Customer reviews for OptiPlex 160

OptiPlex 160

OptiPlex 160
3.412 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
3.4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 16
7 out of 1258%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for OptiPlex 160
Review 1 for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BeepingBeep
Title:

Win 7 SP1 crashes machine.

PostedMay 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
After spending a full day trying to figure this out it turns out that it is not compatible with Win7 SP1. Multiple articles out there now discussing the issue. and I do not see a solution yet.
If you intend to keep your machines up to date with current security patches, then do not buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ANickname
(East Coast)
Title:

Excellent Atom platform

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Using these for SCADA, and these units are perfect: low power consumption, low heat, low noise, low price!
Running Windows XP on the units, driver support seems perfect. Plenty of connectivity. Stable with 24 hours of Prime95.
The Atom 230 with 1GB isn't the fastest platform in the world, and it is one of the oldest Atom processors, but it is more than adequate for general desktop use. Note that without a powerful graphics chip that allows for hardware acceleration of Flash, Flash performance will not be particularly great on this platform. I did not have any issues myself with Flash on any website/service that I utilized.
All in all, I couldn't be happier that Dell finally released an Atom-based Optiplex Desktop!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ABVH
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

OKAY for Point of Sale ONLY

PostedAugust 20, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I work for a company that has deployed nearly 500 of these for use as Point of Sale units.
These units are OKAY for Point of Sale since they are complete with plenty of USB ports, PS/2 ports and a 9-Pin serial port (perfect for cash drawers or serial based debit/credit pinpads).
Our Point of Sale software is developed entirely IN-HOUSE and is written in Java/PHP. As long as employees at store locations do not open more than one copy of our Point of Sale software suite (which they need to do some times) the Opti160 is just right.
We have done extensive in-house testing on these units and I could safely say that they are definitely NOT worth it if you play to use them as simple surf stations. They CANNOT handle ANYTHING Adobe Flash or Shockwave AT ALL. For example, the ever popular FarmVille or FishVille will darn near freeze these units solid.
AERO under Windows 7 WILL NOT WORK.
Desktop Effects under GNOME or KDE WILL NOT WORK.
Full-Screen video playback 720p or greater is HOPELESS.
Windows Media Center runs TERRIBLE.
Essentially - all these are good for is Point of Sale ONLY and NOTHING ELSE, and even then, it is somewhat IFFY. We are okay with them since our development is done entirely in-house - other companies may not be so lucky.
THESE THINGS ARE HORRIBLY SLOW. Be warned.
Pros:point of sale only
+19points
28of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GregBr
Title:

Disappointing

PostedMay 6, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I find the unit disappointing. The mounting bracket cannot be used to mount the unit to the back of a monitor. But worst, the unit is clearly shown to have integrated wireless and the photo gallery identifies integrated wireless as an option; you cannot actually order integrated wireless.
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PRWaste
(Paso Robles California)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good all around workstation replacement

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have several customer support reps (who double as dispatchers) that need access to simple low overhead applications to coordinate with our drivers and customers. The Optiplex 160 has been a great replacement for these aging workstations as it is quite, energy efficient, and meets the processing needs of these employees. Anyone that is looking for a great computer to do simple tasks should seriously consider the Optiplex 160. We have 3 of these machines in use and will certainly be adding more as it comes time. Also, thank you Dell for allowing me to "downgrade" to XP!
Pros:customer support, corporate email, route dispatching
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ComputerServices
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Point of Sale Solution

PostedSeptember 29, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have installed 24 of these as Point of Sale solutions that tie into an SQL server. This is the best Point of Sale hardware solution I've seen. It is small, virtually silent, runs cool, and has all the ports and port types you could need for a Point of Sale station. The low power consumption also gives good battery life when running on a ups too. I was able to get an hour of runtime from this unit and a 17" Elo touchscreen on a low-cost battery backup from APC.
This unit is a good fit for Point of Sale and also school lab situations with minimal CPU requirements. I call it a "One App Wonder!"
Pros:point of sale
+14points
21of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Julian
(The Netherlands)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Almost good enough

PostedAugust 24, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high hopes of this little power-saving machine, ordering one hoping to replace approx. 110 power-hungry machines. Unfortunately, the config with 2GB and a dual-core Atom processor, running XP SP3, proved to be to slow. When running only one task at once things were OK-ish. But still noticably slower in normal office-tasks then a 2 Ghz P4 with 2 GB.
It also couldn't handle video-files with high resolutions (720p and up) and bitrates without hickups. Although we don't regularly require that of our machines, it gives an idea of the computing power of this machines
We were disappointed the Dell chose for SiS to provide integrated graphics. Getting it to run under linux required a portuguese package. To our surpise, 1920x1200 outpur did not work over DVI. We are still trying to get it to work over sub-D, as Dell states it can, but that will require manually entering monitor-timings (under Linux, that is).
As we didn't want to 'downgrade' from aformentioned P4, we decided to go with regular desktop computers, and skip this generation of tiny PCs. But one day, when these small machines are pwerfull enough, all the desktops will be replaced by machines like this.
Pros:all round office-pc
+30points
50of 70voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCguru
(Fort Worth)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Big things in a Small Package!

PostedJuly 14, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This little machine is very capable. I ordered mine with Vista Business and a conventional Hard Drive. Performance is surprisingly spirited. Its fanless, starts and shuts down very quickly, has little heat and power consumption (were talking 50 watts!) is just tiny. My only issue is with the monitor mounting option...its only going to work on monitors that have stands separate from the vesa mounting location. That rules out most Dell monitors! If you have a need for horsepower don’t buy this one...but if you want a tiny quiet low cost package that works very well try one of these!
Pros:manufacturing, quality cotnrol lab
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HospitalIT
Title:

Awesome workstation PC

PostedMay 13, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
We love this little guy! The performance is awesome. A bonus is you can dual monitor right out of the box, one DVI and one analog, but that is fine with us. We max the dual core out with 4GB of ram and the end users love it. Small, absolutely silent, no fans to worry about. And no huge external power supply. I can't say enough about it.
Pros:work
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JFarr
(Columbiana, AL)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awsome little PC

PostedApril 4, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Having no fans helps with power consumption as well as not accumulating large amounts of dust and dirt inside the computer. I did not have the need for a optical drive, as everything is loaded through my local area network.
Pros:A very small business computer. Works great at Point of Sale. Small footprint and very quite since there are no cooling fans. Ordered with 2gb Ram, standard sata hard drive, as well as the Intel Atom Quad Core processor. I can't get the processer to max out thanks to the quad core processor.
Cons:None.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:international
Title:

Energy Star Rated????

PostedMarch 30, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:low price
Cons:Is this energy star rated? The review says it is energy efficient but does not say how much power it uses.
-70points
5of 80voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChrisBirmingham
(Birmingha, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Little Tower

PostedJanuary 6, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great little computer and makes an ideal workstation for those offices looking to install small powerful computers with low power consumption.
Pros:This unit is fantastic. Ideally suited to offices where you need to keep desk footprints down and keep all that nasty cabling off the floor. Also, the built in power supply makes things even easier. I purchased mine with XPe (Embedded) and all is fine.
Cons:This unit can only boot into Windows, PXE or ImageServer mode. So unlike Wyse Thin-Clients, where you can boot straight to an RDP, you have too run the RDP session from within Windows. I added the RDP Config File to the Start Menu to resolve the issue but this still isn't as good as the Wyse.
+65points
79of 93voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for OptiPlex 160
Overall Rating 
3.6 / 5
3.6 / 5