Customer reviews for STREAK mobile

STREAK mobile

STREAK mobile
3.751 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 365 reviews
5 Stars
169
4 Stars
75
3 Stars
39
2 Stars
25
1 Star
57
3.8
 / 
5
(365 reviews) 362
259 out of 36571%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for STREAK mobile
Review 21 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ethanzin
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Poor quality with software and customer Services

PostedJuly 21, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor quality with software and especially customer service. I Just bought
device 2 months ago. Always having issue with softwate problems and have
to reset factory restore, did not solve. Now is broken and totally notjing
come out other than Dell Logo.I will go HTC or Samsung for android or
apple from now on
Pros:nicely like my baby
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EthanHtike
(New york)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie

PostedJuly 21, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor quality with software and especially customer service. I Just bought device 2 months ago. Always having issue with softwate problems and have to reset factory restore, did not solve. Now is broken and totally notjing come out other than Dell Logo.I will go HTC or Samsung for android or apple from now on.
Pros:nicely. like my baby.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:apkp
(Mumbai)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Missing Features in Dell Streak

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought the Dell Streak 5" at Mumbai just before the prices dropped :-(
Generally happy with the large screen and android apps. However, there are few things which are pretty annoying.
First, there seems to be weird issue with basic outgoing voice calls. You initiate a call and the other party cannot hear anything. You need to put the call on speaker (and revert if required) before your voice is heard at the other end.
Second, there is a front camera, but the phone is not capable of 3G video calling, only internet based video chatting is possible. It seems the feature is available in Android 2.3 (Gingerbread). However, there is no timeline available from Dell about if/when the upgrade will available. Not sure if I am interested in trying out the other (unofficial) ports available on the internet.
Pros:primary phone, Travel, email on the go
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SHildebrandt
Title:

Fantastic all-in-one device

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had my Streak for about a month now. I've had EVERY smartphone ever made (iPhone 4, Nexus S, LG G2X), list goes on. I can honestly say the Streak is, hands down, the best all-in-one device I've ever owned..... period. I sincerely hope Dell does not abandon the 5" tablet/phone market in the future, as they're the only player. Like my grandfather used to say, "The pioneers are struck with all of the arrows..... BUT they also get all of the land". I just hope Dell puts more of their marketing muscle behind their next tablet/phone device. Buy this device, you WILL NOT regret it!
Pros:personal/business/all environments
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:onefive
(Jamaica)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Cons 1 The dedicated software does not support individual ring tones 2 does not support speed dial. 3 android keyboard keys too small for a mans hands. 4 the voice dialer is poor compared to the samsung behold which i replaced with this phone.5 Camera is not so great at nights unless i still haven't figured out how to tweak it.Pros all these can be remedied on the android market. i reviewed this phone extensively.. so i bought an otter box case as well as blue tooth at the same time .it makes sense to invest in items to protect your investment. the phone should be treated like a newborn in other words don't drop it ,but still get the items necessary to protect it. Excellent browsing, social sites a breeze and using wifi it's surfing is as fast as your average computer ...I say buy it . Dell needs to support and continues with this product. I look forward to upgrades
Pros:as my primary phone, primary camera, mobile computer, i do im's and texting with my family in the u s
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Duerstad
(Colombia, SA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent support on a very good device

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
After more than two months, I find the Streak 5 has been completely reliable, easy to work with, and a very useful form-factor for me. Dell is providing live US-based support--incredible and a fast and knowledgeable bunch of people to turn to when you don't understand something. I don't expect the Streak to be current in a year or so; things are all changing too fast for that. But for now, it is solid and (excuse me!) "just works." It does not lag on 3D graphics on Google Maps 5.x. As a reader (and more) with foreign character sets (Greek, Hebrew)it is quick and the display resolution and size are first-rate. Compared to my wife's iphone 4, it seems to have a more useful display with well-formed images. I'm impressed. Many reviews mention big troubles, but with the unusual attention Dell is giving to Streak support, I can't imagine these not being solved. And I can be very critical when the situation calls for it. Thanks, Dell; I hope to find as good a replacement in a couple years!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CastleTowers
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Officially the WORST phone I've ever owned

PostedJuly 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
After four months, I can officially say that this is the phone I have disliked the most since getting my first cellular phone, the Motorola DPC550. Which says a LOT about this phone.
Pros: 5" Screen
Cons: Sign on screen hangs, touch pad hangs, dialing hangs, screens change after 5 seconds, no updates to the O/S when you feel that it should, have yet to get support from DELL after calling numerous times, no updates for technical issues that I keep reading everyone has... like everything hanging. Having to reboot my phone 4-10 times a day. Yes, every single day. There's more but I hope this is enough to help you decide that this product isn't for you.
Resolution: For the FIRST time, I'm switching my BACK to my OLD manzana.
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ankit Shelley Lal
(New Delhi, India)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Super Cool Phone/Tab

PostedJuly 10, 2011
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bot this super awesome phone in December 2010 after a lot of reviews. couldn't lose my chance to get my hands on this phone. it has got large screen to browse your websites and viewing pics and vids are amazing. though the LCD could have been an SlCD. would have been a cherry on the cake, nevertheless the processor is impressive though the swapping from the dell stage menus cud be a 1 sec. sluggish. Love the apps from the ANdroid market. it is not that big as it's hypes to be. it is very pocket friendly and its an attention seeker. i get a lot of head turns in the public places, many come up to me asking about it.i love it.i love the Dell Stage widgets. the update from 1.6 to 2.2 froyo was awesome.then we got the 2.2.2 froyo update. which made the menu with some clear changes making it look more sophisticated. CONS :
higher resolution screen and a faster processor. hopefully a dual core in the next installment cud do more justice to this beast. apart from this i love this thing and i love it makes me popular among the people i wander with. Thanks Dell.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:livinabroad
Title:

Good Phone but needs protection

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
After buying it I liked the feel in my hand and when I use the GPS function i was able to see the maps clearly with its screen size. I guess my real complaint is Dell needs to come up with a good case that can protect the screen since its larger than most phones its the weak point and breaks easily. The plastic case they sell is a good idea but needs work. What about combining the great protection that the Otterbox case provides with a strong plastic screen and a good flap to open when you want to use or something. So far first time my screen broke was from an accidental drop. The second time was when a 800GB backup tape fell from on top of my desk and hit the screen by accident both times cracking the screen which on both occasions the Otterbox would not have protected them with they way the both landed (first drop the screen landed on a corner) If that issue can be resolved then it would be good. Also maybe consider putting some games on it or make available some games through the Dell website some games that would be fun (like racing or action-adventure or even RPG) games that can put the Streaks to the test.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ashok
(india)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

problem in dell streak

PostedJuly 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
do not buy hanging problems in every cell,recording no good. unlocking problem when call attend, service is not good.service centre take lot of time to change the cell
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AsterixDGaul
(Round Rock, TX)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

The best thing to happen to a cell phone

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The best feature of the Streak 5 compared to other android phones or even the iphones out there is the screen size. The phone is light wt, fits in my pocket, I am totally comfortable to put it up against my ear to talk but most importantly I don't need to spend on and carry and extra tablet. My most important travel need is to be able to read and edit documents and the 5" screen is perfect for it. The processor speed is great, the graphics and video quality are the best I have seen on a phone and sound isn't bad either.
I hope Dell doesn't discontinue this product ... its a brilliant phone and anyone who has seen me carry it has always been amazed by this cool/sexy looking gadget.
Pros:Travel, streaming, gps, music
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pannu
(Ludhiana India)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

World in your hand

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great that a phone feature has been added to it, that too without using a headphone. Supports a variety of music formats, greate for music lovers. 5Mega camera, HD video with GPS and lot more. No need to keep multiple gadgets anymore.But those who love big screen go for streak 7. for compact equipment lovers streak 5 is perfect
Pros:photography, phone, ipod
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nitesh katare
Title:

ZABARDASTT

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
ITS GREAT AND ZABARDAST
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nitin

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PatientlyWaiting
(Rosamond. CA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Customer Service

PostedJune 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
1 and a half hour ago notice my dell streak would not charge. On streak device where you plug in charger I noticed some of the prongs were bent and preventing a good connection to charger. I called technical support. Was on the phone for approx 15mins..... explained what was going on and technical support was very helpful and polite 10/10. I have a replacement phone on the way 3-5 business days. Way to go Dell excellent products and excellent customer service.
Pros:personal use, streaming video, internet, chat
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jallikundu
(Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Meh.. Overall User experience. Great screen size!

PostedJune 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the opportunity to use an Unlocked 5" Dell Streak (AT&T) last month for about two weeks. I rooted the device to install Amazon App store but didn't install 3rd party ROM.
Pros:
1. The first thing I noticed was that browsing was way better than on a 3.5 or 4" android phone. The 5" form factor was just the right size for something to work as both a phone and a tablet. It looks a bit ridiculous making phone calls on it while holding up against your face though! Use a Bluetooth handsfree to overcome that.
2. The processor was pretty good and the dell stage screen was good.
3. The stock Dell ROM can be replaced after rooting (Go to StreakDroid for more info
).
Cons:
1. Poor Build Quality: The streak is unlike most phones or tablets incapable of taking much abuse like an occasional drop. The LCD would crack even if mess up even once. To overcome that you need the Otterbox Case for sure.
2. Camera Sucks: The camera had much worse quality than my n900 camera. It had a bluish tinge and lacked any clarity when zoomed in. (This was one of the reasons I returned it as I use my camera to take pictures of my daughter when I don't have my SLR). I traded the Streak for the Motorola Atrix minus the 16GB card and the camera is great as is everything except the screen size.
3. Dell Support sucks: I had initially placed two orders one for me and the other for my wife but decided to cancel the other order. I had to go around in circles and got disconnected twice before I got the right person to cancel the other order. This is not an exception with Dell unfortunately!
4. The battery compartment door is hard to close tightly and will cause the phone to shutdown out every now and then! After several tried I was able to secure it properly :-(
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DIVYANSHU SHARMA
(CHANDIGARH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

BEST DEAL OFFER

PostedJune 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
EXCELLENT MOBILE HAVING ANDRAOID FEATURE.
Pros:through market
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PanduA
(Missouri)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Quality and wow .. this is Android 2.2.2

PostedJune 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had bought Streak 5 inch along with a Inspiron N5110 for only $ 670 under a bundle deal.
I like the Dell Streak very much as it is of good make and also the the Android was almost the latest one when compared with other android devices which are still working on 1.3 version.
It is not very big as people see it.
Don't compare this with a regular phone as this is different product which can be used as Monster Phone or as a mini tablet.
Only problem I saw was many times when I called my friends, I will land up into voice mail as they don't pick up the call but they don't even get a ring from me. I had problem especially with my gf as I call her many times she doesn't even get a single ring of call from me. I am not sure is that problem with Streak or AT&T.
and I have little doubt on reception of mic, as my friends complain the voice is very low.
Overall the product is pretty good and cool.
Pros:mobile, mini tablet, making calls (video and audio), streaming video & audio ( google music beta)
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrooksMc
(Fort Worth, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love it

PostedJune 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Absolutely love this tablet/phone. Due to the OS I love Google also. It has proved indispensable for those work meetings where I need to access info that I have not brought with me. The major complaint I see on other reviews is the battery life, but it is a tablet computer; it does need to be charged regularly. I charge mine while driving and overnight, pretty simple.
Pros:work, vacation, home
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Khaleel
Title:

Bought It, Unboxed It and LOVE IT!!!!!

PostedJune 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This device is awesome does everything as advertised and totally lives up to the hype. i hope dell doesn't abandon the 5" screen niche its the absolute perfect size and everyone. one request to dell keep updates going if you update device trust me you got an android killer on your hands thanks Dell
Pros:web browsing, im, truck integration for music, autocad ws, tune in radio, sketchup, facebook, torque app
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 19