Customer reviews for OptiPlex 790

OptiPlex 790

OptiPlex 790
4.202 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
4.2
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 76
15 out of 2365%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for OptiPlex 790
Review 1 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dontlikethe790
Title:

No way to disable integrated audio in bios

PostedJuly 8, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I want to install a pci audio card on my 790 at work and there is no way in the bios to disable the integrated audio. Dell likes to lock down any real bios options. If I had known this ahead of time we would not have bought these computers for our office.
Pros:wanted to do sound edition
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ellenGB
Title:

another one with motherboard issues

PostedJune 20, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had this for two months and didn't work from the start. Crashed, stalled, you name it. We tried everyting including reinstall, but to no avail. It's a beauty, it's fast, it's quiet, and a joy if it works. I have usb3. Wonderful.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mikefstl
Title:

Only 1 SATA 3 port, MAX 16GB RAM

PostedJune 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would give this desktop 5 stars if all the SATA ports were SATA III. Only one is SATA III and the others (quantity depending on form factor) are only SATA II. If you plan on running more than one SSD drive on an Optiplex 790, take note.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tom53
Title:

Poor quality case.

PostedApril 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 5 of the Optiplex 790 for work, configured with I7, SSD and desktop case to save space.
Pros
The computer is very quiet, and has a lot of usb ports. With the Solid State drive it boots really fast.
Cons
The rear usb ports are not very stable. When you plug something into them you hear the ping of spring steal compressing. When you plug in the vga connector, the connector and the serial port push in up to a eighth inch. PS2 ports are probably not needed
Review
I don't suggest the 790 with the desktop case. It just is not a professional quality build.
Pros:data entry, business apps
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:badpeter
Title:

it's good

PostedApril 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very fast, flawless startup and setup, the price was good. Using the system with dual monitors, everything setup without any problems, love it!
Pros:work
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hecinchicago
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bad Machines

PostedMarch 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
We brought 35 machines in January and up to yesterday 10 have motherboard problems.
Pros:education
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jasonmarlowe
(Portland, OR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great PC, but had to wait 2 months!!!

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The video card i upgraded to was back ordered so i had to wait 2 months to get the machine. I went around and around with customer service to have them get me a different video card of the same quality and they would not. They only offered me a lower quality card for the same price. I give their customer service a 1, but the machine a 10 cause it runs like a champ. Good thing I got the 3 year warranty on the Optiplex.
Pros:graphic design, office use, Video Editing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cody9
(Billings, MT)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Optiplex 790

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Product was delivered faster than expected and is working very well for us. We've bought many dell products and they have never let us down.
Pros:work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BruinsPunk
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great SFF computer

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Upgrading a 10-year old network w/ a new server and workstations. Coupled w/ a new PowerEdge T410, these OptiPlex 790's fit the bill perfectly for the client location. Fast, small, quiet and very cost effective for our environment. Lots of USB ports, front and back, are a bonus for the ever-increasing number of permanent as well as point-in-time USB device in use. Great little computers!!
Pros:network workstation
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sluggosqueen
Title:

Dependable Machine

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been using Optiplexes exclusively as our desktop of choice for our agency for the past 7 years. They really are the workhorse of the dell line. They are easy to set up and run forever. If there is a need for repair,parts are readily available and easily installed.
When we upgraded from XP to Windows7 I upgraded all the machines to the 780 mini tower with the all in one stand, and wireless keyboards and mice. We have had NO machine issues at all. We are now moving into the Opti 790's again with no issues. These are good, solid machines.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:missbethany
(colorado springs)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great product

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I enjoy this project. It does everything i need at work. It runs smoothly. It is a good functional computer.
Pros:customer service
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ECaspi
Title:

Good System

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We purchased a ships fast system that arrived quickly and excellently packaged. Set-up was quick and the system has all the RAM and speed we need for graphics. Excellent basic computer to keep you working productively.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SamGopi
Title:

Great Product

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Computer is superfast and the graphics are great. Also great for movie streaming and music
Pros:office use
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lazyxness
(Los Angeles CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Optiplex 790 Review

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This desktop is pretty good. Haven't had problems with it. I Love how easy it is to upgrade the ram. This desktop also was cheap, great price for an i5 desktop. Very easy to upgrade anything inside the box, plenty of space to work with. For a small business desktop it's great. I actually bought 3 of these.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:UpNorthEng
(UpNorth)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great machine

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great machine, quiet, fast, Windows 7 works great!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hometown8
(Fort Worth, TX)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fantastic Upgrade

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased an Optiplex 790, small form factor with i7 processor to do CAD and graphic design. I wanted the small form factor so the CPU could be on my desk but not consume the entire surface.
Pros: It is small. It is quiet. It is fast--very fast. It has worked perfectly out of the box and I experienced no problems with legacy printers and programs and Windows 7 64. It has been the perfect choice for me.
Cons: It would be nice to have a built-in SD card reader to simplify importing photos.
I highly recommend this computer.
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Frogmeister
(Romsey)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Versatile desktop with minimal footprint

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The USFF form factor with the monitor mount bracket makes this a great device for general purpose users with a really small footprint. 1 power and 1 LAN cable to the desk also means it is quick and simple to setup and deploy. I also like the lockable case which deters plugging in of unwated USB devices!
Another nice feature is that you can hook up 2 monitors for extended desktop using the onboard VGA and HDMI ports and this still gives a good performance rating under Windows 7.
Shame to see the eSata go that as that was useful in the 780 chassis, but then again this is a machine for the general users, so is not really an issue. If you want a machine that can take cards or an extra disk, or want 3D CAD or to play games on a budget, then go for the Mini Tower.
The Ultra Small Form Factor does mean that you have to be careful with the cable paths on the rare occasion that you may need to open up the case, but then again that is to be expected with machines of this size.
This is a versatile and fast machine which is a great little workhorse whether using Windows XP or Windows 7. I even use one for my VMware test environment by the side of my desk!
Pros:general desktop, web design and development, software development
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Frankyb
Title:

Not as good as I hoped

PostedNovember 1, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
So I've been working with the optiplex line since the 520 and when I saw that Dell changed to a new format with the 790 I was excited. At first sight I noticed the size difference. I opened her up to take a look inside and noticed it was much more cramped but it didnt bother me until we had our first one break.
We have started with about 10-20 of these that we were ordering for new hires and I was very happy about the performance and small foot print but I just ordered another 55 and immediatley i had 2 with power supply issues. Last week we replaced another power supply and I just contacted Dell today to have them send someone to repace the mother board. Typically we do it ourselves but I am getting so frustrated I am going to have Dell take care of it. I would suggest if you could hold out and wait for their new model do so.
I have another 200 or so coming soon and I am scared to put these on the floor.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JonX
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dumb Power Button

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
We ordered a dozen of these. One was DOA, which was a bit disapointing. So much for Dell QA, but it gets worse...
I called support and they confirmed the system had no power. They ordered a new motherboard and said a tech would be there the next day to install it. Of course he didn't show up. After 2 days I emailed... the part was out of stock. After nearly a week the tech finally shows up to replace the motherboard, but nearly instantly recognizes the real problem. The power switch itself is defective... the button on the front bezzel doesn't probably hit the internal switch to turn the system on. The tech seemed VERY familiar with this problem, so its definately a well known design flaw. The tech called into to order a replacement button and front bezzel... which took nearly 30 minutes because the rep he spoke to say the computer systems were down. Overall a real embarassment for Dell. Otherwise the systems are fine I guess... but dell support needs to get there act together.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for OptiPlex 790
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:samfu
Title:

Test one for yourself & ignore the other reviews

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you own any optiplex 780's and buy one of these you might find yourself questioning what these other reviewers are talking about.
The only legitimate criticism any of them can really have is the removal of the esata port. In our environment we use pxe to image 20 plus at a time so for us it's a non-issue.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2