and is tough to beat. I'm sure we'll be buying more of them or the R410.
Pros:software development, data mining/processing, rest web services, iphone push notification server
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PowerEdge R210
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigBen
Title:

Sounds louder than R200

PostedFebruary 12, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just got an eval unit today. Set it up with WinServer 2003, hangs towards the end and had to hard boot. Generally, the box sounds louder than expected, so obvious in office environment. Not like R200 used earlier.
Comes with only IE6 and not IE8 or at least IE7. So so happy but the size just right for our purpose.
Pros:domain controller, file share and print server
-25points
2of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PowerEdge R210
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TimSmallSEOSS
(Brighton, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A server with an impressive spec for the price.

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This machine's predecessor - the R200 - was a reasonable server, but the R210 improves upon it greatly, with increased CPU performance, and dramatically reduced power consumption - I measured 40watts idle / 80w under full load in Linux (L3426, 8G RAM, 2x250G SATA) - down from 130w/200w for the R200 with X3220 CPU).
The R210 also features improved remote-control (the combination of IPMI with serial over LAN and PXE booting for recovery gives us full remote control and remote diagnostics in Linux) and higher performance disk I/O.
The high performance Intel SATA controller now operates in AHCI mode - allowing for improved performance and hot-plug (as well as port multiplier support for external eSATA enclosures), although the drives are not supplied in hot-swap caddies, so I suspect this isn't an officially supported feature.
It was rock solid during our torture tests. If this box had easy BMC and hard-disk firmware updates from within Debian Linux, I would give this box 10/10.
Pros:virtualisation server, ha cluster, web server
+28points
32of 36voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (12) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for PowerEdge R210
Overall Rating 
4.4 / 5
4.4 / 5